User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 294

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY! A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults. It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb. And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a wonderful break from the typical mentality of gaming (Which has devolved to spending mindless hours behind the barrel of a gun and shouting obscenities into the microphone). It's a step back towards games on the original PlayStation that really have been lost due to the influx of social shooters. Puzzles and platforms are it's strong claim to retro fame in a new age concept and coupled with one of the most visually stunning experiences I have experienced on the PlayStation 3. If you've played Qbert or Croc, or even Gex back in the day you will find yourself loving the nostalgia while deeply drawn into the excessively frustrating yet highly addictive game-play. There are very few flaws with this game, the difficulty is sky high but it's a breath of fresh air to see a game these days that will challenge you again and again around every corner. The voice acting is spot on and the Anime cinematic scenes are very new age anime and really moving towards what looks to be a strong new style for Shin Megami Tensei games. Should they put out another game like this it would be in their best interest. If you enjoy games that will bring you to the point of tears in frustration while still making you want to keep playing you've found the exact game for you. It is not a game for people who do not think constructively, and I do not suggest playing on Normal or Hard your first time through, but it is well worth all of the effort. This is one of the great games and I hope to see more just like it. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me want to snap my controller in half, but that's what makes it worth it's weight in gold. Along with a challenge that is about up there with mega man and battletoads, it contains a visually stunning cinematic and storytelling experience. If you are looking for something that is truly unique... this is it.
  4. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Catherine is easily the most thought provoking game I've played this year both on mental and emotional level. It doesn't hurt that the art, music, story, and gameplay are exceptional. In fact the only thing holding the game back is the difficulty can be punishing even on Easy. Even so the difficulty is never to the point of stopping progression as the game prepares and teaches players techniques as the game progresses and gets harder.

    TLDR; If you don't mind a modest puzzle challenge and are mature enough to handle the adult themes, this could very easily be GOTY-worthy for you.
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Great story, art design, and character design by soejima the atmosphere feels like persona game, the bad things is only repetitive gameplay and the game is way to short,
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This games is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I do not remember when was the last time that I enjoy so much a game. Catherine is perfect in very much senses. Great graphics, great puzzles, great sound and oustanding story. Besides, is a mature game, fun and interesting. Just it is a MASTERFUL PIECE.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    A game that must be played. Really its 2 game at the same time. Primarily it's an Awesome arcade style puzzle action (Q*Bert evolved) increasingly complex as you move on. I played on Normal so far. Some puzzles i would get stuck at for awhile, but never frustrating...just challenging and FUN. Then the 'side-game' is similar to a japanese Dating sim/interactive movie, and it is equally entertaining. The story isn't anything THAT amazing, but it's at the level of a network TV show, and its entertaining enough to keep you involved. The story also evolves around how you play, so there is replay value. You wouldn't think a block puzzle game would have character development...but this one somehow pulled that off, and all the characters are not only likable, but genuinely interesting. Just about beat it at the time of writing this review...looking forward to giving it another go on the hard difficulty! A few minor complaints. the biggest being that the level music is too heavy, and the loops are too short. While it is actually really well produced video game music...it gets really repetitive. Also the controls can be a little finicky if you move to fast, and a few of the later levels are kinda half-assed, but then they pick up again. No deal breakers

    it's one of the few games i WISH there was some DLC for...i would love more puzzels...a user puzzle creator/sharer woulda have been nice too! Lets hope for a sequel!
    Expand
  8. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Catherine excels and put in shame other games for the big originality it has. Big depth in the characters is important, the gameplay is simple , of course the simplicity comes with struggles ( you will see why) the anime art style is marvelous perfect drawn models, goofy crude humor right on the menu definitely tells you that this isn't for child ( of course it isn't ). Atlus co. isn't one of the most known companies out there but their games obligatory needs to be in your library. Catherine is just marvelous. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    First thing first, it look phenomenal... For the first time in a Japanese game, the game looks practically like the Anime sequence which also are incredibly well done...The music is also awesome and the voice acting is, for the most part, outstanding... The story is awesome, but at the end, the multiple ending aspect hurt the whole experience cause if you're not an extremist, it will not feel rewarding enough... The play-time for completion depend if you take you time to enjoy the little things but it variate between 8 and 14 hours on easy mode (which permit you to undo a move, making the puzzle a lot easier) So in other difficulty, boost that time cause you'll have to retry the puzzles more (But there's check point so that's OK)... Finally, puzzles have a good difficulty... On easy, you may have to retry a couple times, but nothing too frustrating... On the other difficulties, you need instinct and patience but there's the option to lower difficulty so... yeah... no big deal... Only complaint, in the 5 last puzzles, the first 3 and the last one don't really accomplish anything and the one before the last puzzle have a boss with cheap attacks... Expand
  10. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Atlus is amazing, Team Persona is the same. Catherine is an unique addictive puzzle game with a mature history told very well. If You like in general a nice story with amazing characters YOU HAVE TO BUY IT.
    Stop with these shooters, enjoy Catherine.
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Catherine tells a wonderful story of a middle aged man trapped in wanting to be serious but scared of the changes commitment may bring to his life. The game is unique. It brings what ICO brought to the PS2 to the PS3, something different done extremely well. The puzzles are addicting to play but can be quite difficult to navigate, which is the point, but with a little time and practice of the different ways to navigate learn and being quick with the eye you can become a StairMaster. The Story is downright excellent. Involving a love triangle between a Vincent, Catherine, and Katherine. Vincent struggles with his choices and night faces his worst fears when he goes to sleep as a testament to things he has done. Catherine is a must play for any one who calls themselves a true gamer. Expand
  12. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    Catherine is unlike any other game ever created. From gameplay to story it's completely unique. It's addictive, challenging, and completely awesome. The story is deep and thought provoking, and backed by fantastic voice acting and characters. And it touches on subjects that most video game developers are to scared to even think about putting in a game. It's got a beautiful anime vibe style to it's graphics, that brings the whole thing to life. It's also very challenging, requiring you to change up you climbing tactics several times per level, and has pulse racing boss battles. It also has co-op and competitive modes you can play with a friend, and a solo challenge tower mode. When I'm not playing it I'm thinking about it, and I can't wait to see all the different endings. I recommend this deeply moving and thought provoking puzzle game to any and all gamers who are old enough to handle the mature subject matter, and the challenge it offers. Expand
  13. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Despite all of the dread and complaints about Catherine's difficulty, I found that it fell perfectly into the challenge level that I expect from a good puzzler. I completed the game my first go-around on Normal difficulty, then moved up to Hard once I felt like I had surpassed the steep learning curve, which the game does a great job of maintaining through technique suggestions and gradual introduction of new elements. That's actually one thing I greatly appreciated about Catherine's pacing, too; the constant addition of new block types, variation between boss patterns, and a shifting of theme and environment with each tier of the tower all keep the game fresh through its 10 to 15 hours. While it may take significantly less time for some gamers to breeze through the story mode, making complete use of social elements, playing the Rapunzel meta game, and talking to all of the sheep on the landing areas will lengthen the experience. The game also has eight possible endings (though it would not be necessary to beat it eight times to see all of the possibilities), contains unlockable local multiplayer, and provides puzzle variants through the randomized Babel stages. Co-op is a blast with someone of [at least] moderate intelligence. I also think it's worth noting that the storyline is remarkable, albeit a bit silly with one or two of its many twists. The voice acting is good, at least up to par with other Shin Megami Tensei and Persona titles, and the influence of personal choice can be felt in the branching cinematics. I was pleasantly surprised to see many Persona elements carry over to Catherine, as your interaction with the patrons of the Stray Sheep bar and the nightmare victims can alter the story in subtle ways, giving Catherine a more customized feeling than one might expect. In short, this is a tremendously satisfying game that works on every level of its action-puzzle-horror-sim mashup, and if you're looking for a more unique and mature addition to your stale 7th generation game library, Catherine will definitely fit the bill. Just be ready to die a lot until you get the hang of things. Easily one of my favorites from the past year. Now, on to El Shaddai... Expand
  14. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Thank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, as is expected of the Persona team. The art direction... I'm just in love with it. This game has so much personality - western games take note. Initially I was worried I wouldn't enjoy the actual puzzle gameplay, however I think it was masterfully executed. The easy difficulty is a perfect place for anyone to start and learn how the puzzles work and how to think in blocks. I think this is the best example I've seen of gameplay that can be extremely accessible to new players but also can present a challenge and real skill-based fun for experienced players. Normal is a completely different game from easy, and the tension of play can often feel similar to playing a shoot'em'up, which I loved. The story is wonderful and interesting - and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to Vincent. I typically am not a fan of story driven games, but I couldn't even bring myself to give a **** when I was watching a long cutscene or something. I liked the persona-like interaction elements with fellow climbers, and the text message system was probably the best dialogue system I've seen. The dialogue system as well as the "morality" meter are both things that make me think "Hey this is kind of like what Mass Effect did minus the horrible fatal flaws." I just really hope everyone gives Atlus all their money and persona 5 is on it's way. :) Expand
  15. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    While many might have been turned off by the news of this game that's been spreading around those who stick with and can handle how ruthless this game is will be rewarded. I know some who might complain about the meter system in regards to what you make Vincent believe in it works well for this game. When your not pushing blocks to save your boxer short wearing ass you spend the time talking to people some which you'll meet during your climbing escapades. While the social interaction isn't as good as it was in Persona 4 it's still enjoyable as are the characters. The story is a blast and is very amusing to watch. Not only that once you overcome the numerous block puzzles you will feel proud of yourself. I don't even remember the last time I felt so rewarded after playing a game for the current generation of games. But be warned in on easy difficultly this game is a lofty challenge and once you get past stage two you'll find yourself dying, a lot. Those who preserve however will be rewarded and once you beat the game once you can climb blocks with friends to see who's the puzzle master among anyone else who plays this game. While the game isn't perfect any of the grips I have are small and since it's the first game to make me feel fulfilled in the entire year I've owned a Playstation 3 I'm giving it a ten. Expand
  16. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games this generation and of all time. This game is a great original title. The game's story is unique and the puzzling action is awesome! Very challenging and you feel so great when you accomplish the missions. Also the versus mode is a lot of fun with a friend!
  17. May 1, 2013
    10
    its quiet rare that sometimes in a generation few games turned out that are totally different from all the games in the market, the most horrifying fact is that are they any good Catherine is one of those kind of games People who were behind persona have came up with such a game for this generation and as you know about Persona series well of corz, Catherine is one hell of an experience that no other game has given to u !
    Story starts of with a guy called Vincet and his life and his girlfriend, whose name is Katherine, and well he meets a seductive woman in bar called Catherine and he cheates on Katherine and well you will fall into story as it goes it turn very attracting and interesting that i dont want to spoil anymore ...
    gameplay is being devided to two sides, just like Persona series, one in real world as you go around and interact with other characters and one in Vincent's dream where you end up in an interesting puzzle, you have to climb up a tower which is made of different cubes, there are many traps along the way and you have to open you way by moving cubes along to top of the tower, as you get closer to the end of the game these puzzle start to become SURPRISINGLY DIFFICULT that may be frustrating.
    But what satisfies the gamer most is the adult oriented story, its about relationships and so on, which other games doest pay attention to it that much other than other ATLUS games ...
    graphically and artistically catherine has much to show off, beautoful colors in the world and nicely drawn and developed characters and so on.
    I picked up the Collection edition at the first day, it was kind of a weird CE since it gives u a pervert feeling with having boxer, sexy pillowcase and catherine shirt in it WTF !
    but overall
    its fun
    cuz whatver this game offers you is much different than any other exicting game in this generation, of corz the kinda same will be the P4G for vita.
    Expand
  18. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This game is solid. It's fun, challenging, original, interesting, and contains content that could create deep conversations about love, sex, and relationships. There are very few games out there that can be deeply analyzed and opened with critical thought. Catherine is a game that can easily stand up there with movies like American Beauty, Burnt Money, and An Education (in terms on their topics of sex). The puzzles are incredibly difficult but then again, so can a relationship between two people. This game reminded me of the time when I was in a tough relationship, I couldn't even sleep because I didn't know what I would do the next day. Catherine's nightmare puzzles are like that only I didn't die and here, you will die...a lot. NOTE: This game is definitely not for everyone and when it says it's mature it's not lying, and like another reviewer said, not just in content but in context, the conversations, innuendos, and metaphors will pass over those who don't get it, a child will not play this game unlike Black Ops or Assassin's Creed, and will probably limit the experience of Catherine. If you want something original, different, well made, and incredibly interesting Catherine is for you. Expand
  19. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms are very hard, be prepared!
  20. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    One of the most unique games this generation, this is what we need to have variety!!!!! loved every second of it, try it even if it looks too anime for yoo I garatee you will never forget it
  21. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a realy great game, i feel that the ending that i got was perfect for the way that i played the game. As a complete package the game is very fun and breath of fresh air in this era is stale sequels, prequels and just mediocre games but....... its not for every one, if you're into anime, adult themes, puzzles or just want to play something like you've never played before i strongly recomend this game. Expand
  22. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    The best game i played all year with a deep and compelling story line hard as nails difficulty and a very fun puzzle sequences. Going away from the usual formula of games that are released every other week. Catherine offers something new, fresh and warped. BUY IT!!!
  23. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Just a disclaimer, I haven't completed the game yet, but this is one of the more original and interesting games I've ever played. The questions and choices you are faced with have moral weight and are difficult to answer. A better karma system than inFAMOUS/inFAMOUS 2. The puzzle style gameplay of the nightmare, is fun and extremely challenging. The little things in this game count, the way Vincent walks around the bar with his hands in his pockets like the hip 30-something he is and then begins to stagger from table to table after a couple drinks. Expand
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Two words : quirky and engaging.

    First, the gameplay is both infuriating and worthwhile to those who put in effort. Catherine is not for the faint of heart. I once spent 1 hour on a single level but it was worth it when i reached the end. However, the main point of this game is not the gameplay in my opinion, but rather the interesting plot. As you watch vincent squirm through awkward
    conversations, freak out over small things, and encounter other events, you can't help but find the story amusing. The game wonderfully presents the tale of vincent and keeps the player on their toes in terms of what is going on. The replay value is also wonderful because there is a whopping EIGHT alternative endings. The only downfall to this game is it's amount of content per play-through. I breezed through this game in 9 hours and I wished it was longer. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    The puzzles are frustrating yet fun and require a lot of patience to get through. The story was great, and so were the graphics. The voice acting was unbelievably perfect in every way. If you want to be challenged and aren't easily agitated, give this game a shot.
  26. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a game where you move blocks around in a nightmare while being attacked by sheep, robot babies, vaginas with tongues coming out of them, and all manner of other beasts (such as a gigantic manâ
  27. May 13, 2012
    9
    Catherine is one of the most original games i have played this generation and it also contains some interesting ideas. as the game is based around a block puzzle game it wont be to every-ones taste.
    but for a full game to be based on a puzzle block game it has to be a very good one . which it happens to be. the puzzle looks deceptively simple but in-fact is highly complex in its design it
    is also very challenging with a strong difficulty spike after the tutorial levels to progress takes practice,learning and trial and error. Soon additions like spiked blocks ,sheep that push you or block your route add even more to the difficulty and general madness of the overall game. Each completion of a set of 3 block levels allows you too the other area of the main game the story. which are interactive animations with conversations and speech choices that change some scenes and affect youre final ending. this part of the game is also very high quality the story is quite adult in its content and very amusing in places. if you have played any of the persona series you may recognise the style and use of various things like the use of tv channels to tell the story. There are 2 variations of the puzzle game, a retro version arcade cabinet in the Bar called Rapunzel, and a challenge area called Babel, which unlocks if you manage a gold rank in the main games challenges. there is an online question and answer dialogue that after you answer the question tells you what other players first time answers where. The only bad point of the game is the slightly loose control scheme in the block game as youre man sometimes goes the wrong way or grabs the wrong block but this is slight and does not spoil the game at all. Overall another great innovative title released by Atlus and made by the persona crew. Expand
  28. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I will make simple review for this game and overall rate is 9.5 . I love this game because this game is simply enjoy for mentality game and they have interesting quotes/questions . Catherine is great for you and it's relating to your life/reality .
  29. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    If you like Kafkaesque worlds, engaging stories, challenging puzzles or if you
  30. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most innovative games ever made and diserves the attention of those who want to try something totally new. A impressive history, told through well writen dialogs and a puzzle kind of gameplay that is hard to not fell atracted. If you like the kind of game that brings new ideas try this one out!
  31. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the thing that got me instantly hooked onto this game was the story. It is just too dam good. Puzzles were really tough to figure out on the hard difficulty. I love both the puzzle aspect and the story. Never could you imagine how well designed were the puzzles that is just screwing with your brain for hours on end. In the end I gave up part way on the hard difficulty and finished the game with sufficient challenge in the medium difficulty. Having alternate endings were nice, but still only the Catherine ending is the truly awesome one. Perhaps the only thing keeping it from a 10 from me is the camera, a few occations camera and walking around boxes don't quite go well together, can't see yourself or what you are really doing. Overall loved the game, buy it only if you like puzzles and enjoy an awesome story, rent and play on easy if you want to watch like an hour kick ass story. Expand
  32. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Well this game is not perfect and doesn't have the best gameplay ever, but you don't see games with this amount of drama everyday. This is not only a game, this is an interactive movie and you will stick to the story because it will become better and better. If you love anime you will love this game. The gameplay is very casual but really hardcore at the same time, at the beginning it is super simple but with the progression you will need strategies to beat the tougher levels.
    In addiction you have two extra multiplayer modes, cooperative and competitive.
    The experience was great because i never played nothing like this before. I highly recommend if you like anime and puzzles.
    Oh, in my previous review i forgot the most important point. It is super underrated and deserved way more!
    Expand
  33. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Catherine is a game that must be played. The game is solid. It's fun, challenging, original and interesting. It can be hard at times, but once you finally get the hang of its unique gameplay, you'll be hooked.
  34. May 8, 2013
    9
    It's an incredible adult game. Puzzles are intense and original, the story really keeps you coming back for more and all the game's personality is awesome.
    For me, the best surprise of the latest months!
  35. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    First and foremost, I love this game, through and through. Some characters have more depth than others, but Vincent is a great lead that many male players will relate to. It's not made for everyone, and some may find little reasons to hate on it, but If you are a fan of truly challenging, unorthodox puzzlers and intriguing tales with multiple endings (being a closet-romantic definitely helps), you will find a lot of enjoyment in Catherine. Expand
  36. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Brought to us by the same team that created the legendary JRPGs Persona 3 and Persona 4, Catherine is a game that had "risk" written all over it. Outside of this title, I don't know any other Dating Sim Puzzle games. It is a unique creation. But what is most important about this risk, is the fact that it worked really well! It has fantastic visual and audio design, along with gameplay that is easy to get into and evolves with each new challenge and techniques provided, and a dark-humoured adult story that can go in a variety of directions, providing us with multiple outcomes and excellent replay value. In a world were shooters and platformers are given the most attention, this game really deserves a look. Expand
  37. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic game with unique style and beautiful personality. I've been waiting for a long time for a game with a mature theme and by that I don't mean a game like duke or gta filled with swearing and nudity no, this game will make you think about what is right or wrong in a relationship and you'll get to choose every crucial decisions Vincent have to take. The story line is an amazing breath-taking experience and I liked the ending (note: there is 8 different endings!).

    The game-play is actually fun and changeling not cheap but some times you may give up and search for a walk-through to solve a puzzle. Soundtrack is awesome and fits the game perfectly.
    Expand
  38. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I DON'T KNOW WHY PEOPLE DON'T SEE THE TRUE VALUE!
    I had to convince my mom for two years to let me play this game, finally on my birthday, she let me get it. All I can say is that it was worth the wait! in the game, you're Vincent Brooks, a man who is frightened when his girlfriend, Katherine starts talking about marriage. That night, he gets drunk and sleeps with this blonde chick,
    Catherine! In the game, the choices you make determine whether you go with Catherine or Katherine! During night time, you have night mares where you need to climb a different tower every night, or you die. After you complete a tower, you can socialize with other sheep, which are human men, and save.the way you talk to them, or if you talk to them at all, can lead them to life or death! After the landings, you enter a booth where they ask you questions like, "have you cheated" and stuff like that.these questions and the way you socialize determine which ending you will get. Overall, best game ever! Partial nudity (you can't see everything) strong language, alcohol and tabacco, and blood. Expand
  39. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    while frustrating at times, catherine tells a very good story. what's best is that there are multiple endings, which helps to add even more replay value to a fun game. the gameplay is unique,as you need to move blocks around to reach a goal, while avoiding some giant monsters trying to kill you, or pushing sheep out of your way. the deaths look pretty nice as well, and you can interact with people through texts, at a bar, and is affected based on your answers to questions you'll receive. Expand
  40. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    *Story and plot (no spoilers)*
    This game is incredible. Definitely one of the best puzzle games I've played in a long while. If you plan on playing this game, focus on the story. Ignoring the story (which is almost impossible) would ruin the entire experience. Watching the intriguing story is is very satisfying. The entire story is based on misunderstandings and plot twists. It's like
    watching a movie, only you get to play the action scenes. I haven't played this concept before and it's definitely something you don't see every day. The game has many well-placed quotes and words of wisdom. It's definitely worth it to speaking to every character in the game.

    *Gameplay*
    While the controls are a bit off (you either use the stick or the touch pad), they are fairly decent. The puzzles are relentlessly difficult at times, and you'll have to invest some time to get good at it. Play it enough and you're guaranteed to improve. All in all, climbing feels relatively satisfying and the game has a fair learning curve that anyone with decent diligence can master.

    This game is definitely not ment to be played by kids. A mature audience will definitely enjoy this game, especially those that are close to the age of mariage.
    Expand
  41. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    1- This game is Hard! if you are poor of patience you'll outrage before even before starting the real challenge.
    2- This game is for adults! not age speaking but brain speaking, you won't find any boob floating on screen, ingame polls speak clearly of the age needed (20-40).
    3- This game is fairly outside the standard cliches of gaming. Enough to be a "must have" of the console (and
    also enough to get bad results in critic because of people claiming to be experienced). Expand
  42. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    An oddly refreshing smoothie. Snippets of **** drama, fun dialogue, erotic eye fulls, interesting questions all held together by force of challenge. In-game constructs rotate through a diverse range of set-ups that all hinge on the axis of puzzles. Character interactions are obviously limited, but the polarizing of Catherine and Katherine alone give this game ample replay value. There are moments that the puzzles can become mind-splitting and maddening. It is a very intensely punishing game with all the carbonated anime aesthetics and rewarding cut scenes to keep you clinging on out of willpower and excitement. If you're in for a different ride and have the patience to problem solve then I wholly recommend. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    A gorgeous hybrid. It's a puzzle-solving platformer and sexually-forced anime that's been combined into a well balanced title. The game is going to please the fans as well as it will whet nosy parkers appetite for actually playing it. It shows the Japanese developers know how to appeal to European and American gamers without giving away the bizarre ideas trademark.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    One of the most obscure games we've ever seen. It's not a platformer and it's not an adventure game, but it combines elements of these two genres in a spectacular way. If it wasn't for the -sometimes- extreme difficulty and some poor design, Catherine would have been a must-have.