Crysis 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 407 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 407
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    This game has some things that make it a good game, without any type of amazing details. The campaign mode is so much "direct". You have to follow a way all the time, without the liberty that the first one brought you. That´s the worst point of the campaing. The story was a bit boring too, but enjoyable in some parts of the different missions we have. The multiplayer mode is goodThis game has some things that make it a good game, without any type of amazing details. The campaign mode is so much "direct". You have to follow a way all the time, without the liberty that the first one brought you. That´s the worst point of the campaing. The story was a bit boring too, but enjoyable in some parts of the different missions we have. The multiplayer mode is good too, but without something gorgeus. It gets a bit boring during the hours you play, and the framerate is very bad without a good conexion...
    The best of this game for me, are the graphics *CryEngine 2 is so powerfull*, the different modes of doing a mission with your special suit. The weapons are made with lots of details.
    The worst are that there no exist any type of liberty at any point of the game. The framerate. The story isn´t as enjoyable as the story of the first one Crysis.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    crysis 2 is ok. It has amazing graphics and sound effects but nothing much else. I completed the supposed 12+ hour campaign in 7 hours and i was bored before the end. It is very repetative, pushing you into the same slog of, scan environment, tag enemies, press R2, walk to end of street situation every 5 minutes. Not to mention the story which seems to die an hour into the game. Thecrysis 2 is ok. It has amazing graphics and sound effects but nothing much else. I completed the supposed 12+ hour campaign in 7 hours and i was bored before the end. It is very repetative, pushing you into the same slog of, scan environment, tag enemies, press R2, walk to end of street situation every 5 minutes. Not to mention the story which seems to die an hour into the game. The extent of the story is that it tells you that you are the only hope left for the world at the end of each mission in a call of duty style overview of the city. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    6
    as much as i appreciate the work achieved by crytek in crysis 2, its simply not enuf. first of all, an fps game shud never have a framerate below 30, it just hurts the gameplay real bad. the graphics r great, the story does the job, and it looks like it has enuf content in it. but the framerate is a mess, the gameplay does not run smoothly enuf to be tolerated. Fry cry 2 was a HUGE game,as much as i appreciate the work achieved by crytek in crysis 2, its simply not enuf. first of all, an fps game shud never have a framerate below 30, it just hurts the gameplay real bad. the graphics r great, the story does the job, and it looks like it has enuf content in it. but the framerate is a mess, the gameplay does not run smoothly enuf to be tolerated. Fry cry 2 was a HUGE game, and yet its framerate barely struttered, atleast not as much as crysis 2. ur best bet is to avoid the game, but if u really hav to get it, try the xbox version. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sounds amazing! Multiplayer Graphics are overall blurry. Multiplayer framerate ist good! I didnt experience frame rate issues at all in online play. Stealth/Armor idea is excellent. I think that the pc version is the way to go though. i didnt play campaign yet. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    6
    I simply do not believe why people are buying this game, most of the gamers are starting to act and look like brainwashed monkeys, all running to the shop to buy this game, simply because of all the hype. The framerate is terrible, fps games should run at 60fps, also the blur, when you are moving the camera fast to the left or the right is terrible. Bulletstorm is the best fps at the moment IMHO.
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    if you are an avid pc gamer and loved the first one for its incredible graphics, fine tuned game-play, then you will be disappointed with crysis 2. If you need something to hold you over until the next call of duty comes out, you will love crysis 2
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    Like many people i have played the previous Crysis titles and found the story, gameplay and graphics to be great, so of course i was excited for Crysis 2 to be released. Overall Crysis 2 is a good game but not great, in terms of graphics its hard to find a more beautiful game but to be honest the graphics don't make up for some of the games short comings. Now don't get me wrong this gameLike many people i have played the previous Crysis titles and found the story, gameplay and graphics to be great, so of course i was excited for Crysis 2 to be released. Overall Crysis 2 is a good game but not great, in terms of graphics its hard to find a more beautiful game but to be honest the graphics don't make up for some of the games short comings. Now don't get me wrong this game is good but in many ways i feel as if it has been vastly over-rated. When it comes to the gameplay at first it feels fresh and new but as you go on it starts to feel like any other FPS, some of Crysis unique elements do pick it up a bit but after a while i felt like it wasn't anything i hadn't seen before. When it comes to Multiplayer the game at times can become very annoying and at times can feel unbalanced, most of the maps are fairly maze like and at times you will find yourself wandering around just hunting people and not getting into the action. Overall this game is good and is worth a play but in my opinion it doesn't grip me as much as other FPS have in the past, if you are a person who doesn't play many FPS games then this may be a great game to start out with, the story is interesting (but can fall flat at times) and the overall structure is good. Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    Overall it is a good game... but it lacks what most other FPS games have, FREEDOM.
