User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 347 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 347

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Problems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictive and fun multiplayer experiences on the system. The single player seems to be a near flawless experience, with some of the smartest AI that I have played against in a long time. EA has found a successful way to balance scripted "call of duty" style set pieces with sandbox style decision making, allowing you to attack a scenerio with your own play style (stealth, run and gun, heavy armor, etc...). Graphics don't top killzone 3, but the lighting effects are probably the best on the system. This game is a MUST BUY for any fans of the first-person shooter genre. If you've finished the killzone 3 single player, and you are fed up with the wonky hit detection of Black Ops, Crysis 2 is just what the doctor ordered! Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lag ops to this level in terms of errors. The graphics are great, not quite Uncharted, but close to Killzone. It doesn't have that weighty feel that killzone or BFBC2 has. There are many game types, if you don't like the whole cloaking thing there is a gametype that doesn't allow it. Best FPS HANDS down. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I bought Crysis 2 on PS3 and PC. My expectation for the PS3 was low and considering what Crytek showed on PS3 i was not sure to buy it or not. After having played the PS3 version, I am massively impressed about Crysis 2. It is so far the best looking game on PS3, plays phantastic and offers unbelieveable experience. I very much recommend to buy it.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a very good game. It has a good story, good game play (thanks to the nanosuit), good AI and all combined in a nice graphic package. On top of this it gives you a very nice MP. Some facts: Single player is around 10-15h, 1 suit (armour, stealth and tactical modus), lots of weapons, more then 12 suit upgrades, lots of cinematic. Lots of (on the fly) upgradable weapons. Breakable environment. 50 Level multi player with lots of unlock-able stuff. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best FPS of the generation, maybe not the best (just behind Bioshock and Half Life 2) but with no doubt the most complete shooter so far. Long and varied campaign, great design of levels, excellent graphics and the most important, a very innovative gameplay.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertaining games (especially FPS Games) that I've played in a long time. If your looking for a fresh new take on FPS, This is it! Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I got Crysis 2 today and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I got to play it.and all I can say is That this game is *AMAZING*.I thought at first that crysis 2 would be an okay title and nothing much to look forward too but I was ever so wrong, the Graphics,Music,voice acting,story is awsome just mind blowing and the multi-player is very addicting.I recommend Crysis 2 to any person who enjoys shooters or just great games. Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Halo meets Battlefield...this game is unbelieivable! One of the best games for 2011, hands down! Multiplayer is great! Was playing Killzone 3 until I picked this up and I am now selling Killzone because the multiplayer is so good. The singleplayer is out of this world!
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is what happens in an era populated by the COD obsessed fan-boys who wouldn't know what a good game was if it bit them in the ass. This game deserves nothing less then a 10, if i could i would give it an 11. Every aspect of this game is phenomenal, from the just jaw dropping visuals, smooth and streamlined gameplay and incredible orchestral soundtrack. I cannot begin to fathom why people are comparing this game to CoD. Just because some game developer makes a FPS does not mean it is a CoD clone. I mean for **** sake the guns are not even the same, it has a level of depth and storytelling that Call of Duty cannot even begin to comprehend. The two games are not even in the same league, Crysis 2 is years above the level of innovation and sophistication of the entire Cod universe. Another thing, PC people need to take a Chill Pill, take a deep breath and step down from their high and mighty thrown built upon their delusions of grandeur. Stop criticizing the developers for trying to be innovative and bring the game over to a new audience. Just because they ported the game to consoles does not effect you people in anyway. I'm sure you guys will be back to modding the **** out of your games to make unnecessary changes in no time. God forbid a company would try to make money off of a product and market to a new audience. But i digress, if you people wanna complain then by all means, go ahead (This is America...freedom of speech right). The game is fantastic, everything is fun and will keep you going back for more even when you beat it. The games new game+ feature will have you replaying missions with new abilities and new ways to kick ass. Now on to Multiplayer, this is where my only gripe lies and i isn't even severe enough to downgrade my review. The field is dominated by Nanovision, Snipers and Armor users, but with each skill is a counter and you can still play and have a blast with other classes. Now the biggest issue I have here, is not with the game at all but once again with the other reviewers. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD this games Multiplayer does not copy Call of Duty. People want to complain and say, "there's kill streaks, OMG Cod Clone, this game is dumb OMG". Ok for one thing do you even have any idea how the kill-streaks work? of course not, so lets explain... You earn the kill streaks by collecting DOG TAGS from fallen enemies. So unless you feel like you are good enough to run around punching people in the face for the whole game, kill-streaks are not called in that often. If you are a sniper i highly doubt that you are going to snipe a person and run all the way down to their body and collect their tag. Lastly just because you can customize a class with different equipment and abilities, again does not = Cod clone. FPS games have been doing this for years, even before Call of Duty. Games from Battlefield to old PC games like SWAT and RainbowSix have been doing Custom Classes since their origins. So quit Comparing every FPS multiplayer to freakin Call of Duty. Cod has done nothing new nor original since its birth and frankly unless they themselves innovate soon the franchise is going to die. I for one cannot keep playing the same game over and over for the $60 price tag. I have totally diverted from the review at this point and have gone on a rant, but oh well I really don't care, the main point of this is that Crysis 2 is a must buy game that has brought a refreshing burst of color and originality to the currently boring world of the FPS. 11/10 (if i could).
    -PS: to all the Cod fans who are gonna rage about this, i already know the top comment for your rages is, "You Just Suck", and to this i can soundly and honestly say 2.21KD 25,000 kills 7th prestige. So NO... I do not, I just understand the concepts and amount of hard work that goes into making a game like Crysis. The same cannot be said for Call of Duty.
    Expand
  10. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    HIT: Damn near everything. The graphics, the gameplay, the diversity, the sheer scale of something like this on consoles, is mindblowing. Great length, way longer than I anticipated (partially because I'm used to playing 90-minute shooters). Fantastic storytelling, palpable sense of tactical choice in encounters, simultaneous sense of power and vulnerability. Again, on the visuals, at least three times per level I caught myself hiding somewhere safe and just staring at the scenery porn.
    MISS: Very little. Some scripting errors forced a checkpoint restart a couple of times, on one occasion my vehicle got stuck on a barrier, and once in a blue moon the objective isn't made clear.

    TRUE FACTS: 1) After a long session of Crysis 2, sometimes I see triangles when I close my eyes. You'll know what I mean.
    2) I started a second play through as soon as the credits rolled, and I might go through a third consecutive time, on a harder difficulty
    Expand
  11. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a freaking masterpiece, by far the best game of 2011 so far and its also one of the best shooters of all time. The graphics are mind blowing, the combat feels unique but also familiar enough so that its fun and every level is full of options and different paths to take. The single player is about 14 hours long and worth the $60, & the multiplayer is even better, THIS IS the cod killer we've been waiting for. Go buy this now. Expand
  12. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Great game, interface is very slick and works very well in multiplayer. I am a little concerned with being advised my NAT type is 'Moderate' as with all other games I am 'Open'. All relevant ports forwarded etc. Surprisingly though, even with only 2 bars of signal the latency is not that bad and I can have an enjoyable blast. Overall a great game, enjoying it much more than the slightly more visually impressive KZ3 - the mechanics in this are simply that much sharper. Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    The PS3 demo for Crysis2 was atrocious. They never should of allowed the demo to be put out in the state it was because i'm sure it turned some people off of the game. I almost canceled my pre-purchase because I played the demo and i'm very glad I didn't. Crytek came through with flying colors on their debut to consoles. Good for them and us. Graphics are superb, almost at the same level as Killzone 3 which is a lot to say on a multi-platform title. The game play is great and i'm very glad that the frame rate doesn't dip under 30 fps except on rare occasions. Buy it and you will be impressed. Expand
  14. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Well where to start, i guess ill start with what matters most the gameplay, its excellent the controls have what feels to be the correct amount of weight and the gun recoil is almost perfect, gun balance seems to be ok with the time i have played, I find the game very fun...Graphic wise, well i haven't seen many things better looking then this game, the sound is Superb all of the surround sound effects sound exactly correct shots hit wall behind you and you can tell if they shot from the right or the left. Story is annoying to say the least though, you always feel like your having orders barked at you and they don't bridge the gap between the last game and this game so it feels as if your just dropped in a storyline. Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. Fantastic lighting a great sound. After hearing IGN's complaints about the graphical hiccups on the Ps3 my expectations greatly diminished. After playing for a few hours i haven't noticed anything like what they stated. The multilayer is incredibly addictinve and i never wanted to put down the controller. Crysis 2 is an excellent shooter and is a must own for any FPS fans out there. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    over al a good game, if think tht every ftps should be like cod, sorry this not one of those, SORRY COD FANBOYS. de campain mode is good you can take diferents path of action to go to the next objetive, one could "solid snake" style, with out been notice, or rambo style killing every single one of the enemys, in the multiplayer mode youu have to be a little more tactic than cod, you have to know when use the armor(that make slower) or usw the camo( that consume alot of enegy), you cant kill a enemy with a single meele from the front. and when your openent has the armor activate you shoud aim to the head if u dont want to use all ur magazine in a single target. controls are whell desined, two use the granades is a little two dificult you have to press to times triangle, but when u get used to it its easy, Expand
  17. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    The PC version was obviously rushed, but the PS3 version is the best looking console game I have ever seen, and the best console FPS so far this year. The nanosuit powers are streamlined without being "streamlined", the level design, while not as open as Crysis 1, gives you plenty of room for different strategies and is about as expansive as Warhead, and the plot's cliche, but nicely paced and manages to be interesting. I'm making it sound bad, but it's way more fun than Killzone 3 and Bulletstorm. The multiplayer's an obvious CoD clone, but the suit powers and larger levels make things a bit more interesting. Crytek should have kept the series PC exclusive, especially since the first game only sold slowly because nobody could play it. But if you're going to port it to consoles, you can't make it much better than this. Expand
  18. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    A true sequel to the first game, though this game doesn't have the PC exclusive features that the first game had, but the story, the graphics and the gameplay are as good as Crysis, if not better. Highly recommended.
  19. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    this is probably the best online fps i have ever played. the maps are clever, the perk and class systems are very cool, and the play is immediately fun and addictive. while i have heard this game looks better on the xbox, the graphics are dazzling from the get-go, and i felt some serious awe at times during the sp campaign. i have played many, many online shooters, starting with COD2 on the 360, and for my money Crysis 2 is hands down the most fun i've had with a game. it's one of, if not the best-looking game on the ps3 and, for what i like to do, the gameplay can't be beat. awesome. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is definitely one of the best First Person Shooters ive played, Its right near the peak of brilliance along with Killzone 3 showing us what can really be done with games today. Graphically this game is nothing short of beautiful, Single player obviously harnesses some amazing graphics, and usually you see a drop in those graphics online, but not from my experience, Being able to shoot somebody, then jump off a building hitting the cloak and landing in the water to evade more enemies than you can handle is a fantastic feeling, the graphics in multiplayer are able to keep that awe inspiring look about them whilst delivering a fast-paced and enthralling multiplayer experience.

