Catherine PlayStation 3

Catherine Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 396 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets aVincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets a rather beautiful, young girl by the name of Catherine. Catherine's charms and beauty are just enough to sway the intoxicated Vincent into sleeping with her, and after that night of sleeping with this mysterious girl, Vincent begins to have horrible nightmares of falling, and strange sheep men. The nightmares are slowly getting worse, and Vincent can't shake off this strange feeling that Katherine knows of his cheating on her, as if that wasn't enough, Vincent learns of unfaithful men, dying in their sleep, and his friend tells rumors of dreams...."When you have dreams of when you're falling and you can't wake up, you'll never wake up again, and die." Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Catherine - Are You Committed? Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    Going through the story for the first time is an intriguing affair that ultimately makes you question the type of person you truly are, maybe even more than you'd like to admit. While the difficulty might be too much for some people to handle, it's an experience that is just as rewarding as it is punishing.
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    90
    In Catherine, Atlus successfully combines a puzzle game with heavy emotions (and a large bit of surrealism). It's an important game, that might appeal to an older crowd.
  4. 85
    Catherine is a mind trip, blending the impact of real life decisions, the nightmares of finally growing up, and the fear of dying young. While the core puzzle-platforming offers nerve-wracking excitement, players are likewise gifted with an engaging, authentic story.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    80
    If you hate puzzle games,Catherine will be like a scorned lover, vying desperately for your attention with methods that don't always work. If you love puzzle games though, Catherine will be the closest you will ever get to having the perfect relationship, drawing you in with its strong and compelling storyline and deep and multi-faceted gameplay.
  6. CD-Action
    Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 106
  2. Negative: 8 out of 106
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Brought to us by the same team that created the legendary JRPGs Persona 3 and Persona 4, Catherine is a game that had "risk" written all overBrought to us by the same team that created the legendary JRPGs Persona 3 and Persona 4, Catherine is a game that had "risk" written all over it. Outside of this title, I don't know any other Dating Sim Puzzle games. It is a unique creation. But what is most important about this risk, is the fact that it worked really well! It has fantastic visual and audio design, along with gameplay that is easy to get into and evolves with each new challenge and techniques provided, and a dark-humoured adult story that can go in a variety of directions, providing us with multiple outcomes and excellent replay value. In a world were shooters and platformers are given the most attention, this game really deserves a look. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games this generation and of all time. This game is a great original title. The game's story is unique and the puzzlingOne of my favorite games this generation and of all time. This game is a great original title. The game's story is unique and the puzzling action is awesome! Very challenging and you feel so great when you accomplish the missions. Also the versus mode is a lot of fun with a friend! Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic.
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults.

    It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb.

    And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I will make simple review for this game and overall rate is 9.5 . I love this game because this game is simply enjoy for mentality game andI will make simple review for this game and overall rate is 9.5 . I love this game because this game is simply enjoy for mentality game and they have interesting quotes/questions . Catherine is great for you and it's relating to your life/reality . Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2017
    8
    Ennek a játéknak a története valami nagyon nagy! Az animés átvezetők, a szereplők és a beteg sztori mindent visz, de még aki nem szereti aEnnek a játéknak a története valami nagyon nagy! Az animés átvezetők, a szereplők és a beteg sztori mindent visz, de még aki nem szereti a tologatós logikai játékokat ezek miatt annak is megér egy próbát. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    Interesting to say the least, and I feel slightly weird playing it while my wife is in the room, haha, but still is a good title to playInteresting to say the least, and I feel slightly weird playing it while my wife is in the room, haha, but still is a good title to play through and enjoy the naughtiness of it all! Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    Very underwhelming, you cannot deny the fact that this game lacks variety. This game was made by the people who made persona, so its only fairVery underwhelming, you cannot deny the fact that this game lacks variety. This game was made by the people who made persona, so its only fair that I attempt to compare it a little. The ONLY place you can interact with is the bar, other than that its just the puzzles, in persona you can move in ALL different areas of the town. When I heard it was a puzzle game, I assumed there would be several different puzzles, not the same way one over and over again. Personally I hate games with alternate endings and this one has 8, its just a cheap way to give the illusion of a long game, which it was not. It was fairly short. The concept and story are ok, but once again compared to the story of persona series, its just ok. This would have been a good game maybe if it was released for the ps2 or psp, but for a huge console like the ps3, we expect a little more from the people who gave us Persona 3 and persona 4. The block puzzles dont get boring, but they also dont get fun either, it simply isnt addicting and has not much of a replay value. I can only guess the bright side of this is the ability to fight with your friends, but even that comes with some restriction, you need to achieve certain things to go online. Bottom line is, this game lacks variety, Persona was very long and had a big amount of variety. It was too underwhelming, nothing about it is grand, everything was short, story, characters, gameplay, etc. Im not saying its a bad game, but for its time, its not good enough. Expand

See all 106 User Reviews