User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 294

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY! A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults. It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb. And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a wonderful break from the typical mentality of gaming (Which has devolved to spending mindless hours behind the barrel of a gun and shouting obscenities into the microphone). It's a step back towards games on the original PlayStation that really have been lost due to the influx of social shooters. Puzzles and platforms are it's strong claim to retro fame in a new age concept and coupled with one of the most visually stunning experiences I have experienced on the PlayStation 3. If you've played Qbert or Croc, or even Gex back in the day you will find yourself loving the nostalgia while deeply drawn into the excessively frustrating yet highly addictive game-play. There are very few flaws with this game, the difficulty is sky high but it's a breath of fresh air to see a game these days that will challenge you again and again around every corner. The voice acting is spot on and the Anime cinematic scenes are very new age anime and really moving towards what looks to be a strong new style for Shin Megami Tensei games. Should they put out another game like this it would be in their best interest. If you enjoy games that will bring you to the point of tears in frustration while still making you want to keep playing you've found the exact game for you. It is not a game for people who do not think constructively, and I do not suggest playing on Normal or Hard your first time through, but it is well worth all of the effort. This is one of the great games and I hope to see more just like it. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    3
    Just too much on the difficulty scale!!! The anime/choice sequences are the shining portion of this game. The action/puzzle portions are so difficult that they take away from the experience. Attempting to get to the next anime "daytime" requires you to spend all of your patience on a "nightmare", to the point of actually rejecting the game as a a whole. Don't get me wrong.. the game is beautiful during the non-action portions... but if you have to an action sequence 13 times, start over and try it 7 more times, and finally get to the next chapter just to see the good stuff... that I can't deal with. I have been playing video games since 1985 and I am opposed to ANY game that is this inaccessible. There was no sense of accomplishment due to the lack of any increase of ability of the characters. This could've been a great anime film if there was no game play at all. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me want to snap my controller in half, but that's what makes it worth it's weight in gold. Along with a challenge that is about up there with mega man and battletoads, it contains a visually stunning cinematic and storytelling experience. If you are looking for something that is truly unique... this is it.
  5. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Catherine is easily the most thought provoking game I've played this year both on mental and emotional level. It doesn't hurt that the art, music, story, and gameplay are exceptional. In fact the only thing holding the game back is the difficulty can be punishing even on Easy. Even so the difficulty is never to the point of stopping progression as the game prepares and teaches players techniques as the game progresses and gets harder.

    TLDR; If you don't mind a modest puzzle challenge and are mature enough to handle the adult themes, this could very easily be GOTY-worthy for you.
    Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    I like the anime sections, and am cool with the vaguely interactive bar sections, but the puzzles are the worst thing I've ever played in a shipped product. They are annoying, repetitive, unintuitive, frustrating, and difficult. You can't even lower the difficulty during these sections, meaning you can get well and truly stuck! I won't dignify this crap by looking up an FAQ or having someone else beat The Inquisition's boss level for me. The game is back in the box, and I refuse to play this again. The developers should be ashamed. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Great story, art design, and character design by soejima the atmosphere feels like persona game, the bad things is only repetitive gameplay and the game is way to short,
  8. Jul 27, 2011
    7
    A breath of fresh air in a gaming landscape cluttered with military shooters. Catherine is a unique and engrossing experience which features some of the highest production values I've seen in years. If you don't have any strong distaste for anime, play it now.
  9. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    If Catherine is anything, it's unique. You'll notice it from the second you turn it on right up until your closest hand is smashing the rage-quit button on your console. If you don't like a challenge, stay far away; even the easiest of Catherine's play modes can be grueling. While certainly not a perfect game, Catherine has enough content and story paths to keep a player interested for many hours - so long as you're willing to put yourself through the pain of failure a few times. Expand
  10. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    You'll be challenged - Not by the puzzles, which are a chore, but by the story itself. Since Finding out it had a moral choice system that typically results in one of two relationships, I decided to go for capital "C" catherine, the bad one, the "evil" option. Part of this decision was an attempt to undermine the game's attitude towards monogamy, since the "evil" option at least hints at multiple partners (Though Catherine does threaten to kill you if you cheat on her). I mean, the whole plot revolves around a character cheating and refusing - REFUSING, despite all options given to the player, to tell his current committed partner that he got drunk and cheated on her. It's not much of a choice system when the most obvious choice is one that is not there. Nonetheless, the dual-morality system is a bit more nuanced than, say, "Infamous," where the evil option means decapitating children and the good option means martyring yourself for a bus full of nuns - in other words, no real grey area. "Catherine's" morality challenged me, though not how I thought it would. I honestly couldn't tell at many points what the "right" decision was. Maybe this is because of my 5-year committed polyamorous relationship, making the code of monogamy baffling to me. Despite actively trying to be with "Catherine, Vincent was swinging back to Katherine, the "good" option. My answers confused the game. I believed in multiple partners (BAD!), but believed strongly in honesty for all involved (GOOD!). Now I could keep ranting about how out of touch this system is with queer identity, but I won't. I didn't expect much from a morality system anyway. What's interesting is how the game "Translated" my beliefs into the pathetic cheating monogamist I was supposed to be. It felt like real roleplay, as opposed to the kind of roleplay where I can kill everyone in a town one second and save the world the next. This alone made Catherine interesting. Oh yeah, the game - it's a dating sim with block pushing puzzles. The puzzles try to represent inner challenges Vincent faces based on his daily moral conundrum. It's neat, but difficult and is completely unrelated to the development of your character. You probably won't play the game for the puzzle system, You'll play it for the story. And the story is weird, but surprisingly challenging. For people like me, anyway. Expand
  11. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    Very underwhelming, you cannot deny the fact that this game lacks variety. This game was made by the people who made persona, so its only fair that I attempt to compare it a little. The ONLY place you can interact with is the bar, other than that its just the puzzles, in persona you can move in ALL different areas of the town. When I heard it was a puzzle game, I assumed there would be several different puzzles, not the same way one over and over again. Personally I hate games with alternate endings and this one has 8, its just a cheap way to give the illusion of a long game, which it was not. It was fairly short. The concept and story are ok, but once again compared to the story of persona series, its just ok. This would have been a good game maybe if it was released for the ps2 or psp, but for a huge console like the ps3, we expect a little more from the people who gave us Persona 3 and persona 4. The block puzzles dont get boring, but they also dont get fun either, it simply isnt addicting and has not much of a replay value. I can only guess the bright side of this is the ability to fight with your friends, but even that comes with some restriction, you need to achieve certain things to go online. Bottom line is, this game lacks variety, Persona was very long and had a big amount of variety. It was too underwhelming, nothing about it is grand, everything was short, story, characters, gameplay, etc. Im not saying its a bad game, but for its time, its not good enough. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This games is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I do not remember when was the last time that I enjoy so much a game. Catherine is perfect in very much senses. Great graphics, great puzzles, great sound and oustanding story. Besides, is a mature game, fun and interesting. Just it is a MASTERFUL PIECE.
  13. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    i like games that are differnt and try to be abit fresh and Catherine is certainly in that catagory. in this day in age we drowned in recycled crap trying to be spoon fed to us by hollywood or the gaming industry who who fear they will be rejected if they try some thing new and inovative . thats not to say being inovative cant fail but atleast i can respect some one trying to think out side the box. Cathrine is a puzzle game for the most part with the story revolving around your choices of eather sticking to the girl you've spent years with and wants to move your relationship to the next level or going for the other girl who is more of a free spirite . i found the story intresting although i wish i had more choices in what i could say in conversations to give me more of a feel like i was choosing my path more. the story is deffinitly more on par for the older gamer and id say even older then 18 more like mid 20s or older . who can probubly relate more to whats going on . the puzzle part of the game is kind of fun and engauging putting alot of thinking into your next move . it is also kind of hard later on in the game you have very little time to think on your next move and the game can be frustrating . it would have been nice if they varied up some differnt kind of puzzles besides climbing a block tower and there was more of a free roam aspect to the game letting you do more but i knew what i was getting from the demo and dropped my $60 to support a game that ultimatley deserves it . Catherine may not be perfect but it is fun and it is new and its worth a purchase if thats what you want in your gaming and are tired of all the same old crap. Expand
  14. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    Replay-ability is not what it could have been. The dialog is exactly the same regardless what color your good/bad meter shows. The puzzles were surprisingly fun, and I don't consider myself a fan of the genre. However the story is solid and most of the endings are really good. I really do wish there were different dialog or clips all through the game depending on your choices. Only the endings differ. Expand
  15. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    A game that must be played. Really its 2 game at the same time. Primarily it's an Awesome arcade style puzzle action (Q*Bert evolved) increasingly complex as you move on. I played on Normal so far. Some puzzles i would get stuck at for awhile, but never frustrating...just challenging and FUN. Then the 'side-game' is similar to a japanese Dating sim/interactive movie, and it is equally entertaining. The story isn't anything THAT amazing, but it's at the level of a network TV show, and its entertaining enough to keep you involved. The story also evolves around how you play, so there is replay value. You wouldn't think a block puzzle game would have character development...but this one somehow pulled that off, and all the characters are not only likable, but genuinely interesting. Just about beat it at the time of writing this review...looking forward to giving it another go on the hard difficulty! A few minor complaints. the biggest being that the level music is too heavy, and the loops are too short. While it is actually really well produced video game music...it gets really repetitive. Also the controls can be a little finicky if you move to fast, and a few of the later levels are kinda half-assed, but then they pick up again. No deal breakers

