User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 366 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 366

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Problems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictive and fun multiplayer experiences on the system. The single player seems to be a near flawless experience, with some of the smartest AI that I have played against in a long time. EA has found a successful way to balance scripted "call of duty" style set pieces with sandbox style decision making, allowing you to attack a scenerio with your own play style (stealth, run and gun, heavy armor, etc...). Graphics don't top killzone 3, but the lighting effects are probably the best on the system. This game is a MUST BUY for any fans of the first-person shooter genre. If you've finished the killzone 3 single player, and you are fed up with the wonky hit detection of Black Ops, Crysis 2 is just what the doctor ordered! Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lag ops to this level in terms of errors. The graphics are great, not quite Uncharted, but close to Killzone. It doesn't have that weighty feel that killzone or BFBC2 has. There are many game types, if you don't like the whole cloaking thing there is a gametype that doesn't allow it. Best FPS HANDS down. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I bought Crysis 2 on PS3 and PC. My expectation for the PS3 was low and considering what Crytek showed on PS3 i was not sure to buy it or not. After having played the PS3 version, I am massively impressed about Crysis 2. It is so far the best looking game on PS3, plays phantastic and offers unbelieveable experience. I very much recommend to buy it.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a very good game. It has a good story, good game play (thanks to the nanosuit), good AI and all combined in a nice graphic package. On top of this it gives you a very nice MP. Some facts: Single player is around 10-15h, 1 suit (armour, stealth and tactical modus), lots of weapons, more then 12 suit upgrades, lots of cinematic. Lots of (on the fly) upgradable weapons. Breakable environment. 50 Level multi player with lots of unlock-able stuff. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best FPS of the generation, maybe not the best (just behind Bioshock and Half Life 2) but with no doubt the most complete shooter so far. Long and varied campaign, great design of levels, excellent graphics and the most important, a very innovative gameplay.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertaining games (especially FPS Games) that I've played in a long time. If your looking for a fresh new take on FPS, This is it! Collapse
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I got Crysis 2 today and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I got to play it.and all I can say is That this game is *AMAZING*.I thought at first that crysis 2 would be an okay title and nothing much to look forward too but I was ever so wrong, the Graphics,Music,voice acting,story is awsome just mind blowing and the multi-player is very addicting.I recommend Crysis 2 to any person who enjoys shooters or just great games. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    I just can't underastand where all the positive reviews are coming from. Crysis 2 has to be the worst multiplayer experience I've ever had. Here are the reasons why it is so terrible.

    1. Poor framerate. I've played games where the framerate might dip when a lot of stuff is going on, but it wasn't terrible. In Crysis 2, the framerate is game breaking. Running around, the screen updates
    slightly faster than a power point slideshow. Close encounters tend to just be random, because neither player gets enough visual information on the screen to be able to react quickly enough.

    2. Controls are sloppy and unresponsive. I turned up the sensitivity, but it doesn't help much. Pulling up sight and aiming at someone is clunky. It reminds me of the controls in Killzone 2 (though that was a solid game otherwise).

    3. Lag/hit detection are embarrassingly bad. It can take a whole clip to kill someone, or it may just take a couple bullets, you never know. Gun battles are clumsy and awkward, and has nothing to do with skill, and everything to do with luck and lag. Aiming right at somebody and firing more shots doesn't mean you will win. Every gun fight I've been in seem to be both players struggling to stay on target. Close encounters will have both players spraying and meleeing wildly. Midrange has people aiming and strafing, hoping enough shots will be detected. Long range gun fights seem to be nonexistant, and would be utterly pointless anyway.

    4. Graphics are just terrible. Low resolution and muddy textures. This is one of the worst looking games I've played on the PS3. Even Black Ops has better graphics, and that's saying something. I can accept bad graphics if it means higher framerate and more responsive gameplay (Black Ops), but I get none of these benefits in Crysis 2. 5. People's playstyle have to accommodate the terrible framerate and lag. This means a lot of people just sit cloaked until you run by, then they switch on armor and shoot you. You can't turn around and shoot back accurately because of the lag and terrible controls. It's just not a fun game when 90% of the players are just sitting somewhere cloaked and waiting. But I can't blame them, it's almost the only way to guarantee you'll get a kill.

