Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 424 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace,Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living. Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost? Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule. Mercury Steam has created a rich, open game world that traverses snowy mountain ranges, Gothic castles, and undead-strewn wastelands in a devastated Southern Europe during the Middle Ages. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. It's a great game separate from the franchise, and definitely does a favor for the third person action genre, but with the CV characters and license attached, it becomes even more enjoyable for me.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    91
    A beautifully crafted game that more than lives up to the expectations that arise with any Castlevania release. This is an epic, stylish and enormously entertaining adventure that deserves to be played by anybody with a passing interest in the genre or the series. Applause is in order.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    Lords of Shadow defies the boundaries of what Castlevania should be, but it works. The game pulls you in medieval times, but the gameplay, presentation and story are without a doubt as modern as you can get. The ghost of old Castlevania flows through the game, while being fresh enough to make it feel like the start of a new franchise. Both fans and newcomers will find plenty to enjoy here.
  4. 85
    Exceptional presentation and an affecting, moody atmosphere help to compensate for some mixed game design. [Issue#197, p.86]
  5. Jan 15, 2011
    80
    Mercury Steam has done a great job and should produce future titles because it has given a direction to this series that was kind off lost.
  6. So even though the wait continues for a 3D Castlevania that truly matches the elegance, complexity and spatial intelligence of the 2D games, this is a polished and enjoyable blast of musty Gothic action in its own right.
  7. Jan 12, 2011
    55
    For a time-rich audience, I can see Lords of Shadow being well worth the investment.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 104
  2. Negative: 8 out of 104
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    I'm not sure where people get off saying it's a crappy God of War clone, when God of War itself mimicked Rygar, Shadow Of The Colossus,I'm not sure where people get off saying it's a crappy God of War clone, when God of War itself mimicked Rygar, Shadow Of The Colossus, Shenmue and however many other games. God of War didn't have a single idea to call its own, either, it just brought a little of this and a little of that to the "casual" gamers...

    So it's no surprise that people are writing this off as a clone because it's obvious those casual gamers don't know "what a Castlevania is". They think it started at Symphony Of The Night. Well, being a Castlevania fan from the NES days, I can say that if anything, this is somewhat of a 3D Simon's Quest, and I say that mostly based on the locales you visit (and revisit when you have a new item, as SQ did). And just as in SQ, you don't reach a castle until well, WELL into the game. Other than that, I don't get where people say this isn't Castlevania - playing as a whip-toting Belmont against the forces of darkness kinda goes hand in hand with Castlevania, and this is no different. This is a fantastic game with a length that is generally unheard of for a game of its genre. Definitely an incredible game and a great purchase.
    Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    This is my first review and I am RAGED at people saying this game is mediocre because it's NOT.

    Fantastic untouchable 5/5 sound track.
    This is my first review and I am RAGED at people saying this game is mediocre because it's NOT.

    Fantastic untouchable 5/5 sound track.

    Graphics amazing 5/5.

    Gameplay 5/5. It's tough thus making you think on your feet.

    Story 5/5 Amazingly well crafted and great characters.

    I don't understand the low scores this game has it all it's lengthy and well done.
    Collapse
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    This game is really very good. I recomend for all players. The game has a good story, awesome cutscenes, durability is very long, excelentThis game is really very good. I recomend for all players. The game has a good story, awesome cutscenes, durability is very long, excelent characteres, very action and the soundtrack is beautiful. Is a epic game. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Castlevania is a really great game series. Castlevania: SOTN is still one of my favorites, but I would consider Castlevania: LOS as one of theCastlevania is a really great game series. Castlevania: SOTN is still one of my favorites, but I would consider Castlevania: LOS as one of the best ones yet. In the past, Konami has tried to make 3D games, but unfortunately they were unsuccessful. LOS has an epic storyline as well as great graphics. Finally the 3D Castlevania game that fans have been waiting for. My only dislike about this game is that I feel they took out some of the old traditional locations that were in older games. Overall this is one of my new favorites. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    This game takes elements from The God of War series, Shadow of the Colossus, and other adventure games and does a good job of recasting themThis game takes elements from The God of War series, Shadow of the Colossus, and other adventure games and does a good job of recasting them into the world of Castlevania. It's beautiful, challenging, and addictive. A great game that will no doubt go overlooked by many because of poor previous attempts to create a 3D game. Don't miss it because it borrows a few things from other games. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    8
    Like most people I was expecting a traditional Castlevania game from this and was disappointed at first that it was a very different style.Like most people I was expecting a traditional Castlevania game from this and was disappointed at first that it was a very different style. The gameplay, most specifically the combat system, is more like the God of War games than anything else but it still has the Castlevania style story, soundtrack and characters. It took me a while to get through the disappointment of it being different since I'm a big fan of the series but I ended up really liking the game, especially the ending. The combat system is very well done, I had no problem performing the different combos and attacks I wanted. They story was good, although a little disjointed from the other games, and the cutscenes still have that theatrical feel the previous 3D games had. Although the gameplay is very similar to God of War, I found Lord of Shadow to be a vastly better game with it's involving story and puzzles. You don't have to like the God of War games (I don't) to enjoy this Castlevania game.

    I hope they do go back to the traditional style of the Castlevania games but I still enjoyed this one.
    Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Where is the heart pounding music?
    Where is the tricky platforming?
    Where is anything that resembles Castlevania? Honestly, play Rondo of
    Where is the heart pounding music?
    Where is the tricky platforming?
    Where is anything that resembles Castlevania?

    Honestly, play Rondo of Blood and then tell me you are satisfied with this new game.

    This is typical western developed garbage.

    I can't believe this has happened to one of my favorite series.

    (The other 3d Castlevania games weren't great but at least they had a Castlevania feel to them, and the music from Curse of Darkness was awesome)
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews