Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Fortunately, the design is still fun, even if it doesn't quite hold up against modern FPS fare. [Dec 2012, p.86]
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    89
    Stunning value for money. [Issue#223, p.85]
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Global Offensive is pure Counter-Strike. Hidden Path have made an inoffensive compromise between the best parts of the old versions. Whether it'll be the definitive thing is yet to be seen. However, it's an all-around decent FPS and is likely the most necessary one on PSN.
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    85
    On the PlayStation 3, playing with a controller is very difficult because CS:GO lacks the hand-holding auto-aim that console FPS players are generally used to.
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Move is accurate, and your quick reflexes will score kills, but the unavoidable instability of holding a remote will give your cursor some seriously unpleasant wobble. Worse, moving the wand quickly can confuse the controller, which often and irritatingly misinterprets basic left/right looks as a want to turn around 180 degrees.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Outside of a couple of glitched spawns that left me stuck in mid-air, I didn't run into many issues when it came to lag or connection errors. As a downloadable title, Global Offensive offers a tried-and-true experience at a reasonable price, even if its gameplay isn't for everyone. If you prefer working with others and attacking the opposing team with well thought-out tactics instead of brute force, you should find plenty to like in this updated release.
  7. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Counter-Strike: Global Offensive neither deviates from or significantly alters the principles the series is built upon, making it a fan-pleasing edition to the fold.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Too busy playing it to write a proper review. Sorry. I mean, I just pulled away long enough for a round to start, and got killed trying toToo busy playing it to write a proper review. Sorry. I mean, I just pulled away long enough for a round to start, and got killed trying to think of what to write. Worth $15, easy. Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    The game is awesome on the pc, just a repaint, but still nice to play.
    On the console how ever, it S**KS, it really did, its not working for
    The game is awesome on the pc, just a repaint, but still nice to play.
    On the console how ever, it S**KS, it really did, its not working for most people, there are much glitches, and allot of very laggie servers or p2p, its not meant for console ,thats all i want to say about it

    i give it a 6 out of 10, for the awefull console version.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Can someone tell me why there is an elitist PC gamer here wishing console gamers can't enjoy CS? Crawl back to your basement thanks. AnywayCan someone tell me why there is an elitist PC gamer here wishing console gamers can't enjoy CS? Crawl back to your basement thanks. Anyway the game is really fun, fast, and fluid. Pure skill and tons of fun to play. You can even use a mouse and keyboard. Full Review »