    Overall I am hugely disappointed with this game. I paid 60 dollars for it, and it is so bad I never want to play it again. I will probably force myself to try it a few more times, to try to get my money's worth, but it's just a hideously bad game. I am really upset, because I was expecting this game to be amazing. I can't understand where all the positive critical reviews came from, but now that people are playing it, some of the negative reviews are starting to appear. Apparently this game is actually good on PC. But on PS3 (and Xbox from what I hear), it's just terrible. There are no redeeming qualities to this game right now. Maybe they can fix some stuff via patches, but I don't think they can completely overhaul it enough to make it a good, playable game.
    Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Halo meets Battlefield...this game is unbelieivable! One of the best games for 2011, hands down! Multiplayer is great! Was playing Killzone 3 until I picked this up and I am now selling Killzone because the multiplayer is so good. The singleplayer is out of this world!
  10. Mar 26, 2011
    4
    SUMMARY: Crysis 2 is ultimately a disappointing experience on the PS3. If I could, I would buy a beefed up PC just to experience it the way it should be, with sparkling graphics and at a frame rate of 60 fps. GRAPHICS: 2/10. Crytek completely butchered the PS3 version. The framerate is below 30fps and the resolution is sub-HD (this means less than 720p). This is not an HD game. Textures appear blocky and blurry. Single player graphics suffer from severe pop-in of objects. Whenever the player is in an open area, objects and animations (such as fires) suddenly appear out of nowhere. The chunky frame rate "encourages" you to approach each confrontation in a stealthy manner because the frame rate can make u miss your target if you choose to attack directly. Multiplayer graphics have no pop-in (good). However, sniping from a distance is almost impossible due to the fact that everything is so blurry so don't be a camper! GAMEPLAY: 6/10. The stealth play in single player is interesting. Performing stealth kills and infiltrating buildings underwater never gets old. Sometimes, you get to go toe to toe with enemies and this is where things degenerate into filth! It turns out that Crytek forgot about collision detection and enemy AI is hit or miss. Sometimes enemies are smart enough to outflank you and kill you. Other times they run in circles! Sometimes that stand way up on top of air while shooting at you! Sometimes you fire at the enemy directly but your bullets are blocked by the airspace of a nearby object. Objects have greater hit zones around them and this airspace around them can absorb bullets. The gun play is horrible. Frames tend to skip when the action gets hectic causing you to miss your target unless you're far away and attacking with a sniper rifle. The frame rate is not locked at 30fps. It seems to fluctuate between something below 30fps and 30fps. In multiplayer, things are thankfully much different from all the Call Of Duty games because you get to choose to use the stealth, armor and power attributes of your suit. Wanna hide in a corner with stealth on and shoot at passers-by? You can! Wanna charge in with Armor mode on and take out enemies with your heavy machine gun? You can (but you'll more likely get killed unless you have squad mates to support you)! Too bad the frame rate is horrid and the graphics are one big blur! Other problems include your weapon sights disappearing in multi-player (that's right, when looking through your sniper scope, sometimes your crosshairs will disappear). Sound: 3/10. Some sound effects randomly mute themselves in multiplayer. Sometimes you never hear your heavy machine gun firing! In single player sound is much better. You get to hear the conversations of enemy soldiers before wasting them. Guns sound better than CODMW2 but worse than Killzone3. Crytek should have beefed up the sound. Crytek should also have made sure that the player can hear many sounds, it seems that certain sounds completely cancel out others hence the silent heavy machine gun problems in multiplayer. CONCLUSION: This game was hyped up like crazy. Not only does it not live up to expectations, it fails miserably. Rent this game for the single player experience once and then trade it in for another game. Once again EA has released an unfinished product. I understand it could be patched in the future, but I paid $60+tax to play a good game NOW! Not 1 or 2 or 3 months from now! Expand
  11. Mar 27, 2011
    6
    as much as i appreciate the work achieved by crytek in crysis 2, its simply not enuf. first of all, an fps game shud never have a framerate below 30, it just hurts the gameplay real bad. the graphics r great, the story does the job, and it looks like it has enuf content in it. but the framerate is a mess, the gameplay does not run smoothly enuf to be tolerated. Fry cry 2 was a HUGE game, and yet its framerate barely struttered, atleast not as much as crysis 2. ur best bet is to avoid the game, but if u really hav to get it, try the xbox version. Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is what happens in an era populated by the COD obsessed fan-boys who wouldn't know what a good game was if it bit them in the ass. This game deserves nothing less then a 10, if i could i would give it an 11. Every aspect of this game is phenomenal, from the just jaw dropping visuals, smooth and streamlined gameplay and incredible orchestral soundtrack. I cannot begin to fathom why people are comparing this game to CoD. Just because some game developer makes a FPS does not mean it is a CoD clone. I mean for **** sake the guns are not even the same, it has a level of depth and storytelling that Call of Duty cannot even begin to comprehend. The two games are not even in the same league, Crysis 2 is years above the level of innovation and sophistication of the entire Cod universe. Another thing, PC people need to take a Chill Pill, take a deep breath and step down from their high and mighty thrown built upon their delusions of grandeur. Stop criticizing the developers for trying to be innovative and bring the game over to a new audience. Just because they ported the game to consoles does not effect you people in anyway. I'm sure you guys will be back to modding the **** out of your games to make unnecessary changes in no time. God forbid a company would try to make money off of a product and market to a new audience. But i digress, if you people wanna complain then by all means, go ahead (This is America...freedom of speech right). The game is fantastic, everything is fun and will keep you going back for more even when you beat it. The games new game+ feature will have you replaying missions with new abilities and new ways to kick ass. Now on to Multiplayer, this is where my only gripe lies and i isn't even severe enough to downgrade my review. The field is dominated by Nanovision, Snipers and Armor users, but with each skill is a counter and you can still play and have a blast with other classes. Now the biggest issue I have here, is not with the game at all but once again with the other reviewers. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD this games Multiplayer does not copy Call of Duty. People want to complain and say, "there's kill streaks, OMG Cod Clone, this game is dumb OMG". Ok for one thing do you even have any idea how the kill-streaks work? of course not, so lets explain... You earn the kill streaks by collecting DOG TAGS from fallen enemies. So unless you feel like you are good enough to run around punching people in the face for the whole game, kill-streaks are not called in that often. If you are a sniper i highly doubt that you are going to snipe a person and run all the way down to their body and collect their tag. Lastly just because you can customize a class with different equipment and abilities, again does not = Cod clone. FPS games have been doing this for years, even before Call of Duty. Games from Battlefield to old PC games like SWAT and RainbowSix have been doing Custom Classes since their origins. So quit Comparing every FPS multiplayer to freakin Call of Duty. Cod has done nothing new nor original since its birth and frankly unless they themselves innovate soon the franchise is going to die. I for one cannot keep playing the same game over and over for the $60 price tag. I have totally diverted from the review at this point and have gone on a rant, but oh well I really don't care, the main point of this is that Crysis 2 is a must buy game that has brought a refreshing burst of color and originality to the currently boring world of the FPS. 11/10 (if i could).
    -PS: to all the Cod fans who are gonna rage about this, i already know the top comment for your rages is, "You Just Suck", and to this i can soundly and honestly say 2.21KD 25,000 kills 7th prestige. So NO... I do not, I just understand the concepts and amount of hard work that goes into making a game like Crysis. The same cannot be said for Call of Duty.
    Expand
  13. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    This feels unfinished in so many ways. Maybe it's just my copy, but maybe not. The first time i started playing, I had to restart the game, because I couldn't get off of the submarine! Did you know that you can run out of breath? After dying 5 times, I restarted at a lower difficulty, and I was finally able to get off the submarine. After playing the game for half an hour, I put it on pause to grab some food. When I came back and un-paused it, there was a constant machine gun audio, which only stopped several minutes later when I chose to die to see if that would fix it. Upon starting back up it became clear that the enemies could see me through walls when I wasn't using stealth. Other negative points include slow controller response, sub-par graphics compared with what I was expecting, horrible vehicle control, poor matching of NPC voice overs....Getting back to my main point....It just feels very glitchy and unrefined....especially when there was all of this hype for the last half year about how mind blowing this game was going to be. The only thing mind blowing, was the fact that I bought it at all. Already put it on Craigslist, and I got to admit, I joined metacritic, just so I could warn other of this truly awful gaming experience. Expand
  14. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    HIT: Damn near everything. The graphics, the gameplay, the diversity, the sheer scale of something like this on consoles, is mindblowing. Great length, way longer than I anticipated (partially because I'm used to playing 90-minute shooters). Fantastic storytelling, palpable sense of tactical choice in encounters, simultaneous sense of power and vulnerability. Again, on the visuals, at least three times per level I caught myself hiding somewhere safe and just staring at the scenery porn.
    MISS: Very little. Some scripting errors forced a checkpoint restart a couple of times, on one occasion my vehicle got stuck on a barrier, and once in a blue moon the objective isn't made clear.

    TRUE FACTS: 1) After a long session of Crysis 2, sometimes I see triangles when I close my eyes. You'll know what I mean.
    2) I started a second play through as soon as the credits rolled, and I might go through a third consecutive time, on a harder difficulty
    Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a freaking masterpiece, by far the best game of 2011 so far and its also one of the best shooters of all time. The graphics are mind blowing, the combat feels unique but also familiar enough so that its fun and every level is full of options and different paths to take. The single player is about 14 hours long and worth the $60, & the multiplayer is even better, THIS IS the cod killer we've been waiting for. Go buy this now. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    if you are an avid pc gamer and loved the first one for its incredible graphics, fine tuned game-play, then you will be disappointed with crysis 2. If you need something to hold you over until the next call of duty comes out, you will love crysis 2
  17. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Great game, interface is very slick and works very well in multiplayer. I am a little concerned with being advised my NAT type is 'Moderate' as with all other games I am 'Open'. All relevant ports forwarded etc. Surprisingly though, even with only 2 bars of signal the latency is not that bad and I can have an enjoyable blast. Overall a great game, enjoying it much more than the slightly more visually impressive KZ3 - the mechanics in this are simply that much sharper. Expand
  18. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    The PS3 demo for Crysis2 was atrocious. They never should of allowed the demo to be put out in the state it was because i'm sure it turned some people off of the game. I almost canceled my pre-purchase because I played the demo and i'm very glad I didn't. Crytek came through with flying colors on their debut to consoles. Good for them and us. Graphics are superb, almost at the same level as Killzone 3 which is a lot to say on a multi-platform title. The game play is great and i'm very glad that the frame rate doesn't dip under 30 fps except on rare occasions. Buy it and you will be impressed. Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Well where to start, i guess ill start with what matters most the gameplay, its excellent the controls have what feels to be the correct amount of weight and the gun recoil is almost perfect, gun balance seems to be ok with the time i have played, I find the game very fun...Graphic wise, well i haven't seen many things better looking then this game, the sound is Superb all of the surround sound effects sound exactly correct shots hit wall behind you and you can tell if they shot from the right or the left. Story is annoying to say the least though, you always feel like your having orders barked at you and they don't bridge the gap between the last game and this game so it feels as if your just dropped in a storyline. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2011
    3
    Graphics are good in not for the resolution. Gameplay seems fun until you run into ai glitch, I have to admit that it ruins the fun. Lastly, the game is unplayeble for me at the moment because of freezes/crashes. I had to reboot my console more than 10 times now but now I encountered the section where game hangs every time and can't progress any further. Where is quality contra? For a £40 it's pathetic. Expand
  21. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. Fantastic lighting a great sound. After hearing IGN's complaints about the graphical hiccups on the Ps3 my expectations greatly diminished. After playing for a few hours i haven't noticed anything like what they stated. The multilayer is incredibly addictinve and i never wanted to put down the controller. Crysis 2 is an excellent shooter and is a must own for any FPS fans out there. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    over al a good game, if think tht every ftps should be like cod, sorry this not one of those, SORRY COD FANBOYS. de campain mode is good you can take diferents path of action to go to the next objetive, one could "solid snake" style, with out been notice, or rambo style killing every single one of the enemys, in the multiplayer mode youu have to be a little more tactic than cod, you have to know when use the armor(that make slower) or usw the camo( that consume alot of enegy), you cant kill a enemy with a single meele from the front. and when your openent has the armor activate you shoud aim to the head if u dont want to use all ur magazine in a single target. controls are whell desined, two use the granades is a little two dificult you have to press to times triangle, but when u get used to it its easy, Expand
  23. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    The PC version was obviously rushed, but the PS3 version is the best looking console game I have ever seen, and the best console FPS so far this year. The nanosuit powers are streamlined without being "streamlined", the level design, while not as open as Crysis 1, gives you plenty of room for different strategies and is about as expansive as Warhead, and the plot's cliche, but nicely paced and manages to be interesting. I'm making it sound bad, but it's way more fun than Killzone 3 and Bulletstorm. The multiplayer's an obvious CoD clone, but the suit powers and larger levels make things a bit more interesting. Crytek should have kept the series PC exclusive, especially since the first game only sold slowly because nobody could play it. But if you're going to port it to consoles, you can't make it much better than this. Expand
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    A true sequel to the first game, though this game doesn't have the PC exclusive features that the first game had, but the story, the graphics and the gameplay are as good as Crysis, if not better. Highly recommended.
  25. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    this is probably the best online fps i have ever played. the maps are clever, the perk and class systems are very cool, and the play is immediately fun and addictive. while i have heard this game looks better on the xbox, the graphics are dazzling from the get-go, and i felt some serious awe at times during the sp campaign. i have played many, many online shooters, starting with COD2 on the 360, and for my money Crysis 2 is hands down the most fun i've had with a game. it's one of, if not the best-looking game on the ps3 and, for what i like to do, the gameplay can't be beat. awesome. Expand
  26. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is definitely one of the best First Person Shooters ive played, Its right near the peak of brilliance along with Killzone 3 showing us what can really be done with games today. Graphically this game is nothing short of beautiful, Single player obviously harnesses some amazing graphics, and usually you see a drop in those graphics online, but not from my experience, Being able to shoot somebody, then jump off a building hitting the cloak and landing in the water to evade more enemies than you can handle is a fantastic feeling, the graphics in multiplayer are able to keep that awe inspiring look about them whilst delivering a fast-paced and enthralling multiplayer experience.

    As with all games, there is a catergory of people that like to ruin it and drain the fun out of it in multiplayer, Yes... This game is a Campers paradise, and while i despise these soulless, unskilled and somewhat desperate attempts of gamers, We the skilled bunch have been given plenty of tools to unearth these pathetic excuses for gamers. The engine the game uses is frankly, brilliant, Like Killzone 3 online is very smooth, Host migration is very effective and theres never any severe lag, I havent experienced any online problems apart from the CoD players on it yet. Crysis 2 deserves its place up there with KZ3 and the rest of the CoD killers because it blows call of duty out of the water in every way.
    All in all, this is a great game, and it feels like one of those infinitely playable games, and lets face it, we need more of these skilled games with amazing graphics to become infinitely playable to combat the Call of Nooby series of amateurs and unrealistic FPS with average graphics.
    Expand
  27. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Campaign is awesome... MP sucks!!! First let me say that i loved original crysis, but never played it online. I love the sequel, but hate playing it online! The maps are TINY, the action is laggy, and it lack strategy due to the ability to become "cloaked" anytime you want and camp for kills. However, the single player is long and engrossing, and unlike typical FPS campaigns, the AI is very intelligent and diligent, always keeping the player on their toes. If you love great FPS single player games and want to see some of the best graphics and effects to date on the PS3... buy this game. If you're looking for a long-lasting MP experience, look elsewhere! Expand
  28. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Hmm, so let's be honest most people who buys FPS dont really give a rats ass about the single player. IF it is played through then the time spent on single player to multiplayer comparatively is barely a fraction. SO I'll concentrate on the MP. The game is solid in multiplayer with some good ideas heavily based on cod ( in regards to perks and levelling up) . The weapons are ok but there arent enough of them and the fact that they arent real sort of kills a little bit of the fun. The weapons thankfully arent always lazer beams in the sense you can just point and click( like mw2 ) . On the other hand and bare with me I was playing on a red signal all night , it does seem to take too many shots to drop anyone, the shotguns for example are awful. I'm assuming the suits are meant to be absorbing a lot of damage also. The stealth and armour features in the suits are clever and if used correctly can be a great asset. The levels are beautiful to look at but instantaneously forgettable, there arent any levels to compare to say overgrown or terminal. But again I compare to call of duty which isnt entirely fair. This game does have its merits and indeed I can see myself whiling away many hours when im not in the mood for call of duty. It has enough about it to warrant a blast with mates but I could never see myself getting serious or competitive over it. Lastly the single player mode is decent for those who really want to know. Overall it's worth mentioning that I took back black ops to exchange for this game and I dont regret that at all .Many of EA's games are hyped up and Black Ops was the most hyped game in history , ultimately flattering to deceive. This game on the other hand by EA's standard is almost a sleeper hit and has sort of crept onto the market ( at least in Asia anyway ) so for that I was pleasantly surprised. This game sort of ticks the boxes Haze attempted to fill. Indeed it reminds me a little of Haze , with elements of Halo and call of duty mixed in. You can probably tell im a huge fan of mw1 and 2 and this is no mw beater . But on a sunday with a few beers or indeed midweek when your call of dutied out then this is a decent alternative to stick in your ps3. If this game had been made 2 years ago I'd be batty over it im sure, but overall its fun and moderately addictive but not the best FPS on the market. If you have enough cash for another FPS then get it . If you can only afford one then go for mw1 or 2. Expand
  29. Apr 4, 2011
    2
    I must be playing a different game that the professional critics. The graphics are good, but not great, the gameplay is sound, but gets boring in a hurry, the story is mediocre, at best, and the multiplayer is a buggy, laggy mess. How could anyone rate this above 80?? Trade-in bait for me, purchase at your own risk.
  30. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    It's not the same as Crysis 1. This is more of a reboot than a sequel. But if you judge this on the basis of itself, it's fantastic in nearly every way.

    And the single-player campaign is really unique. There's nothing else quite like it. The nanosuit is far more distinctive here than it was in Crysis 1. No other game has ever depicted a crumbling New York City like Crytek has (and they
    managed to pull it off on the PS3 despite (1) never having touched a console before and (2) this isn't even a PS3 exclusive!).

    Although I didn't think the story was that great, it was *appropriate*. Crysis 2 knows what it is: a bad-ass high-tech shooter with aliens, marines, and explosions all around you. And the story fits that. The story--thank God--did not try to shove the ethics of war down your throat. This game is all about how awesome the Nanosuit is--that's it.

    If I could describe the Nanosuit, it's a mix between Mirror's Edge and the power-ups of Halo. You really feel like the Predator stalking prey in NYC. You can jump all over the place, cloak yourself, kick cars out of your way or into enemies, slide along the ground and fire simultaneously, lean out from cover, etc., etc. It's fantastic.
    Expand
  31. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    This game is nothing more than eye candy. It's like owning a Farrari with a 200 HP engine. The story is decent but it lacks variety in the enemies that you face. Although Killzone 3 was shorter, I think it's the better of the two games.
  32. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    crysis 2 is ok. It has amazing graphics and sound effects but nothing much else. I completed the supposed 12+ hour campaign in 7 hours and i was bored before the end. It is very repetative, pushing you into the same slog of, scan environment, tag enemies, press R2, walk to end of street situation every 5 minutes. Not to mention the story which seems to die an hour into the game. The extent of the story is that it tells you that you are the only hope left for the world at the end of each mission in a call of duty style overview of the city. Expand
  33. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    Graphics are incredible, that's probably the first thing you notice, along with the ominous score by Hans Zimmer, Intro and cut scenes are pretty nice and the story is your usual sci-fi invasion shtick. Some game play elements let this down a little (bad AI getting stuck behind walls etc), but overall the AI is pretty brutal, and gameplay is intense. Single player campaign is long, and multl player gives it a fair longevity. Overall, pretty happy wtih this one! Expand
  34. Apr 2, 2011
    3
    This is a review of the single player portion only.

    The first Crytek game, Far Cry, was tremendously fun: it brought to the table a huge sandbox environment in which the player could really experiment with tactics to achieve objectives. There was also a masterful balance between wide open terrain, and underground corridor style gameplay - whenever one style started to get stale, the
    gameplay switched, keeping things interesting. Now comes Crysis 2, and gone are all the quirks and innovations that made Crytek stand-out. We have a standard boiler-plate console-style FPS with all the trappings. Endless, pointless cut-scenes that take you out of the moment, B-movie actors, tons of scripted moments that look great to the marketing execs but take the control away from the player and add nothing to gaming enjoyment, etc... The way the game industry has developed it seems like a group of managers with who fancy themselves as movie directors, produce an amateurish, B-movie story-line that is then rendered with the game engine and voiced by low-grade actors. The game developers are then tasked with generating some 'game-content' to tie the cut-scenes together. This results in an on-rails, predictable game where the player pushes the game forward usually by guiding the protagonist through beacons on a map to trigger the piecemeal cut-scenes. Boring... Guys, here's a tip - throw out the cut-scenes and get back to some basics. I mean one basic rule, in any game really, is to progressively throw harder and harder type enemies at the player. Why is it that throughout the game the fight is always the same against the same 2 or 3 types of alien? And why do the levels all look almost identical (the same NY street backdrop)? Even the earliest 8-bit games knew to have some kind of scenery progression to make the player strive to see what would come next. The single-player FPS experience is abysmal these days, I was hoping to see Crytek innovate again like they did with Far Cry, but no such luck. I guess there's too much money involved to take risks. Expand
  35. Mar 31, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sounds amazing! Multiplayer Graphics are overall blurry. Multiplayer framerate ist good! I didnt experience frame rate issues at all in online play. Stealth/Armor idea is excellent. I think that the pc version is the way to go though. i didnt play campaign yet. Expand
  36. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 starts out like any other fps. Look here, move here and inevitably leads to some disaster that thrusts your character into the action. Well it does this beautifully, due to the Cry-engine. This game, hands down has the best graphics to date to grace this console. Everything is crisp, sharp and just downright amazing. The sections of the game you go through all kind of meld together into one giant sprawl through New York. The game lets the player tackle any situation with the ability to switch from stealth to brute force via the shoulder buttons. This dynamic between stealth and firepower constantly makes you adjust tactics on the fly to avoid being out in the open with no energy to run the functions of the Nanosuit 2.0. The levels are almost always multi-tiered and therefore an approach of taking silenced shots from an elevated position or running from cover to cover on the ground are always available. The weapons are awesome and there is never a shortage of them. If you find yourself without ammo (which isn't often) a touch of the d-pad brings up an interactive hud that locates enemies, allies, weapons, ammo and tactical points of interest, all of which can be marked so that finding them on the fly is easier. The enemies are plenty but at times are a little easy to dispatch (even on harder difficulties) and the fact you can leave most alive and just move on makes you wonder why bother killing them at all. The aliens drop a kind of currency to upgrade suit powers but the humans drop only weapons that can be found in great numbers everywhere else. I never left an area without killing everyone but you don't have to in most cases to advance the story line. The weapons are upgradable with things like sights, silencers and 40mm grenade launchers. This is done on the fly and you never have to pause the action to do so. The game is definelty longer than most. After beating Homefront in 4 hours this is a good thing. All in all the game is a push in the right direction and other fps developers should take notes from Crytek about how to make a battlefield that isn't just go here, shoot that and shoot some more. I guarantee no playthrough will be the same, making the replay value very high. At 60 dollars, this is a great buy and more so than other first person shooters out now. Awesome game! Expand
  37. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    i dont think ive brought a game this genreation that has suprised me more than crysis 2 has. I was releuctant to buy this game seeing the poor demo, however i took the risk , and got it. I was enjoying killzone 3 with its great graphcis and MP, however crysis 2 has overhwelmed me with its stunning visuals and graphics. Killzone 3 for me is no longer best looking game, crytek have seriously made a great step foward in the FPS genre with its visuals and settings. The gameplay is somewhat fresh , very unique when compared to modern FPS games. The movment feels smooth, the nanosuit is something which will bring much enjoyemnt for time to come. With options such as the ability to go into stealth and armour, both having their advantages and obvious flaws to balance out the MP. However other innovative abilities such as the jump and stomp can really give the player more freedom than just going around gunning. The weapons are so far exellent , having not unlocked all , so far so good. The single player is brilliant , great story and serious innovation, that other developers must really aknokweldge. The single player offers so much freedom , that no other FPS this genreation has come close to performing. I can literally choose the way i play the game , rather than running from a to b shooting everything that moves. It really puts to shame other shooter campagins. So for thos looking for a fresh single player experiance, this is probably the best you are going to get. And its a real winner. On the other hand you have the MP. which takes you away from just basic run and shoot , which you can do but risk getting killed. Its more skillful , patience is required and a lot of thinking. In a world of fps sdominated by run and gun . It suprisingly works. Give it some time and you have one of the best shooters available. The negative reviewrs see, to come from some PC fans, lol . Its made way onto console and has impressed me . However here are some issues which need clearing up. -First of all the MP , needs to be carefully analysed by Devs, it seems that in some cases accuracy has become an issue. Sometimes i find myslef shooting at someone who doesant die , not becasue they have armour on , it seems im doing no damage. -i have no issue with lag at the moment. -voice acting in the campaign is exellent. But on the MP the women is ok , but the dude sounds like an old man [most likely is ] , is like a grandad commentating on horse racing. other than that the game is a blast to play, highly reccomended to FPS genre fans. 9.5/10 Expand
  38. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Singleplayer is insane. People reviewing it after playing it 4-5 hours should be shot. The game just keeps escalating. Easily one of the most beauitful games on the ps3, you could say its at Playstation exclusive level. Guys playing it only online and reviewing it... please... And finish the singleplayer before you open your mouths. The user score compared to the other reviews show why most of you guys would never ever get a job as a game reviewer. Expand
  39. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    to start i love this game. crysis 1 is by far in my top 10 games. it got only a 8 because like what kazmodan said, it could have done so much better since the ps3 could have handled so much more. but i gave it an 8 since it is the only other fps that i enjoyed camp mode. i wrote a review on kill zone 3 and that its only downfall is a horrible camp. this game has a great camp but now multi player has problems. dont get me wrong ive put 9 hours in multi player and im in the top 3000 players, so i do enjoy playing it, but the lagging issues really take away from the experience. it only takes one randomly sprayed bullet to the head to finish you off even with maxed armor..kazmodan was wrong that in multi there is the issue with blurring and images coming into picture when you get close which sucks cause you think someone is cloaked moving or standing there and you open fire on nothing, which then gives you away. im really thinking on just getting again for pc, since i know my pc will run it and i willnt have to worry about such crappy graphics and bad buffering. crysis 1 will always be a classic, but crysis 2 was a disappointment since i expected so much more from such a great title. an 8 since it is a great game but it does lack in so many areas. Expand
  40. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 always looked like it was going to be a lot of fun - and it is!