    in halo you are on a set task, but around that you can find skulls, easter eggs and all sorts, Crysis 2 just doesnt have the freedom. it has excellent graphics and is well worth playing, but it is a game to rent, not buy, as after you finish the campaign you'll want to be rid of it... a much better choice
    Overall it is a good game... but it lacks what most other FPS games have, FREEDOM.
    in halo you are on a set task, but around that you can find skulls, easter eggs and all sorts, Crysis 2 just doesnt have the freedom. it has excellent graphics and is well worth playing, but it is a game to rent, not buy, as after you finish the campaign you'll want to be rid of it... a much better choice than this is the less talked about PROTOTYPE, which is the best game i have played in the last month at least
    Expand
  9. May 25, 2011
    6
    Hard to write a review on this game. The pros are definitely there. The game has great graphics and the gameplay is quite a bit of fun, but I guess I dropped quite a few points when I compared the game to Crysis 1. The original game was sandbox, allowing you to move and do missions however you choose. The weapons had more modification options, and the game generally had a more polishedHard to write a review on this game. The pros are definitely there. The game has great graphics and the gameplay is quite a bit of fun, but I guess I dropped quite a few points when I compared the game to Crysis 1. The original game was sandbox, allowing you to move and do missions however you choose. The weapons had more modification options, and the game generally had a more polished feel to it. Secondly, this game hardly feels like a sequal to Crysis 1, and (to me) felt almost like a betrayal to the first game. In the first game, the storyline really had me going, leaving on a cliffhanger, and in the second game the only similarities really are 3: 1(there is a nano suit that does cool things, but not as many cool things as in the original game), and 2(there is a dude named prophet), 3(there are aliens trying to kill us, never mind that these aliens are completely different from the aliens in the first game). And seriously, where the heck did this 'infection' thing come from. This game has nothing whatsoever to do with the first game, and makes a bare passing attempt at explaining the change in location from Crysis 1 (a beatiful island) to Crysis 2 (the city). The first game had a beatiful location, and the enemies (while not brillliant AI) still had a different feel to them. Maybe not the Koreans you were fighting, but at least the aliens had a kind of grace to them, showing up as almost advanced machines instead of the standard aliens that you have seen watered down a million times. The second game lost all of this feel and dropped back to the watered down city wasteland with the standard aliens you've fought a thousand times in Halo and Resistance. They even have AI that is similar to the aliens you fought in Ultimate Doom. The biggest things I would have liked to see different would have been seamless transitions like in the first game, more vehicle driving/combat like in the first game, and more versatility with combat options and weapon modifications. Soooo... Verdict. A good standalone game with a washed out storyline, but good combat nonetheless. A good attempt at FPS RPG with the upgrade modules, but overall a big step backwards from the first game. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Outstanding graphics is not enough to call game good. With atrocious fighting with aliens, bad AI, silly and silent hero it's huge dissapointment. Check it, but i warned you.
  11. Dec 3, 2011
    6
    This game showed good potential when i first played it because the graphics are outstanding. The online was also good because it required some skill but there is a down side to this game the story was confusing and the marker told me to go on to a building and jump. however that changed after i had backed out plus the men are overpowered it can take a hole round to kill one thing.
  12. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    although a descent enough game, it had some problems starting out. Once everything got rolling the pace really started to pick up and it was a lot of fun. Graphics were good, but I played it right after dead space 2 and I think it make crysis 2 look inferior. It is non-linear, gives many options to be able to complete an situation, does an excellent job of keeping you in a First Personalthough a descent enough game, it had some problems starting out. Once everything got rolling the pace really started to pick up and it was a lot of fun. Graphics were good, but I played it right after dead space 2 and I think it make crysis 2 look inferior. It is non-linear, gives many options to be able to complete an situation, does an excellent job of keeping you in a First Person view, give good abilities, I found myself using mostly 2 weapons the entire game, was a little disappointed by the fact that the vehicles had no First person view. The story was interesting about nanotechnology considering the advances in the field it uses actual relevant data, however the story never really caught on for me, and it just ended it seemed. Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    Great action but shallow storyline. The visuals are really great. Pretty decent multiplayer. Not a masterpiece but good production values. Whoever likes fps's should not miss it.
  14. May 7, 2011
    7
    Crysis 2 is definitely a good game but as a Playstation 3 users, I guess We all expected much better game than a good game cause Crytek promises were so great for Crysis 2.
    Yeah, graphics are great and so are playing mechanics but bugs, BUGS! They will drive you crazy. They are so many that it's impossible not to see them. Levels vanish suddenly, Your weapon shakes forever which
    Crysis 2 is definitely a good game but as a Playstation 3 users, I guess We all expected much better game than a good game cause Crytek promises were so great for Crysis 2.
    Yeah, graphics are great and so are playing mechanics but bugs, BUGS! They will drive you crazy. They are so many that it's impossible not to see them. Levels vanish suddenly, Your weapon shakes forever which makes firing impossible until you restart the game, AI is most of the time utterly idiot, also when you look towards celling in some places you see clouds! This pretty much looks beta rather than a full game. Yes, game is fun but all these unforgivable mistakes make Crytek a very reckless developer for Playstation 3 users. Crysis 2 is Crytek's first Playstation 3 debut, and they have already lost gamers 's trust. Moreover, This might be very painful, if they thinking to invest for PlayStation 3 Gaming System in the future.
    Expand
  15. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    In general, there is a huge gap between multiplayer and the single player campaign. Multiplayer, though made linear by imbalancement of stealth and armor powers, also provide minor diversity with smart map layouts and the overall reliance on solid teamwork. Yet, turning to the single player campaign, it seems just lackluster in all. Fanboys will hate me for this, but since I haven't playedIn general, there is a huge gap between multiplayer and the single player campaign. Multiplayer, though made linear by imbalancement of stealth and armor powers, also provide minor diversity with smart map layouts and the overall reliance on solid teamwork. Yet, turning to the single player campaign, it seems just lackluster in all. Fanboys will hate me for this, but since I haven't played the first one, which many others haven't, I just don't feel any dedication to the storyline to be entertained or enjoy its simplistic continuation to its presumably intelligent first entry. Graphics are indeed a new tier for technical advances, but I base a game on its entertaining gameplay, storyline, how stand-out it is among general releases. In all, I saw potential for this new entry into what was proposed to be the next epic franchise, but I'm in an overall disappointment at how linear, repetitive, and how the powerful presentation quickly died down in a matter of minutes. Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Well the game is not bad... but it's more eye candy more then anything else until you start to see that not everything has the same level of graphic quality. The gameplay is nice, the story is weird but acceptable to bad at certain occasions you kinda need to have completed the first game to understand everything. The online mode is great not the best out there but still really good. ButWell the game is not bad... but it's more eye candy more then anything else until you start to see that not everything has the same level of graphic quality. The gameplay is nice, the story is weird but acceptable to bad at certain occasions you kinda need to have completed the first game to understand everything. The online mode is great not the best out there but still really good. But again the graphics are overrated and there are a whole lot of frame drop moments in the game which a game of this level shouldn't have. Expand
  17. Apr 24, 2011
    5
    The game lacks consistency on the PS3. Several times I would encounter various bugs that actually ruined the experience. Such as: Puddles disappearing, enemies often ran in circles or into walls, bullets disappear in the distance, objects picked up do not break apart, and finally sound! Sound was a main issue, as mostly when I hit things in the environment or shot pieces it would soundThe game lacks consistency on the PS3. Several times I would encounter various bugs that actually ruined the experience. Such as: Puddles disappearing, enemies often ran in circles or into walls, bullets disappear in the distance, objects picked up do not break apart, and finally sound! Sound was a main issue, as mostly when I hit things in the environment or shot pieces it would sound exactly the same; truly a disappointment. Also I feel Crysis does not belong in consoles. A good PC does the trick. However, The story is short, cloaking sometimes makes it too easy, even on the highest difficulty. I clocked 6 hours on the game, on supersoldier. The game has two or so "wow" moments but overall it feels like it missed something. Additionally, the online is nothing to look forward to. Does not introduce something fresh and the community is far too much naive and easy beat; rarely you'd encounter a good worthy lobby. I give the game a solid 5, not misjudging graphics which are indeed great, but because of gameplay issues, lack of consistency, and effects sound lacking variation. (Make no mistake, the soundtrack is good) Expand
  18. kaz
    Jul 16, 2011
    7
    if you're going to buy Crysis 2, buy it for the online multiplayer. yes it may feel a bit like CoD, but the Nanosuit separates this fps from the rest. the learning curve is a bit high, where you're going to have to learn to manage the energy of your Nanosuit with it's different capabilities, however once you start nailing it, it really becomes a very fun, very competitive multiplayer. thisif you're going to buy Crysis 2, buy it for the online multiplayer. yes it may feel a bit like CoD, but the Nanosuit separates this fps from the rest. the learning curve is a bit high, where you're going to have to learn to manage the energy of your Nanosuit with it's different capabilities, however once you start nailing it, it really becomes a very fun, very competitive multiplayer. this is one game you will want to play with your friends. just so much fun. you must be warned that this is a broken game. the multiplayer has it's issues but those can be ignored. the campaign however, has a very plain story with equally matching missions, combined with many bugs and performance issues. bad AI, low frame rate, low resolution and worst of all severe texture pop-in really hurt the game aesthetically, and that's why this game can never be called the best looking on console. that title imo still belongs to Killzone 3, and will go to Battlefield 3 later on this year. it's a shame really because you can see that Crytek really worked hard on this game, but somehow failed. all in all Crysis 2 is a very mixed bag. i highly recommend waiting until this game is cheap, then buying it. i'm very generous with the scoring though, caus there isn't anything else to play all summer until the "heavy weights" come along during autumn. Expand
  19. Aug 11, 2011
    7
    I rented this game thinking it was a masterpiece, all the review where saying top notch and all... While its not a bad game, I found the story to be badly told, you get small image (most of the time) at the top corner of your screen, ala nintendo from a long time ago, telling you what do do, a bit smallish in term of storytelling, The gameplay is very fun, using the different ability ofI rented this game thinking it was a masterpiece, all the review where saying top notch and all... While its not a bad game, I found the story to be badly told, you get small image (most of the time) at the top corner of your screen, ala nintendo from a long time ago, telling you what do do, a bit smallish in term of storytelling, The gameplay is very fun, using the different ability of you suit, but after a while it gets very repetitive and boring. For me to love a game I need to be involved in the story in a meaningfull manner, but here there is not much else appart from your standard, your the hero and need to clear a map kind of involvement, didnt try the multiplayer because Im not a multiplayer kind of person, like to enjoy a good sotry more than fragging real people online, so you can see why I didnt lovethe game since the story is minimal, so like I said not a bad game but not a masterpiece either... Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    I was very much looking forward to crysis 2, but sadly i was disapointed, the shooting just wasn't all that fun, the story made no sense, but the graphics are great. I much recommend picking up the first one, there two very different games, this one being more linear, and crysis 1 an open world game. There are just better games to spend with your money, stay away from this one.
  21. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    Story: 8 out of 10 Graphics: 8 out of 10 Gameplay: 8 out of 10 Fun: 7.5 out of 10 (depending on difficulty) Controls: 9 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10
    Length: 8 out of 10
    Re-play: 8.5 out of 10
    Audio: 7 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: Quite a lot, especially in MP, Glitched trophies as well
  22. Jan 11, 2014
    7
    Even though the gameplay is relatively typical shooter fare, the story was suprisingly mature and made for an enjoyable campaign. The Nanosuit which is the main feature that seperates the Crysis series from other FPS' is fun to use, and swapping between Armor, Stealth and Power modes is a pleasant and necessary chore when playing online. However, unlike the first Crysis on PC, you can'tEven though the gameplay is relatively typical shooter fare, the story was suprisingly mature and made for an enjoyable campaign. The Nanosuit which is the main feature that seperates the Crysis series from other FPS' is fun to use, and swapping between Armor, Stealth and Power modes is a pleasant and necessary chore when playing online. However, unlike the first Crysis on PC, you can't use all of each class' skills simultaneously, and are forced to make sacrifices. So for example, the Air Stomp ability is nice to have, but you are forced to make other heavy sacrifices in order to use it which I found to be annoying. The online is pretty enjoyable, but without dedicated servers, North American players will often be paired up with laggy Euro gamers which makes for a terrible session. Still, now that the game has been out for several years and can be found for cheap, I recommend everyone check it out. Expand
  23. May 4, 2013
    5
    Crysis 2 is not a good game is not even a decent game, i mean there isn't anything too much to like really.
