Castlevania: Lords of Shadow PlayStation 3

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace,Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living. Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost? Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule. Mercury Steam has created a rich, open game world that traverses snowy mountain ranges, Gothic castles, and undead-strewn wastelands in a devastated Southern Europe during the Middle Ages. [Konami] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Die Belmont Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. It's a great game separate from the franchise, and definitely does a favor for the third person action genre, but with the CV characters and license attached, it becomes even more enjoyable for me.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    91
    A beautifully crafted game that more than lives up to the expectations that arise with any Castlevania release. This is an epic, stylish and enormously entertaining adventure that deserves to be played by anybody with a passing interest in the genre or the series. Applause is in order.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    Lords of Shadow defies the boundaries of what Castlevania should be, but it works. The game pulls you in medieval times, but the gameplay, presentation and story are without a doubt as modern as you can get. The ghost of old Castlevania flows through the game, while being fresh enough to make it feel like the start of a new franchise. Both fans and newcomers will find plenty to enjoy here.
  4. Play UK
    85
    Exceptional presentation and an affecting, moody atmosphere help to compensate for some mixed game design. [Issue#197, p.86]
  5. Jan 15, 2011
    80
    Mercury Steam has done a great job and should produce future titles because it has given a direction to this series that was kind off lost.
  6. So even though the wait continues for a 3D Castlevania that truly matches the elegance, complexity and spatial intelligence of the 2D games, this is a polished and enjoyable blast of musty Gothic action in its own right.
  7. Jan 12, 2011
    55
    For a time-rich audience, I can see Lords of Shadow being well worth the investment.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 113
  2. Negative: 9 out of 113
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    I'm not sure where people get off saying it's a crappy God of War clone, when God of War itself mimicked Rygar, Shadow Of The Colossus,I'm not sure where people get off saying it's a crappy God of War clone, when God of War itself mimicked Rygar, Shadow Of The Colossus, Shenmue and however many other games. God of War didn't have a single idea to call its own, either, it just brought a little of this and a little of that to the "casual" gamers...

    So it's no surprise that people are writing this off as a clone because it's obvious those casual gamers don't know "what a Castlevania is". They think it started at Symphony Of The Night. Well, being a Castlevania fan from the NES days, I can say that if anything, this is somewhat of a 3D Simon's Quest, and I say that mostly based on the locales you visit (and revisit when you have a new item, as SQ did). And just as in SQ, you don't reach a castle until well, WELL into the game. Other than that, I don't get where people say this isn't Castlevania - playing as a whip-toting Belmont against the forces of darkness kinda goes hand in hand with Castlevania, and this is no different. This is a fantastic game with a length that is generally unheard of for a game of its genre. Definitely an incredible game and a great purchase.
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2012
    10
    This game is simply stunning . It may be different from other castlevania games but it is still a great game all round. The music is some ofThis game is simply stunning . It may be different from other castlevania games but it is still a great game all round. The music is some of the best in any game I have played Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    I'm a huge Castlevania fan, with my favorite games being Super Castlevania 4, Rondo of Blood, and Symphony of the Night. With that said, II'm a huge Castlevania fan, with my favorite games being Super Castlevania 4, Rondo of Blood, and Symphony of the Night. With that said, I thought that Lords of Shadow was excellent! I admit that early on the game did not have a very "Castlevania feel" IMO, however as the game progresses and the enemies become more similar to what we know from previous games (skeletons, zombies, vampires, etc) it feels very much like a 3D interpretation of Super Castlevania 4, which apparently is what the developers were going for and succeeded in doing. The ending I thought was amazing, in how it resets the story for Castlevania, and also explains why Dracula is not really a big part of this story. Yeah, I know, you say it's not Castlevania without Dracula, but when you see the ending you will understand why Dracula is not mentioned throughout. As for people saying this game is a God of War ripoff, that is just nonsense...I guess modern warfare 2 is a ripoff of quake 2 then? just because a game is in the same genre does not make it a ripoff. Even if you were to call this game a ripoff of God of War and Shadow of the Colossus (don't get me wrong, I do see the similarities, but that doesn't make them identical) it doesn't change the fact that this game has -excellent graphics, stage design, character design, voice acting, and music, plus tons of replay value (this game is LONG-at least compared to most modern games). All Castlevania fans should check it out, as should any fan of GOOD VIDEO GAMES. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    I never liked the Castlevania series, and it was because of the ridiculous hard bosses. So looking, and hearing that this one was theI never liked the Castlevania series, and it was because of the ridiculous hard bosses. So looking, and hearing that this one was the exception, i decided to give it a try, the good thing was, i really loved this a home adaptation of the series. The game is gorgeous in every way,very detailed cut scenes,also the levels look amazing, the gameplay is very fast and is very entertaining , actually very easy gameplay i must say, there isn't many difficulty in the gameplay. As for the difficulty if the game, is really challenging, especially fighting with big monsters. I found some flaws in the game that annoyed me in the experience, some of them were ,like, sometimes the character(Belmont) did not respond to the ledges,making unwanted deaths and re spawning al over again , also if, you explored the full place and returned to search for fallen soldiers etc enemies started to pop out , while you all ready beat the same foes in the level. If you are still in confusion, in picking this game, i without a doubt recommend this game. Expand
  5. May 24, 2017
    9
    Very underrated gem.
    Surely it isn't very original, but the quality here is undeniable.
    Pacing may be at the worst ok (some puzzles), but
    Very underrated gem.
    Surely it isn't very original, but the quality here is undeniable.
    Pacing may be at the worst ok (some puzzles), but there are a lot of excellent things to say.
    It lasts a lot more than GoW games and its voice dub is amazing.
    Story is masterful and gore is not over exaggerated. (although it is notorious)
    To play this game gave me an unexpected surprise.
    Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    Não foi o melhor, mas também não é nem de perto o pior que já joguei. É uma mistura de Prince ofNão foi o melhor, mas também não é nem de perto o pior que já joguei. É uma mistura de Prince of Persia com God of War (2 dos meus jogos favoritos para Playstation), ou seja, totalmente diferente de qualquer outro Castlevania que tenha sido feito até hoje, em contrapartida o que mais me deu raiva foi a questão das DLC's. Não encontrei à venda na PSN Brasil e com isso não faço a mínima ideia do verdadeiro final do game. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Where is the heart pounding music?
    Where is the tricky platforming?
    Where is anything that resembles Castlevania? Honestly, play Rondo of
    Where is the heart pounding music?
    Where is the tricky platforming?
    Where is anything that resembles Castlevania?

    Honestly, play Rondo of Blood and then tell me you are satisfied with this new game.

    This is typical western developed garbage.

    I can't believe this has happened to one of my favorite series.

    (The other 3d Castlevania games weren't great but at least they had a Castlevania feel to them, and the music from Curse of Darkness was awesome)
    Expand

See all 113 User Reviews