    As with all games, there is a catergory of people that like to ruin it and drain the fun out of it in multiplayer, Yes... This game is a Campers paradise, and while i despise these soulless, unskilled and somewhat desperate attempts of gamers, We the skilled bunch have been given plenty of tools to unearth these pathetic excuses for gamers. The engine the game uses is frankly, brilliant, Like Killzone 3 online is very smooth, Host migration is very effective and theres never any severe lag, I havent experienced any online problems apart from the CoD players on it yet. Crysis 2 deserves its place up there with KZ3 and the rest of the CoD killers because it blows call of duty out of the water in every way.
    All in all, this is a great game, and it feels like one of those infinitely playable games, and lets face it, we need more of these skilled games with amazing graphics to become infinitely playable to combat the Call of Nooby series of amateurs and unrealistic FPS with average graphics.
    Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Campaign is awesome... MP sucks!!! First let me say that i loved original crysis, but never played it online. I love the sequel, but hate playing it online! The maps are TINY, the action is laggy, and it lack strategy due to the ability to become "cloaked" anytime you want and camp for kills. However, the single player is long and engrossing, and unlike typical FPS campaigns, the AI is very intelligent and diligent, always keeping the player on their toes. If you love great FPS single player games and want to see some of the best graphics and effects to date on the PS3... buy this game. If you're looking for a long-lasting MP experience, look elsewhere! Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    It's not the same as Crysis 1. This is more of a reboot than a sequel. But if you judge this on the basis of itself, it's fantastic in nearly every way.

    And the single-player campaign is really unique. There's nothing else quite like it. The nanosuit is far more distinctive here than it was in Crysis 1. No other game has ever depicted a crumbling New York City like Crytek has (and they
    managed to pull it off on the PS3 despite (1) never having touched a console before and (2) this isn't even a PS3 exclusive!).

    Although I didn't think the story was that great, it was *appropriate*. Crysis 2 knows what it is: a bad-ass high-tech shooter with aliens, marines, and explosions all around you. And the story fits that. The story--thank God--did not try to shove the ethics of war down your throat. This game is all about how awesome the Nanosuit is--that's it.

    If I could describe the Nanosuit, it's a mix between Mirror's Edge and the power-ups of Halo. You really feel like the Predator stalking prey in NYC. You can jump all over the place, cloak yourself, kick cars out of your way or into enemies, slide along the ground and fire simultaneously, lean out from cover, etc., etc. It's fantastic.
    Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 starts out like any other fps. Look here, move here and inevitably leads to some disaster that thrusts your character into the action. Well it does this beautifully, due to the Cry-engine. This game, hands down has the best graphics to date to grace this console. Everything is crisp, sharp and just downright amazing. The sections of the game you go through all kind of meld together into one giant sprawl through New York. The game lets the player tackle any situation with the ability to switch from stealth to brute force via the shoulder buttons. This dynamic between stealth and firepower constantly makes you adjust tactics on the fly to avoid being out in the open with no energy to run the functions of the Nanosuit 2.0. The levels are almost always multi-tiered and therefore an approach of taking silenced shots from an elevated position or running from cover to cover on the ground are always available. The weapons are awesome and there is never a shortage of them. If you find yourself without ammo (which isn't often) a touch of the d-pad brings up an interactive hud that locates enemies, allies, weapons, ammo and tactical points of interest, all of which can be marked so that finding them on the fly is easier. The enemies are plenty but at times are a little easy to dispatch (even on harder difficulties) and the fact you can leave most alive and just move on makes you wonder why bother killing them at all. The aliens drop a kind of currency to upgrade suit powers but the humans drop only weapons that can be found in great numbers everywhere else. I never left an area without killing everyone but you don't have to in most cases to advance the story line. The weapons are upgradable with things like sights, silencers and 40mm grenade launchers. This is done on the fly and you never have to pause the action to do so. The game is definelty longer than most. After beating Homefront in 4 hours this is a good thing. All in all the game is a push in the right direction and other fps developers should take notes from Crytek about how to make a battlefield that isn't just go here, shoot that and shoot some more. I guarantee no playthrough will be the same, making the replay value very high. At 60 dollars, this is a great buy and more so than other first person shooters out now. Awesome game! Expand
  24. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    i dont think ive brought a game this genreation that has suprised me more than crysis 2 has. I was releuctant to buy this game seeing the poor demo, however i took the risk , and got it. I was enjoying killzone 3 with its great graphcis and MP, however crysis 2 has overhwelmed me with its stunning visuals and graphics. Killzone 3 for me is no longer best looking game, crytek have seriously made a great step foward in the FPS genre with its visuals and settings. The gameplay is somewhat fresh , very unique when compared to modern FPS games. The movment feels smooth, the nanosuit is something which will bring much enjoyemnt for time to come. With options such as the ability to go into stealth and armour, both having their advantages and obvious flaws to balance out the MP. However other innovative abilities such as the jump and stomp can really give the player more freedom than just going around gunning. The weapons are so far exellent , having not unlocked all , so far so good. The single player is brilliant , great story and serious innovation, that other developers must really aknokweldge. The single player offers so much freedom , that no other FPS this genreation has come close to performing. I can literally choose the way i play the game , rather than running from a to b shooting everything that moves. It really puts to shame other shooter campagins. So for thos looking for a fresh single player experiance, this is probably the best you are going to get. And its a real winner. On the other hand you have the MP. which takes you away from just basic run and shoot , which you can do but risk getting killed. Its more skillful , patience is required and a lot of thinking. In a world of fps sdominated by run and gun . It suprisingly works. Give it some time and you have one of the best shooters available. The negative reviewrs see, to come from some PC fans, lol . Its made way onto console and has impressed me . However here are some issues which need clearing up. -First of all the MP , needs to be carefully analysed by Devs, it seems that in some cases accuracy has become an issue. Sometimes i find myslef shooting at someone who doesant die , not becasue they have armour on , it seems im doing no damage. -i have no issue with lag at the moment. -voice acting in the campaign is exellent. But on the MP the women is ok , but the dude sounds like an old man [most likely is ] , is like a grandad commentating on horse racing. other than that the game is a blast to play, highly reccomended to FPS genre fans. 9.5/10 Expand
  25. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Singleplayer is insane. People reviewing it after playing it 4-5 hours should be shot. The game just keeps escalating. Easily one of the most beauitful games on the ps3, you could say its at Playstation exclusive level. Guys playing it only online and reviewing it... please... And finish the singleplayer before you open your mouths. The user score compared to the other reviews show why most of you guys would never ever get a job as a game reviewer. Expand
  26. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 always looked like it was going to be a lot of fun - and it is!

    I played for about 2 hours last night and it was real breath of fresh air. The environments are vibrant (though I like KillZone3's dark and dirty feel) and detailed. Each map is set in a war torn part of NYC and they vary from down town sky scrapers to roof top gardens and public parks, warehouses and shopping malls
    to derelict piers and boat yards.

    Each location provides plenty of opportunity to make the best use of the Nanosuit's abilities; whether that be stealthy sniping or hiding cloaked in a dark corner, and there are plenty of opportunities to leap across huge gaps and scale buildings in a single bound. In fact the way you configure your NanoSuit could infact change depending on the map. I think custom tweaking of this awesome technology will come, but for now I am content with some basics - in particular the hologram attachment.

    Simply point the gun where you want to go, activate the hologram and watch as he takes the path you were about to take. Often you will see the enemy break from cover so you can pick them off quickly as they rush into the open. Alternatively you will witness your other self hailed in bullets from on high - its not safe out there. Clever use of the hologram, the armor and cloaking modes of your NanoSuit will enable you to traverse the map without taking any damage.

    If this sounds too easy - well it isn't! There are going to 6 guys on the other team doing the same to you and for starters they will be better at it. Crysis 2 provides a recruit level mode where you will only be pitted against ranks 10 or lower, ensuring (in theory) that all will be on the same skill level.

    As I said I have only played for a few hours but I must say that this looks like the final nail in Black Ops coffin for me.
    Expand
  27. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is easily the best FPS yet for the consoles. I purchased it first for the PC, and although I'm not as impressed with some of the development choies they made in comparison to the first Crysis, I have to admit what it loses in sandbox and more destructable environment, it gainst in more verticle combat, impressive spectacle, and good story line. The "rail like" aspects are my favorite, but if you can generally apply such a term, the moments where it is a rail shooter, it is the best rail shooter you've played! Despite the more closed environemnt the enemies are still not generally scripted, when they engage you in comat, the a.i. is good. Expand
  28. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Very much enjoyed the game. It was well paced, the music was wonderful and the action sequences decent. I liked the changes to the nanosuit and the controls were easier. I used one of the community-based launchers to take advantage of graphic settings that were not readily apparent and it took me about 11 hours to complete...mostly because I choose a stealthy attack style. My son made it through in 6. Not ground-breaking like Crysis was, but for Crytek this should be hugely profitable w/release on consoles and the PC. Can't wait for the DX11 patch to do a replay. Expand
  29. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    One of the most satisfying single player shooters in years. Takes obvious inspiration from classic FPS's such as Halo and Half-Life and adds its own twist along with excellent visuals to create a really great and action packed shooter. The story isn't the best, it's full of cliches and is extremely linear in it's progression. I do think however that the nano-suit allows for many differing tactical approaches to situations. Cloaking and stealth killing enemies is great fun and actually makes you think about how to go about your killing as your energy runs down. Alternatively, you can use the suit's power and armour to rip the MG from an APC and literally blast through your foes. The multiplayer is excellent and prolongs the life and value of the game. Not dissimilar to the COD series or indeed most modern shooters, you must earn XP and buy upgrades to your suit or weapons over time. I would highly recommend this for action/ shooter fans and sci-fi lovers. Expand
  30. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    When I first seen the trailer for Crysis2 I knew it was different to any first person shooter.So I got it.I started to play it and I felt the awsomeness of the game.I was trying to think of something wrong with the game to take away the score but I can't.The only thing I can think about is that it is entirely first person you never see the protagonist's face.The online multiplayer is like Lucy.Pinder,beautiful,the one and only one of it's kind.But wait there's more if you know yourself and know what your good at,you become a one man army.If your'e sneaky there's invisibility and perks for each ability.There are three different abilities but you can only use one at a time.

    Forget Call of Duty play Crysis2
    Expand
  31. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best shooters of 2011. This is way better than call of duty modern warfare 3,but in my opinion killzone 3 is a little better. I think people should buy both of them,because they are great games
  32. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best FPS of this generation. The story, while somewhat generic and repetitive, is very fun and quite long compared to similar games. The graphics are quite good and the sound is satisfactory. While many people have complained of bugs throughout the campaign, I personally did not experience any significant or game-breaking ones. The online gameplay is very engaging and addicting. Suit powers are a great addition. Nothing feels more badass then jumping of a building and smashing 3 enemy's with your fist. Many people have complained of framerate issues but I personally feel that they are very exaggerated. Another person said it was impossible to kill anybody unless corner-camping with a cloak but this is far from the truth. Much of the time I will pick up triples charging into enemies with full armour up. The great thing about this multiplayer experience is that it is extremely balanced and you are able to do well with any play style. Over-all a very good game. Expand
  33. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best FPS this year!Far better MP than killzone 3 and SP than COD!Its only rival is BAd company 2!!So its the best time-spender until battlefield 3!!FPS lovers don't miss it,you'll miss....
  34. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Great Story, Sound, Controls and Graphics. A Must who haven't played this before Crysis 3 comes out. Also the Multilayer is very fun; just know that you have to be at rank 30 to obtain all the game modes.
  35. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    This game is now my favorite FPS. I consider myself a gamer. I beat about 3 games a month. And I LOVE this game. Graphics, music, gameplay, even multiplayer is superb. If you don't own this game, you should. If you are tired of the "amazing" but over-rated Call of Duty franchise (mainly Black Ops... with it's horrible weapons, and unbearable campaign even though multiplayer had potential but the hackers and campers are still there but thats another review) you should get this game. Not that many brats a.k.a. 13 yr. olds and under play online. And no one really camps because you can do so much. But that doesn't even touch the main reasons why this game is so amazing. The music and intro alone will give you goosebumps. But anyways I am very VERY pleased. It's faster paced so if your used to Bad Company you might not like the controls. But in my OPINION I give this game a HUGE 10. Just might be my favorite FPS. Only one complaint and it's not even a complaint, sometimes you get lost in exploring which is something that doesn't happen with me on FPS's. But at the very least rent this game. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  36. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty beware, Crysis 2 is here. Great graphics, enjoyable gameplay and the suit makes for interesting play. The trolls will be out to tempt you away from this beauty. Ignore them.
  37. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    pretty damn good game after the updates. Great graphics, good gameplay, and sweets multiplayer. I specially like how you can play it however you want, you can be stealthy or just shoot to everything and everyone in sight... as long as you manage your suit's energy.
  38. May 24, 2011
    9
    Wow! Just wow, Crysis 2 is something else altogether. Forget all the petty issues that have been raised because they have been greatly exaggerated. Crysis 2 is an amazing and ambitious FPS bringing a much needed freshness to the genre. You are The Prophet mankinds last hope, well at least New York's in this game and the story stems from this. After being rescued you are given the responsibility of taking on the nano-suit and finding Professor Gould. However hot in pursuit are CELL operatives as well as Ceph forces in a destroyed New York City. The story does take a while to get going but when it does its engaging, rewarding and a funfest and full of twists and turns that you might not expect coming. But the thing that sets Crysis apart from all other FPS its the Nanosuit. A genius creation giving you the option of how you wish to approach each level. You can go invisible and take the stealth route, the armour mode allows you to take more damage and the tactical mode allows you to plan ahead and see your targets. Its addictive when you get in the thick of things and hugely gripping to see how it all ends, which I might add for me, leaves things set up perfectly poised for the next outing assuming ofcourse that there will be, which based on this seems inevitable! The one thing that Crysis has in abundace over its rivals is the ability to leave you in awe over the gorgeous graphics on offer as visually this is as good as it gets, its right up there with the very best. You will constantly find yourself blown away by the sight of a demolished New York City. Multiplayer is solid and enthralling. It runs smoothly and has plenty on offer. Like I said the nanosuit makes Crysis unique and online thats no different the balance used between the new nanosuit powers and all the basics needed for an online shooter is immense and ulitmately makes Crysis 2 hugely enjoyable and addictive as hell with simiilar perks and levelups that most FPS offer nowadays. Make no mistake, Crysis 2 is a seriously riveting and incredible game meaning that it is one of the must have titles on PS3. The all round package on offer is unmissable and has loads to offer to keep you engrossed, intrigued and occupied for months. Utterly essential! Expand
  39. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    Besides being the best looking game on consoles, Crysis 2 succeeds in almost every other aspect. First, the bad. The story is really nothing to write home about, and only gets interesting towards the end. There are some interesting ideas thrown around, and its all beautifully presented, but it never manages to really get the player interested. There are also many strange graphical glitches and bugs that can sometimes force you to reload the the single player campaign entirely. It doesnt happen often, but it happens enough that you will notice. And finally, the multiplayer progression feels a little bit too dragged out, as it takes VERY long to level up and some of the later more interesting guns and game modes can only be unlocked at later levels. Despite all this, Crysis 2 is a crowning achievement in first person shooters. The gameplay is unique and tactical , forcing you to assess every situation and use the nanosuit's abilities in creative ways. It is one of the few games that truly makes you feel like a super solider with endless amounts of power. Stealth, Power, Speed, all these things factor into the gameplay and the sandbox level design allows you to use them however you please. The multiplayer, though it has glaring problems, is still a blast to play and the nanosuit abilities add a unique spin on the otherwise generic Call of Duty style set up. Crysis 2 is one of the best shooters to come out this generation, and if you are a fan of action games in general it would be silly to miss out on it Expand
  40. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    A different kind of FPS. This game is easily the best looking on consoles right now. The game-play is very fun and addictive. The story is really good, as well.
  41. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing! This game blew away all of the previous shooters made for console by a long shot. Its not just about the graphics that obviously took a good portion of time to get right, but they story is great, and unlike black ops, the hit detection is right on. I'm just glad so many people got this game because its made it incredibly easy to find games online as well. For the people who "just didn't like it", this isn't another COD. Its the new heavy weight champion. This is a tactical shooter. Not a run around and dolphin dive or drop shot attempt at a game. I love everything about it, and if you haven't tried it, you're missing out. Expand
  42. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I really thought that with all the hype going on that this would be a good game but I rented it to make sure and its absolutely horrible. Its the biggest Call Of Duty knock-off I have ever seen, Crytek has copied everything from the killstreaks and effects down to the perks and ability to slide after sprinting. This game is set in 2023 which is 14 years after the release of Modern Warfare 2 so it made me think of a Call Of Duty 14 years into the future. It shouldn't be called Crysis, it should be called Mw2023. In short, this is the worst game I have ever played. Just go and buy your self a copy of Call Of Duty and save yourself some money. Expand
  43. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed the single-player and although not as good graphics as the computer version its still a very good game with graphics at the top of the competition. I thought that maybe the single-player could have been slightly longer, but apart from that don't really have a problem with the single-player. I found the multiplayer to be very good apart from the fact that when you just hav levelled up to 11 you are going against level 40 and so on which have way better guns than you, maybe include a level 25 and below as well so you get more practise before going against the people hwho have been playing it for way longer than you have. Also i would have prefered to have more game modes, maybe even improve some of the current ones. However, overall iI think the multiplayer is very goood and the overall game is well worth buying, or at the very least borrowing it from someone. Expand
  44. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This game, despite what some people are saying, is brilliant.

