Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets aVincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets a rather beautiful, young girl by the name of Catherine. Catherine's charms and beauty are just enough to sway the intoxicated Vincent into sleeping with her, and after that night of sleeping with this mysterious girl, Vincent begins to have horrible nightmares of falling, and strange sheep men. The nightmares are slowly getting worse, and Vincent can't shake off this strange feeling that Katherine knows of his cheating on her, as if that wasn't enough, Vincent learns of unfaithful men, dying in their sleep, and his friend tells rumors of dreams...."When you have dreams of when you're falling and you can't wake up, you'll never wake up again, and die." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    Going through the story for the first time is an intriguing affair that ultimately makes you question the type of person you truly are, maybe even more than you'd like to admit. While the difficulty might be too much for some people to handle, it's an experience that is just as rewarding as it is punishing.
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    90
    In Catherine, Atlus successfully combines a puzzle game with heavy emotions (and a large bit of surrealism). It's an important game, that might appeal to an older crowd.
  4. 85
    Catherine is a mind trip, blending the impact of real life decisions, the nightmares of finally growing up, and the fear of dying young. While the core puzzle-platforming offers nerve-wracking excitement, players are likewise gifted with an engaging, authentic story.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    80
    If you hate puzzle games,Catherine will be like a scorned lover, vying desperately for your attention with methods that don't always work. If you love puzzle games though, Catherine will be the closest you will ever get to having the perfect relationship, drawing you in with its strong and compelling storyline and deep and multi-faceted gameplay.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 88
  2. Negative: 8 out of 88
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic.
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults.

    It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb.

    And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    One of the most unique games this generation, this is what we need to have variety!!!!! loved every second of it, try it even if it looks tooOne of the most unique games this generation, this is what we need to have variety!!!!! loved every second of it, try it even if it looks too anime for yoo I garatee you will never forget it Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    While many might have been turned off by the news of this game that's been spreading around those who stick with and can handle how ruthlessWhile many might have been turned off by the news of this game that's been spreading around those who stick with and can handle how ruthless this game is will be rewarded. I know some who might complain about the meter system in regards to what you make Vincent believe in it works well for this game. When your not pushing blocks to save your boxer short wearing ass you spend the time talking to people some which you'll meet during your climbing escapades. While the social interaction isn't as good as it was in Persona 4 it's still enjoyable as are the characters. The story is a blast and is very amusing to watch. Not only that once you overcome the numerous block puzzles you will feel proud of yourself. I don't even remember the last time I felt so rewarded after playing a game for the current generation of games. But be warned in on easy difficultly this game is a lofty challenge and once you get past stage two you'll find yourself dying, a lot. Those who preserve however will be rewarded and once you beat the game once you can climb blocks with friends to see who's the puzzle master among anyone else who plays this game. While the game isn't perfect any of the grips I have are small and since it's the first game to make me feel fulfilled in the entire year I've owned a Playstation 3 I'm giving it a ten. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Catherine is a twisted anime RPG that won’t be for everyone, but it’s definitely worth taking a look. You play the role of Vincent who isCatherine is a twisted anime RPG that won’t be for everyone, but it’s definitely worth taking a look. You play the role of Vincent who is caught between two women, his fiancé and the girl of his dreams (Katherine and Catherine, respectively). Speaking of dreams, whenever you sleep you have to run from your nightmares by way of an “Intelligence Cube”-esque puzzler…and you have horns and a pillow…because you and others in your dream are sheep that are all being slaughtered. Yeah. All weird japanese stuff aside the story gives you a real sense of anxiety and you feel like a douche for being stuck in the middle of this self created drama. Fantastic. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    If Catherine is anything, it's unique. You'll notice it from the second you turn it on right up until your closest hand is smashing theIf Catherine is anything, it's unique. You'll notice it from the second you turn it on right up until your closest hand is smashing the rage-quit button on your console. If you don't like a challenge, stay far away; even the easiest of Catherine's play modes can be grueling. While certainly not a perfect game, Catherine has enough content and story paths to keep a player interested for many hours - so long as you're willing to put yourself through the pain of failure a few times. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm so disappointed in this game. What started out as a great, unique game is completely ruined in the end. If you're looking for a good story, you need to look somewhere else. It's great all the way until the very end, where it goes into the usual anime melodrama and absurdity and ruins EVERYTHING that came before it. Instead of being a simple, mature story with a little touch of the supernatural, it goes way overboard and loses any sense of tone that came before it. I almost feel like the writers were scared to keep this story grounded in reality. But if you are playing Catherine for the gameplay, it's fairly decent, just a little bit on the hard side. I'm talking harder than most Contra games. I'm pretending the ending didn't happen, it's the only reason I rated this in the positive category. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    This is the worst game I've ever played, literally. I downloaded Catherine from PS Plus, I don't even know how this got in the store. TheThis is the worst game I've ever played, literally. I downloaded Catherine from PS Plus, I don't even know how this got in the store. The first thing that I noticed is the price it's really expensive, at first I thought it's probably good since it costs so much. But I was wrong. When I started the game, this crappy menu showed up. I was like "what the is this?". Before I got to play, it showed some ****ty anime cutscenes, they were so horrible, only a drugged man would enjoy this. But it's nothing compared to the gameplay itself. You're playing as a naked guy with goat horns, and the objective is to jump on blocks until you come to finish. That's basically everything the game is about. I really regret downloading this pathetic excuse for a game, thank god I didn't waste money on it. Anyone who enjoys this is probably mentally challenged or something. Don't buy this game, please. It's really bad. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews