User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 368 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 368

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Problems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictiveProblems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictive and fun multiplayer experiences on the system. The single player seems to be a near flawless experience, with some of the smartest AI that I have played against in a long time. EA has found a successful way to balance scripted "call of duty" style set pieces with sandbox style decision making, allowing you to attack a scenerio with your own play style (stealth, run and gun, heavy armor, etc...). Graphics don't top killzone 3, but the lighting effects are probably the best on the system. This game is a MUST BUY for any fans of the first-person shooter genre. If you've finished the killzone 3 single player, and you are fed up with the wonky hit detection of Black Ops, Crysis 2 is just what the doctor ordered! Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lagI think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lag ops to this level in terms of errors. The graphics are great, not quite Uncharted, but close to Killzone. It doesn't have that weighty feel that killzone or BFBC2 has. There are many game types, if you don't like the whole cloaking thing there is a gametype that doesn't allow it. Best FPS HANDS down. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I bought Crysis 2 on PS3 and PC. My expectation for the PS3 was low and considering what Crytek showed on PS3 i was not sure to buy it or not. After having played the PS3 version, I am massively impressed about Crysis 2. It is so far the best looking game on PS3, plays phantastic and offers unbelieveable experience. I very much recommend to buy it.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a very good game. It has a good story, good game play (thanks to the nanosuit), good AI and all combined in a nice graphic package. On top of this it gives you a very nice MP. Some facts: Single player is around 10-15h, 1 suit (armour, stealth and tactical modus), lots of weapons, more then 12 suit upgrades, lots of cinematic. Lots of (on the fly) upgradable weapons. BreakableCrysis 2 is a very good game. It has a good story, good game play (thanks to the nanosuit), good AI and all combined in a nice graphic package. On top of this it gives you a very nice MP. Some facts: Single player is around 10-15h, 1 suit (armour, stealth and tactical modus), lots of weapons, more then 12 suit upgrades, lots of cinematic. Lots of (on the fly) upgradable weapons. Breakable environment. 50 Level multi player with lots of unlock-able stuff. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best FPS of the generation, maybe not the best (just behind Bioshock and Half Life 2) but with no doubt the most complete shooter so far. Long and varied campaign, great design of levels, excellent graphics and the most important, a very innovative gameplay.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertainingThis is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertaining games (especially FPS Games) that I've played in a long time. If your looking for a fresh new take on FPS, This is it! Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I got Crysis 2 today and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I got to play it.and all I can say is That this game is *AMAZING*.I thought at first that crysis 2 would be an okay title and nothing much to look forward too but I was ever so wrong, the Graphics,Music,voice acting,story is awsome just mind blowing and the multi-player is very addicting.I recommend Crysis 2 toI got Crysis 2 today and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I got to play it.and all I can say is That this game is *AMAZING*.I thought at first that crysis 2 would be an okay title and nothing much to look forward too but I was ever so wrong, the Graphics,Music,voice acting,story is awsome just mind blowing and the multi-player is very addicting.I recommend Crysis 2 to any person who enjoys shooters or just great games. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    I just can't underastand where all the positive reviews are coming from. Crysis 2 has to be the worst multiplayer experience I've ever had. Here are the reasons why it is so terrible.

    1. Poor framerate. I've played games where the framerate might dip when a lot of stuff is going on, but it wasn't terrible. In Crysis 2, the framerate is game breaking. Running around, the screen updates
    I just can't underastand where all the positive reviews are coming from. Crysis 2 has to be the worst multiplayer experience I've ever had. Here are the reasons why it is so terrible.

    1. Poor framerate. I've played games where the framerate might dip when a lot of stuff is going on, but it wasn't terrible. In Crysis 2, the framerate is game breaking. Running around, the screen updates slightly faster than a power point slideshow. Close encounters tend to just be random, because neither player gets enough visual information on the screen to be able to react quickly enough.

    2. Controls are sloppy and unresponsive. I turned up the sensitivity, but it doesn't help much. Pulling up sight and aiming at someone is clunky. It reminds me of the controls in Killzone 2 (though that was a solid game otherwise).

    3. Lag/hit detection are embarrassingly bad. It can take a whole clip to kill someone, or it may just take a couple bullets, you never know. Gun battles are clumsy and awkward, and has nothing to do with skill, and everything to do with luck and lag. Aiming right at somebody and firing more shots doesn't mean you will win. Every gun fight I've been in seem to be both players struggling to stay on target. Close encounters will have both players spraying and meleeing wildly. Midrange has people aiming and strafing, hoping enough shots will be detected. Long range gun fights seem to be nonexistant, and would be utterly pointless anyway.

    4. Graphics are just terrible. Low resolution and muddy textures. This is one of the worst looking games I've played on the PS3. Even Black Ops has better graphics, and that's saying something. I can accept bad graphics if it means higher framerate and more responsive gameplay (Black Ops), but I get none of these benefits in Crysis 2. 5. People's playstyle have to accommodate the terrible framerate and lag. This means a lot of people just sit cloaked until you run by, then they switch on armor and shoot you. You can't turn around and shoot back accurately because of the lag and terrible controls. It's just not a fun game when 90% of the players are just sitting somewhere cloaked and waiting. But I can't blame them, it's almost the only way to guarantee you'll get a kill.

    Overall I am hugely disappointed with this game. I paid 60 dollars for it, and it is so bad I never want to play it again. I will probably force myself to try it a few more times, to try to get my money's worth, but it's just a hideously bad game. I am really upset, because I was expecting this game to be amazing. I can't understand where all the positive critical reviews came from, but now that people are playing it, some of the negative reviews are starting to appear. Apparently this game is actually good on PC. But on PS3 (and Xbox from what I hear), it's just terrible. There are no redeeming qualities to this game right now. Maybe they can fix some stuff via patches, but I don't think they can completely overhaul it enough to make it a good, playable game.
    Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Halo meets Battlefield...this game is unbelieivable! One of the best games for 2011, hands down! Multiplayer is great! Was playing Killzone 3 until I picked this up and I am now selling Killzone because the multiplayer is so good. The singleplayer is out of this world!
  10. Mar 26, 2011
    4
    SUMMARY: Crysis 2 is ultimately a disappointing experience on the PS3. If I could, I would buy a beefed up PC just to experience it the way it should be, with sparkling graphics and at a frame rate of 60 fps. GRAPHICS: 2/10. Crytek completely butchered the PS3 version. The framerate is below 30fps and the resolution is sub-HD (this means less than 720p). ThisSUMMARY: Crysis 2 is ultimately a disappointing experience on the PS3. If I could, I would buy a beefed up PC just to experience it the way it should be, with sparkling graphics and at a frame rate of 60 fps. GRAPHICS: 2/10. Crytek completely butchered the PS3 version. The framerate is below 30fps and the resolution is sub-HD (this means less than 720p). This is not an HD game. Textures appear blocky and blurry. Single player graphics suffer from severe pop-in of objects. Whenever the player is in an open area, objects and animations (such as fires) suddenly appear out of nowhere. The chunky frame rate "encourages" you to approach each confrontation in a stealthy manner because the frame rate can make u miss your target if you choose to attack directly. Multiplayer graphics have no pop-in (good). However, sniping from a distance is almost impossible due to the fact that everything is so blurry so don't be a camper! GAMEPLAY: 6/10. The stealth play in single player is interesting. Performing stealth kills and infiltrating buildings underwater never gets old. Sometimes, you get to go toe to toe with enemies and this is where things degenerate into filth! It turns out that Crytek forgot about collision detection and enemy AI is hit or miss. Sometimes enemies are smart enough to outflank you and kill you. Other times they run in circles! Sometimes that stand way up on top of air while shooting at you! Sometimes you fire at the enemy directly but your bullets are blocked by the airspace of a nearby object. Objects have greater hit zones around them and this airspace around them can absorb bullets. The gun play is horrible. Frames tend to skip when the action gets hectic causing you to miss your target unless you're far away and attacking with a sniper rifle. The frame rate is not locked at 30fps. It seems to fluctuate between something below 30fps and 30fps. In multiplayer, things are thankfully much different from all the Call Of Duty games because you get to choose to use the stealth, armor and power attributes of your suit. Wanna hide in a corner with stealth on and shoot at passers-by? You can! Wanna charge in with Armor mode on and take out enemies with your heavy machine gun? You can (but you'll more likely get killed unless you have squad mates to support you)! Too bad the frame rate is horrid and the graphics are one big blur! Other problems include your weapon sights disappearing in multi-player (that's right, when looking through your sniper scope, sometimes your crosshairs will disappear). Sound: 3/10. Some sound effects randomly mute themselves in multiplayer. Sometimes you never hear your heavy machine gun firing! In single player sound is much better. You get to hear the conversations of enemy soldiers before wasting them. Guns sound better than CODMW2 but worse than Killzone3. Crytek should have beefed up the sound. Crytek should also have made sure that the player can hear many sounds, it seems that certain sounds completely cancel out others hence the silent heavy machine gun problems in multiplayer. CONCLUSION: This game was hyped up like crazy. Not only does it not live up to expectations, it fails miserably. Rent this game for the single player experience once and then trade it in for another game. Once again EA has released an unfinished product. I understand it could be patched in the future, but I paid $60+tax to play a good game NOW! Not 1 or 2 or 3 months from now! Expand
  11. Mar 27, 2011
    6
    as much as i appreciate the work achieved by crytek in crysis 2, its simply not enuf. first of all, an fps game shud never have a framerate below 30, it just hurts the gameplay real bad. the graphics r great, the story does the job, and it looks like it has enuf content in it. but the framerate is a mess, the gameplay does not run smoothly enuf to be tolerated. Fry cry 2 was a HUGE game,as much as i appreciate the work achieved by crytek in crysis 2, its simply not enuf. first of all, an fps game shud never have a framerate below 30, it just hurts the gameplay real bad. the graphics r great, the story does the job, and it looks like it has enuf content in it. but the framerate is a mess, the gameplay does not run smoothly enuf to be tolerated. Fry cry 2 was a HUGE game, and yet its framerate barely struttered, atleast not as much as crysis 2. ur best bet is to avoid the game, but if u really hav to get it, try the xbox version. Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is what happens in an era populated by the COD obsessed fan-boys who wouldn't know what a good game was if it bit them in the ass. This game deserves nothing less then a 10, if i could i would give it an 11. Every aspect of this game is phenomenal, from the just jaw dropping visuals, smooth and streamlined gameplay and incredible orchestral soundtrack. I cannot begin to fathom whyThis is what happens in an era populated by the COD obsessed fan-boys who wouldn't know what a good game was if it bit them in the ass. This game deserves nothing less then a 10, if i could i would give it an 11. Every aspect of this game is phenomenal, from the just jaw dropping visuals, smooth and streamlined gameplay and incredible orchestral soundtrack. I cannot begin to fathom why people are comparing this game to CoD. Just because some game developer makes a FPS does not mean it is a CoD clone. I mean for **** sake the guns are not even the same, it has a level of depth and storytelling that Call of Duty cannot even begin to comprehend. The two games are not even in the same league, Crysis 2 is years above the level of innovation and sophistication of the entire Cod universe. Another thing, PC people need to take a Chill Pill, take a deep breath and step down from their high and mighty thrown built upon their delusions of grandeur. Stop criticizing the developers for trying to be innovative and bring the game over to a new audience. Just because they ported the game to consoles does not effect you people in anyway. I'm sure you guys will be back to modding the **** out of your games to make unnecessary changes in no time. God forbid a company would try to make money off of a product and market to a new audience. But i digress, if you people wanna complain then by all means, go ahead (This is America...freedom of speech right). The game is fantastic, everything is fun and will keep you going back for more even when you beat it. The games new game+ feature will have you replaying missions with new abilities and new ways to kick ass. Now on to Multiplayer, this is where my only gripe lies and i isn't even severe enough to downgrade my review. The field is dominated by Nanovision, Snipers and Armor users, but with each skill is a counter and you can still play and have a blast with other classes. Now the biggest issue I have here, is not with the game at all but once again with the other reviewers. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD this games Multiplayer does not copy Call of Duty. People want to complain and say, "there's kill streaks, OMG Cod Clone, this game is dumb OMG". Ok for one thing do you even have any idea how the kill-streaks work? of course not, so lets explain... You earn the kill streaks by collecting DOG TAGS from fallen enemies. So unless you feel like you are good enough to run around punching people in the face for the whole game, kill-streaks are not called in that often. If you are a sniper i highly doubt that you are going to snipe a person and run all the way down to their body and collect their tag. Lastly just because you can customize a class with different equipment and abilities, again does not = Cod clone. FPS games have been doing this for years, even before Call of Duty. Games from Battlefield to old PC games like SWAT and RainbowSix have been doing Custom Classes since their origins. So quit Comparing every FPS multiplayer to freakin Call of Duty. Cod has done nothing new nor original since its birth and frankly unless they themselves innovate soon the franchise is going to die. I for one cannot keep playing the same game over and over for the $60 price tag. I have totally diverted from the review at this point and have gone on a rant, but oh well I really don't care, the main point of this is that Crysis 2 is a must buy game that has brought a refreshing burst of color and originality to the currently boring world of the FPS. 11/10 (if i could).
    -PS: to all the Cod fans who are gonna rage about this, i already know the top comment for your rages is, "You Just Suck", and to this i can soundly and honestly say 2.21KD 25,000 kills 7th prestige. So NO... I do not, I just understand the concepts and amount of hard work that goes into making a game like Crysis. The same cannot be said for Call of Duty.
    Expand
  13. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    This feels unfinished in so many ways. Maybe it's just my copy, but maybe not. The first time i started playing, I had to restart the game, because I couldn't get off of the submarine! Did you know that you can run out of breath? After dying 5 times, I restarted at a lower difficulty, and I was finally able to get off the submarine. After playing the game for half an hour, I put itThis feels unfinished in so many ways. Maybe it's just my copy, but maybe not. The first time i started playing, I had to restart the game, because I couldn't get off of the submarine! Did you know that you can run out of breath? After dying 5 times, I restarted at a lower difficulty, and I was finally able to get off the submarine. After playing the game for half an hour, I put it on pause to grab some food. When I came back and un-paused it, there was a constant machine gun audio, which only stopped several minutes later when I chose to die to see if that would fix it. Upon starting back up it became clear that the enemies could see me through walls when I wasn't using stealth. Other negative points include slow controller response, sub-par graphics compared with what I was expecting, horrible vehicle control, poor matching of NPC voice overs....Getting back to my main point....It just feels very glitchy and unrefined....especially when there was all of this hype for the last half year about how mind blowing this game was going to be. The only thing mind blowing, was the fact that I bought it at all. Already put it on Craigslist, and I got to admit, I joined metacritic, just so I could warn other of this truly awful gaming experience. Expand
  14. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    HIT: Damn near everything. The graphics, the gameplay, the diversity, the sheer scale of something like this on consoles, is mindblowing. Great length, way longer than I anticipated (partially because I'm used to playing 90-minute shooters). Fantastic storytelling, palpable sense of tactical choice in encounters, simultaneous sense of power and vulnerability. Again, on the visuals, atHIT: Damn near everything. The graphics, the gameplay, the diversity, the sheer scale of something like this on consoles, is mindblowing. Great length, way longer than I anticipated (partially because I'm used to playing 90-minute shooters). Fantastic storytelling, palpable sense of tactical choice in encounters, simultaneous sense of power and vulnerability. Again, on the visuals, at least three times per level I caught myself hiding somewhere safe and just staring at the scenery porn.
    MISS: Very little. Some scripting errors forced a checkpoint restart a couple of times, on one occasion my vehicle got stuck on a barrier, and once in a blue moon the objective isn't made clear.

    TRUE FACTS: 1) After a long session of Crysis 2, sometimes I see triangles when I close my eyes. You'll know what I mean.
    2) I started a second play through as soon as the credits rolled, and I might go through a third consecutive time, on a harder difficulty
    Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a freaking masterpiece, by far the best game of 2011 so far and its also one of the best shooters of all time. The graphics are mind blowing, the combat feels unique but also familiar enough so that its fun and every level is full of options and different paths to take. The single player is about 14 hours long and worth the $60, & the multiplayer is even better, THIS IS the codCrysis 2 is a freaking masterpiece, by far the best game of 2011 so far and its also one of the best shooters of all time. The graphics are mind blowing, the combat feels unique but also familiar enough so that its fun and every level is full of options and different paths to take. The single player is about 14 hours long and worth the $60, & the multiplayer is even better, THIS IS the cod killer we've been waiting for. Go buy this now. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    if you are an avid pc gamer and loved the first one for its incredible graphics, fine tuned game-play, then you will be disappointed with crysis 2. If you need something to hold you over until the next call of duty comes out, you will love crysis 2
  17. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Great game, interface is very slick and works very well in multiplayer. I am a little concerned with being advised my NAT type is 'Moderate' as with all other games I am 'Open'. All relevant ports forwarded etc. Surprisingly though, even with only 2 bars of signal the latency is not that bad and I can have an enjoyable blast. Overall a great game, enjoying it much more than the slightlyGreat game, interface is very slick and works very well in multiplayer. I am a little concerned with being advised my NAT type is 'Moderate' as with all other games I am 'Open'. All relevant ports forwarded etc. Surprisingly though, even with only 2 bars of signal the latency is not that bad and I can have an enjoyable blast. Overall a great game, enjoying it much more than the slightly more visually impressive KZ3 - the mechanics in this are simply that much sharper. Expand
  18. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    The PS3 demo for Crysis2 was atrocious. They never should of allowed the demo to be put out in the state it was because i'm sure it turned some people off of the game. I almost canceled my pre-purchase because I played the demo and i'm very glad I didn't. Crytek came through with flying colors on their debut to consoles. Good for them and us. Graphics are superb, almost at the same levelThe PS3 demo for Crysis2 was atrocious. They never should of allowed the demo to be put out in the state it was because i'm sure it turned some people off of the game. I almost canceled my pre-purchase because I played the demo and i'm very glad I didn't. Crytek came through with flying colors on their debut to consoles. Good for them and us. Graphics are superb, almost at the same level as Killzone 3 which is a lot to say on a multi-platform title. The game play is great and i'm very glad that the frame rate doesn't dip under 30 fps except on rare occasions. Buy it and you will be impressed. Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Well where to start, i guess ill start with what matters most the gameplay, its excellent the controls have what feels to be the correct amount of weight and the gun recoil is almost perfect, gun balance seems to be ok with the time i have played, I find the game very fun...Graphic wise, well i haven't seen many things better looking then this game, the sound is Superb all of theWell where to start, i guess ill start with what matters most the gameplay, its excellent the controls have what feels to be the correct amount of weight and the gun recoil is almost perfect, gun balance seems to be ok with the time i have played, I find the game very fun...Graphic wise, well i haven't seen many things better looking then this game, the sound is Superb all of the surround sound effects sound exactly correct shots hit wall behind you and you can tell if they shot from the right or the left. Story is annoying to say the least though, you always feel like your having orders barked at you and they don't bridge the gap between the last game and this game so it feels as if your just dropped in a storyline. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2011
    3
    Graphics are good in not for the resolution. Gameplay seems fun until you run into ai glitch, I have to admit that it ruins the fun. Lastly, the game is unplayeble for me at the moment because of freezes/crashes. I had to reboot my console more than 10 times now but now I encountered the section where game hangs every time and can't progress any further. Where is quality contra? For aGraphics are good in not for the resolution. Gameplay seems fun until you run into ai glitch, I have to admit that it ruins the fun. Lastly, the game is unplayeble for me at the moment because of freezes/crashes. I had to reboot my console more than 10 times now but now I encountered the section where game hangs every time and can't progress any further. Where is quality contra? For a £40 it's pathetic. Expand
  21. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. Fantastic lighting a great sound. After hearing IGN's complaints about the graphical hiccups on the Ps3 my expectations greatly diminished. After playing for a few hours i haven't noticed anything like what they stated. The multilayer is incredibly addictinve and i never wanted to put down the controller. Crysis 2 is anCrysis 2 is without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. Fantastic lighting a great sound. After hearing IGN's complaints about the graphical hiccups on the Ps3 my expectations greatly diminished. After playing for a few hours i haven't noticed anything like what they stated. The multilayer is incredibly addictinve and i never wanted to put down the controller. Crysis 2 is an excellent shooter and is a must own for any FPS fans out there. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    over al a good game, if think tht every ftps should be like cod, sorry this not one of those, SORRY COD FANBOYS. de campain mode is good you can take diferents path of action to go to the next objetive, one could "solid snake" style, with out been notice, or rambo style killing every single one of the enemys, in the multiplayer mode youu have to be a little more tactic than cod, you haveover al a good game, if think tht every ftps should be like cod, sorry this not one of those, SORRY COD FANBOYS. de campain mode is good you can take diferents path of action to go to the next objetive, one could "solid snake" style, with out been notice, or rambo style killing every single one of the enemys, in the multiplayer mode youu have to be a little more tactic than cod, you have to know when use the armor(that make slower) or usw the camo( that consume alot of enegy), you cant kill a enemy with a single meele from the front. and when your openent has the armor activate you shoud aim to the head if u dont want to use all ur magazine in a single target. controls are whell desined, two use the granades is a little two dificult you have to press to times triangle, but when u get used to it its easy, Expand
  23. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    The PC version was obviously rushed, but the PS3 version is the best looking console game I have ever seen, and the best console FPS so far this year. The nanosuit powers are streamlined without being "streamlined", the level design, while not as open as Crysis 1, gives you plenty of room for different strategies and is about as expansive as Warhead, and the plot's cliche, but nicely pacedThe PC version was obviously rushed, but the PS3 version is the best looking console game I have ever seen, and the best console FPS so far this year. The nanosuit powers are streamlined without being "streamlined", the level design, while not as open as Crysis 1, gives you plenty of room for different strategies and is about as expansive as Warhead, and the plot's cliche, but nicely paced and manages to be interesting. I'm making it sound bad, but it's way more fun than Killzone 3 and Bulletstorm. The multiplayer's an obvious CoD clone, but the suit powers and larger levels make things a bit more interesting. Crytek should have kept the series PC exclusive, especially since the first game only sold slowly because nobody could play it. But if you're going to port it to consoles, you can't make it much better than this. Expand
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    A true sequel to the first game, though this game doesn't have the PC exclusive features that the first game had, but the story, the graphics and the gameplay are as good as Crysis, if not better. Highly recommended.
  25. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    this is probably the best online fps i have ever played. the maps are clever, the perk and class systems are very cool, and the play is immediately fun and addictive. while i have heard this game looks better on the xbox, the graphics are dazzling from the get-go, and i felt some serious awe at times during the sp campaign. i have played many, many online shooters, starting with COD2 onthis is probably the best online fps i have ever played. the maps are clever, the perk and class systems are very cool, and the play is immediately fun and addictive. while i have heard this game looks better on the xbox, the graphics are dazzling from the get-go, and i felt some serious awe at times during the sp campaign. i have played many, many online shooters, starting with COD2 on the 360, and for my money Crysis 2 is hands down the most fun i've had with a game. it's one of, if not the best-looking game on the ps3 and, for what i like to do, the gameplay can't be beat. awesome. Expand
  26. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is definitely one of the best First Person Shooters ive played, Its right near the peak of brilliance along with Killzone 3 showing us what can really be done with games today. Graphically this game is nothing short of beautiful, Single player obviously harnesses some amazing graphics, and usually you see a drop in those graphics online, but not from my experience, Being able toCrysis 2 is definitely one of the best First Person Shooters ive played, Its right near the peak of brilliance along with Killzone 3 showing us what can really be done with games today. Graphically this game is nothing short of beautiful, Single player obviously harnesses some amazing graphics, and usually you see a drop in those graphics online, but not from my experience, Being able to shoot somebody, then jump off a building hitting the cloak and landing in the water to evade more enemies than you can handle is a fantastic feeling, the graphics in multiplayer are able to keep that awe inspiring look about them whilst delivering a fast-paced and enthralling multiplayer experience.

    As with all games, there is a catergory of people that like to ruin it and drain the fun out of it in multiplayer, Yes... This game is a Campers paradise, and while i despise these soulless, unskilled and somewhat desperate attempts of gamers, We the skilled bunch have been given plenty of tools to unearth these pathetic excuses for gamers. The engine the game uses is frankly, brilliant, Like Killzone 3 online is very smooth, Host migration is very effective and theres never any severe lag, I havent experienced any online problems apart from the CoD players on it yet. Crysis 2 deserves its place up there with KZ3 and the rest of the CoD killers because it blows call of duty out of the water in every way.
    All in all, this is a great game, and it feels like one of those infinitely playable games, and lets face it, we need more of these skilled games with amazing graphics to become infinitely playable to combat the Call of Nooby series of amateurs and unrealistic FPS with average graphics.
    Expand
  27. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Campaign is awesome... MP sucks!!! First let me say that i loved original crysis, but never played it online. I love the sequel, but hate playing it online! The maps are TINY, the action is laggy, and it lack strategy due to the ability to become "cloaked" anytime you want and camp for kills. However, the single player is long and engrossing, and unlike typical FPS campaigns, the AICampaign is awesome... MP sucks!!! First let me say that i loved original crysis, but never played it online. I love the sequel, but hate playing it online! The maps are TINY, the action is laggy, and it lack strategy due to the ability to become "cloaked" anytime you want and camp for kills. However, the single player is long and engrossing, and unlike typical FPS campaigns, the AI is very intelligent and diligent, always keeping the player on their toes. If you love great FPS single player games and want to see some of the best graphics and effects to date on the PS3... buy this game. If you're looking for a long-lasting MP experience, look elsewhere! Expand
  28. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Hmm, so let's be honest most people who buys FPS dont really give a rats ass about the single player. IF it is played through then the time spent on single player to multiplayer comparatively is barely a fraction. SO I'll concentrate on the MP. The game is solid in multiplayer with some good ideas heavily based on cod ( in regards to perks and levelling up) . The weapons are ok but thereHmm, so let's be honest most people who buys FPS dont really give a rats ass about the single player. IF it is played through then the time spent on single player to multiplayer comparatively is barely a fraction. SO I'll concentrate on the MP. The game is solid in multiplayer with some good ideas heavily based on cod ( in regards to perks and