Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 402 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace,Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living. Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost? Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule. Mercury Steam has created a rich, open game world that traverses snowy mountain ranges, Gothic castles, and undead-strewn wastelands in a devastated Southern Europe during the Middle Ages. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow is a profoundly generous action-adventure game. Filled with content, gifts for fans of the series, but for video game lovers as well. It's full of nods to other games and movies, rich with a large variety of gameplays and lush environments... blessed with an overall Castlevania feel, which is a consistent mark of respect for its forebears. Kudos to Mercury Steam. Despite some rare issues with some gameplay tunings, we can only hope for them to meet the success they deserve as we'd welcome a follow-up!
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    91
    A beautifully crafted game that more than lives up to the expectations that arise with any Castlevania release. This is an epic, stylish and enormously entertaining adventure that deserves to be played by anybody with a passing interest in the genre or the series. Applause is in order.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    Lords of Shadow defies the boundaries of what Castlevania should be, but it works. The game pulls you in medieval times, but the gameplay, presentation and story are without a doubt as modern as you can get. The ghost of old Castlevania flows through the game, while being fresh enough to make it feel like the start of a new franchise. Both fans and newcomers will find plenty to enjoy here.
  4. 85
    It mightn't be especially original but Lords of Shadow's rock solid core mechanics, creative flourishes and assured sense of pacing all combine to form a game that, despite a few rough edges, is a beautifully atmospheric, undeniably entertaining experience.
  5. Jan 15, 2011
    80
    Mercury Steam has done a great job and should produce future titles because it has given a direction to this series that was kind off lost.
  6. Konami and Mercury Steam have finally found out the right formula for 3D Castlevania. This is a rock solid adventure with good puzzles, great action and fabulous music.
  7. Jan 12, 2011
    55
    For a time-rich audience, I can see Lords of Shadow being well worth the investment.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 99
  2. Negative: 8 out of 99
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    I'm not sure where people get off saying it's a crappy God of War clone, when God of War itself mimicked Rygar, Shadow Of The Colossus,I'm not sure where people get off saying it's a crappy God of War clone, when God of War itself mimicked Rygar, Shadow Of The Colossus, Shenmue and however many other games. God of War didn't have a single idea to call its own, either, it just brought a little of this and a little of that to the "casual" gamers...

    So it's no surprise that people are writing this off as a clone because it's obvious those casual gamers don't know "what a Castlevania is". They think it started at Symphony Of The Night. Well, being a Castlevania fan from the NES days, I can say that if anything, this is somewhat of a 3D Simon's Quest, and I say that mostly based on the locales you visit (and revisit when you have a new item, as SQ did). And just as in SQ, you don't reach a castle until well, WELL into the game. Other than that, I don't get where people say this isn't Castlevania - playing as a whip-toting Belmont against the forces of darkness kinda goes hand in hand with Castlevania, and this is no different. This is a fantastic game with a length that is generally unheard of for a game of its genre. Definitely an incredible game and a great purchase.
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    One of the very few 10's I've given a game. Sure the gameplay is like God of War, but so what, it's a masterpiece of gaming. The graphicsOne of the very few 10's I've given a game. Sure the gameplay is like God of War, but so what, it's a masterpiece of gaming. The graphics and backdrops are jaw dropping so many times throughout the game, the story is great, bosses galore, super long game so you get your moneys worth, awesome sound and music, fun puzzles and extras. I haven't enjoyed playing through a game so much in years and years. It seriously is that good!! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    This game is really very good. I recomend for all players. The game has a good story, awesome cutscenes, durability is very long, excelentThis game is really very good. I recomend for all players. The game has a good story, awesome cutscenes, durability is very long, excelent characteres, very action and the soundtrack is beautiful. Is a epic game. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    I never liked the Castlevania series, and it was because of the ridiculous hard bosses. So looking, and hearing that this one was theI never liked the Castlevania series, and it was because of the ridiculous hard bosses. So looking, and hearing that this one was the exception, i decided to give it a try, the good thing was, i really loved this a home adaptation of the series. The game is gorgeous in every way,very detailed cut scenes,also the levels look amazing, the gameplay is very fast and is very entertaining , actually very easy gameplay i must say, there isn't many difficulty in the gameplay. As for the difficulty if the game, is really challenging, especially fighting with big monsters. I found some flaws in the game that annoyed me in the experience, some of them were ,like, sometimes the character(Belmont) did not respond to the ledges,making unwanted deaths and re spawning al over again , also if, you explored the full place and returned to search for fallen soldiers etc enemies started to pop out , while you all ready beat the same foes in the level. If you are still in confusion, in picking this game, i without a doubt recommend this game. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    This is bar far one of the greatest titles I've played this gen, and it's a beautiful lung of fresh summer valley air from the masses ofThis is bar far one of the greatest titles I've played this gen, and it's a beautiful lung of fresh summer valley air from the masses of shooters this gen. For one i would like to say I've never been all that into Castlevania so as a Castlevania title i don't know how it compares, but haven't had this much fun for years. The design is beautiful and very Guillermo del Toro(hellboy, and Pan's Labyrinth) in terms of design, with great Gothic structures, but bright and sunny. the atmosphere is very imerssive and creates a great feel of depth and history to the environments. The combat is where the bread and butter is, the move list expands greatly throughout the game becoming a huge library of moves that can be pulled off with great fluid succession with great power and satisfaction, picture Ninja gaiden combat with god of war feel of power. Many people are saying it borrows/rips off games like GOW3, and Shadow of the Colossus but i don't understand how this is a bad thing, i mean they what made those games great and made it into something of their own that feels completely different. This game would've gotten a 10/10 from me but they gave you a very interesting story and very little narrative. it just feels like they could use more/longer cutscenes as the ones they have are very short and don't tell much of the story. But overall if your looking for a great non-shooter game with good story, excellent combat, great design, pretty graphics, beautiful set pieces, fun yet challenging platforming and puzzles with exploration and replay value then Castlevania LOS is your game. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    Não foi o melhor, mas também não é nem de perto o pior que já joguei. É uma mistura de Prince ofNão foi o melhor, mas também não é nem de perto o pior que já joguei. É uma mistura de Prince of Persia com God of War (2 dos meus jogos favoritos para Playstation), ou seja, totalmente diferente de qualquer outro Castlevania que tenha sido feito até hoje, em contrapartida o que mais me deu raiva foi a questão das DLC's. Não encontrei à venda na PSN Brasil e com isso não faço a mínima ideia do verdadeiro final do game. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Where is the heart pounding music?
    Where is the tricky platforming?
    Where is anything that resembles Castlevania? Honestly, play Rondo of
    Where is the heart pounding music?
    Where is the tricky platforming?
    Where is anything that resembles Castlevania?

    Honestly, play Rondo of Blood and then tell me you are satisfied with this new game.

    This is typical western developed garbage.

    I can't believe this has happened to one of my favorite series.

    (The other 3d Castlevania games weren't great but at least they had a Castlevania feel to them, and the music from Curse of Darkness was awesome)
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews