User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 75
  2. Negative: 14 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    If you can't stand skillless games like cod and bf3 that hold your hand for every kill and then some you will want to make the switch to counter strike global offensive. No perks, no kill streaks, no aim assist and no mainstream crap you find in today's shooters. If you suck you suck, the game has a learning curve and you will not be Rambo from day one if you are new to the series. CS has been the most competitve skill based shooter for over a decade and is a welcome replacement for hardcore gamers but casuals will most likely be turned off instantly. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Awesome FPS! Reminds me of the old days of CSS. If you enjoy a very fast and addicting online don't hesitate picking this game up. This is for only FPS players since there is no single player. Everything about this time is top notch. Graphics, Controls and Sound. The maps are by far some of the best designed in any game. 9/10
  3. Jan 20, 2014
    5
    I'll be honest. I am a CS fanboy. I will never regret the hundreds of hours I spent playing 1.5 and 1.6 on PC. Unfortunately the game is just not the same when played on console.
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Over all, I really do enjoy this game. Its very fast paced and intense! If you want a more casual Call of Duty, this is perfect for you. The rounds are quick, so if you die you will only have to wait a maximum wait of about 90 seconds or so. I hope they add more game modes though because the 4 or 5 already there are pretty similar. Maybe a regular Team Deathmatch with a kill limit of 50 or so. But its still fine the way it is. This game is easily worth $15, heck I'd buy it even for $20 or $25. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Can someone tell me why there is an elitist PC gamer here wishing console gamers can't enjoy CS? Crawl back to your basement thanks. Anyway the game is really fun, fast, and fluid. Pure skill and tons of fun to play. You can even use a mouse and keyboard.
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    I buy it first for PC and later for my PS3 - PC version have mass cheaters. Dont buy it for PC. So i buy the PS3 version and it works fine with Mouse and Keyboard! I will never buy a Shooter on PC now. Cheaters killed PC-MPShoter Gaming.
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    7
    Great FPS on PC. Console... is still good despite the drawbacks. If you have a keyboard and you have the PS3 version (and you're like me, with a crappy computer that can't run this on PC), play with that, because you will have much more control options, and a better experience. Using the controller will take time to adapt to for CS vets, and Playstation Move... Well that's another story. The maps are restricted to certain game modes and unlike the PC version, you cannot cater the game to your liking and have 9v9 matches. Console players are limited only to 5v5's which can feel limited. But for those that are like me, this does a decent fix for CS players new and slightly good. Expand
  8. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    It's CS so you know what to expect. Quick matches. Intense difficulty. High tension. Some of the most classic FPS moments in video gaming history. CS does not need to change the formula is perfect and Valve knows this. The CS game for 2012.
  9. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Played it for about 4 hours last night, couldn't put it down. It's everything you love about Counter Strike, just better. If you're tired of Call of Duty style game play and other arcade style shooters give this a try. For $15 it's a steal if you're even moderately interested in FPS's.
  10. Aug 22, 2012
    0
    Just got done playing the console version of GO, and all I can say is that is TERRIBLE! Why did you have to ruin such a great game by putting it on consoles? No one helps out, everyone who actually tries to play the game gets called a **** or a hacker, and the worst of all, The graphics suck ass and you can only have 5v5 matches! WTF!!!! Do yourself a favor and ONLY get the PC version, the only platform CS is, and only has been good on. Do not waste your $15 on the craptacular 360/PS3 version. You will regret it. Expand
  11. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Great FPS game that takes a lot of skill to master but the reward is fantastic. Killing another player is so satisfying because you know you have to work for every kill. Highly recommended.
  12. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    You know how it goes. I think we all predicted that this game wouldn't be as welcomed as other game. As popular as Valve is, they're not mainstream. And we all know mainstream kids love to cherish their mainstream games, which I don't care about that stuff. I like good games. Simple. And this is a good game. This game on ps3 runs just as good as the portal 2 ps3. We know Valve had trouble the ps3 and the orange box. Online matches are fine, controls feel smooth, AND you can hook up mouse and keyboard. Basically this: take the original CS, update the graphics, add more games and maps, and wham. Why does this work? If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Plus we get this on console. This game is intense, the franchise still does NOT hold your hand. My only problems are the amount of recycling materials. It still has a lot of Half-Life 2 sounds and textures, and the notifications are exactly the Left for Dead 2 ones. Also since it isn't PC, no one trillion mods. But those problems are minor. So, for $15, I shouldn't even have to tell you to buy this game. If Valve keeps making games like this, I can wait for HL2:EP3. Yes, I just said this. No, really. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    Coming from PC this is a big disappointment. The lack of support for the game alone is enough to not buy this game. Nothing new to see here. If anything thing this is a much worse version than PC. Aim assist doesn't belong in CS. I honestly would not recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a competitive round based game thinking they can do clan matches. Matchmaking is a joke, your just thrown into a game that's half-way over, even if you have a group together. Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    Don't be fooled by how simple Counter-Strike: GO seems at first. It offers some of the best tactical gameplay and can be overwhelmingly addictive. If your no stranger to one of the most popular FPS in recent history, prepare to re-enter the exciting fast paced action once again, this time in High Definition. Valve has lived up to their standards and delivered a visually crisp game that has not only been beautifully polished and remastered, but has done it extremely well. Not once do you see screen tearing or texture popping, and the server connection is smooth and never laggy. For those of you who aren't familiar with Counter-Strike, I highly recommend this to anyone, fan of FPS or not. Do not be discouraged by the fact that there is no aiming ( except for sniper class), killstreaks, perks, and whatever modern shooters saturate into gameplay, this is one of if not the best balanced shooter on the market. In conclusion, the teamwork and strategy necessary to be victorious provides a realistic and thrilling experience, and no matter if your a FPS fan or not, there is something you will learn to love about this game. 9/10 Expand
  15. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Thank you to whoever made the decision to bring this game to the PS3 console(by way of psn). Worth the price. This game is immediate fun and is challenging in a way which can catch u you by surprise. You have to be on point or the AI will light you up, even on medium difficulty. Very fair game this one. I highly recommend. Other game likes: Skyrim, Socom4, Res Evil, CodMW, AC, Rainbow Vegas 2.
  16. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Improved gunplay, graphics, sound coupled with new modes and maps make this a really fun and addicting entry to CS. I stopped playing Source because it started to feel a little dated but this has made me want to play CS again. Demolition and Arms Race are very, very fun. The classic maps are also much better balanced while still having that old feel we all love. At $15 this is a steal.
  17. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Too busy playing it to write a proper review. Sorry. I mean, I just pulled away long enough for a round to start, and got killed trying to think of what to write. Worth $15, easy.
  18. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Great game. I've never been able to play it on PC... Couldn't master keyboard and mouse using on FPS. I was kinda waiting it to hit gaming consoles and it's here :~D Let's do some good and kill some nasty terros. I couldn't play with the Move though... That's the 1pt missing from my rating. Anyway, game wise, it rocks!
  19. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    If you're a fan of the original game you will enjoy this. But keep in mind, it is a $15 downloadable title. There are only 4 game modes, the graphics are a little dated, and the sound is adequate. All of that aside, it is fun to play and for $15 ($11.99 for Playstation Plus members), it is worth giving it a look. If you have never played the series before and are more used to titles like Call of Duty or Medal of Honor, it might be a little more difficult to pick up and enjoy. Expand
  20. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    The game is awesome on the pc, just a repaint, but still nice to play.
    On the console how ever, it S**KS, it really did, its not working for most people, there are much glitches, and allot of very laggie servers or p2p, its not meant for console ,thats all i want to say about it

    i give it a 6 out of 10, for the awefull console version.
  21. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Amazing Work of Valve, simple, clean and fun. Far, Far away of the call of duty shooter style, this game its really addictive and fun.

    Fast game play, lot of weapons and amazing game modes.

    Just deal for $15 DLS
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Fortunately, the design is still fun, even if it doesn't quite hold up against modern FPS fare. [Dec 2012, p.86]
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    89
    Stunning value for money. [Issue#223, p.85]
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Global Offensive is pure Counter-Strike. Hidden Path have made an inoffensive compromise between the best parts of the old versions. Whether it'll be the definitive thing is yet to be seen. However, it's an all-around decent FPS and is likely the most necessary one on PSN.