User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    6
    Without 3d-tv and Move controller, this game feels like it needs an extra boost in impressiveness. It's pretty, though, and the abstract 3d becomes strangely familiar after a few hours. It only has half a dozen levels (6 * 10-20mins) with the same build-up towards similar boss fights, although fairly varied in presentation and mood. If you want to hear some decent dance/trance music andWithout 3d-tv and Move controller, this game feels like it needs an extra boost in impressiveness. It's pretty, though, and the abstract 3d becomes strangely familiar after a few hours. It only has half a dozen levels (6 * 10-20mins) with the same build-up towards similar boss fights, although fairly varied in presentation and mood. If you want to hear some decent dance/trance music and dive into an audiovisual hypnosis, CoE is pretty much the only game on the market that does that. Like the music genre, this trance needs only simplicity, flow and steadfastness. But it's more than just a dream, it's got leaderboards, trophies and unlockable artwork, so there's a sense of purpose for those who care. There's also a plot btw.. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    This is the best music game I've ever played! Gorgeous visuals and amazing soundtrack with great Move support. I hope we will see more games like this. Masterpiece!
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    The sister sequel to Rez; Child of Eden expands to become an experience that is both fun to play as much as it is fun to watch.. It might not be the better game of the two but it's a motion control masterpiece and not too shabby with a controller either.... Think Panza Dragoon but abstract and absolutely beautiful!
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    An interesting experiment that was really enjoyable for me. The music is nice (check out Genki Rockets, I know them since Hevenly Star in Lumines 2) and the visuals are insanely cool, they gave me goosebumps in places. There isn't much I can say about this game as it's very short, but it was worth the 5€ I spent on it (was discounted on PSN). It's basically Rez with some additions, and inAn interesting experiment that was really enjoyable for me. The music is nice (check out Genki Rockets, I know them since Hevenly Star in Lumines 2) and the visuals are insanely cool, they gave me goosebumps in places. There isn't much I can say about this game as it's very short, but it was worth the 5€ I spent on it (was discounted on PSN). It's basically Rez with some additions, and in my opinion, a more enjoyable music and visuals. The only thing I disliked was the "on beat" combo system, and the fact that you had to MASTER it to get good scores. I have poor sense of Rhythm so this pretty much precluded me from getting good scores in half the levels, and in the ones I managed to master (this means perfect purification ratio with 5 star score) I had to retry like 100 times. I can't do that for levels with music I don't like, or with really fast beat that is impossible for me to follow. Also, in some levels, enemies pop up outside of the screen and it's really frustrating to see the 99% after an area because some little worm spawned outside of your field of view and you didn't see him.
    Overall though, for a cheap game, I can't help but recommend it to everyone who is interested in a very unique take on rail shooters, but I'm not sure I would have been satisfied if I paid more than 20€ for it, because it's very short and all the replay value comes from the frustrating beat based level mastering. I can't comment on the motion controls because I don't like that stuff so I don't own a PSMove.