    I played for about 2 hours last night and it was real breath of fresh air. The environments are vibrant (though I like KillZone3's dark and dirty feel) and detailed. Each map is set in a war torn part of NYC and they vary from down town sky scrapers to roof top gardens and public parks, warehouses and shopping malls
    to derelict piers and boat yards.

    Each location provides plenty of opportunity to make the best use of the Nanosuit's abilities; whether that be stealthy sniping or hiding cloaked in a dark corner, and there are plenty of opportunities to leap across huge gaps and scale buildings in a single bound. In fact the way you configure your NanoSuit could infact change depending on the map. I think custom tweaking of this awesome technology will come, but for now I am content with some basics - in particular the hologram attachment.

    Simply point the gun where you want to go, activate the hologram and watch as he takes the path you were about to take. Often you will see the enemy break from cover so you can pick them off quickly as they rush into the open. Alternatively you will witness your other self hailed in bullets from on high - its not safe out there. Clever use of the hologram, the armor and cloaking modes of your NanoSuit will enable you to traverse the map without taking any damage.

    If this sounds too easy - well it isn't! There are going to 6 guys on the other team doing the same to you and for starters they will be better at it. Crysis 2 provides a recruit level mode where you will only be pitted against ranks 10 or lower, ensuring (in theory) that all will be on the same skill level.

    As I said I have only played for a few hours but I must say that this looks like the final nail in Black Ops coffin for me.
    Expand
  41. Mar 28, 2011
    3
    I don't understand how there are all these 9&10's. It has motivated me to sign up and write a review. This game is extremely average. I am about 4-5 hours in and have been very underwhelmed with the very scattered story telling - I don't even know what it's about really :-/ The extremely glitchy AI has ruined numerous battles. The aliens in particular are extremely prone to getting stuck in the environment - it is ridiculous. I can't believe this made it into the final product. The game play is very rinse and repeat - but still a bit of fun and has its moments. I would recommend picking this up once it hits the bargain bins. Definitely not worth the full price. Expand
  42. Mar 29, 2011
    6
    I simply do not believe why people are buying this game, most of the gamers are starting to act and look like brainwashed monkeys, all running to the shop to buy this game, simply because of all the hype. The framerate is terrible, fps games should run at 60fps, also the blur, when you are moving the camera fast to the left or the right is terrible. Bulletstorm is the best fps at the moment IMHO.
  43. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is easily the best FPS yet for the consoles. I purchased it first for the PC, and although I'm not as impressed with some of the development choies they made in comparison to the first Crysis, I have to admit what it loses in sandbox and more destructable environment, it gainst in more verticle combat, impressive spectacle, and good story line. The "rail like" aspects are my favorite, but if you can generally apply such a term, the moments where it is a rail shooter, it is the best rail shooter you've played! Despite the more closed environemnt the enemies are still not generally scripted, when they engage you in comat, the a.i. is good. Expand
  44. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Very much enjoyed the game. It was well paced, the music was wonderful and the action sequences decent. I liked the changes to the nanosuit and the controls were easier. I used one of the community-based launchers to take advantage of graphic settings that were not readily apparent and it took me about 11 hours to complete...mostly because I choose a stealthy attack style. My son made it through in 6. Not ground-breaking like Crysis was, but for Crytek this should be hugely profitable w/release on consoles and the PC. Can't wait for the DX11 patch to do a replay. Expand
  45. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    Graphics = 9.0
    Don't know if Crysis 2 are the best but they are up there. Not much to say about the graphics, clean cut and dry, their "GREAT".

    Sound = 7.5
    The sound wasnt that bad but I came across an repeating issue throughout my gameplay, every now and then I would get this machine gun sound non-stop while playing and then only way to stop it was to load or quit game. The guns
    sound pretty nice, not as nice as some other shooters but good enough not to complain.