    Are the graphics good? yeah, well how about the gameplay? nooooo...
    Im not going to say crysis 1 was better or anything like that but jesus there is really not any reason for you to care about the main characters, why? because they don't explain you anything about them literally
    Crysis 2 is not a good game is not even a decent game, i mean there isn't anything too much to like really.
    Are the graphics good? yeah, well how about the gameplay? nooooo...
    Im not going to say crysis 1 was better or anything like that but jesus there is really not any reason for you to care about the main characters, why? because they don't explain you anything about them literally anything not they're attitude, heck not even who they are or how are they relevant,
    this goes until about half of the game at wich point you're going to be upset of noticing how the big suspense could've just been telled right at the beginning.
    The gameplay is also ugly you're going to be presented with several "tactical options" such as "Explore", "Flank", "Escape", this options are presented through you by your binoculars it just makes everything feel extremely linear and just makes you think why could you just find this yourself they're not that hard and most of them not really have any sort of unique appeal to them, it would've been twenty times more rewarding to find this yourself than just have them presented to you in a silver platter.
    Plus the game can get really repetitive after a while, this caused by same model enemies, exact same stealth kill animation every time you try to be stealthy, is just not rewarding at all. At the end is 13 to 14 hours of this, it's just not worth your money or your time.
    Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Crysis 2 transports you in the post-apocalyptic New Work, successfully immersing players into the city and entertaining them with fun gameplay. While the new environment may immerse you, the options are more limited here for approaching enemies. It provides a more linear gameplay than the first, which is a shame considering how much potential this game has.
    First, I'm going to tell you
    Crysis 2 transports you in the post-apocalyptic New Work, successfully immersing players into the city and entertaining them with fun gameplay. While the new environment may immerse you, the options are more limited here for approaching enemies. It provides a more linear gameplay than the first, which is a shame considering how much potential this game has.
    First, I'm going to tell you how visually mind-blowing this game is. The environment looks stunning, even on consoles. It makes for a possibility of instant immersion. But, it isn't as impressive as the first game. Ironically, even though the graphics look amazing, in some parts they're worse than it's predecessor's fantastic visuals. But, it does impress on today's standards, so that's the important thing.
    The gameplay doesn't completely satisfy, for the fact that it's not quite improved when talking about freedom. That was quite of a disappointment, but the combat is quite improved at least. The guns feel powerful and the nanosuit is quite improved and simplified. Also, sneaking is way smoother and easier this time. These improvements raise the score immensely. The single-player needed more freedom, just that.
    The multiplayer is sometimes fun, but disappointing and sometimes even unoriginal. It's a blast to use the nanosuit in multiplayer, but when it's exaggerated power comes to multiplayer, it gets deeply frustrating. The reason why I relatively dislike the multiplayer is because players tend to overuse cloak: killing you by mostly using cloak without you even detecting the enemy, gets stressful. And, imagine, all the players on a single map cloaking. *sigh*
    Crysis 2 is an immensely fun single-player experience with a few disappointments, and a multiplayer chaos (in a bad way). (Final Score: 7.82)
    Expand
  25. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    Crysis is a great looking FPS with more stealth and options than traditional titles, good game
    Positives: great looking title, solid mechanics for an FPS
    Negatives: Doesn't deliver balance of gameplay very well the stealth and armour aspects seem to detract from solid FPS mechanics
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Crysis 2 may not live up to every expectation, but its pleasant surprises make up for most of its shortcomings.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The game is fun though. It does get repetitive, and it does feel like a corridor at times, but the desire to see all of New York City, destroyed and lying in ruin, is what will drive you forward. Towards the end of the game it does overstay its welcome, and you'll be wishing you could just walk through the levels with no enemies in sight, detracting from the wonderful visuals. With all that said, the suit powers are enjoyable the first few times and any fan of shooters will have a good time in the game's dystopian New York City.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    Don't make the mistake of viewing Crysis 2 as a new shooter on the block that has to desperately prove itself to all the established PS3 heavy-hitters. In many ways it's actually the other way around. [May 2011, p.69]