    The single player, although the slow start is very good. The issues with the AI are noticeable when the enemies are being "casual". As soon as they notice you those AI glitches disappear. There weren't any pop out glitches for me and the graphics are truly amazing. The online is not as detailed as something like COD but in my
    opinion is much more fun. The worst thing about crysis 2 on the ps3 is the exaggerated glitches by pc fan-boys. To those people I say: get pissed about crysis 2 on the pc page, not the ps3 one. Expand
  45. May 5, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is best FPS ever made


    best graphics
    best gameplay

    I do take issue with the multiplayer though.
    The frame rate in multiplayer is horrendous. It's just plain straight up disgusting.
    but oh well, the singleplayer is more than enough to sell it.
  46. May 23, 2011
    9
    fantastic story mode which delivers above other fps. A few unexpected twist and decent length. multiplayer is nice where your player can focus on stealth, power, or armor. lack of weapon choices leave something to be desired and a tad bit glitchy but these setbacks could be fixed easy in future dlc and patches. maps have good feel and all are well laid out for all kinds of players. (campers, run an gun, squad players, fragers). death streak perks help close drastic gaps. graphics are superb. all in all its nice to see a fps that follows a different direction then COD or BF. unique! worth the money Expand
  47. May 10, 2011
    9
    This game is FREAKIN' AWESOME! From the epic singleplayer campaign to the intense multiplayer action, this game is an absolute BLAST to play!

    Visuals: As far as multi-platform games go, this one completely knocks the other contenders out of the game! Every texture was crisp and clean, and the whole game just looked beautiful.

    Audio: The audio seriously supports the game. Every explosion
    or gunshot sounds just right and immerses you into the game even more. On top of that, the soundtrack is very fitting, for example, in the beginning of the game, the music is sort of slow and light. As the campaign progresses (and gets more intense), the music seems to get faster paced.

    Gameplay: In case you don't know, Crysis 2 puts a nanosuit at your disposal. It allows you to slide, run faster, jump higher, become Rambo/invisible, and more. This adds some serious fun to the game, and separating it from the crowd of other CoD shooter clones. Of course there is your usual arsenal of SMGs, sniper rifles, etc.

    Verdict: Crysis 2 is a great game for the casual or hardcore shooter fan.
    Expand
  48. May 15, 2011
    9
    Boasting amazing graphics and challenging gameplay, Crysis 2 is a whole different shooter for consoles. It does suffer minor problems such as plot holes,an okay story and a fun yet forgettable multiplayer. I would recommend this to any fps fan looking for something new.
  49. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I really don't know what the reviewers of this game have been smoking, but whatever it is I would love some.

    To compare this game to the likes of Killzone as far as graphics are concerned is a bold face lie. In all honesty this reminds me of a PS2 game, infact I would go as far as saying that Black on PS2 looked and played better.

    Really feel ripped off.
  50. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty
  51. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 on PS3 is a excellent shooter. The campaign has two enemies that you fight: Alien and Human, the levels are perfectly paced from all out war, to sneaking around cloaked, and a little bit of both. The first few hours may be boring, but if you stick with the game it will be worth it. The campaign also includes some amazing cinematic moments and great voice acting. The multi player feels the same and different at the same time from other shooters. It brings the powers you get from the campaign. (whoops i forgot to mention that you get three abilities: armor which allows you to become temporarily invincible, invisibility, and sprinting/sliding.) These features in multi player allow for a more strategic option in the matches instead of straight forward running and gunning. The weapons are perfectly balanced as well. You can earn dog tags for completing certain challenges in game (Such as getting one for having least deaths, highest kill streak or vice versa.) The multi player just has to much to talk about so I'll sum it up. It has depth, balance, and most importantly, overall fun. The game overall is spectacular. A definite buy, the only problem I had is the difficulty as some parts. (but that is just me). Expand
  52. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Best FPS ever it creates a tactical experiece that i can have fun with rather that just bullet spaming vietnamese dudes. It looks love sounds like im in New York being attacked by aliens or being shot at by super soilders. The mutiplayer is a total new experience and im loving being crap at this multiplayer. It's such and immersive and strategic game 2nd best game ive ever played 10
  53. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    a nice game i got it yesterday and was expecting a good game but i was worried about the frame rate problems and lags but so far its been very fast with hardly any framerate drops. the graphics are out of this world this is what you could expect on how the world looks in a disaster . Multiplier is fine nothing groundbreaking but still solid a good game for future fps shooter
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    In my publication anterior I put 10 but actually is 9. Okay other Things I forget say my another review alia Crysis 2 is like one Half life 1 but not so half life finally a very good game I buy it (I already buy that)
  55. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    rysis 2 is best FPS ever made best graphics best gameplay I do take issue with the multiplayer though. The frame rate in multiplayer is horrendous. It's just plain straight up disgusting. but oh well, the singleplayer is more than enough to sell it.
  56. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    PS3 Version:
    A disclaimer is that I had not played the original Crysis. The game does more for the FPS genre than it gets credit for. While the graphics are its known core competency, the gameplay, story, and replay-ability are its lesser known strengths.

