Catherine PlayStation 3

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets aVincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets a rather beautiful, young girl by the name of Catherine. Catherine's charms and beauty are just enough to sway the intoxicated Vincent into sleeping with her, and after that night of sleeping with this mysterious girl, Vincent begins to have horrible nightmares of falling, and strange sheep men. The nightmares are slowly getting worse, and Vincent can't shake off this strange feeling that Katherine knows of his cheating on her, as if that wasn't enough, Vincent learns of unfaithful men, dying in their sleep, and his friend tells rumors of dreams...."When you have dreams of when you're falling and you can't wake up, you'll never wake up again, and die." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    Going through the story for the first time is an intriguing affair that ultimately makes you question the type of person you truly are, maybe even more than you'd like to admit. While the difficulty might be too much for some people to handle, it's an experience that is just as rewarding as it is punishing.
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    90
    In Catherine, Atlus successfully combines a puzzle game with heavy emotions (and a large bit of surrealism). It's an important game, that might appeal to an older crowd.
  4. 85
    Catherine is a mind trip, blending the impact of real life decisions, the nightmares of finally growing up, and the fear of dying young. While the core puzzle-platforming offers nerve-wracking excitement, players are likewise gifted with an engaging, authentic story.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    80
    If you hate puzzle games,Catherine will be like a scorned lover, vying desperately for your attention with methods that don't always work. If you love puzzle games though, Catherine will be the closest you will ever get to having the perfect relationship, drawing you in with its strong and compelling storyline and deep and multi-faceted gameplay.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 89
  2. Negative: 8 out of 89
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    One of the most unique games this generation, this is what we need to have variety!!!!! loved every second of it, try it even if it looks tooOne of the most unique games this generation, this is what we need to have variety!!!!! loved every second of it, try it even if it looks too anime for yoo I garatee you will never forget it Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    While many might have been turned off by the news of this game that's been spreading around those who stick with and can handle how ruthlessWhile many might have been turned off by the news of this game that's been spreading around those who stick with and can handle how ruthless this game is will be rewarded. I know some who might complain about the meter system in regards to what you make Vincent believe in it works well for this game. When your not pushing blocks to save your boxer short wearing ass you spend the time talking to people some which you'll meet during your climbing escapades. While the social interaction isn't as good as it was in Persona 4 it's still enjoyable as are the characters. The story is a blast and is very amusing to watch. Not only that once you overcome the numerous block puzzles you will feel proud of yourself. I don't even remember the last time I felt so rewarded after playing a game for the current generation of games. But be warned in on easy difficultly this game is a lofty challenge and once you get past stage two you'll find yourself dying, a lot. Those who preserve however will be rewarded and once you beat the game once you can climb blocks with friends to see who's the puzzle master among anyone else who plays this game. While the game isn't perfect any of the grips I have are small and since it's the first game to make me feel fulfilled in the entire year I've owned a Playstation 3 I'm giving it a ten. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic.
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults.

    It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb.

    And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms areI liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms are very hard, be prepared! Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Catherine made me feel: Addicted, Adrenaline, Anger, Challenge, Guilt, Intrigue, Relaxation, Victory.

    I cannot recommend this game to
    Catherine made me feel: Addicted, Adrenaline, Anger, Challenge, Guilt, Intrigue, Relaxation, Victory.

    I cannot recommend this game to anyone because you may come back to me angry for having failed to complete a challenge. The challenges are frustrating; I tried to snap my controller in half more than once. I lost countless hours of sleep trying to push myself to get through the increasingly difficult levels. I wanted to quit many times…, but could not because the story had me so hooked I had to make it through to see what would happen next.

    The game is odd, in a good way, in that if feels like two games in one. One game is intense puzzle plat forming, while the other is a relaxing conversation simulator. As you play you switch between the two which makes for some brilliant pacing. Without the story and the knowledge I could relax following an intense brain exploding puzzle, I would have easily quit early in the game.

    The story, while relaxing, tackles some controversial social ethics that will probably affect players in different ways. For me, the game made me look internally and reflect on what type of person I am. This in turn made me feel guilty as I knew I was guiding the character into doing the wrong things but could not bring myself to stop.

    My biggest gripes are that the controls are a bit awkward which make for frustrating moments, and a few of the endings feel incomplete. These are the endings you get if you are indecisive throughout the games trials.

    Catherine is a unique game, and is unlike anything I have played before. The difficult puzzles were always worth it because of the victory I felt when completing them. Sometimes I would jump off the couch with a victory yell. (My wife didn’t appreciate this). In the end, I am happy to have had the opportunity to experience the game.
    Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2011
    7
    A breath of fresh air in a gaming landscape cluttered with military shooters. Catherine is a unique and engrossing experience which featuresA breath of fresh air in a gaming landscape cluttered with military shooters. Catherine is a unique and engrossing experience which features some of the highest production values I've seen in years. If you don't have any strong distaste for anime, play it now. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    Very underwhelming, you cannot deny the fact that this game lacks variety. This game was made by the people who made persona, so its only fairVery underwhelming, you cannot deny the fact that this game lacks variety. This game was made by the people who made persona, so its only fair that I attempt to compare it a little. The ONLY place you can interact with is the bar, other than that its just the puzzles, in persona you can move in ALL different areas of the town. When I heard it was a puzzle game, I assumed there would be several different puzzles, not the same way one over and over again. Personally I hate games with alternate endings and this one has 8, its just a cheap way to give the illusion of a long game, which it was not. It was fairly short. The concept and story are ok, but once again compared to the story of persona series, its just ok. This would have been a good game maybe if it was released for the ps2 or psp, but for a huge console like the ps3, we expect a little more from the people who gave us Persona 3 and persona 4. The block puzzles dont get boring, but they also dont get fun either, it simply isnt addicting and has not much of a replay value. I can only guess the bright side of this is the ability to fight with your friends, but even that comes with some restriction, you need to achieve certain things to go online. Bottom line is, this game lacks variety, Persona was very long and had a big amount of variety. It was too underwhelming, nothing about it is grand, everything was short, story, characters, gameplay, etc. Im not saying its a bad game, but for its time, its not good enough. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews