Crysis 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 401
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Problems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictiveProblems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictive and fun multiplayer experiences on the system. The single player seems to be a near flawless experience, with some of the smartest AI that I have played against in a long time. EA has found a successful way to balance scripted "call of duty" style set pieces with sandbox style decision making, allowing you to attack a scenerio with your own play style (stealth, run and gun, heavy armor, etc...). Graphics don't top killzone 3, but the lighting effects are probably the best on the system. This game is a MUST BUY for any fans of the first-person shooter genre. If you've finished the killzone 3 single player, and you are fed up with the wonky hit detection of Black Ops, Crysis 2 is just what the doctor ordered! Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    Graphics = 9.0
    Don't know if Crysis 2 are the best but they are up there. Not much to say about the graphics, clean cut and dry, their "GREAT".
    Sound = 7.5 The sound wasnt that bad but I came across an repeating issue throughout my gameplay, every now and then I would get this machine gun sound non-stop while playing and then only way to stop it was to load or quit game. The guns
    Graphics = 9.0
    Don't know if Crysis 2 are the best but they are up there. Not much to say about the graphics, clean cut and dry, their "GREAT".

    Sound = 7.5
    The sound wasnt that bad but I came across an repeating issue throughout my gameplay, every now and then I would get this machine gun sound non-stop while playing and then only way to stop it was to load or quit game. The guns sound pretty nice, not as nice as some other shooters but good enough not to complain.

    Gameplay = 9.0
    I have to say, addicting in all the right ways. I did feel as though there were times where I fired directly at an enemy and it had no effect. Dont know exactly how many times this occured but it was enough for me to notice it. Also if there are going to be aliens that are able to absorb that many bullets, please dont have me looking for ammo, I found it absurd that I was running around a lot of the time looking for ammo especially when I have the military right beside me. I did feel that enemies were able to see you much too easily, which made using stealth more of a hassle than an accomplishment. Implementing the nano suit was a great experience and having the freedom to choose to play the way you want, whether it be stealthy or right out guns a blazzing. I have had no framerate problems. Replay = Moderatly High
    There are plenty of trophies to get, which is always a wonderful motivater.
    Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    One of the most satisfying single player shooters in years. Takes obvious inspiration from classic FPS's such as Halo and Half-Life and adds its own twist along with excellent visuals to create a really great and action packed shooter. The story isn't the best, it's full of cliches and is extremely linear in it's progression. I do think however that the nano-suit allows for many differingOne of the most satisfying single player shooters in years. Takes obvious inspiration from classic FPS's such as Halo and Half-Life and adds its own twist along with excellent visuals to create a really great and action packed shooter. The story isn't the best, it's full of cliches and is extremely linear in it's progression. I do think however that the nano-suit allows for many differing tactical approaches to situations. Cloaking and stealth killing enemies is great fun and actually makes you think about how to go about your killing as your energy runs down. Alternatively, you can use the suit's power and armour to rip the MG from an APC and literally blast through your foes. The multiplayer is excellent and prolongs the life and value of the game. Not dissimilar to the COD series or indeed most modern shooters, you must earn XP and buy upgrades to your suit or weapons over time. I would highly recommend this for action/ shooter fans and sci-fi lovers. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    When I first seen the trailer for Crysis2 I knew it was different to any first person shooter.So I got it.I started to play it and I felt the awsomeness of the game.I was trying to think of something wrong with the game to take away the score but I can't.The only thing I can think about is that it is entirely first person you never see the protagonist's face.The online multiplayer is likeWhen I first seen the trailer for Crysis2 I knew it was different to any first person shooter.So I got it.I started to play it and I felt the awsomeness of the game.I was trying to think of something wrong with the game to take away the score but I can't.The only thing I can think about is that it is entirely first person you never see the protagonist's face.The online multiplayer is like Lucy.Pinder,beautiful,the one and only one of it's kind.But wait there's more if you know yourself and know what your good at,you become a one man army.If your'e sneaky there's invisibility and perks for each ability.There are three different abilities but you can only use one at a time.

    Forget Call of Duty play Crysis2
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best shooters of 2011. This is way better than call of duty modern warfare 3,but in my opinion killzone 3 is a little better. I think people should buy both of them,because they are great games
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best FPS of this generation. The story, while somewhat generic and repetitive, is very fun and quite long compared to similar games. The graphics are quite good and the sound is satisfactory. While many people have complained of bugs throughout the campaign, I personally did not experience any significant or game-breaking ones. The online gameplay is very engaging andThis is one of the best FPS of this generation. The story, while somewhat generic and repetitive, is very fun and quite long compared to similar games. The graphics are quite good and the sound is satisfactory. While many people have complained of bugs throughout the campaign, I personally did not experience any significant or game-breaking ones. The online gameplay is very engaging and addicting. Suit powers are a great addition. Nothing feels more badass then jumping of a building and smashing 3 enemy's with your fist. Many people have complained of framerate issues but I personally feel that they are very exaggerated. Another person said it was impossible to kill anybody unless corner-camping with a cloak but this is far from the truth. Much of the time I will pick up triples charging into enemies with full armour up. The great thing about this multiplayer experience is that it is extremely balanced and you are able to do well with any play style. Over-all a very good game. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    This game has some things that make it a good game, without any type of amazing details. The campaign mode is so much "direct". You have to follow a way all the time, without the liberty that the first one brought you. That´s the worst point of the campaing. The story was a bit boring too, but enjoyable in some parts of the different missions we have. The multiplayer mode is goodThis game has some things that make it a good game, without any type of amazing details. The campaign mode is so much "direct". You have to follow a way all the time, without the liberty that the first one brought you. That´s the worst point of the campaing. The story was a bit boring too, but enjoyable in some parts of the different missions we have. The multiplayer mode is good too, but without something gorgeus. It gets a bit boring during the hours you play, and the framerate is very bad without a good conexion...
    The best of this game for me, are the graphics *CryEngine 2 is so powerfull*, the different modes of doing a mission with your special suit. The weapons are made with lots of details.
    The worst are that there no exist any type of liberty at any point of the game. The framerate. The story isn´t as enjoyable as the story of the first one Crysis.
    Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Halo meets Battlefield...this game is unbelieivable! One of the best games for 2011, hands down! Multiplayer is great! Was playing Killzone 3 until I picked this up and I am now selling Killzone because the multiplayer is so good. The singleplayer is out of this world!
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lagI think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lag ops to this level in terms of errors. The graphics are great, not quite Uncharted, but close to Killzone. It doesn't have that weighty feel that killzone or BFBC2 has. There are many game types, if you don't like the whole cloaking thing there is a gametype that doesn't allow it. Best FPS HANDS down. Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a very good game. It has a good story, good game play (thanks to the nanosuit), good AI and all combined in a nice graphic package. On top of this it gives you a very nice MP. Some facts: Single player is around 10-15h, 1 suit (armour, stealth and tactical modus), lots of weapons, more then 12 suit upgrades, lots of cinematic. Lots of (on the fly) upgradable weapons. BreakableCrysis 2 is a very good game. It has a good story, good game play (thanks to the nanosuit), good AI and all combined in a nice graphic package. On top of this it gives you a very nice MP. Some facts: Single player is around 10-15h, 1 suit (armour, stealth and tactical modus), lots of weapons, more then 12 suit upgrades, lots of cinematic. Lots of (on the fly) upgradable weapons. Breakable environment. 50 Level multi player with lots of unlock-able stuff. Expand
  11. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    HIT: Damn near everything. The graphics, the gameplay, the diversity, the sheer scale of something like this on consoles, is mindblowing. Great length, way longer than I anticipated (partially because I'm used to playing 90-minute shooters). Fantastic storytelling, palpable sense of tactical choice in encounters, simultaneous sense of power and vulnerability. Again, on the visuals, atHIT: Damn near everything. The graphics, the gameplay, the diversity, the sheer scale of something like this on consoles, is mindblowing. Great length, way longer than I anticipated (partially because I'm used to playing 90-minute shooters). Fantastic storytelling, palpable sense of tactical choice in encounters, simultaneous sense of power and vulnerability. Again, on the visuals, at least three times per level I caught myself hiding somewhere safe and just staring at the scenery porn.
    MISS: Very little. Some scripting errors forced a checkpoint restart a couple of times, on one occasion my vehicle got stuck on a barrier, and once in a blue moon the objective isn't made clear.

    TRUE FACTS: 1) After a long session of Crysis 2, sometimes I see triangles when I close my eyes. You'll know what I mean.
    2) I started a second play through as soon as the credits rolled, and I might go through a third consecutive time, on a harder difficulty
    Expand
  12. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Great game, interface is very slick and works very well in multiplayer. I am a little concerned with being advised my NAT type is 'Moderate' as with all other games I am 'Open'. All relevant ports forwarded etc. Surprisingly though, even with only 2 bars of signal the latency is not that bad and I can have an enjoyable blast. Overall a great game, enjoying it much more than the slightlyGreat game, interface is very slick and works very well in multiplayer. I am a little concerned with being advised my NAT type is 'Moderate' as with all other games I am 'Open'. All relevant ports forwarded etc. Surprisingly though, even with only 2 bars of signal the latency is not that bad and I can have an enjoyable blast. Overall a great game, enjoying it much more than the slightly more visually impressive KZ3 - the mechanics in this are simply that much sharper. Expand
  13. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Well where to start, i guess ill start with what matters most the gameplay, its excellent the controls have what feels to be the correct amount of weight and the gun recoil is almost perfect, gun balance seems to be ok with the time i have played, I find the game very fun...Graphic wise, well i haven't seen many things better looking then this game, the sound is Superb all of theWell where to start, i guess ill start with what matters most the gameplay, its excellent the controls have what feels to be the correct amount of weight and the gun recoil is almost perfect, gun balance seems to be ok with the time i have played, I find the game very fun...Graphic wise, well i haven't seen many things better looking then this game, the sound is Superb all of the surround sound effects sound exactly correct shots hit wall behind you and you can tell if they shot from the right or the left. Story is annoying to say the least though, you always feel like your having orders barked at you and they don't bridge the gap between the last game and this game so it feels as if your just dropped in a storyline. Expand
  14. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    this is probably the best online fps i have ever played. the maps are clever, the perk and class systems are very cool, and the play is immediately fun and addictive. while i have heard this game looks better on the xbox, the graphics are dazzling from the get-go, and i felt some serious awe at times during the sp campaign. i have played many, many online shooters, starting with COD2 onthis is probably the best online fps i have ever played. the maps are clever, the perk and class systems are very cool, and the play is immediately fun and addictive. while i have heard this game looks better on the xbox, the graphics are dazzling from the get-go, and i felt some serious awe at times during the sp campaign. i have played many, many online shooters, starting with COD2 on the 360, and for my money Crysis 2 is hands down the most fun i've had with a game. it's one of, if not the best-looking game on the ps3 and, for what i like to do, the gameplay can't be beat. awesome. Expand
  15. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertainingThis is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertaining games (especially FPS Games) that I've played in a long time. If your looking for a fresh new take on FPS, This is it! Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I bought Crysis 2 on PS3 and PC. My expectation for the PS3 was low and considering what Crytek showed on PS3 i was not sure to buy it or not. After having played the PS3 version, I am massively impressed about Crysis 2. It is so far the best looking game on PS3, plays phantastic and offers unbelieveable experience. I very much recommend to buy it.
  17. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I got Crysis 2 today and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I got to play it.and all I can say is That this game is *AMAZING*.I thought at first that crysis 2 would be an okay title and nothing much to look forward too but I was ever so wrong, the Graphics,Music,voice acting,story is awsome just mind blowing and the multi-player is very addicting.I recommend Crysis 2 toI got Crysis 2 today and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I got to play it.and all I can say is That this game is *AMAZING*.I thought at first that crysis 2 would be an okay title and nothing much to look forward too but I was ever so wrong, the Graphics,Music,voice acting,story is awsome just mind blowing and the multi-player is very addicting.I recommend Crysis 2 to any person who enjoys shooters or just great games. Expand
  18. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Campaign is awesome... MP sucks!!! First let me say that i loved original crysis, but never played it online. I love the sequel, but hate playing it online! The maps are TINY, the action is laggy, and it lack strategy due to the ability to become "cloaked" anytime you want and camp for kills. However, the single player is long and engrossing, and unlike typical FPS campaigns, the AICampaign is awesome... MP sucks!!! First let me say that i loved original crysis, but never played it online. I love the sequel, but hate playing it online! The maps are TINY, the action is laggy, and it lack strategy due to the ability to become "cloaked" anytime you want and camp for kills. However, the single player is long and engrossing, and unlike typical FPS campaigns, the AI is very intelligent and diligent, always keeping the player on their toes. If you love great FPS single player games and want to see some of the best graphics and effects to date on the PS3... buy this game. If you're looking for a long-lasting MP experience, look elsewhere! Expand
  19. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    The PS3 demo for Crysis2 was atrocious. They never should of allowed the demo to be put out in the state it was because i'm sure it turned some people off of the game. I almost canceled my pre-purchase because I played the demo and i'm very glad I didn't. Crytek came through with flying colors on their debut to consoles. Good for them and us. Graphics are superb, almost at the same levelThe PS3 demo for Crysis2 was atrocious. They never should of allowed the demo to be put out in the state it was because i'm sure it turned some people off of the game. I almost canceled my pre-purchase because I played the demo and i'm very glad I didn't. Crytek came through with flying colors on their debut to consoles. Good for them and us. Graphics are superb, almost at the same level as Killzone 3 which is a lot to say on a multi-platform title. The game play is great and i'm very glad that the frame rate doesn't dip under 30 fps except on rare occasions. Buy it and you will be impressed. Expand
  20. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    over al a good game, if think tht every ftps should be like cod, sorry this not one of those, SORRY COD FANBOYS. de campain mode is good you can take diferents path of action to go to the next objetive, one could "solid snake" style, with out been notice, or rambo style killing every single one of the enemys, in the multiplayer mode youu have to be a little more tactic than cod, you haveover al a good game, if think tht every ftps should be like cod, sorry this not one of those, SORRY COD FANBOYS. de campain mode is good you can take diferents path of action to go to the next objetive, one could "solid snake" style, with out been notice, or rambo style killing every single one of the enemys, in the multiplayer mode youu have to be a little more tactic than cod, you have to know when use the armor(that make slower) or usw the camo( that consume alot of enegy), you cant kill a enemy with a single meele from the front. and when your openent has the armor activate you shoud aim to the head if u dont want to use all ur magazine in a single target. controls are whell desined, two use the granades is a little two dificult you have to press to times triangle, but when u get used to it its easy, Expand
  21. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    The PC version was obviously rushed, but the PS3 version is the best looking console game I have ever seen, and the best console FPS so far this year. The nanosuit powers are streamlined without being "streamlined", the level design, while not as open as Crysis 1, gives you plenty of room for different strategies and is about as expansive as Warhead, and the plot's cliche, but nicely pacedThe PC version was obviously rushed, but the PS3 version is the best looking console game I have ever seen, and the best console FPS so far this year. The nanosuit powers are streamlined without being "streamlined", the level design, while not as open as Crysis 1, gives you plenty of room for different strategies and is about as expansive as Warhead, and the plot's cliche, but nicely paced and manages to be interesting. I'm making it sound bad, but it's way more fun than Killzone 3 and Bulletstorm. The multiplayer's an obvious CoD clone, but the suit powers and larger levels make things a bit more interesting. Crytek should have kept the series PC exclusive, especially since the first game only sold slowly because nobody could play it. But if you're going to port it to consoles, you can't make it much better than this. Expand
  22. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is definitely one of the best First Person Shooters ive played, Its right near the peak of brilliance along with Killzone 3 showing us what can really be done with games today. Graphically this game is nothing short of beautiful, Single player obviously harnesses some amazing graphics, and usually you see a drop in those graphics online, but not from my experience, Being able toCrysis 2 is definitely one of the best First Person Shooters ive played, Its right near the peak of brilliance along with Killzone 3 showing us what can really be done with games today. Graphically this game is nothing short of beautiful, Single player obviously harnesses some amazing graphics, and usually you see a drop in those graphics online, but not from my experience, Being able to shoot somebody, then jump off a building hitting the cloak and landing in the water to evade more enemies than you can handle is a fantastic feeling, the graphics in multiplayer are able to keep that awe inspiring look about them whilst delivering a fast-paced and enthralling multiplayer experience.

    As with all games, there is a catergory of people that like to ruin it and drain the fun out of it in multiplayer, Yes... This game is a Campers paradise, and while i despise these soulless, unskilled and somewhat desperate attempts of gamers, We the skilled bunch have been given plenty of tools to unearth these pathetic excuses for gamers. The engine the game uses is frankly, brilliant, Like Killzone 3 online is very smooth, Host migration is very effective and theres never any severe lag, I havent experienced any online problems apart from the CoD players on it yet. Crysis 2 deserves its place up there with KZ3 and the rest of the CoD killers because it blows call of duty out of the water in every way.
    All in all, this is a great game, and it feels like one of those infinitely playable games, and lets face it, we need more of these skilled games with amazing graphics to become infinitely playable to combat the Call of Nooby series of amateurs and unrealistic FPS with average graphics.
    Expand
  23. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best FPS of the generation, maybe not the best (just behind Bioshock and Half Life 2) but with no doubt the most complete shooter so far. Long and varied campaign, great design of levels, excellent graphics and the most important, a very innovative gameplay.
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is what happens in an era populated by the COD obsessed fan-boys who wouldn't know what a good game was if it bit them in the ass. This game deserves nothing less then a 10, if i could i would give it an 11. Every aspect of this game is phenomenal, from the just jaw dropping visuals, smooth and streamlined gameplay and incredible orchestral soundtrack. I cannot begin to fathom whyThis is what happens in an era populated by the COD obsessed fan-boys who wouldn't know what a good game was if it bit them in the ass. This game deserves nothing less then a 10, if i could i would give it an 11. Every aspect of this game is phenomenal, from the just jaw dropping visuals, smooth and streamlined gameplay and incredible orchestral soundtrack. I cannot begin to fathom why people are comparing this game to CoD. Just because some game developer makes a FPS does not mean it is a CoD clone. I mean for **** sake the guns are not even the same, it has a level of depth and storytelling that Call of Duty cannot even begin to comprehend. The two games are not even in the same league, Crysis 2 is years above the level of innovation and sophistication of the entire Cod universe. Another thing, PC people need to take a Chill Pill, take a deep breath and step down from their high and mighty thrown built upon their delusions of grandeur. Stop criticizing the developers for trying to be innovative and bring the game over to a new audience. Just because they ported the game to consoles does not effect you people in anyway. I'm sure you guys will be back to modding the **** out of your games to make unnecessary changes in no time. God forbid a company would try to make money off of a product and market to a new audience. But i digress, if you people wanna complain then by all means, go ahead (This is America...freedom of speech right). The game is fantastic, everything is fun and will keep you going back for more even when you beat it. The games new game+ feature will have you replaying missions with new abilities and new ways to kick ass. Now on to Multiplayer, this is where my only gripe lies and i isn't even severe enough to downgrade my review. The field is dominated by Nanovision, Snipers and Armor users, but with each skill is a counter and you can still play and have a blast with other classes. Now the biggest issue I have here, is not with the game at all but once again with the other reviewers. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD this games Multiplayer does not copy Call of Duty. People want to complain and say, "there's kill streaks, OMG Cod Clone, this game is dumb OMG". Ok for one thing do you even have any idea how the kill-streaks work? of course not, so lets explain... You earn the kill streaks by collecting DOG TAGS from fallen enemies. So unless you feel like you are good enough to run around punching people in the face for the whole game, kill-streaks are not called in that often. If you are a sniper i highly doubt that you are going to snipe a person and run all the way down to their body and collect their tag. Lastly just because you can customize a class with different equipment and abilities, again does not = Cod clone. FPS games have been doing this for years, even before Call of Duty. Games from Battlefield to old PC games like SWAT and RainbowSix have been doing Custom Classes since their origins. So quit Comparing every FPS multiplayer to freakin Call of Duty. Cod has done nothing new nor original since its birth and frankly unless they themselves innovate soon the franchise is going to die. I for one cannot keep playing the same game over and over for the $60 price tag. I have totally diverted from the review at this point and have gone on a rant, but oh well I really don't care, the main point of this is that Crysis 2 is a must buy game that has brought a refreshing burst of color and originality to the currently boring world of the FPS. 11/10 (if i could).
    -PS: to all the Cod fans who are gonna rage about this, i already know the top comment for your rages is, "You Just Suck", and to this i can soundly and honestly say 2.21KD 25,000 kills 7th prestige. So NO... I do not, I just understand the concepts and amount of hard work that goes into making a game like Crysis. The same cannot be said for Call of Duty.
    Expand
  25. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a freaking masterpiece, by far the best game of 2011 so far and its also one of the best shooters of all time. The graphics are mind blowing, the combat feels unique but also familiar enough so that its fun and every level is full of options and different paths to take. The single player is about 14 hours long and worth the $60, & the multiplayer is even better, THIS IS the codCrysis 2 is a freaking masterpiece, by far the best game of 2011 so far and its also one of the best shooters of all time. The graphics are mind blowing, the combat feels unique but also familiar enough so that its fun and every level is full of options and different paths to take. The single player is about 14 hours long and worth the $60, & the multiplayer is even better, THIS IS the cod killer we've been waiting for. Go buy this now. Expand
  26. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. Fantastic lighting a great sound. After hearing IGN's complaints about the graphical hiccups on the Ps3 my expectations greatly diminished. After playing for a few hours i haven't noticed anything like what they stated. The multilayer is incredibly addictinve and i never wanted to put down the controller. Crysis 2 is anCrysis 2 is without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. Fantastic lighting a great sound. After hearing IGN's complaints about the graphical hiccups on the Ps3 my expectations greatly diminished. After playing for a few hours i haven't noticed anything like what they stated. The multilayer is incredibly addictinve and i never wanted to put down the controller. Crysis 2 is an excellent shooter and is a must own for any FPS fans out there. Expand
  27. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    crysis 2 is ok. It has amazing graphics and sound effects but nothing much else. I completed the supposed 12+ hour campaign in 7 hours and i was bored before the end. It is very repetative, pushing you into the same slog of, scan environment, tag enemies, press R2, walk to end of street situation every 5 minutes. Not to mention the story which seems to die an hour into the game. Thecrysis 2 is ok. It has amazing graphics and sound effects but nothing much else. I completed the supposed 12+ hour campaign in 7 hours and i was bored before the end. It is very repetative, pushing you into the same slog of, scan environment, tag enemies, press R2, walk to end of street situation every 5 minutes. Not to mention the story which seems to die an hour into the game. The extent of the story is that it tells you that you are the only hope left for the world at the end of each mission in a call of duty style overview of the city. Expand
  28. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    Graphics are incredible, that's probably the first thing you notice, along with the ominous score by Hans Zimmer, Intro and cut scenes are pretty nice and the story is your usual sci-fi invasion shtick. Some game play elements let this down a little (bad AI getting stuck behind walls etc), but overall the AI is pretty brutal, and gameplay is intense. Single player campaign is long, andGraphics are incredible, that's probably the first thing you notice, along with the ominous score by Hans Zimmer, Intro and cut scenes are pretty nice and the story is your usual sci-fi invasion shtick. Some game play elements let this down a little (bad AI getting stuck behind walls etc), but overall the AI is pretty brutal, and gameplay is intense. Single player campaign is long, and multl player gives it a fair longevity. Overall, pretty happy wtih this one! Expand
  29. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 starts out like any other fps. Look here, move here and inevitably leads to some disaster that thrusts your character into the action. Well it does this beautifully, due to the Cry-engine. This game, hands down has the best graphics to date to grace this console. Everything is crisp, sharp and just downright amazing. The sections of the game you go through all kind of meldCrysis 2 starts out like any other fps. Look here, move here and inevitably leads to some disaster that thrusts your character into the action. Well it does this beautifully, due to the Cry-engine. This game, hands down has the best graphics to date to grace this console. Everything is crisp, sharp and just downright amazing. The sections of the game you go through all kind of meld together into one giant sprawl through New York. The game lets the player tackle any situation with the ability to switch from stealth to brute force via the shoulder buttons. This dynamic between stealth and firepower constantly makes you adjust tactics on the fly to avoid being out in the open with no energy to run the functions of the Nanosuit 2.0. The levels are almost always multi-tiered and therefore an approach of taking silenced shots from an elevated position or running from cover to cover on the ground are always available. The weapons are awesome and there is never a shortage of them. If you find yourself without ammo (which isn't often) a touch of the d-pad brings up an interactive hud that locates enemies, allies, weapons, ammo and tactical points of interest, all of which can be marked so that finding them on the fly is easier. The enemies are plenty but at times are a little easy to dispatch (even on harder difficulties) and the fact you can leave most alive and just move on makes you wonder why bother killing them at all. The aliens drop a kind of currency to upgrade suit powers but the humans drop only weapons that can be found in great numbers everywhere else. I never left an area without killing everyone but you don't have to in most cases to advance the story line. The weapons are upgradable with things like sights, silencers and 40mm grenade launchers. This is done on the fly and you never have to pause the action to do so. The game is definelty longer than most. After beating Homefront in 4 hours this is a good thing. All in all the game is a push in the right direction and other fps developers should take notes from Crytek about how to make a battlefield that isn't just go here, shoot that and shoot some more. I guarantee no playthrough will be the same, making the replay value very high. At 60 dollars, this is a great buy and more so than other first person shooters out now. Awesome game! Expand
  30. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    i dont think ive brought a game this genreation that has suprised me more than crysis 2 has. I was releuctant to buy this game seeing the poor demo, however i took the risk , and got it. I was enjoying killzone 3 with its great graphcis and MP, however crysis 2 has overhwelmed me with its stunning visuals and graphics. Killzone 3 for me is no longer best looking game, crytek have seriouslyi dont think ive brought a game this genreation that has suprised me more than crysis 2 has. I was releuctant to buy this game seeing the poor demo, however i took the risk , and got it. I was enjoying killzone 3 with its great graphcis and MP, however crysis 2 has overhwelmed me with its stunning visuals and graphics. Killzone 3 for me is no longer best looking game, crytek have seriously made a great step foward in the FPS genre with its visuals and settings. The gameplay is somewhat fresh , very unique when compared to modern FPS games. The movment feels smooth, the nanosuit is something which will bring much enjoyemnt for time to come. With options such as the ability to go into stealth and armour, both having their advantages and obvious flaws to balance out the MP. However other innovative abilities such as the jump and stomp can really give the player more freedom than just going around gunning. The weapons are so far exellent , having not unlocked all , so far so good. The single player is brilliant , great story and serious innovation, that other developers must really aknokweldge. The single player offers so much freedom , that no other FPS this genreation has come close to performing. I can literally choose the way i play the game , rather than running from a to b shooting everything that moves. It really puts to shame other shooter campagins. So for thos looking for a fresh single player experiance, this is probably the best you are going to get. And its a real winner. On the other hand you have the MP. which takes you away from just basic run and shoot , which you can do but risk getting killed. Its more skillful , patience is required and a lot of thinking. In a world of fps sdominated by run and gun . It suprisingly works. Give it some time and you have one of the best shooters available. The negative reviewrs see, to come from some PC fans, lol . Its made way onto console and has impressed me . However here are some issues which need clearing up. -First of all the MP , needs to be carefully analysed by Devs, it seems that in some cases accuracy has become an issue. Sometimes i find myslef shooting at someone who doesant die , not becasue they have armour on , it seems im doing no damage. -i have no issue with lag at the moment. -voice acting in the campaign is exellent. But on the MP the women is ok , but the dude sounds like an old man [most likely is ] , is like a grandad commentating on horse racing. other than that the game is a blast to play, highly reccomended to FPS genre fans. 9.5/10 Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Crysis 2 may not live up to every expectation, but its pleasant surprises make up for most of its shortcomings.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The game is fun though. It does get repetitive, and it does feel like a corridor at times, but the desire to see all of New York City, destroyed and lying in ruin, is what will drive you forward. Towards the end of the game it does overstay its welcome, and you'll be wishing you could just walk through the levels with no enemies in sight, detracting from the wonderful visuals. With all that said, the suit powers are enjoyable the first few times and any fan of shooters will have a good time in the game's dystopian New York City.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    Don't make the mistake of viewing Crysis 2 as a new shooter on the block that has to desperately prove itself to all the established PS3 heavy-hitters. In many ways it's actually the other way around. [May 2011, p.69]