Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. This game is all raw nerves and bloody fists, so if that’s what you’re looking for, you’ll find plenty of it in the equally damaging Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 versions of Condemned 2: Bloodshot.
  2. Not only is this the best first-person adventure I've played but it's the most brutal, skillfully detailed and paced as well. [Apr 2008, p.50]
  3. The combat engine has been dramatically improved, making every fight a unique experience.
  4. If you're on the trail of a first-class scare, this truly terrifying game is unmissable. [Mar 2008, p.103]
  5. It has enjoyable gameplay, an engaging story, some freaky visuals, and super-effective sound. And while it is the single player mode that stands out as the best part of this title, the multiplayer is not too shabby either.
  6. That said, Condemned 2 is still a heck of an experience that should be played by any who are fans of survival horror type games.
  7. It's an unbridled one-of-a-kind mature ride with scant a boring moment in its 11 mission single-player campaign. Multiplayer is welcome, but ultimately passable.
  8. Probably the best survival horror title we’ve seen this generation. The online multiplayer modes aren’t going to blow your mind, but they are a thoughtful addition. It’s got a higher level of action than its predecessor, and some gorgeous horror backdrops.
  9. Condemned 2: Bloodshot will stand well against the competition in action, horror and even most shooter games, just on the merit of being a sequel improving on the original, rather than slipping beneath its foundation like so much land-filled garbage.
  10. Condemned 2: Bloodshot takes everything the original game offered and expands on the gameplay with new combat mechanics and upgraded forensics spots.
  11. This horror-themed sequel's thrilling set pieces and bloody combat are remarkably satisfying but not for the faint of heart.
  12. The gameplay elements are great but it’s the creepy atmosphere and story that will keep you glued to your controller.
  13. My final though on this game is that it was good but it could have been better. One of this games down falls is the fact that the environments are to coincidental.
  14. 85
    A perfect example of how to make a sequel. Sega and Monolith have fixed everything that was wrong with the original and made it an all around better game. The entertaining story and genuinely creepy atmosphere is well worth the price of admission and the substantial story mode is satisfying and challenging.
  15. Condemned 2: Bloodshot is the ideal sequel. Monolith fixes most of the problems of the first game, expands the good points and offers a more intense atmosphere.
  16. One of the nastiest experiences you are ever going to have in a game, but in a good way.
  17. Above all, it’s well worth just for its incredible atmosphere of pure tension, with the help of the technical side of things that work “for” the game instead of enslaving it. The first person action has an even more physical approach than in the original game and delivers a more “personal” experience. [Apr 2008]
  18. Condemned: Criminal Origins did a lot of things right. Condemned 2: Bloodshot improves on that foundation in nearly every way. More brutal, visually fantastic, an aural treat, and familiar gameplay makes for a compelling and decent title.
  19. Gorgeous visuals, tough hand-to-hand combat and insanely creepy. Shame it's so damn dreary. [Apr 2008, p.64]
  20. It's the audio that steals the show though.
  21. This is the first proper horror experience on PS3 and it's a truly terrifying one. Whether it's a set-piece scare or a random hobo jumping out at you, it genuinely can make you jump out of your seat. [Mar 2008, p.90]
  22. 80
    Quite possibly the ugliest game I've ever played--literally. I tip my hat to the developers at Monolith Productions for crafting a consistently dark, dirty, dilapidated, and decayed (and a host of other "d" words) world for both Condemned titles.
  23. Condemned 2 is a pleasant but also frightening game in which the gameplay feels quite fresh. The fighting system works great and the murder investigations are a good way to involve the player into the storyline. Unfortunately the game doesn't stay as fun as the first few missions.
  24. 80
    Condemned 2: Bloodshot has plenty of creepy moments, but it favors action over atmosphere. To that end it performs very well, and even throws in some juicy plot twists and a cliffhanger ending. But I miss the tension of the original, just the same.
  25. Anyone that remembers the shopping mall (with the mannequins) in Condemned will take great delight in knowing that Bloodshot has it's own uber-scary environment for you this time around too - in fact we'd happily say that the sequel ups the fear factor considerably throughout. If you like to play your videogames with white knuckles, this is a great ride.
  26. 80
    There are more features, fan complaints are addressed and it's still as spine tingling as ever. The story, though less akin to Swiss cheese than the first one was, is not as gripping and the game feels as if it lost its focus in the latter stages.
  27. The anything-is-a-weapon aesthetic is still ace, but the combat system is too unwieldy when tackling multiple foes. It’s a game of ups and downs, but horror fans will be more than satisfied with its bleak and gloomy disposition.
  28. There are more than enough memorably twisted moments of genuine fright and bewilderment to keep any horror fan's eyes wide open through these ten warped hours of madness. [July 2008, p.80]
  29. 78
    Despite being awash with new features and ideas, Condemned 2 is no match for its predecessor thanks to clumsy pacing and a lack of any real craft of subtlety. Still, fans of extreme violence won't be disappointed. [Issue#165, p.88]
  30. Monolith has once again proved that they are quite capable of developing fear-based first person shooters. I found a number of problems with the game that will frustrate most FPS fans, such as the often clunky hand-combat controls.
  31. As sequels go, Bloodshot is sort of a mixed bag. Chances are if you liked the first Condemned you’ll like the second, even if it doesn’t pull it all off with the same panache.
  32. Condemned 2 does succeed at what it what it intends to do, which is providing a truly horrifying experience for a player unlike the majority of "survival-horror" titles on the market. However, a bit of that "new" sheen has worn off the second time around, and while improvements have definitely been made, there's still more areas that need a bit of work.
  33. Despite its shortcomings, Condemned 2: Bloodshot is a good game by all accounts.
  34. 70
    It's pretty irritating to play a sequel and face so many of the issues of the original, but Bloodshot's ability to take you into the terrifying world Monolith has crafted is astonishing.
  35. As a survival horror game, Condemned 2 is too short on horror. As an FPS game, it’s too short on strategy and level design. At best, it’s a brawler with some horror and FPS elements.
  36. As it is, Condemned II is a scary, clichéd, sometimes engrossing videogame, with good relay value, personality and, darkness permitting, an enjoyable single-player mode.
  37. In truth, you’ll probably end up being more shocked by the gore and brutality you see on screen this time round instead of jumping from your seat at the shock of one of the game’s set pieces.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    I felt that the story for Condemned 2 was very bland and generic and Ethan was a very idiotic antagonist. The atmosphere of the game was too dark for my taste, and the horror lost way after you reach the last level. These comments aside, the game is very scary at times and the fighting was pretty decent. It was also graphically superior. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    Condemned 2 is what survival horror should be its creepy,scary,and disturbing. This game is usually overlooked but give it a chance this game has a good story and decent combat.lets start with the combat its pretty good but can be clunky at times but that doesnt stop this game from shining, the blocking mechanic is pretty good but your gonna need to time it right you also have weapons which work in most situations just make sure you choose the right one. Lets talk about a.i the enemies were designed very well, the developers wanted to scare the hell out of people and they did it by making the enemy types feel scary and disturbing. the story I wont ruin ill lets you guys see that yourselves. overall its really good and deserves to be played multiple times Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Hohohohoooooooo :D Maaaaaaaaaaannn ... insane, insane, insane, INSANE MOTHERF%"#!!"KER!!! This was my FIRST game for my PS3... neeeeeeeever have I been so much surprised.... NEVER! The first time I tried it, I put the CD in, launched the game, started the campaign... there... everything started. You start by meeting this homeless man this homeless man, and then you notice that the city has been evacuated. Only criminals have stayed... and like Will Smiths movie "I'm a legend" these people in this city have been affected by somekind of a virues, which makes them go insane. The graphics ... ARE... INSANE... FECKING REALISTICK!!! OKEY... That's why this game is crazy and realistic! It's not just a horror movie or game or something like that... it's real :D I swear.. Everytime a crazy man was running after me, I was running away like a **** You can hear him shout after you, his footsteps coming closer to you... he's going to **** you up like no one every ****ed you up before.. OK! :D I really mean it maaaaan. It feels like you are in the game every single second... I don't know how they did it, but they somehow found out how to put you in the game and make your brain and motions connected with the moments in the game. They know when to make you scared and how to scare you. They developed the game they wanted to develope and if I saw Condemned 3 been advertised somewhere, I know which game I should have on my number 1 list on my whishlist. This is not Uncharted but it really has the same quality... but I have never played anything which can be so much connected with my emotions. The graphics are insane and I counld not believe it right after playing on the PS2 generation for a while, then this came out. Insane graphics, bunch of horror content(don't let kids play this game!), many hours of gameplay, multiplayer supported, realistic combat and very brutal, Uncharted level story in my opinion... FANTASTIC... this is art, this is fun, this is entertainment. You have to try out this game before you die one day... for real. Full Review »