Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. 84
    The worst ending to a videogame ever and a mediocre start aren't enough to ruin one of the better shooters to emerge in years. Barker's influence is something that elevates Jericho, despite its problems, above many other FPSs. A gory treat. [Issue#159, p.80]
  2. 80
    Unlike many squad-based shooters that don't require the use of the whole team, Jericho's premise relies on it. What's equally important is that each character is genuinely worth playing.
  3. I would've enjoyed more variety in the enemy fodder, but what's available is certainly creepy and intense. Clive Barker should develop more games. [Nov 2007, p.65]
  4. Jericho is pure Clive Barker, and that means that it's not for everyone, especially young children or people with weak stomachs. [Holiday 2007, p.85]
  5. The FPS elements are stock and the levels have a feeling of guiding you through the game because the maze of ruins you encounter will only allow you to go in one continuous direction. Still, the controls are easy to learn and the game does have its share of heart-start moments.
  6. Jericho is definitely a case of inventive design married all-too-unhappily to old school thinking, and the result is a game that is almost fatally broken.
  7. Jericho isn't a groundbreaking shooter, but what it does, it does really well. Sadly, there's no online content here, just a slew of production art to unlock by completing skill tests in the game - making for a sound FPS that will have horror geeks gagging for more and shooter fans reaching for the sick bag. [Nov 2007, p.92]
  8. Jericho is not a bad game it’s just one that lost its way slightly during development. The ability to jump into other team members bodies and harness their powers is a good idea let down slightly by poor implementation and a claustrophobic level design.
  9. Poor level design poisons Jericho's awesome but unrealized potential.
  10. Jericho is clever enough for a good time with a FPS, however as anything else Jericho should trade in this blood gushing festival of carnage for jelly donuts.
  11. A handful of original ideas lost in a thick mist of generic design, and lame scares. Oh, well. [Dec 2007, p.70]
  12. A solid shooter marred by poor design. Good visuals and some fine FPS gameplay are to be had in Jericho, but I wouldn't pay full price for it,. If you can, get the 360 or PC version.
  13. Full of gore and ideas, but ultimately it fails to deliver on its initial promise. [Dec 2007, p.80]
  14. Clive Barker's Jericho fails to be compelling enough to escape the bonds of mediocrity.
  15. On one hand it's a near-broken video game, packed full of so many gaming no-nos that it ought never to be spoken about again, but on the other it's original, atmospheric and sickeningly good fun.
  16. While boasting some uninspiring mechanics for a first person shooter, the biggest area that Jericho falls down on is its inability to produce a sense of atmosphere and suspense throughout its levels and, in a horror game, that's critical.
  17. If broken gameplay mechanics and community college acting didn’t weigh down the game, it might actually be worthwhile.
  18. Jericho had a lot of potential, and in some ways, like jumping back and forth between squad members it actually does something different. Sadly, all of the game's set-up and backstory are essentially squandered on an over-reliance on the same constantly spawning enemies and too-obvious puzzles.
  19. Jericho doesn't really bring anything new to the gaming world.
  20. Clive Barker's Jericho might be the most boring and linear shooter ever. The idea of switching between characters is nice, but it is wasted on dull monster design. Also, the guns are the most underpowered peashooters ever. A huge disappointment, since the idea sounded quite interesting. [Oct 2007]
  21. Jericho is way too ambitious and it hurts on every side. While not broken, it’s poorly designed and dull, from spawning enemies making the tactical play irrelevant, to a horror story that, despite its charm and intricacies, just isn’t scary. Jericho may be art, but not all art is good.
  22. Clive Barker's Jericho does a few things well and a lot of things poorly. In no way can it compare to the other awesome FPSs available now (Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, for example), and when you spend more time healing than fighting, there's something seriously wrong.
  23. 56
    Instead of getting caught up in the struggle against a demonic force that threatens the continued existence of your race, you're left with tacked-on squad elements, poor friendly and enemy AI, repetitive encounters, and unabashedly linear levels. Jericho has a few memorable moments, but they're not worth the cash.
  24. The sheer number of things that had to go wrong to keep Clive Barker’s Jericho from being a raging success is almost unbelievable, because when it comes right down to it, this game had the makings of a real hit. The fact that the credits roll at the exact same moment you finally find yourself on the edge of your seat cements the overall feeling of incompleteness the game gives off from the beginning.
  25. It’s important to stress that Clive Barker’s Jericho is really not a bad game. It’s just nowhere near as good as the top shooters that surround it. [Dec 2007, p.124]
  26. Clive Barker's Jericho is as run of the mill as you'll find in a next-gen game.
  27. The short answer to the question, "Why isn't Jericho a fun game to play?" is that the AI is broken and the hackneyed horror stylings would barely have raised an eyebrow back in Barker's '80s heyday. [Dec 2007, p.104]
  28. 50
    Jericho lacks any real defining features - it's just a mass of clichés, tried and true genre elements and technical issues.
  29. All of the pieces were there to make a successful and compelling first-person shooter but somewhere along the line it fell apart.
  30. Given how much repetition is in the game, one would think it was much longer than its six to eight hour length. The lack of any kind of multiplayer hurts it further. And the final stake to the heart is the appallingly abrupt and inconclusive ending.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 13, 2012
    8
    Imagine if the Ghostbusters got a call, imagine it is in the middle of the night, and imagine if they rushed to it only to find out that they would be spending the night in Hell, and then found out that the call was made by Clive Barker. Somehow this is how I feel about the game Jericho. It's concept involves a team of fearless, for the most part, individuals who live to blacken the eye of unholy abominations. Clive Barker's Jericho is in many ways a Ghostbusters in Hell kind of story, but it is far more than that as well. Jericho is an underrated gem of a horror game which raises a lot more than piles of bodies and ammo, though prepare for plenty of that as well. This game will raise questions about faith, historic figures, religion, reality, what ifs, maybes, might have been's, and some frightening could be's. The tale goes that before man God created another being but was dissatisfied with it and therefor aborted it. Known in the game as The Firstborn these "beings" were placed in a patch of alternate reality known as The Box. (feeling Clive Barkery yet? Just wait...) The Firstborn have the power to basically snap our planet like a twig, if it wasn't for team Jericho. Jericho is a squad of supernatural soldiers who protect our dimension. For every day the sun comes up and we go about our day undisturbed we can thank Jericho. Now, that is all I will say plot wise because the game is very fun to see unfold with its creative little surprises. As I mentioned before, this game really is underrated. You most likely will not hear too many people having played or enjoyed this game and this goes for critics as well. Upon asking why all I can say is one of two things most likely apply if not both, one being the creativity of Clive Barker which I will circle around and come back to in just a moment. The second reason this could be is because this is not a typical game. It is a FPS, and unlike most FPS it takes a strategy and some creative juice on the players part. It is in no way mindless, in no way run and gun, in no way a button masher, and even though a cover system exists many will not find themselves using it, but instead fighting as a team face to face with demonic enemies. In a world where FPS focus on solid run and gun action and quickly getting to the multiplayer section, Jericho takes an approach that while flawed is desperately seeking something fresh. It's style is a co-op single player experience which allows you to control any team mate you wish at any time via possession, and with this you will discover that everyone who plays has a different favorite character because each plays different and has vastly different abilities and weapons. Jericho is a flawed little game but not by a terrible margin. AI is not too bright on either end of the gun but it is forgivable due its charm and pace. Enemies will run directly towards a roaring automatic weapon, your teammates may charge something three times their size, and often team mates are not very responsive when trying to work as a whole. However the games style somewhat shadows this with its over the top sci fi and horror elements. Dialogue is sometimes cheesy but it falls under a more lovable B-movie vibe than anything else. Characters are in some ways typical and in others completely original, but regardless you will probably like all of them even if your not emotionally attached to them. Something else I will briefly address is the ending or the lack of...the ending is not a bad one, its just that there isn't one, I don't mean that its a cliffhanger for a sequel, I mean there is literally no ending, the game just stops. I did not feel cheated but it is strange and has me wanting more. Now back to reason one that this game is overlooked. Mr.Barker himself spreads his wonderful insanity all over Jericho and it simply is not for everyone, but fans of his work will love it. It is dark, gory, disturbing, beautiful, and has the ability to reach under your skin here and there. Fans of Hellraiser and the like need to play this immediately. If the game has one thing going for it, it is the stunning attention to all things menacing. These are not just horror images, these are the things of nightmares and I for one love it. The game is worth playing just to admire Clive Barkers sense of terror and fantastic uses of human flesh, and if that does not sound enjoyable to you then heed my warning, this game is not for those with weak stomachs, and I do not say that often. The music is absorbing and scary as well, it is a bombastic action soundtrack filled with sheer haunting horror all the while not one single ounce of techno creeps its way in, a plus in my book. I truly enjoyed Jericho and would play it several more times. It is very fun, challenging, fast paced, exciting, and quite intense at times. For Barker fans it is an absolute must but I encourage all horror and sci fi fans to play at least once. This is not a Doom clone, this is Clive Barker. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    This game is a masterpiece against general belief. Its twisted vision of environments of the past provides a perfect backdrop to the intense gameplay that surrounds the battlefield each minute, both hardcore but forgiving with a balanced sense of squad gameplay. Many say its linear, but not any more linear than a daily dose of any other mainstream commercial game. The final touches provide a creative and self-preserved plot that pushes you foward, and a provoking sense of sound design and graphical achievements with dark artistic values. Though not for everyone's taste, Clive Barker, Codemasters, and Mercury Steam have indeed provided a worthwhile vision of a truly horrific fantasy that provides a whole new level of gaming. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    I originally thought that this game would just be another run of the mill DOOM clone. To my surprise there was some plot, unique level and enemy design. The one thing that caught my attention was the character design. While most of the characters were more or less the same it was good to see clive barker introduce a character with mild Autism. Being autistic myself it is nice to see this kind of awareness in big video game/film and tv.

    I've been into alot of FPS's before but this one definatly had some of the more shocking enemies i had seen in games at the time i bought it. Clive Barker still has that shock factor that i love to see from his work. The way you have to swap between characters is very innovative and adds a new level of thinking to the game play. The storyline is very good and well written as well.

    While the game has its merits it does have its downfalls. First the amount of damage you take before you die seems to be very low even on a simple difficulty. Another gripe is that every enemy regardless of how much ammo you pump into them doesnt even slow down or stagger but this does add to the urgency of a quick kill. Lastly the ending seemed a little lackluster. Even a tortoise lighting a fart could have had more excitiment to it.

    Still a decent game but could be improved in a few areas
    Full Review »