    The game leaves you in large open areas, large narrow areas, small open areas, small narrow areas, some busy with obstacles and
    barriers, some devoid of any tactical items; the levels are plenty varied. The campaigns objectives felt like they added to the story and felt less 'busy work' like some of the campaigns do nowadays. No hitting switches, doing item X to get through a doors, little to no 'aww man bad luckā€¦..this easy objective will take extra long now because freak accident X occurred". You are basically in a state-of-the-art nanosuit and it finally gives justification as to how you can dispel an entire army as a one man team, which most FPS have to suspend your disbelief. There are many ways to complete an objective; stealth, walking juggernaut, etc. The suit can even tell you different ways to complete a mission. The game does a great job of making you feel like you are thrown into a superhuman state in Manhattan.

    The story is pretty decent for a FPS; I may even say my favorite since the original Modern Warfare. There are plenty of twists and turns and the plot feels more like an elongated movie than a video game because of the campaign factors I had listed earlier.

    You can almost use the same guns the entire game. It gives you freedom to do what you want. There is a decent variety with ones that fuse current tech with future tech that make them look and feel like real guns in the not-so-distant future as well as some oldies but goodies if that's what tickles your fancy.

    While everyone will talk about its graphics, the AI is horribly inconsistent. They can see me through walls when I uncloak, be overly intelligent or overly dumb when cloaking and uncloaking. I also noticed a ton of AI bugs where the enemies are stuck or stuck in a routine causing them to spin a mile a minute.

    This game gave me the biggest "wow" factor I've had since I first played Combat Evolved, which is saying a lot. The vast pretty environments will tend to do that.
    Expand
  57. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This game has a epic multiplayer that will keep you playing for hours and hours, but the main storyline lacks on fun. But dont let that stop you buy it now
  58. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    Crysis 2 is an absolutely beautiful game with absolutely awesome gameplay!! The shear amount of detail in the environments is mind blowing! Never once did i come across a texture that look blocky or muddy, nor did i come across a vista that i didn't catch myself staring at! On top of that, the amount of variety when approaching each combat encounter is ridiculous! There are so many options when it comes to combat that i'm not gonna try to name them all here for fear of leaving something cool out haha! The only complaint i had with this game was a lack of focus in the narrative. However, that means absolutely nothing when the rest of the game is so great! I'm sure most gamers already have this one, but not there is no better time then now to go pick this one up! Expand
  59. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    1) stellar graphics better than Arkham asylum, Borderlands 2, and on par with bf3
    2) Single player is complex with multiple ways to advance through each checkpoint, stealth, sniping, flanking. In addition there are multiple ways to "pimp" out the nano suit.
    3) multiplayer is similar to the battlefield collection games with its long term unlock style. Unlike games like brink your
    character will be truly unique. Expand
  60. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    It is hard to say what is the problem of the game. Ok there is no problem of the game honestly. The gameplay is really smooth and enjoyable with a decent gaming length.
    At least a very decent commerce-facing game.
    Plus I really like alien-high-tech-sic-fic genre, so this is the dish for me.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Crysis 2 may not live up to every expectation, but its pleasant surprises make up for most of its shortcomings.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The game is fun though. It does get repetitive, and it does feel like a corridor at times, but the desire to see all of New York City, destroyed and lying in ruin, is what will drive you forward. Towards the end of the game it does overstay its welcome, and you'll be wishing you could just walk through the levels with no enemies in sight, detracting from the wonderful visuals. With all that said, the suit powers are enjoyable the first few times and any fan of shooters will have a good time in the game's dystopian New York City.
  3. Don't make the mistake of viewing Crysis 2 as a new shooter on the block that has to desperately prove itself to all the established PS3 heavy-hitters. In many ways it's actually the other way around. [May 2011, p.69]