Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    92
    The level of challenge and degree of difficulty ramps up smoothly over the course of the game, and all passage of time will slip by, as you become immersed and even hypnotized by the dazzling graphics and stunning music in Child of Eden; one of the most original games I've ever played this year on the PS3 and certainly a perfect fit for the PS Move.
  2. The gameplay in Child of Eden is simple, but its relative lack of complexity is easily outweighed by its fervent dedication to turning each player's experience into an inimitable work of art. [Dec 2011, p.80]
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    Child of Eden might be known primarily for its forefront position in Kinect's line-up, but it's just as comfortable on PlayStation Move, especially worthy of a purchase given the ridiculously good budget RRP. Rarely have we had as good a time with PlayStation Move - or any game in recent times, for that matter - as with Child of Eden, standing in a darkened room, the volume pumped high, playing by the light of the television and the Move controller alone.
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    90
    Child of Eden is one of those games you'll pull out to make friends ooh and ahh at your new A/V system, but it's a game you'll keep out just to dabble in the world Q Entertainment has created.
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    The same euphoric mix of interactive gameplay, visuals and music as the Xbox 360, but while it loses the immersion of Kinect it gains a gorgeous new 3D mode.
  6. Oct 9, 2011
    85
    Not the average shooter, not the average game – Child of Eden is unique and great. Unfortunately this game is way too short, but the time you play is absolutely fantastic. Be sure to buy it when the price drops.
  7. Sep 30, 2011
    85
    A strange sensorial experience: synaesthetic, charming, fascinating. More than a simple scrolling shooter, Child of Eden is the perfect mix of light and sound.
  8. Sep 26, 2011
    85
    Child of Eden may be over quickly, but it offers emotional highs you'll want to experience again and again.
  9. Oct 10, 2011
    84
    Oh sweet originality, how I have missed you. Children of Eden's unique style and exciting gameplay make for a fantastic, spacing experience. The short length and the lack of multiplayer options are the only downsides to an otherwise fantastic game.
  10. Oct 18, 2011
    83
    It's hard to describe exactly, but there's something about Rez that just hooked me into replaying it more than Child of Eden has.
  11. Sep 26, 2011
    83
    If you're willing to spend the cash on a relatively short adventure, you'll experience something totally energizing.
  12. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    The presentation is so rich and imaginative that it flies in the face of every possible trend the industry has right now. [Issue#211, p.84]
  13. There's no question that this journey of music and life is one well worth taking.
  14. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    The game is challenging, visually stunning and is truly a unique experience not found anywhere else. Although you can use the controller, playing with the Move and its use of vibration makes the PS3 version of the game truly a unique experience.
  15. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    The PS3 version of Child of Eden looks good, sounds great anche is really nice to play. The gameplay basics are also the same, but the general feeling is really different from the one we experienced playing using Kinect. The game is great, anyway. If you're looking for a unique videogame, don't miss this one!
  16. Sep 26, 2011
    80
    It's easily the most compelling application of 'synaesthesia' and a wholly unique audio/visual experience. It probably loses a little bit of the involvement that came along with Kinect, but Move is still an accurate experience that outweighs the conventional controller, and will make this the most accessible version.
  17. Sep 26, 2011
    80
    Close your eyes after playing, and a carnival of neon sea-creatures and fluorescent shapes will pulsate under your eye-lids. Child of Eden will linger in your conscious long after playing. While it's a fleeting and - on rare occasions - frustrating experience, it'll leave its mark on 2011 in just the same way.
  18. Sep 29, 2011
    75
    Child of Eden is one of the most unique games you will play on the PS3. The addictive gameplay, vibrant visuals, solid sound and challenging level designs all make for game PlayStation Move owners should strongly consider. Just be aware, it is a short single player only experience that does not offer up much in the way of replay value.
  19. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  20. Nov 13, 2011
    65
    A rhythm action game that has little to do with rhythm. [Dec 2011, p.106]
  21. Sep 29, 2011
    65
    I'd be lying if I said I didn't feel my heart pound as I worked to free Lumi from the clutches of the virus. I just wish Q Entertainment provided a more fulfilling method of doing so.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    8
    This is a very different and unique game. And you MUST be aware of this from the start. First of all, undress yourself of any prejudices before playing this, since this isn't, by all means, your average game. We could say this is a "shooter", but even that would be accurate. This is more of a synesthetic experience, where you'll be juggling sounds, explosions and images before your eyes using either the PS Move or the sixaxis. It´s a visual, interactive poem and a beautiful, haunting experience that no one should miss. But always keep this in mind: this is an experience, not a game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed Rez, you will definitely want to pick this game up! Similar in style but with a few additions. It's an on rails, music rhythm game. Awesome soundtrack if you are into techno/dance music.
    Yes this game is short, buts not made to be a "play the 8 hours campaign" and be done with it. High replay value comes from trying to improve your score, which this game does have leader boards. If you have a 3D TV and a Move you are in for a real treat. It supports both! Also to truly enjoy this game you do need a set of headphones or a descent set of speakers. If you plan on using the tiny tv speakers you wont get to fully appreciate this work of art. Trust me, this will become one of those "hidden gems" that gets lost in the shuffle this generation.

    Disclaimer: If you have epilepsy you will want to skip this....
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    An interesting experiment that was really enjoyable for me. The music is nice (check out Genki Rockets, I know them since Hevenly Star in Lumines 2) and the visuals are insanely cool, they gave me goosebumps in places. There isn't much I can say about this game as it's very short, but it was worth the 5€ I spent on it (was discounted on PSN). It's basically Rez with some additions, and in my opinion, a more enjoyable music and visuals. The only thing I disliked was the "on beat" combo system, and the fact that you had to MASTER it to get good scores. I have poor sense of Rhythm so this pretty much precluded me from getting good scores in half the levels, and in the ones I managed to master (this means perfect purification ratio with 5 star score) I had to retry like 100 times. I can't do that for levels with music I don't like, or with really fast beat that is impossible for me to follow. Also, in some levels, enemies pop up outside of the screen and it's really frustrating to see the 99% after an area because some little worm spawned outside of your field of view and you didn't see him.
    Overall though, for a cheap game, I can't help but recommend it to everyone who is interested in a very unique take on rail shooters, but I'm not sure I would have been satisfied if I paid more than 20€ for it, because it's very short and all the replay value comes from the frustrating beat based level mastering. I can't comment on the motion controls because I don't like that stuff so I don't own a PSMove.
    Full Review »