    it's one of the few games i WISH there was some DLC for...i would love more puzzels...a user puzzle creator/sharer woulda have been nice too! Lets hope for a sequel!
    Expand
  16. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Catherine excels and put in shame other games for the big originality it has. Big depth in the characters is important, the gameplay is simple , of course the simplicity comes with struggles ( you will see why) the anime art style is marvelous perfect drawn models, goofy crude humor right on the menu definitely tells you that this isn't for child ( of course it isn't ). Atlus co. isn't one of the most known companies out there but their games obligatory needs to be in your library. Catherine is just marvelous. Expand
  17. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    First thing first, it look phenomenal... For the first time in a Japanese game, the game looks practically like the Anime sequence which also are incredibly well done...The music is also awesome and the voice acting is, for the most part, outstanding... The story is awesome, but at the end, the multiple ending aspect hurt the whole experience cause if you're not an extremist, it will not feel rewarding enough... The play-time for completion depend if you take you time to enjoy the little things but it variate between 8 and 14 hours on easy mode (which permit you to undo a move, making the puzzle a lot easier) So in other difficulty, boost that time cause you'll have to retry the puzzles more (But there's check point so that's OK)... Finally, puzzles have a good difficulty... On easy, you may have to retry a couple times, but nothing too frustrating... On the other difficulties, you need instinct and patience but there's the option to lower difficulty so... yeah... no big deal... Only complaint, in the 5 last puzzles, the first 3 and the last one don't really accomplish anything and the one before the last puzzle have a boss with cheap attacks... Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    Catherine is a unique and challenging puzzle game with a great story. Graphics and aesthetics are very pleasing. Music is nothing to write home about, but fits the game nicely. The story is captivating and interactive with many choices that can alter the story/ending. This makes for great replay value. The core gameplay, the puzzles, ramp up in difficulty quickly and have a steep learning curve, but are satisfying once you've mastered the game's many techniques used to manipulate and navigate around the blocks. One gripe I have is that while skill and quick thinking are very important, trial and error and memorization play too big a part in solving some of the puzzles... particularly the ones later in the game. Gamers looking for both a great story and a challenge should enjoy Catherine. Expand
  19. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Atlus is amazing, Team Persona is the same. Catherine is an unique addictive puzzle game with a mature history told very well. If You like in general a nice story with amazing characters YOU HAVE TO BUY IT.
    Stop with these shooters, enjoy Catherine.
  20. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Catherine tells a wonderful story of a middle aged man trapped in wanting to be serious but scared of the changes commitment may bring to his life. The game is unique. It brings what ICO brought to the PS2 to the PS3, something different done extremely well. The puzzles are addicting to play but can be quite difficult to navigate, which is the point, but with a little time and practice of the different ways to navigate learn and being quick with the eye you can become a StairMaster. The Story is downright excellent. Involving a love triangle between a Vincent, Catherine, and Katherine. Vincent struggles with his choices and night faces his worst fears when he goes to sleep as a testament to things he has done. Catherine is a must play for any one who calls themselves a true gamer. Expand
  21. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Just finished the game. Catherine is a unique puzzle game, one that has a potentially great story, and fun gameplay. The story is just hampered by occasional cheese voice acting/dialogue, but it is still good for a video game. I did not appreciate the twist at the end, and the ending I got was pretty boring. The art style and graphics I found were excellent. Overall a solid game!
  22. Feb 20, 2012
    2
    This is my first review, and only want to say that this game is not for everyone, i get bored quickly climbing the puzzle, and only cause i want to see the cutscenes, is ok that cutscenes are more fun that actually playing the game?, if you are considering buying this game, consider first to rental and play it.
  23. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    Frustrating, annoying, boring, cheap.

    Worst game I've ever played since Small Soldiers on psx...my God, this isn't even a game, it's a mediocre anime cartoon, brutally interrupted by random and nonsense puzzle sessions with the only purpose of reaching the top of a bunch of boxes...It was so bad that i actually was annoyed by the puzzle levels and wanted to skip them to watch the
    cartoon, but obviously it was not possible... WORST. GAME. EXPERIENCE. EVER. Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    This is the worst game I've ever played, literally. I downloaded Catherine from PS Plus, I don't even know how this got in the store. The first thing that I noticed is the price it's really expensive, at first I thought it's probably good since it costs so much. But I was wrong. When I started the game, this crappy menu showed up. I was like "what the is this?". Before I got to play, it showed some ****ty anime cutscenes, they were so horrible, only a drugged man would enjoy this. But it's nothing compared to the gameplay itself. You're playing as a naked guy with goat horns, and the objective is to jump on blocks until you come to finish. That's basically everything the game is about. I really regret downloading this pathetic excuse for a game, thank god I didn't waste money on it. Anyone who enjoys this is probably mentally challenged or something. Don't buy this game, please. It's really bad. Expand
  25. Aug 16, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm so disappointed in this game. What started out as a great, unique game is completely ruined in the end. If you're looking for a good story, you need to look somewhere else. It's great all the way until the very end, where it goes into the usual anime melodrama and absurdity and ruins EVERYTHING that came before it. Instead of being a simple, mature story with a little touch of the supernatural, it goes way overboard and loses any sense of tone that came before it. I almost feel like the writers were scared to keep this story grounded in reality. But if you are playing Catherine for the gameplay, it's fairly decent, just a little bit on the hard side. I'm talking harder than most Contra games. I'm pretending the ending didn't happen, it's the only reason I rated this in the positive category. Expand
  26. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    Catherine is unlike any other game ever created. From gameplay to story it's completely unique. It's addictive, challenging, and completely awesome. The story is deep and thought provoking, and backed by fantastic voice acting and characters. And it touches on subjects that most video game developers are to scared to even think about putting in a game. It's got a beautiful anime vibe style to it's graphics, that brings the whole thing to life. It's also very challenging, requiring you to change up you climbing tactics several times per level, and has pulse racing boss battles. It also has co-op and competitive modes you can play with a friend, and a solo challenge tower mode. When I'm not playing it I'm thinking about it, and I can't wait to see all the different endings. I recommend this deeply moving and thought provoking puzzle game to any and all gamers who are old enough to handle the mature subject matter, and the challenge it offers. Expand
  27. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Despite all of the dread and complaints about Catherine's difficulty, I found that it fell perfectly into the challenge level that I expect from a good puzzler. I completed the game my first go-around on Normal difficulty, then moved up to Hard once I felt like I had surpassed the steep learning curve, which the game does a great job of maintaining through technique suggestions and gradual introduction of new elements. That's actually one thing I greatly appreciated about Catherine's pacing, too; the constant addition of new block types, variation between boss patterns, and a shifting of theme and environment with each tier of the tower all keep the game fresh through its 10 to 15 hours. While it may take significantly less time for some gamers to breeze through the story mode, making complete use of social elements, playing the Rapunzel meta game, and talking to all of the sheep on the landing areas will lengthen the experience. The game also has eight possible endings (though it would not be necessary to beat it eight times to see all of the possibilities), contains unlockable local multiplayer, and provides puzzle variants through the randomized Babel stages. Co-op is a blast with someone of [at least] moderate intelligence. I also think it's worth noting that the storyline is remarkable, albeit a bit silly with one or two of its many twists. The voice acting is good, at least up to par with other Shin Megami Tensei and Persona titles, and the influence of personal choice can be felt in the branching cinematics. I was pleasantly surprised to see many Persona elements carry over to Catherine, as your interaction with the patrons of the Stray Sheep bar and the nightmare victims can alter the story in subtle ways, giving Catherine a more customized feeling than one might expect. In short, this is a tremendously satisfying game that works on every level of its action-puzzle-horror-sim mashup, and if you're looking for a more unique and mature addition to your stale 7th generation game library, Catherine will definitely fit the bill. Just be ready to die a lot until you get the hang of things. Easily one of my favorites from the past year. Now, on to El Shaddai... Expand
  28. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Thank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, as is expected of the Persona team. The art direction... I'm just in love with it. This game has so much personality - western games take note. Initially I was worried I wouldn't enjoy the actual puzzle gameplay, however I think it was masterfully executed. The easy difficulty is a perfect place for anyone to start and learn how the puzzles work and how to think in blocks. I think this is the best example I've seen of gameplay that can be extremely accessible to new players but also can present a challenge and real skill-based fun for experienced players. Normal is a completely different game from easy, and the tension of play can often feel similar to playing a shoot'em'up, which I loved. The story is wonderful and interesting - and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to Vincent. I typically am not a fan of story driven games, but I couldn't even bring myself to give a **** when I was watching a long cutscene or something. I liked the persona-like interaction elements with fellow climbers, and the text message system was probably the best dialogue system I've seen. The dialogue system as well as the "morality" meter are both things that make me think "Hey this is kind of like what Mass Effect did minus the horrible fatal flaws." I just really hope everyone gives Atlus all their money and persona 5 is on it's way. :) Expand
  29. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    Not my kind of game. It's different, yes, and I never played anything like it. But... then again, is it normal that I enjoyed the cutscenes more than the actual gameplay? By one time, I just wanted to finish it to see what would happen, having 0 fun. Not for me, definitely and - definitely - not for everyone.
  30. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    While many might have been turned off by the news of this game that's been spreading around those who stick with and can handle how ruthless this game is will be rewarded. I know some who might complain about the meter system in regards to what you make Vincent believe in it works well for this game. When your not pushing blocks to save your boxer short wearing ass you spend the time talking to people some which you'll meet during your climbing escapades. While the social interaction isn't as good as it was in Persona 4 it's still enjoyable as are the characters. The story is a blast and is very amusing to watch. Not only that once you overcome the numerous block puzzles you will feel proud of yourself. I don't even remember the last time I felt so rewarded after playing a game for the current generation of games. But be warned in on easy difficultly this game is a lofty challenge and once you get past stage two you'll find yourself dying, a lot. Those who preserve however will be rewarded and once you beat the game once you can climb blocks with friends to see who's the puzzle master among anyone else who plays this game. While the game isn't perfect any of the grips I have are small and since it's the first game to make me feel fulfilled in the entire year I've owned a Playstation 3 I'm giving it a ten. Expand
  31. Aug 3, 2011
    8
    Subtle, mature, psychological game and that's just the storyline. The puzzle sections are challenging but it's worth getting through them to get to the next story part.
  32. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    This is a case of two completely unrelated games duct taped together. Yeah, the puzzles are supposed to be a metaphor for the main character's issues but it's like solving battles in Puzzle Quest but with a seemingly mature and serious storyline. Both parts are okay but they just don't fit together in my opinion.
  33. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Great graphics, amusing characters, funny script and excellent music, Catherine is one of the best games this year. I found the core puzzle mechanics very addictive and not frustrating at all. With a little patience anyone can complete this game on the easy setting. The trophies have not been well thought out as they require you to complete the game 8 times to get all of the endings. The game does have some replay-ability but because there's so much talking, a second play through isn't as much fun hearing the dialogue repeated. Still overall Catherine is extremely original and well worth playing. Expand
  34. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games this generation and of all time. This game is a great original title. The game's story is unique and the puzzling action is awesome! Very challenging and you feel so great when you accomplish the missions. Also the versus mode is a lot of fun with a friend!
  35. May 1, 2013
    10
    its quiet rare that sometimes in a generation few games turned out that are totally different from all the games in the market, the most horrifying fact is that are they any good Catherine is one of those kind of games People who were behind persona have came up with such a game for this generation and as you know about Persona series well of corz, Catherine is one hell of an experience that no other game has given to u !
    Story starts of with a guy called Vincet and his life and his girlfriend, whose name is Katherine, and well he meets a seductive woman in bar called Catherine and he cheates on Katherine and well you will fall into story as it goes it turn very attracting and interesting that i dont want to spoil anymore ...
    gameplay is being devided to two sides, just like Persona series, one in real world as you go around and interact with other characters and one in Vincent's dream where you end up in an interesting puzzle, you have to climb up a tower which is made of different cubes, there are many traps along the way and you have to open you way by moving cubes along to top of the tower, as you get closer to the end of the game these puzzle start to become SURPRISINGLY DIFFICULT that may be frustrating.
    But what satisfies the gamer most is the adult oriented story, its about relationships and so on, which other games doest pay attention to it that much other than other ATLUS games ...
    graphically and artistically catherine has much to show off, beautoful colors in the world and nicely drawn and developed characters and so on.
    I picked up the Collection edition at the first day, it was kind of a weird CE since it gives u a pervert feeling with having boxer, sexy pillowcase and catherine shirt in it WTF !
    but overall
    its fun
    cuz whatver this game offers you is much different than any other exicting game in this generation, of corz the kinda same will be the P4G for vita.
    Expand
  36. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    After I unpacked the pillow case from the deluxe edition I heard my other half mutter " does it come with a box of tissues as well", but she has it so wrong. Despite the titillating cover what we have here is a beautifully crafted puzzle game that is addictive and challenging. The difficulty of the puzzles ratchet up slowly over the different levels, and although there are plenty of deaths and failures, there is always a sense of achievement when a level is finally cracked.
    Personally I liked the "down" time from the puzzles, chatting and drinking in the pub, but I can understand the criticism levelled at the script and voice acting ( the graphics too are by no means particularly fantastic ). Vincent is a very likable character that I suspect most males will identify with. Unfortunately the female characters are decidedly one dimensional and in the final analysis the game really is not as sexy as you would imagine.
    It is a real joy that of late there have been some games released that are daring to be different to the normal console fare, and Catherine is a great addition .
    If you want a tiity game or a slash and hack game, then this is not for you. If however you are looking for an intelligent well developed puzzle game then this is a definite must.
    Expand
  37. Sep 9, 2011
    8
    Saying Catherine is a different unique game is a bit of an understatement. It's a puzzle game centered around gorgeous mature pseudo cut scenes with moderate interaction. This is definitely not a game for kids as the themes and language are absolutely adult material, as are some of the boss's that chase you through the nightmare sequences. The "day time" sequences involve you interacting with your cronies in a bar where you talk to your friends, the other patrons including employees and do a few other random things. I.E. get drunk, text message your "girls" and play arcade games and so forth. The "Night time" or "nightmare" sequences begin when you leave the bar for home each night. They involve a block pushing, pulling climbing sequence that has you trying to reach the top of a tower of blocks before some odd mental representation of a life crisis catches up with you. Make no mistake, the puzzle sequences are VERY challenging. I found myself setting the game to easy to make it a bit more enjoyable and I suspect many other will or have done the same. Overall Catherine is gorgeous to look at and a lot of fun to play even if it can be frustrating at times. Expand
  38. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This game is solid. It's fun, challenging, original, interesting, and contains content that could create deep conversations about love, sex, and relationships. There are very few games out there that can be deeply analyzed and opened with critical thought. Catherine is a game that can easily stand up there with movies like American Beauty, Burnt Money, and An Education (in terms on their topics of sex). The puzzles are incredibly difficult but then again, so can a relationship between two people. This game reminded me of the time when I was in a tough relationship, I couldn't even sleep because I didn't know what I would do the next day. Catherine's nightmare puzzles are like that only I didn't die and here, you will die...a lot. NOTE: This game is definitely not for everyone and when it says it's mature it's not lying, and like another reviewer said, not just in content but in context, the conversations, innuendos, and metaphors will pass over those who don't get it, a child will not play this game unlike Black Ops or Assassin's Creed, and will probably limit the experience of Catherine. If you want something original, different, well made, and incredibly interesting Catherine is for you. Expand
  39. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms are very hard, be prepared!
  40. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    One of the most unique games this generation, this is what we need to have variety!!!!! loved every second of it, try it even if it looks too anime for yoo I garatee you will never forget it
  41. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a realy great game, i feel that the ending that i got was perfect for the way that i played the game. As a complete package the game is very fun and breath of fresh air in this era is stale sequels, prequels and just mediocre games but....... its not for every one, if you're into anime, adult themes, puzzles or just want to play something like you've never played before i strongly recomend this game. Expand
  42. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    great plot. new game play is cool. but trap cube is unnecessary , just wasting time. and mystery pillow is stupid.... still a good game to play. but I got a bad ending : (
  43. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    Interesting to say the least, and I feel slightly weird playing it while my wife is in the room, haha, but still is a good title to play through and enjoy the naughtiness of it all!
  44. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    The best game i played all year with a deep and compelling story line hard as nails difficulty and a very fun puzzle sequences. Going away from the usual formula of games that are released every other week. Catherine offers something new, fresh and warped. BUY IT!!!
  45. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    Great game, awful story. I was excited to see Atlus make a game where the characters are adults hanging out at the bar having affairs as opposed to the high school themed Persona characters they usually feature. In the Persona series, you have to make real relationships with other people to level up traits that benefit your dungeon battles. In Catherine you hang out with people in one location, but your interaction does not impact the game in any significant way. I didn't feel like I had any control over the protagonist's decisions, and disliked the linear fashion the narrative was presented. Also, one key spoiler is fairly obvious at the beginning to many players, making the rest of the story hard to suffer through. The block climbing gameplay is where this game stands out, and is the reason this game is good. There is no way to describe how compelling it is to get to the top of the block wall without playing it yourself, and it makes all other games where you have to manipulate blocks seem elementary. The puzzles are a perfect blend of thought and action, and I'm keeping this game in my collection based on that alone. Expand
  46. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Just a disclaimer, I haven't completed the game yet, but this is one of the more original and interesting games I've ever played. The questions and choices you are faced with have moral weight and are difficult to answer. A better karma system than inFAMOUS/inFAMOUS 2. The puzzle style gameplay of the nightmare, is fun and extremely challenging. The little things in this game count, the way Vincent walks around the bar with his hands in his pockets like the hip 30-something he is and then begins to stagger from table to table after a couple drinks. Expand
  47. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Puzzle and story elements are combined elegantly in this wonderfully quirky game. It's odd to see any puzzle game with a background and plot, but if there was ever one that has done it perfectly, it'd be Catherine.

    The story follows a young 20 something into the world of friendly drinking companionship and dating. He is torn between remaining a bachelor or marrying his long time
    girlfriend, Katherine. During one night of debauchery, he is awakened next to his one night stand. Distraught and concerned for his future, he must make choices and relive them in his puzzle nightmares.

    It's a fantastic game if you are into solving puzzles whilst answering life's oddest questions. It certainly does get deeper than moving blocks about, and the game mechanics does it quite well. There are times when you may get frustrated, but that gives the player a sense of accomplishment once the obstacles are surpassed. The main character is extremely easy to relate, and you'll feel compelled to help him. Morales and obligations are questioned, as well as a mystery in the midst of a puzzle solving. It's a FRESH feeling playing a game that doesn't place itself within a certain genre, but explores the boundaries of multiple ones, whilst injecting it with real life concerns.
    Expand
  48. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    Catherine is a game that everyone should at least play, but to buy this game may be a step too far. The method used to tell this gameâ
  49. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Two words : quirky and engaging.

    First, the gameplay is both infuriating and worthwhile to those who put in effort. Catherine is not for the faint of heart. I once spent 1 hour on a single level but it was worth it when i reached the end. However, the main point of this game is not the gameplay in my opinion, but rather the interesting plot. As you watch vincent squirm through awkward
    conversations, freak out over small things, and encounter other events, you can't help but find the story amusing. The game wonderfully presents the tale of vincent and keeps the player on their toes in terms of what is going on. The replay value is also wonderful because there is a whopping EIGHT alternative endings. The only downfall to this game is it's amount of content per play-through. I breezed through this game in 9 hours and I wished it was longer. Expand
  50. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    Meet Catherine, a hybrid of confusing puzzle platforming and Japanese dating sim from the developers of the Persona saga. It is the antipathy of unconventional, loaded fully with a cast of unique and compelling characters, Catherine stuffs you in the role of Vincent, a commitment fearing slacker who finds himself forced to choose between a bodacious blonde, or his loving long term girlfriend. Similar to Atlas's other games, you can interact with the rest of the cast during the daytime, and play the core gameplay. The people you talk to and choices you make can affect the game later, an interesting mechanic that is unfortunately all too obvious. In the evening, Vincent finds himself climbing a horrific tower created from blocks, escaping his intermost fears praying to find the top. The puzzle is frantic and difficult, but only sometimes frustrating. When you do fall and die (which kills your character in real life, too), you never feel like you're being punished. Instead, you're just driven to try and try again. Solving the puzzle is always rewarding.
    The story is well though out and compelling. The twists are incredibly unexpected and keep you on your toes. This is all assisted by the exceptional voice acting, that made me genuinely care about each character. My only complaint is how little control you have, though you're guaranteed so much. Your choices don't really affect Vincent until the tale end of the game, which is disappointing. Nonetheless, it's a unique and adult experience you won't be forgetting anytime soon.
    Expand
  51. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    The puzzles are frustrating yet fun and require a lot of patience to get through. The story was great, and so were the graphics. The voice acting was unbelievably perfect in every way. If you want to be challenged and aren't easily agitated, give this game a shot.
  52. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a game where you move blocks around in a nightmare while being attacked by sheep, robot babies, vaginas with tongues coming out of them, and all manner of other beasts (such as a gigantic manâ
  53. May 13, 2012
    9
    Catherine is one of the most original games i have played this generation and it also contains some interesting ideas. as the game is based around a block puzzle game it wont be to every-ones taste.
    but for a full game to be based on a puzzle block game it has to be a very good one . which it happens to be. the puzzle looks deceptively simple but in-fact is highly complex in its design it
    is also very challenging with a strong difficulty spike after the tutorial levels to progress takes practice,learning and trial and error. Soon additions like spiked blocks ,sheep that push you or block your route add even more to the difficulty and general madness of the overall game. Each completion of a set of 3 block levels allows you too the other area of the main game the story. which are interactive animations with conversations and speech choices that change some scenes and affect youre final ending. this part of the game is also very high quality the story is quite adult in its content and very amusing in places. if you have played any of the persona series you may recognise the style and use of various things like the use of tv channels to tell the story. There are 2 variations of the puzzle game, a retro version arcade cabinet in the Bar called Rapunzel, and a challenge area called Babel, which unlocks if you manage a gold rank in the main games challenges. there is an online question and answer dialogue that after you answer the question tells you what other players first time answers where. The only bad point of the game is the slightly loose control scheme in the block game as youre man sometimes goes the wrong way or grabs the wrong block but this is slight and does not spoil the game at all. Overall another great innovative title released by Atlus and made by the persona crew. Expand
  54. May 12, 2013
    6
    A good puzzle game with an unusual story (for a game) wrapped around it.

    Overall I liked it (I was alternating playing Catherine and Dark Arisen) and Catherine took me about 24 hours playing time to complete spread over about 4 weeks.

    I liked the puzzle game element, pushing blocks and climbing towers of blocks. The difficulty is not so hard as to be frustrating, the variety of
    tower layouts is good and the graphics/adio are also good. The controls are fiddly though and many times I found myself pushing a block I wanted to climb or not being able to exit a trap block fast enough. Its annoying when the controls 'reverse' if you pause movement when traversing the reverse of a puzzle.

    If you like puzzle games, you'll probably like it.

    The story is novel (for video games) and well presented. BUT if you're used to modern rpg style adventures where you can go and do pretty much what you want, be aware this is an old school tyle adventure with very limited interaction options and choices and a railroaded location sequence. Still, it is what it is and is a good example of the style.

    The only bit that annoyed me was the game reporting back other players answers to the end of level questions. Why? I playing a game so my answers are 'the game characters' and not mine presumably so are all the other players. It feels like a compulsory personality test with random answers being compared to everyone elses random answers. Annoyingly pointless. The Walking Dead game did the same. In Catherine, the repeat questions are randomised, so its not even as if you can go back and change your answer to match the majority.

