Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive features new maps, characters, and weapons and
    delivers updated versions of the classic CS content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    89
    Stunning value for money. [Issue#223, p.85]
  2. Sep 1, 2012
    85
    On the PlayStation 3, playing with a controller is very difficult because CS:GO lacks the hand-holding auto-aim that console FPS players are generally used to.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Counter-Strike: Global Offensive neither deviates from or significantly alters the principles the series is built upon, making it a fan-pleasing edition to the fold.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Outside of a couple of glitched spawns that left me stuck in mid-air, I didn't run into many issues when it came to lag or connection errors. As a downloadable title, Global Offensive offers a tried-and-true experience at a reasonable price, even if its gameplay isn't for everyone. If you prefer working with others and attacking the opposing team with well thought-out tactics instead of brute force, you should find plenty to like in this updated release.
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Move is accurate, and your quick reflexes will score kills, but the unavoidable instability of holding a remote will give your cursor some seriously unpleasant wobble. Worse, moving the wand quickly can confuse the controller, which often and irritatingly misinterprets basic left/right looks as a want to turn around 180 degrees.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Global Offensive is pure Counter-Strike. Hidden Path have made an inoffensive compromise between the best parts of the old versions. Whether it'll be the definitive thing is yet to be seen. However, it's an all-around decent FPS and is likely the most necessary one on PSN.
  7. Fortunately, the design is still fun, even if it doesn't quite hold up against modern FPS fare. [Dec 2012, p.86]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Can someone tell me why there is an elitist PC gamer here wishing console gamers can't enjoy CS? Crawl back to your basement thanks. Anyway the game is really fun, fast, and fluid. Pure skill and tons of fun to play. You can even use a mouse and keyboard. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Improved gunplay, graphics, sound coupled with new modes and maps make this a really fun and addicting entry to CS. I stopped playing Source because it started to feel a little dated but this has made me want to play CS again. Demolition and Arms Race are very, very fun. The classic maps are also much better balanced while still having that old feel we all love. At $15 this is a steal. Collapse
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Great FPS game that takes a lot of skill to master but the reward is fantastic. Killing another player is so satisfying because you know you have to work for every kill. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Awesome FPS! Reminds me of the old days of CSS. If you enjoy a very fast and addicting online don't hesitate picking this game up. This is for only FPS players since there is no single player. Everything about this time is top notch. Graphics, Controls and Sound. The maps are by far some of the best designed in any game. 9/10 Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    You know how it goes. I think we all predicted that this game wouldn't be as welcomed as other game. As popular as Valve is, they're not mainstream. And we all know mainstream kids love to cherish their mainstream games, which I don't care about that stuff. I like good games. Simple. And this is a good game. This game on ps3 runs just as good as the portal 2 ps3. We know Valve had trouble the ps3 and the orange box. Online matches are fine, controls feel smooth, AND you can hook up mouse and keyboard. Basically this: take the original CS, update the graphics, add more games and maps, and wham. Why does this work? If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Plus we get this on console. This game is intense, the franchise still does NOT hold your hand. My only problems are the amount of recycling materials. It still has a lot of Half-Life 2 sounds and textures, and the notifications are exactly the Left for Dead 2 ones. Also since it isn't PC, no one trillion mods. But those problems are minor. So, for $15, I shouldn't even have to tell you to buy this game. If Valve keeps making games like this, I can wait for HL2:EP3. Yes, I just said this. No, really. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Great game. I've never been able to play it on PC... Couldn't master keyboard and mouse using on FPS. I was kinda waiting it to hit gaming consoles and it's here :~D Let's do some good and kill some nasty terros. I couldn't play with the Move though... That's the 1pt missing from my rating. Anyway, game wise, it rocks! Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2012
    0
    Just got done playing the console version of GO, and all I can say is that is TERRIBLE! Why did you have to ruin such a great game by putting it on consoles? No one helps out, everyone who actually tries to play the game gets called a **** or a hacker, and the worst of all, The graphics suck ass and you can only have 5v5 matches! WTF!!!! Do yourself a favor and ONLY get the PC version, the only platform CS is, and only has been good on. Do not waste your $15 on the craptacular 360/PS3 version. You will regret it. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews