Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. This game has everything a great game needs except a good graphic. But there is a fantastic story with deep characters and great sound effects!
  2. Once again, Idea Factory, Compile Heart, and NIS America get it done through quality localization, a finely tuned array of systems, endearing characters, a wicked cool OST, and the seemingly unending power of the 2D spriteling.
  3. You can enjoy it without playing the other games first, but there's a good chance you wouldn't understand a thing. [Aug 2009, p.119]
  4. An interesting concept executed with a degree of panache. Plus, if you're familiar with even half the characters available, Cross Edge breathes new life into the personalities you long since laid to rest. [Sept 2009, p.110]
  5. Cross Edge feels like a gift aimed squarely at the hardcore JRPG crowd. Its best features are its rewardingly complex battle system and its clean and equally nostalgic 2D presentation. But these virtues will make it about as appealing as pulling teeth to anyone who doesn't know the difference between Makai Kingdom and Odin Sphere.
  6. In the end, I can’t recommend Cross Edge to everyone, but I can recommend it to people who like deep RPGs and don’t mind a little bit of camp with their story.
  7. Cross Edge has a lot to offer to RPG fans with its lengthy story, combat system and customization.
  8. From dialogue that loads one line at a time to the lack of PS3-level graphics (high-res static art aside), everything seems like a remnant from the early 2000s. [July 2009, p.77]
  9. 60
    Cross Edge is a mesh of great ideas, tons of fan service, and a few snags that keep it from being the masterpiece it should have been.
  10. This crossover has good things, but it should have fared better. Extremely complex, simple and with millions of menus, it's a game just for hardcore JRPG lovers. They will find a charming experience with the beloved characters of other games, but it's not a game for everyone.
  11. 59
    It's overly complex, cliquey and not exactly the kind of thing you expect to see running on a PS3. [Issue#182, p.78]
  12. Turn-based sections can become cumbersome, but platform-centric dungeons are a fun diversion. However, this game's true weakness lies in its feeble story and overextended roster of characters.
  13. Ah Cross Edge how I wanted to love thee, it’s too bad the clunky menus, overused traditional storytelling and mediocre fighting system wouldn’t let me.
  14. 55
    The draw of an irresistible cast of characters - all nicely rendered as endearing retro sprites and stylish anime portraits - should already seal the deal for the core audience, but for everyone else, Cross Edge will seem like nothing more than an obscure curio.
  15. 53
    I keep a list of RPGs I want to play, or think I should play, or have to play for the sake of writing a review. Cross Edge was right on the bottom "edge" of the list. Now, I happily "cross" it off the list.
  16. Overall, I was mostly disappointed with Cross Edge, and while the hardcore fans of the series involved will be willing to give this one a try regardless of the content, I wouldn't advise it to the more casual RPG crowd. The battle system is pretty inventive and fun, but everything that surrounds it is a total chore.
  17. 50
    This is the hardcore of hardcore RPGs. Some just won't like it and others will totally love it.
  18. Cross Edge features a brilliant combat system and the character roster is like a dream come true for many J-RPG fans. Sadly the rest of the game stinks.
  19. Cross Edge, amazingly, pulled content from several outstanding games and managed to end up with a mediocre experience in return.
  20. If you're looking for a relaxing game, with a good story and deep fights but not too much complicated, keep yourself away from Cross Edge. Otherwise, if you love titanic and frustrating quests and love to complete games at 100%...buy it!
  21. 47
    This game is really poor. Only the audio is nice. The graphics are from the PSOne age and the gameplay is kind of oldskool, but with great problems. The buttons on the controller mostly don’t have any effect and that’s really frustrating.
  22. Cross Edge not only fails to be a compelling Japanese RPG but it makes for one seriously awkward and uninspiring game. Skipping this game isn’t a bad idea unless you can look past the many things wrong with this game.
  23. It's not a broken game, just a joyless one, and it's obvious that there were far too many hands in the pot.
  24. The real problem is that this is half-decent action meets seriously sub-par presentation. [Sept 2009, p.76]
  25. 40
    In the end, Cross Edge is a disappointment.
  26. 35
    A game that could have been an entertaining compilation of iconic Japanese characters turned out to be a frustrating, awkward mess of menus, gameplay imbalances and annoying dialogue scenes.
  27. From the start Cross Edge was disappointing, especially for a fan of the company. Unless you are a hardcore fan spend your money on other titles coming out.
  28. A misguided farce. Offensive. [Oct 2009, p.75]
  29. No matter how much you like your Japanese role-players this convoluted crossover has little appeal.
  30. Cross Edge had a lot of potential to be great. But a stiff and simply not fun battle system, coupled with a silly level of difficulty make it a title you're going to absolutely slog through, no matter how much you love the characters and their respective franchises.
  31. In the end, this is a movie for collectors and fans with a casual game tacked on.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. AntsPai
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    For the true hardcore JRPG fan, I loved it. Don't get if you don't enjoy NIS games though :P
  2. DesmondL
    Jun 18, 2009
    5
    NIS has disappointing Disgaea fan even me. This game is failure because of graphic,story and game play. The graphics looks like PS2 sprites NIS has disappointing Disgaea fan even me. This game is failure because of graphic,story and game play. The graphics looks like PS2 sprites and the story is kinda random and confused. And the most I hate is the gameplay, combat and equipment systems are very complex even a me cannot understand. But I only praised the sounds and the characters. For Disgaea fan, I recommended buy Disgaea 3 instead. Full Review »
  3. MichaelS.
    May 28, 2009
    3
    I will admit, I was rather hyped for this game. 2D sprites don't bother me, as I've greatly enjoyed Ar Tonelico and the Atelier I will admit, I was rather hyped for this game. 2D sprites don't bother me, as I've greatly enjoyed Ar Tonelico and the Atelier Iris series on PS2 and I'm always down for a JPRG, no matter how old school it may be. However, what I found was something that ended up disappointing me. Cross Edge doesn't do anything new. Granted, this isn't a bad stance and, can in most cases, be good. However, considering that this game is for the Playstation 3, I find this hardly of worth for being on the system. Backgrounds and sprites are all decent, but by far nothing to write home about and while the character portraits do change, I wish they would of offered more variety. I highly doubt Morrigan spent the entire game with her hand next to her face, as her range of portraits depicted. While I don't mind listening to dialogue on still backgrounds with character portraits depicting their feelings, I feel that by the PS3 this concept has gotten quite stale. This is a tired practice from back in the PS1 days, graphics aren't everything but there is also a time to start stepping forward. The story itself is very bland and while offering a very unique concept, it's rather difficult to even care about it. I originally thought the combination of different characters would provide a great variety in characters and make for a great experience, but all they came across as were nothing more then cliche stereotypes. The voice acting isn't bad at all, but still isn't enough to help break the uninteresting cast gather. By far the only stand-out feature is the music, which is rather unfitting at times. Really, do we need random rock music for when their talking? It really bothers me because I liked a lot of these characters in the respected games that they were in, but they just didn't seem to mesh at all in this title. This game is only for the die hard JRPG fans. Even then, I personally don't think this game was nearly worth the price point it's at, which is 49.99, especially since this could of easily been brought out on the PS2 for a much more reasonable 29.99. Full Review »