Catherine PlayStation 3

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    Feb 15, 2012
    72
    Great anime rudely interrupted by a messy game. Patience is rewarded though, just about. [March 2012, p.92]
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    72
    This is definitely a title for lovers of puzzles… and more specifically, difficult puzzles!
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    One of the most obscure games we've ever seen. It's not a platformer and it's not an adventure game, but it combines elements of these two genres in a spectacular way. If it wasn't for the -sometimes- extreme difficulty and some poor design, Catherine would have been a must-have.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 28, 2012
    70
    Quite the bizarre experience. [March 2012, p.96]
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Catherine is a title recommended for mature players who want different experiences. It starts as a highly exciting game, but the way it is structured ends up reducing the interest as the game goes on.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    70
    This is a game that'll stick in your brain by virtue of originality alone, then, but if Catherine can't take itself seriously then why should we?
  7. 70
    Catherine is a great narrative with a unique blend of puzzle and simulation. It's a shame that the simulation sections didn't play a larger role in the experience, as they feel like the reward for completing the repetitive and frustrating puzzle sequences that make up the bulk of gameplay.
  8. Jul 29, 2011
    70
    Unusual, startlingly innovative and engaging. Its nuanced storytelling offers something few games have been able to meaningfully achieve – true conundrum, with little indication from the game telling you what you're supposed to do to be 'good'. Frustrating, beautiful and bizarre, Catherine stays with you.
  9. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jul 27, 2011
    70
    Some gamers will find little appeal in its often frustrating block-sliding, while others will revel in an unusual experience that stands apart from shooters and action games. While we're not ready for a long-term relationship, we're infatuated with Catherine - she's certainly worthy of a fling. [Sept 2011, p.84]
  10. Jul 15, 2011
    70
    Like a relationship that's going nowhere, Catherine has a few bright spots that will make you want to hold on, but it never quite gives back as much as you put into it. [Aug 2011, p.108]
  11. Aug 2, 2011
    67
    I'd expect a little better from the Persona Team, as I absolutely love that series, but I'm a little let down by what Catherine had to offer.
  12. Play UK
    Mar 4, 2012
    61
    An interesting story tethered to a frustrating puzzle game. [Issue#215, p.85]
  13. Feb 6, 2012
    50
    After a promising opening, the game takes its narrative in a completely unnecessary direction, and it substitutes its lack of compelling content with too many out of place puzzles that are more infuriating than enjoyable. Despite giving the illusion of plot involvement, you never really feel in control of events.
  14. games(TM)
    Sep 13, 2011
    50
    The real problem is that success is actually down to luck, trial and error, and the whim of a cheating AI. [Issue#113, p.100]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 95
  2. Negative: 8 out of 95
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic.
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults.

    It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb.

    And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a wonderful break from the typical mentality of gaming (Which has devolved to spending mindless hours behind the barrel of a gunCatherine is a wonderful break from the typical mentality of gaming (Which has devolved to spending mindless hours behind the barrel of a gun and shouting obscenities into the microphone). It's a step back towards games on the original PlayStation that really have been lost due to the influx of social shooters. Puzzles and platforms are it's strong claim to retro fame in a new age concept and coupled with one of the most visually stunning experiences I have experienced on the PlayStation 3. If you've played Qbert or Croc, or even Gex back in the day you will find yourself loving the nostalgia while deeply drawn into the excessively frustrating yet highly addictive game-play. There are very few flaws with this game, the difficulty is sky high but it's a breath of fresh air to see a game these days that will challenge you again and again around every corner. The voice acting is spot on and the Anime cinematic scenes are very new age anime and really moving towards what looks to be a strong new style for Shin Megami Tensei games. Should they put out another game like this it would be in their best interest. If you enjoy games that will bring you to the point of tears in frustration while still making you want to keep playing you've found the exact game for you. It is not a game for people who do not think constructively, and I do not suggest playing on Normal or Hard your first time through, but it is well worth all of the effort. This is one of the great games and I hope to see more just like it. Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    3
    Just too much on the difficulty scale!!! The anime/choice sequences are the shining portion of this game. The action/puzzle portions are soJust too much on the difficulty scale!!! The anime/choice sequences are the shining portion of this game. The action/puzzle portions are so difficult that they take away from the experience. Attempting to get to the next anime "daytime" requires you to spend all of your patience on a "nightmare", to the point of actually rejecting the game as a a whole. Don't get me wrong.. the game is beautiful during the non-action portions... but if you have to an action sequence 13 times, start over and try it 7 more times, and finally get to the next chapter just to see the good stuff... that I can't deal with. I have been playing video games since 1985 and I am opposed to ANY game that is this inaccessible. There was no sense of accomplishment due to the lack of any increase of ability of the characters. This could've been a great anime film if there was no game play at all. Full Review »