Cross Edge PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 83
  2. Negative: 19 out of 83
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AntsPai
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    For the true hardcore JRPG fan, I loved it. Don't get if you don't enjoy NIS games though :P
  2. Phoenix
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    I love this game! Played through a number of times, and it's still fun. I admit the game is strange compared to others and focuses mostly on combat, but the combat system is interesting. The menu system is also nice - everything is present and easily available. It might benefit from some NPC and towns you could visit in FF style, since all interaction is cutscene-based, but overall, I love this game! Played through a number of times, and it's still fun. I admit the game is strange compared to others and focuses mostly on combat, but the combat system is interesting. The menu system is also nice - everything is present and easily available. It might benefit from some NPC and towns you could visit in FF style, since all interaction is cutscene-based, but overall, this is a great game. And yes, I'm a hardcore jRPG fan :). Expand
  3. xXxSeTTriPxXx
    Jun 2, 2009
    8
    all i can say is wow to ign review of this game.it has fun and challenging combat,with over the top moves and specials,and the story is full of humor with surprisingly good english voice over.to say the learning curve is a little step is a understatement,i suggest picking up a strategy guide if you can find one.and for the part in (ign) review where they talk about connecting with the all i can say is wow to ign review of this game.it has fun and challenging combat,with over the top moves and specials,and the story is full of humor with surprisingly good english voice over.to say the learning curve is a little step is a understatement,i suggest picking up a strategy guide if you can find one.and for the part in (ign) review where they talk about connecting with the character's,was bs because this game is all about fan service.if you've played the games these character's come from then you know them already (for example)as soon as i saw a prinny i laughed.i will admit this isn't a game for everyone.but ture jrpg fans will find deep and enjoyable gameplay.if you want a honest review ask real jrpg fans and not a fps fan who only cares about a instant twitch fix.he probably was made at the fact,the games learning curve put his pro gaming status,in its place.he couldn't learn the game so he wants every one to hate it. Expand
  4. DaveT
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    Loving this game so far. It's got great english and japanese voice acting and the dialogue is full of humor and sarcasm. The combat system is a lot more challenging than recent JRPGs but I personally enjoy the added difficulty. The last JRPG I spent any time with on my PS3 was Enchanted Arms... that game was so ridiculously easy, it literally played itself. Tactics and planning are Loving this game so far. It's got great english and japanese voice acting and the dialogue is full of humor and sarcasm. The combat system is a lot more challenging than recent JRPGs but I personally enjoy the added difficulty. The last JRPG I spent any time with on my PS3 was Enchanted Arms... that game was so ridiculously easy, it literally played itself. Tactics and planning are required for most battles. Anyone expecting good graphics is going to be disappointed. Cross Edge is most definately retro in that department. Much of the storytelling is static 2d artwork with clickthrough dialogue boxes, and the combat is 2d sprited on a 3d-ish backdrop. My enjoyment comes from the gameplay and the story... not from fancy graphics. And regarding the IGN review... The reviewer was the same fool who panned Disgaea. Expand
  5. motor
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    The Combat is satisfying, the Japanese dub is there. Pretty much a good game. Graphics to me is last in priority.
  6. danl
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Game is not for people who don't enjoy having to put massive amounts of effort in characters. The humor in this game is reminiscent of any nis title and it introduces a new battle system that in its entirety is very good the game is awesome for anyone who enjoys actually achieving something in finishing a game, a feeling we no longer get from games.
  7. TrevorZ
    May 31, 2009
    8
    This game has received bad reviews mostly based on things that you understand and learn after a few hours of game play makes me think these people played 2 hours and quit without learning the playing curve which is quite long I have played around 6 hours and it took me about that time to figure how to play the game properly and efficiently so I would say it is not a groundbreaking 10 game This game has received bad reviews mostly based on things that you understand and learn after a few hours of game play makes me think these people played 2 hours and quit without learning the playing curve which is quite long I have played around 6 hours and it took me about that time to figure how to play the game properly and efficiently so I would say it is not a groundbreaking 10 game but it defiantly deserves at least a 8. Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    This game manages to be just weird and quirky enough to put it one small step above the more polished, more conventional but mediocre RPGs available today. One thing is for certain: it's not as bad as the professional reviews say. The truth is that if you're going to like this game you sort of know it before you buy it. If the idea of turn based strategy combat with ridiculous This game manages to be just weird and quirky enough to put it one small step above the more polished, more conventional but mediocre RPGs available today. One thing is for certain: it's not as bad as the professional reviews say. The truth is that if you're going to like this game you sort of know it before you buy it. If the idea of turn based strategy combat with ridiculous combos and numbers, grinding characters to impressive stats, and getting loads of characters to mess around with appeals to you, you'll have no problem playing through this game. But no one finishes the game without saying "Darn, it could've been so much better." Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    From dialogue that loads one line at a time to the lack of PS3-level graphics (high-res static art aside), everything seems like a remnant from the early 2000s. [July 2009, p.77]
  2. 35
    A game that could have been an entertaining compilation of iconic Japanese characters turned out to be a frustrating, awkward mess of menus, gameplay imbalances and annoying dialogue scenes.
  3. Cross Edge not only fails to be a compelling Japanese RPG but it makes for one seriously awkward and uninspiring game. Skipping this game isn’t a bad idea unless you can look past the many things wrong with this game.