levelling up) . The weapons are ok but there arent enough of them and the fact that they arent real sort of kills a little bit of the fun. The weapons thankfully arent always lazer beams in the sense you can just point and click( like mw2 ) . On the other hand and bare with me I was playing on a red signal all night , it does seem to take too many shots to drop anyone, the shotguns for example are awful. I'm assuming the suits are meant to be absorbing a lot of damage also. The stealth and armour features in the suits are clever and if used correctly can be a great asset. The levels are beautiful to look at but instantaneously forgettable, there arent any levels to compare to say overgrown or terminal. But again I compare to call of duty which isnt entirely fair. This game does have its merits and indeed I can see myself whiling away many hours when im not in the mood for call of duty. It has enough about it to warrant a blast with mates but I could never see myself getting serious or competitive over it. Lastly the single player mode is decent for those who really want to know. Overall it's worth mentioning that I took back black ops to exchange for this game and I dont regret that at all .Many of EA's games are hyped up and Black Ops was the most hyped game in history , ultimately flattering to deceive. This game on the other hand by EA's standard is almost a sleeper hit and has sort of crept onto the market ( at least in Asia anyway ) so for that I was pleasantly surprised. This game sort of ticks the boxes Haze attempted to fill. Indeed it reminds me a little of Haze , with elements of Halo and call of duty mixed in. You can probably tell im a huge fan of mw1 and 2 and this is no mw beater . But on a sunday with a few beers or indeed midweek when your call of dutied out then this is a decent alternative to stick in your ps3. If this game had been made 2 years ago I'd be batty over it im sure, but overall its fun and moderately addictive but not the best FPS on the market. If you have enough cash for another FPS then get it . If you can only afford one then go for mw1 or 2. Expand
  29. Apr 4, 2011
    2
    I must be playing a different game that the professional critics. The graphics are good, but not great, the gameplay is sound, but gets boring in a hurry, the story is mediocre, at best, and the multiplayer is a buggy, laggy mess. How could anyone rate this above 80?? Trade-in bait for me, purchase at your own risk.
  30. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    It's not the same as Crysis 1. This is more of a reboot than a sequel. But if you judge this on the basis of itself, it's fantastic in nearly every way.

    And the single-player campaign is really unique. There's nothing else quite like it. The nanosuit is far more distinctive here than it was in Crysis 1. No other game has ever depicted a crumbling New York City like Crytek has (and they
    It's not the same as Crysis 1. This is more of a reboot than a sequel. But if you judge this on the basis of itself, it's fantastic in nearly every way.

    And the single-player campaign is really unique. There's nothing else quite like it. The nanosuit is far more distinctive here than it was in Crysis 1. No other game has ever depicted a crumbling New York City like Crytek has (and they managed to pull it off on the PS3 despite (1) never having touched a console before and (2) this isn't even a PS3 exclusive!).

    Although I didn't think the story was that great, it was *appropriate*. Crysis 2 knows what it is: a bad-ass high-tech shooter with aliens, marines, and explosions all around you. And the story fits that. The story--thank God--did not try to shove the ethics of war down your throat. This game is all about how awesome the Nanosuit is--that's it.

    If I could describe the Nanosuit, it's a mix between Mirror's Edge and the power-ups of Halo. You really feel like the Predator stalking prey in NYC. You can jump all over the place, cloak yourself, kick cars out of your way or into enemies, slide along the ground and fire simultaneously, lean out from cover, etc., etc. It's fantastic.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Crysis 2 may not live up to every expectation, but its pleasant surprises make up for most of its shortcomings.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The game is fun though. It does get repetitive, and it does feel like a corridor at times, but the desire to see all of New York City, destroyed and lying in ruin, is what will drive you forward. Towards the end of the game it does overstay its welcome, and you'll be wishing you could just walk through the levels with no enemies in sight, detracting from the wonderful visuals. With all that said, the suit powers are enjoyable the first few times and any fan of shooters will have a good time in the game's dystopian New York City.
  3. Don't make the mistake of viewing Crysis 2 as a new shooter on the block that has to desperately prove itself to all the established PS3 heavy-hitters. In many ways it's actually the other way around. [May 2011, p.69]