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    8
    This is a very different and unique game. And you MUST be aware of this from the start. First of all, undress yourself of any prejudices before playing this, since this isn't, by all means, your average game. We could say this is a "shooter", but even that would be accurate. This is more of a synesthetic experience, where you'll be juggling sounds, explosions and images before your eyesThis is a very different and unique game. And you MUST be aware of this from the start. First of all, undress yourself of any prejudices before playing this, since this isn't, by all means, your average game. We could say this is a "shooter", but even that would be accurate. This is more of a synesthetic experience, where you'll be juggling sounds, explosions and images before your eyes using either the PS Move or the sixaxis. It´s a visual, interactive poem and a beautiful, haunting experience that no one should miss. But always keep this in mind: this is an experience, not a game. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Child of eden is now available as a digital download at a reasonable price. But you may still be able to pick it up new cheap as ubisoft released it new at half price. The only reason may be that you can complete the game in around 6 hours on youre first playthru. But you will not have seen everything and collected all the little extras.The graphics in this game make me want a 3d tv asChild of eden is now available as a digital download at a reasonable price. But you may still be able to pick it up new cheap as ubisoft released it new at half price. The only reason may be that you can complete the game in around 6 hours on youre first playthru. But you will not have seen everything and collected all the little extras.The graphics in this game make me want a 3d tv as even in hd they are outof this world.The gameplay is exactly like its spiritual father Rez there are 5 worlds with a 6th challenge world mode that is continuous until you fail this challenge mode is incredibly involving and the games worlds make you keep coming back for that just one more try feeling. as on hard the game is quite a challenge. I would say Eden is an experience or journey more than a game but one that is well worth the price of admission. Collapse
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    What an impressive game! Like REZ, a true classic game that you can play whenever you want. The gameplay is simple, but addictive, the presentation marvellous and the sound awesome. Overall, a little bit short, but the price (18 â
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed Rez, you will definitely want to pick this game up! Similar in style but with a few additions. It's an on rails, music rhythm game. Awesome soundtrack if you are into techno/dance music.
    Yes this game is short, buts not made to be a "play the 8 hours campaign" and be done with it. High replay value comes from trying to improve your score, which this game does have
    If you enjoyed Rez, you will definitely want to pick this game up! Similar in style but with a few additions. It's an on rails, music rhythm game. Awesome soundtrack if you are into techno/dance music.
    Yes this game is short, buts not made to be a "play the 8 hours campaign" and be done with it. High replay value comes from trying to improve your score, which this game does have leader boards. If you have a 3D TV and a Move you are in for a real treat. It supports both! Also to truly enjoy this game you do need a set of headphones or a descent set of speakers. If you plan on using the tiny tv speakers you wont get to fully appreciate this work of art. Trust me, this will become one of those "hidden gems" that gets lost in the shuffle this generation.

    Disclaimer: If you have epilepsy you will want to skip this....
    Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    This game is the bomb!. Is new and innovative, colorful and good music, you goose bumps puts play with headphones.
    I have not tried in 3D, but it must be great,
    Definitely a great game that goes unnoticed, because it was not that popular in this generation... If i speak of the shooters. I recommend this game 100%, apart from being fantastic, the price is very affordable. I am Spanish, so i
    This game is the bomb!. Is new and innovative, colorful and good music, you goose bumps puts play with headphones.
    I have not tried in 3D, but it must be great,
    Definitely a great game that goes unnoticed, because it was not that popular in this generation... If i speak of the shooters.
    I recommend this game 100%, apart from being fantastic, the price is very affordable.
    I am Spanish, so i feel my poor English... :S
    Expand
  10. Dec 20, 2011
    0
    Child of eden is now available as a digital download at a reasonable price. But you may still be able to pick it up new cheap as ubisoft released it new at half price. The only reason may be that you can complete the game in around 6 hours on youre first playthru. But you will not have seen everything and collected all the little extras.The graphics in this game make me want a 3d tv asChild of eden is now available as a digital download at a reasonable price. But you may still be able to pick it up new cheap as ubisoft released it new at half price. The only reason may be that you can complete the game in around 6 hours on youre first playthru. But you will not have seen everything and collected all the little extras.The graphics in this game make me want a 3d tv as even in hd they are outof this world.The gameplay is exactly like its spiritual father Rez there are 5 worlds with a 6th challenge world mode that is continuous until you fail this challenge mode is incredibly involving and the games worlds make you keep coming back for that just one more try feeling. as on hard the game is quite a challenge. I would say Eden is an experience or journey more than a game but one that is well worth the price of admission. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    The presentation is so rich and imaginative that it flies in the face of every possible trend the industry has right now. [Issue#211, p.84]
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    65
    A rhythm action game that has little to do with rhythm. [Dec 2011, p.106]
  3. The gameplay in Child of Eden is simple, but its relative lack of complexity is easily outweighed by its fervent dedication to turning each player's experience into an inimitable work of art. [Dec 2011, p.80]