User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 284

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    3
    Just too much on the difficulty scale!!! The anime/choice sequences are the shining portion of this game. The action/puzzle portions are so difficult that they take away from the experience. Attempting to get to the next anime "daytime" requires you to spend all of your patience on a "nightmare", to the point of actually rejecting the game as a a whole. Don't get me wrong.. the game is beautiful during the non-action portions... but if you have to an action sequence 13 times, start over and try it 7 more times, and finally get to the next chapter just to see the good stuff... that I can't deal with. I have been playing video games since 1985 and I am opposed to ANY game that is this inaccessible. There was no sense of accomplishment due to the lack of any increase of ability of the characters. This could've been a great anime film if there was no game play at all. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    I like the anime sections, and am cool with the vaguely interactive bar sections, but the puzzles are the worst thing I've ever played in a shipped product. They are annoying, repetitive, unintuitive, frustrating, and difficult. You can't even lower the difficulty during these sections, meaning you can get well and truly stuck! I won't dignify this crap by looking up an FAQ or having someone else beat The Inquisition's boss level for me. The game is back in the box, and I refuse to play this again. The developers should be ashamed. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    Very underwhelming, you cannot deny the fact that this game lacks variety. This game was made by the people who made persona, so its only fair that I attempt to compare it a little. The ONLY place you can interact with is the bar, other than that its just the puzzles, in persona you can move in ALL different areas of the town. When I heard it was a puzzle game, I assumed there would be several different puzzles, not the same way one over and over again. Personally I hate games with alternate endings and this one has 8, its just a cheap way to give the illusion of a long game, which it was not. It was fairly short. The concept and story are ok, but once again compared to the story of persona series, its just ok. This would have been a good game maybe if it was released for the ps2 or psp, but for a huge console like the ps3, we expect a little more from the people who gave us Persona 3 and persona 4. The block puzzles dont get boring, but they also dont get fun either, it simply isnt addicting and has not much of a replay value. I can only guess the bright side of this is the ability to fight with your friends, but even that comes with some restriction, you need to achieve certain things to go online. Bottom line is, this game lacks variety, Persona was very long and had a big amount of variety. It was too underwhelming, nothing about it is grand, everything was short, story, characters, gameplay, etc. Im not saying its a bad game, but for its time, its not good enough. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    2
    This is my first review, and only want to say that this game is not for everyone, i get bored quickly climbing the puzzle, and only cause i want to see the cutscenes, is ok that cutscenes are more fun that actually playing the game?, if you are considering buying this game, consider first to rental and play it.
  5. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    Frustrating, annoying, boring, cheap.

    Worst game I've ever played since Small Soldiers on psx...my God, this isn't even a game, it's a mediocre anime cartoon, brutally interrupted by random and nonsense puzzle sessions with the only purpose of reaching the top of a bunch of boxes...It was so bad that i actually was annoyed by the puzzle levels and wanted to skip them to watch the
    cartoon, but obviously it was not possible... WORST. GAME. EXPERIENCE. EVER. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    This is the worst game I've ever played, literally. I downloaded Catherine from PS Plus, I don't even know how this got in the store. The first thing that I noticed is the price it's really expensive, at first I thought it's probably good since it costs so much. But I was wrong. When I started the game, this crappy menu showed up. I was like "what the is this?". Before I got to play, it showed some ****ty anime cutscenes, they were so horrible, only a drugged man would enjoy this. But it's nothing compared to the gameplay itself. You're playing as a naked guy with goat horns, and the objective is to jump on blocks until you come to finish. That's basically everything the game is about. I really regret downloading this pathetic excuse for a game, thank god I didn't waste money on it. Anyone who enjoys this is probably mentally challenged or something. Don't buy this game, please. It's really bad. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    Not my kind of game. It's different, yes, and I never played anything like it. But... then again, is it normal that I enjoyed the cutscenes more than the actual gameplay? By one time, I just wanted to finish it to see what would happen, having 0 fun. Not for me, definitely and - definitely - not for everyone.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    A gorgeous hybrid. It's a puzzle-solving platformer and sexually-forced anime that's been combined into a well balanced title. The game is going to please the fans as well as it will whet nosy parkers appetite for actually playing it. It shows the Japanese developers know how to appeal to European and American gamers without giving away the bizarre ideas trademark.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    One of the most obscure games we've ever seen. It's not a platformer and it's not an adventure game, but it combines elements of these two genres in a spectacular way. If it wasn't for the -sometimes- extreme difficulty and some poor design, Catherine would have been a must-have.