User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    This game has SICK animation, and gameplay controls... It's like driving a little GI Joe action figure that does everything you tell it flawlessly. I can see how some might think the high production value of this game is an indicator of its flaws, but I see it as an indicator of its greatness. The only thing this has in common with GoW is that its a Video game, about a character This game has SICK animation, and gameplay controls... It's like driving a little GI Joe action figure that does everything you tell it flawlessly. I can see how some might think the high production value of this game is an indicator of its flaws, but I see it as an indicator of its greatness. The only thing this has in common with GoW is that its a Video game, about a character Kratos was inspired from, and has floating orbs to heal/give you exp... and the magic, which shouldn Expand
  2. Corbin
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    A game about Conan!!! Need I say more.. The game has smooth controls, good camera work, lots of satisfying gory moves, pretty graphics, giant bosses. Took me over 10 hours to complete. Downside was the lame story, but no worse than most games. Also no Red Sonja.
  3. IndependentFilm
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    It's clear by the reviews that this is a love it or hate it game. I totally enjoyed this one. The gameplay and general entertainment value helped me to look past its drawbacks. I wasn't expecting Heavenly Sword graphics or production value, but how could I? This game had nearly no marketing, which is a good indicator that it didn't have the kind of budget Heavenly Sword and It's clear by the reviews that this is a love it or hate it game. I totally enjoyed this one. The gameplay and general entertainment value helped me to look past its drawbacks. I wasn't expecting Heavenly Sword graphics or production value, but how could I? This game had nearly no marketing, which is a good indicator that it didn't have the kind of budget Heavenly Sword and God of War (both Sony titles) benefit from. Think of it like you would an independent film and you might be able to see past it's shortcomings. Expand
  4. RobynC.
    Dec 16, 2007
    7
    It's just like God of War series. There is just better movement in this game.
  5. ZiftK.
    Oct 29, 2007
    1
    Utter garbage. Any self respecting human will not go near this game. I give it a one because it made me laugh. The graphics are horrid by PS2 standards. Hmph...... what i'm trying to say is, stay away from this game.
  6. Giderdone
    Oct 12, 2007
    5
    C'mon this game is just bad. it's like a Heavenly Sword with Downs Syndrome. Any site that rates this above a 7 is highly suspect. Conan is about as good as Arnold's acting in the original movie.
  7. PerseH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    2
    Just a realy bad god of war imitation. Also baad voice acting.
  8. MasJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    I wanted to like this game but the boss battles are so repetitive, frustrating and boring. An hour for each of running around in circles doing the same moves to get one or two hits in until their health is gone, then a button combo, then their health regenerates to full three more times and you repeat all again and again until you die and have to restart or eventually grind your way I wanted to like this game but the boss battles are so repetitive, frustrating and boring. An hour for each of running around in circles doing the same moves to get one or two hits in until their health is gone, then a button combo, then their health regenerates to full three more times and you repeat all again and again until you die and have to restart or eventually grind your way through. Bad design based on God of War boss battles. I would rather be working than having to complete this game. Expand
  9. GregT.
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    This is a reasonably good game, fun, lots of button bashing and entertaining sword play. The voice acting by Ron Perlman and Claudia Black is good even if it is not in synch with the characters and the lack of over bearing storyline is a refreshing change. The graphics are PS2 grahics which is a shame as they are selling it at PS3 price £50. Like another reviewer I rented this game This is a reasonably good game, fun, lots of button bashing and entertaining sword play. The voice acting by Ron Perlman and Claudia Black is good even if it is not in synch with the characters and the lack of over bearing storyline is a refreshing change. The graphics are PS2 grahics which is a shame as they are selling it at PS3 price £50. Like another reviewer I rented this game and throughly enjoyed the experince. For gaming wonder buy/rent God of War 1 or 2 for light hearted sunday slaughtering if like me youv'e done both those games this one doesn't have any real rivals on PS3....yet! Expand
  10. bestreviews
    Nov 7, 2007
    7
    Wow, didnt think it was goign to be as good as it was. Even though it was a great and entertaining game it didnt utilize the six-axis control and the graphics were as good as a playstation 2 game. I rented this game and I have to say I still would like to buy it. I can tell you this, if they made the price $10 cheaper this would of sold crazy. Controls are great, combos are pretty fun and Wow, didnt think it was goign to be as good as it was. Even though it was a great and entertaining game it didnt utilize the six-axis control and the graphics were as good as a playstation 2 game. I rented this game and I have to say I still would like to buy it. I can tell you this, if they made the price $10 cheaper this would of sold crazy. Controls are great, combos are pretty fun and the gore makes it a worth your time game. Expand
  11. FrankS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Conan is amazing. It's not the GOW clone it's been made out to be. SO deep.
  12. CollinS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    The carnage is awesome! All the different combos are cool, too. I like the 2handed sword combos best!
  13. JoséFranciscoDávila
    Oct 21, 2008
    8
    In some way the combat is more satisfying than the one you can found in your average Hack and Slash game, heel even is more satisfying than God of War! don't get me wrong, Conan is not as polished as God of War but you'll find tons of fun with it
  14. May 19, 2013
    4
    Definitely a disappointment. Nice amount of and plenty of attack moves. Gets very repetitive, especially boss battles where you have 10 parts of same thing. Enemies and bosses and chain stun kill you which is stupid and cheap. Platforming and fixed camera angle are awful. Plenty of places are confusing as where to go or what to do. Just sloppy game design all around.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. On the one hand it's highly entertaining and almost obscenely violent and crude, but for a next-gen title with a next-gen price tag it doesn't quite deliver.
  2. Conan is at its best visceral and furious fun with limbs and heads flying. Unfortunately, the adrenaline level drops when the speed slows down on harder adversaries and when the enemies do not have limbs to detach or heads to pop. Also, boss fights tend to follow the same pattern too much. Still, it is worth the time and effort. Experimenting with different moves never gets old. [Oct 2007]
  3. If your blood pressure can withstand the beatings that may seem unfair, there's a lot to like about Conan's combat system and adventure. [Nov 2007, p.140]