Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    Reverie only lasts a couple of hours, and the motion comic cutscenes are a little disappointing. Still, Castlevania fans won't want to miss it -- even in spite of its quasi-cliffhanger ending.
  2. Apr 27, 2011
    70
    Reverie is neither brilliant nor awful: it's simply a bypass that doesn't quite work as good as the main Lords of Shadow experience. Although players expecting a new game full of action and another enormous amount of production values to enjoy may be disappointed, maybe others will see here a welcome change of pace.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    It's light on combat, but Reverie keeps things interesting with a new playable character and engaging puzzles.
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    60
    The fundamental issue with Reverie is that it never lives up to the epic feeling of Lords of Shadow.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    Here it is at last, the first Castlevania Lords of Shadows DLC ! Is it as good as it was expected ? Well, yes and no. "Yes", because it adds one new chapter to a game we loved, because it does so with classy comic book style cinematics, by offering us some very nice moments playing Laura, with her vampire special abilities and her mastery of thunder, and by giving us new puzzle to chew on, new action sequences to experience, new backgrounds... it even goes as far as to give us a little something more out of the story, shining a little more light on the ending of Lords of Shadow. But "no", because it remains super short with only 3 levels to clear, which are not that surprising, and very quick to complete (maybe an hour). So we're left hanging, with a very frustrating "to be continued". So, for 800 MP, we'd have hoped for more content, or more intensity.
User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    3
    I must say I was shocked with this DLC. I would almost dare say it is useless. The only good thing about it is knowing a bit (and I must emphasize: a BIT) more about Gabriel's end. This chapter is short, too much heavy on plataforming and puzzling and has very little appeal to those looking for a good fight. For a full price of 10 dollars, I felt robbed. It is worth 4,99 (maybe 6,99), not a cent more. Lazy work that makes me feel very concerned about this recent (rising) DLC industry. They better make up for it with next downloadable content. But, now that I have learned my lesson, I'll not buy them right away. I'll first wait for some reviews. Sorry, MercurySteam, I'll won't be able to trust you blindly with any other DLC, after this. Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2012
    3
    Well, I loved the main game Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, although the combat system could be better. Anyways a few days ago I watched the first trailer of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 and I got pretty excited about this sequel. Since the prices of the DLCs Reverie and Resurrection were reduced last week I thought I could give them a chance but it was a waste of money: No CGs, almost no new enemies and boring cut scenes. I was expecting more of the plot and about how the history should continue. Even the promotional price for Playstation Plus members is way to much for such a bad DLC. By the way do not try Resurrection, it is even worse than Reverie! Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Totally agree with GrumpyReviewer, i was shocked with this DLC, i spent most of the time just plataforming and puzzling and its VERY SHORT, i loved Lords of Shadow and i really wanted to play the new content, but i also learned my lesson, before buying a new DLC i will wait and read a lot of user reviews and watch more gameplays to be sure. Full Review »