Conan PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    This game has SICK animation, and gameplay controls... It's like driving a little GI Joe action figure that does everything you tell it flawlessly. I can see how some might think the high production value of this game is an indicator of its flaws, but I see it as an indicator of its greatness. The only thing this has in common with GoW is that its a Video game, about a character This game has SICK animation, and gameplay controls... It's like driving a little GI Joe action figure that does everything you tell it flawlessly. I can see how some might think the high production value of this game is an indicator of its flaws, but I see it as an indicator of its greatness. The only thing this has in common with GoW is that its a Video game, about a character Kratos was inspired from, and has floating orbs to heal/give you exp... and the magic, which shouldn Expand
  2. Corbin
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    A game about Conan!!! Need I say more.. The game has smooth controls, good camera work, lots of satisfying gory moves, pretty graphics, giant bosses. Took me over 10 hours to complete. Downside was the lame story, but no worse than most games. Also no Red Sonja.
  3. IndependentFilm
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    It's clear by the reviews that this is a love it or hate it game. I totally enjoyed this one. The gameplay and general entertainment value helped me to look past its drawbacks. I wasn't expecting Heavenly Sword graphics or production value, but how could I? This game had nearly no marketing, which is a good indicator that it didn't have the kind of budget Heavenly Sword and It's clear by the reviews that this is a love it or hate it game. I totally enjoyed this one. The gameplay and general entertainment value helped me to look past its drawbacks. I wasn't expecting Heavenly Sword graphics or production value, but how could I? This game had nearly no marketing, which is a good indicator that it didn't have the kind of budget Heavenly Sword and God of War (both Sony titles) benefit from. Think of it like you would an independent film and you might be able to see past it's shortcomings. Expand
  4. FrankS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Conan is amazing. It's not the GOW clone it's been made out to be. SO deep.
  5. CollinS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    The carnage is awesome! All the different combos are cool, too. I like the 2handed sword combos best!
  6. JoséFranciscoDávila
    Oct 21, 2008
    8
    In some way the combat is more satisfying than the one you can found in your average Hack and Slash game, heel even is more satisfying than God of War! don't get me wrong, Conan is not as polished as God of War but you'll find tons of fun with it
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. On the one hand it's highly entertaining and almost obscenely violent and crude, but for a next-gen title with a next-gen price tag it doesn't quite deliver.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    85
    Conan is at its best visceral and furious fun with limbs and heads flying. Unfortunately, the adrenaline level drops when the speed slows down on harder adversaries and when the enemies do not have limbs to detach or heads to pop. Also, boss fights tend to follow the same pattern too much. Still, it is worth the time and effort. Experimenting with different moves never gets old. [Oct 2007]
  3. If your blood pressure can withstand the beatings that may seem unfair, there's a lot to like about Conan's combat system and adventure. [Nov 2007, p.140]