    Overall, I liked it, but I won't be playing it again anytime soon.
    Expand
  55. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    Catherine is an obtuse blend of puzzle game and interactive adult storybook that succeeds moderately well at both but fails to shine overall. Although it is refreshing to get a game aimed squarely at adults and the morals of romance, Catherine would have made a much better anime film than a game. In fact between the puzzles you are rewarded with lengthy sections of well-draawn animation that leave you wondering how this thing ever morphed into a video game. The block-based puzzle levels are intriguing initially but soon grow tiresome. A very interesting ride, for sure, but not one all will be comfortable taking. Expand
  56. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    It's only frustrating because there's so much going on at the same time... Several kinds of blocks plus enemies or bosses, all while each row of blocks disappears some steps beneath the desperate player. So sure, it's momentarily a frustrating game, but I don't see how they could have achieved anything else with so much stuff going on constantly. I beat the game on Normal difficulty, with dozens of 'retry' collectibles left over, after doubting I would even make it through the game. So it's possible, and in the end I had a good time with the inventive challenge. I enjoyed the story (over 1 hour of cutscenes/dialogue) and appreciated how the game built upon itself, slowly expanding with new block types and increasingly surprising boss fights. An unlockable challenge mode with leaderboards seals the deal. Even after you've played the campaign, there'll be something to come back for if you enjoyed the game, apart from the multiple endings. It's also one of the rare PS3 games with local multiplayer. So it's a full package, and if you like the basic premise, you gotta admit they did a spectacular job in fleshing the gameplay-focused idea out into a comprehensive game. The uniqueness deserves a 9/10, but then again, the whole game has you climbing UP, and it's easy to come up with variations they could have included. How about a level where you climb downwards, or where the undo-button is used in some clever way, or just a rule-change in some way. The ideas included are so inventive, but they mostly deal with block properties, and not expansion of the premise. If the game had been more fundamentally varied, it might have been one of my rare 9/10s. Expand
  57. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    I normally hate puzzle plate formers. So its strange to find I enjoy this. I owe it to the story that is quite engaging. It is very adult in it's storyline-themes like marriage and kids- so its not for everyone, but everything put together made it fun or engrossing.
  58. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I will make simple review for this game and overall rate is 9.5 . I love this game because this game is simply enjoy for mentality game and they have interesting quotes/questions . Catherine is great for you and it's relating to your life/reality .
  59. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    If you like Kafkaesque worlds, engaging stories, challenging puzzles or if you
  60. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    A different take on modern puzzle gaming, great story, great character art, enjoyable puzzles if not a little to difficult at times..
    A great game to play with friends..
    A game worth the money if you love a fast pace and having to actually think..
  61. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most innovative games ever made and diserves the attention of those who want to try something totally new. A impressive history, told through well writen dialogs and a puzzle kind of gameplay that is hard to not fell atracted. If you like the kind of game that brings new ideas try this one out!
  62. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    Fun, although not as insightful as it thinks it is, and not all players will appreciate the very frustrating and difficult puzzle game at its core. Play on easy mode...
  63. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the thing that got me instantly hooked onto this game was the story. It is just too dam good. Puzzles were really tough to figure out on the hard difficulty. I love both the puzzle aspect and the story. Never could you imagine how well designed were the puzzles that is just screwing with your brain for hours on end. In the end I gave up part way on the hard difficulty and finished the game with sufficient challenge in the medium difficulty. Having alternate endings were nice, but still only the Catherine ending is the truly awesome one. Perhaps the only thing keeping it from a 10 from me is the camera, a few occations camera and walking around boxes don't quite go well together, can't see yourself or what you are really doing. Overall loved the game, buy it only if you like puzzles and enjoy an awesome story, rent and play on easy if you want to watch like an hour kick ass story. Expand
  64. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    This is probably as faithful an adaptation of Lolita a game is going to get without being refused classification.
    Sure box. That girl MAY have a body of an older teen, but her dress sense, and the fact the protagonist is constantly drunk, leads me to believe it's all a hair away from some Trainspotting style clubbing incident.
    Bonus points for not throwing any tentacles in the game
    Atlus! See, just like the book. No tentacles. Expand
  65. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Well this game is not perfect and doesn't have the best gameplay ever, but you don't see games with this amount of drama everyday. This is not only a game, this is an interactive movie and you will stick to the story because it will become better and better. If you love anime you will love this game. The gameplay is very casual but really hardcore at the same time, at the beginning it is super simple but with the progression you will need strategies to beat the tougher levels.
    In addiction you have two extra multiplayer modes, cooperative and competitive.
    The experience was great because i never played nothing like this before. I highly recommend if you like anime and puzzles.
    Oh, in my previous review i forgot the most important point. It is super underrated and deserved way more!
    Expand
  66. May 29, 2013
    6
    This is probably my hardest review so far, because my personal taste my interfere in my judgement, anyway, I'm going to try my best.
    The first problem I see witht the gaem is that is like playing two different games at the same time, just when you are enjoying the history you have to enter the nightmare which makes it somewhat tedious and makes the history feels slow at some point, and
    regarding the history I have a couple of issues with it, the first is that the side histories of the people aren't very interesting and in any point of the game you feel that you really want to know more about them, also the time you spend on the bar which is supposedly designed to be relaxing and reflexive doesn't feel that way at all, when you are there you have the constant feeling that you must move and do things instead of talking to people, and this also contribute to not getting interested on the side histories, the main history of the game could be more developed, it gets very interesting at first but then it starts to get wors and you feel that somethings could have been better. The atmosphere in this game isn't good either, it feels very inmature for what should be, the character in the nightmares look like Arthur from Ghost 'n' Goblins adn certain expressions and dialogues aren't appropiate for what the history should transmit.
    The gameplay is very fun though, very addictive and relatively complex, probably it could have been a bit more dinamic, but is ok, my only issue with it is that stops the main history a lot.
    I give it a 6 because of the gameplay, the history possibilities and for being original, I wouldn't recommend purchase it for full price, but if you see it cheap or you you can rent it go ahead.
    Expand
  67. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Catherine is a game that must be played. The game is solid. It's fun, challenging, original and interesting. It can be hard at times, but once you finally get the hang of its unique gameplay, you'll be hooked.
  68. oyb
    Jan 28, 2013
    5
    The game itself would have been a lot better if the "game" part was actually fun and polished. Terrible controls and bad camera angle combined with stress and high difficulty makes you wan't to chuck your controller into the TV and leave. Would be better as an interactive movie.
  69. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Even though I´m not a fan of puzzle games, the plot was so interesting that it kept me playing all the way to the ending of my choice. SteamEnginator Expand
  70. May 8, 2013
    9
    It's an incredible adult game. Puzzles are intense and original, the story really keeps you coming back for more and all the game's personality is awesome.
    For me, the best surprise of the latest months!
  71. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    First and foremost, I love this game, through and through. Some characters have more depth than others, but Vincent is a great lead that many male players will relate to. It's not made for everyone, and some may find little reasons to hate on it, but If you are a fan of truly challenging, unorthodox puzzlers and intriguing tales with multiple endings (being a closet-romantic definitely helps), you will find a lot of enjoyment in Catherine. Expand
  72. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Brought to us by the same team that created the legendary JRPGs Persona 3 and Persona 4, Catherine is a game that had "risk" written all over it. Outside of this title, I don't know any other Dating Sim Puzzle games. It is a unique creation. But what is most important about this risk, is the fact that it worked really well! It has fantastic visual and audio design, along with gameplay that is easy to get into and evolves with each new challenge and techniques provided, and a dark-humoured adult story that can go in a variety of directions, providing us with multiple outcomes and excellent replay value. In a world were shooters and platformers are given the most attention, this game really deserves a look. Expand
  73. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Catherine is a twisted anime RPG that won’t be for everyone, but it’s definitely worth taking a look. You play the role of Vincent who is caught between two women, his fiancé and the girl of his dreams (Katherine and Catherine, respectively). Speaking of dreams, whenever you sleep you have to run from your nightmares by way of an “Intelligence Cube”-esque puzzler…and you have horns and a pillow…because you and others in your dream are sheep that are all being slaughtered. Yeah. All weird japanese stuff aside the story gives you a real sense of anxiety and you feel like a douche for being stuck in the middle of this self created drama. Fantastic. Expand
  74. May 3, 2013
    7
    Catherine is a amazing puzzle game, but it's not a game for everyone. If you are not a puzzle person, then don't even play this game because beside the amazing story and art design, the game play is almost just puzzles, there isn't more to it. The voice acting is good and the the difficulty of the puzzle are quite good even in easy, it may be a little hard for those who aren't used to these types of games. Expand
  75. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic game with unique style and beautiful personality. I've been waiting for a long time for a game with a mature theme and by that I don't mean a game like duke or gta filled with swearing and nudity no, this game will make you think about what is right or wrong in a relationship and you'll get to choose every crucial decisions Vincent have to take. The story line is an amazing breath-taking experience and I liked the ending (note: there is 8 different endings!).

    The game-play is actually fun and changeling not cheap but some times you may give up and search for a walk-through to solve a puzzle. Soundtrack is awesome and fits the game perfectly.
    Expand
  76. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I DON'T KNOW WHY PEOPLE DON'T SEE THE TRUE VALUE!
    I had to convince my mom for two years to let me play this game, finally on my birthday, she let me get it. All I can say is that it was worth the wait! in the game, you're Vincent Brooks, a man who is frightened when his girlfriend, Katherine starts talking about marriage. That night, he gets drunk and sleeps with this blonde chick,
    Catherine! In the game, the choices you make determine whether you go with Catherine or Katherine! During night time, you have night mares where you need to climb a different tower every night, or you die. After you complete a tower, you can socialize with other sheep, which are human men, and save.the way you talk to them, or if you talk to them at all, can lead them to life or death! After the landings, you enter a booth where they ask you questions like, "have you cheated" and stuff like that.these questions and the way you socialize determine which ending you will get. Overall, best game ever! Partial nudity (you can't see everything) strong language, alcohol and tabacco, and blood. Expand
  77. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Even if it is fairly unique game, like many games it repeats itself, and not like those puzzles are for everyone either, not really fan of puzzle games myself but luckily I found them pretty cool at start. Also even in easy it gives many run for their money, lol. But then again if puzzles were easy would there be much idea for this game? puzzles are like 50% of game at least anyway. I'd hope some more variety to puzzles though, as climbing gets tiring eventually. Other part of game, kinda living life of Vincent is rather interesting, I hope they continue developing such games as in more advanced version it could be total killer, it's good now already tho. Expand
  78. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    while frustrating at times, catherine tells a very good story. what's best is that there are multiple endings, which helps to add even more replay value to a fun game. the gameplay is unique,as you need to move blocks around to reach a goal, while avoiding some giant monsters trying to kill you, or pushing sheep out of your way. the deaths look pretty nice as well, and you can interact with people through texts, at a bar, and is affected based on your answers to questions you'll receive. Expand
  79. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    *Story and plot (no spoilers)*
    This game is incredible. Definitely one of the best puzzle games I've played in a long while. If you plan on playing this game, focus on the story. Ignoring the story (which is almost impossible) would ruin the entire experience. Watching the intriguing story is is very satisfying. The entire story is based on misunderstandings and plot twists. It's like
    watching a movie, only you get to play the action scenes. I haven't played this concept before and it's definitely something you don't see every day. The game has many well-placed quotes and words of wisdom. It's definitely worth it to speaking to every character in the game.

    *Gameplay*
    While the controls are a bit off (you either use the stick or the touch pad), they are fairly decent. The puzzles are relentlessly difficult at times, and you'll have to invest some time to get good at it. Play it enough and you're guaranteed to improve. All in all, climbing feels relatively satisfying and the game has a fair learning curve that anyone with decent diligence can master.

    This game is definitely not ment to be played by kids. A mature audience will definitely enjoy this game, especially those that are close to the age of mariage.
    Expand
  80. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Catherine made me feel: Addicted, Adrenaline, Anger, Challenge, Guilt, Intrigue, Relaxation, Victory.

    I cannot recommend this game to anyone because you may come back to me angry for having failed to complete a challenge. The challenges are frustrating; I tried to snap my controller in half more than once. I lost countless hours of sleep trying to push myself to get through the
    increasingly difficult levels. I wanted to quit many times…, but could not because the story had me so hooked I had to make it through to see what would happen next.

    The game is odd, in a good way, in that if feels like two games in one. One game is intense puzzle plat forming, while the other is a relaxing conversation simulator. As you play you switch between the two which makes for some brilliant pacing. Without the story and the knowledge I could relax following an intense brain exploding puzzle, I would have easily quit early in the game.

    The story, while relaxing, tackles some controversial social ethics that will probably affect players in different ways. For me, the game made me look internally and reflect on what type of person I am. This in turn made me feel guilty as I knew I was guiding the character into doing the wrong things but could not bring myself to stop.

    My biggest gripes are that the controls are a bit awkward which make for frustrating moments, and a few of the endings feel incomplete. These are the endings you get if you are indecisive throughout the games trials.

    Catherine is a unique game, and is unlike anything I have played before. The difficult puzzles were always worth it because of the victory I felt when completing them. Sometimes I would jump off the couch with a victory yell. (My wife didn’t appreciate this). In the end, I am happy to have had the opportunity to experience the game.
    Expand
  81. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    1- This game is Hard! if you are poor of patience you'll outrage before even before starting the real challenge.
    2- This game is for adults! not age speaking but brain speaking, you won't find any boob floating on screen, ingame polls speak clearly of the age needed (20-40).
    3- This game is fairly outside the standard cliches of gaming. Enough to be a "must have" of the console (and
    also enough to get bad results in critic because of people claiming to be experienced). Expand
  82. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    An oddly refreshing smoothie. Snippets of **** drama, fun dialogue, erotic eye fulls, interesting questions all held together by force of challenge. In-game constructs rotate through a diverse range of set-ups that all hinge on the axis of puzzles. Character interactions are obviously limited, but the polarizing of Catherine and Katherine alone give this game ample replay value. There are moments that the puzzles can become mind-splitting and maddening. It is a very intensely punishing game with all the carbonated anime aesthetics and rewarding cut scenes to keep you clinging on out of willpower and excitement. If you're in for a different ride and have the patience to problem solve then I wholly recommend. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    A gorgeous hybrid. It's a puzzle-solving platformer and sexually-forced anime that's been combined into a well balanced title. The game is going to please the fans as well as it will whet nosy parkers appetite for actually playing it. It shows the Japanese developers know how to appeal to European and American gamers without giving away the bizarre ideas trademark.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    One of the most obscure games we've ever seen. It's not a platformer and it's not an adventure game, but it combines elements of these two genres in a spectacular way. If it wasn't for the -sometimes- extreme difficulty and some poor design, Catherine would have been a must-have.