    Gameplay = 9.0
    I have to say, addicting in all the right ways. I did feel as though there were times where I fired directly at an enemy and it had no effect. Dont know exactly how many times this occured but it was enough for me to notice it. Also if there are going to be aliens that are able to absorb that many bullets, please dont have me looking for ammo, I found it absurd that I was running around a lot of the time looking for ammo especially when I have the military right beside me. I did feel that enemies were able to see you much too easily, which made using stealth more of a hassle than an accomplishment. Implementing the nano suit was a great experience and having the freedom to choose to play the way you want, whether it be stealthy or right out guns a blazzing. I have had no framerate problems. Replay = Moderatly High
    There are plenty of trophies to get, which is always a wonderful motivater.
    Expand
  46. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    One of the most satisfying single player shooters in years. Takes obvious inspiration from classic FPS's such as Halo and Half-Life and adds its own twist along with excellent visuals to create a really great and action packed shooter. The story isn't the best, it's full of cliches and is extremely linear in it's progression. I do think however that the nano-suit allows for many differing tactical approaches to situations. Cloaking and stealth killing enemies is great fun and actually makes you think about how to go about your killing as your energy runs down. Alternatively, you can use the suit's power and armour to rip the MG from an APC and literally blast through your foes. The multiplayer is excellent and prolongs the life and value of the game. Not dissimilar to the COD series or indeed most modern shooters, you must earn XP and buy upgrades to your suit or weapons over time. I would highly recommend this for action/ shooter fans and sci-fi lovers. Expand
  47. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    When I first seen the trailer for Crysis2 I knew it was different to any first person shooter.So I got it.I started to play it and I felt the awsomeness of the game.I was trying to think of something wrong with the game to take away the score but I can't.The only thing I can think about is that it is entirely first person you never see the protagonist's face.The online multiplayer is like Lucy.Pinder,beautiful,the one and only one of it's kind.But wait there's more if you know yourself and know what your good at,you become a one man army.If your'e sneaky there's invisibility and perks for each ability.There are three different abilities but you can only use one at a time.

    Forget Call of Duty play Crysis2
    Expand
  48. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best shooters of 2011. This is way better than call of duty modern warfare 3,but in my opinion killzone 3 is a little better. I think people should buy both of them,because they are great games
  49. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best FPS of this generation. The story, while somewhat generic and repetitive, is very fun and quite long compared to similar games. The graphics are quite good and the sound is satisfactory. While many people have complained of bugs throughout the campaign, I personally did not experience any significant or game-breaking ones. The online gameplay is very engaging and addicting. Suit powers are a great addition. Nothing feels more badass then jumping of a building and smashing 3 enemy's with your fist. Many people have complained of framerate issues but I personally feel that they are very exaggerated. Another person said it was impossible to kill anybody unless corner-camping with a cloak but this is far from the truth. Much of the time I will pick up triples charging into enemies with full armour up. The great thing about this multiplayer experience is that it is extremely balanced and you are able to do well with any play style. Over-all a very good game. Expand
  50. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    This game has some things that make it a good game, without any type of amazing details. The campaign mode is so much "direct". You have to follow a way all the time, without the liberty that the first one brought you. That´s the worst point of the campaing. The story was a bit boring too, but enjoyable in some parts of the different missions we have. The multiplayer mode is good too, but without something gorgeus. It gets a bit boring during the hours you play, and the framerate is very bad without a good conexion...
    The best of this game for me, are the graphics *CryEngine 2 is so powerfull*, the different modes of doing a mission with your special suit. The weapons are made with lots of details.
    The worst are that there no exist any type of liberty at any point of the game. The framerate. The story isn´t as enjoyable as the story of the first one Crysis.
    Expand
  51. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    The first Crysis was a really fun game the second could be that as well if it wasnt BROKEN!!! i cant finish the game because of this damn ammo glitch that doesnt allow me to refill or reload my ammo or my guns and after almost 2 years this game has been out this hasnt been FIXED!!! This is unexeceptable and just leaves this game a broken mess and the developers should be ashamed for not having this patched with in the first week of the games release. So i will make sure to buy Crysis 3 used so i make sure not to support theese lazy bums. Learn to do your damn job. Expand
  52. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best FPS this year!Far better MP than killzone 3 and SP than COD!Its only rival is BAd company 2!!So its the best time-spender until battlefield 3!!FPS lovers don't miss it,you'll miss....
  53. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    Great Story, Sound, Controls and Graphics. A Must who haven't played this before Crysis 3 comes out. Also the Multilayer is very fun; just know that you have to be at rank 30 to obtain all the game modes.
  54. May 7, 2011
    7
    Crysis 2 is definitely a good game but as a Playstation 3 users, I guess We all expected much better game than a good game cause Crytek promises were so great for Crysis 2.
    Yeah, graphics are great and so are playing mechanics but bugs, BUGS! They will drive you crazy. They are so many that it's impossible not to see them. Levels vanish suddenly, Your weapon shakes forever which
    makes firing impossible until you restart the game, AI is most of the time utterly idiot, also when you look towards celling in some places you see clouds! This pretty much looks beta rather than a full game. Yes, game is fun but all these unforgivable mistakes make Crytek a very reckless developer for Playstation 3 users. Crysis 2 is Crytek's first Playstation 3 debut, and they have already lost gamers 's trust. Moreover, This might be very painful, if they thinking to invest for PlayStation 3 Gaming System in the future. Expand
  55. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    This game is now my favorite FPS. I consider myself a gamer. I beat about 3 games a month. And I LOVE this game. Graphics, music, gameplay, even multiplayer is superb. If you don't own this game, you should. If you are tired of the "amazing" but over-rated Call of Duty franchise (mainly Black Ops... with it's horrible weapons, and unbearable campaign even though multiplayer had potential but the hackers and campers are still there but thats another review) you should get this game. Not that many brats a.k.a. 13 yr. olds and under play online. And no one really camps because you can do so much. But that doesn't even touch the main reasons why this game is so amazing. The music and intro alone will give you goosebumps. But anyways I am very VERY pleased. It's faster paced so if your used to Bad Company you might not like the controls. But in my OPINION I give this game a HUGE 10. Just might be my favorite FPS. Only one complaint and it's not even a complaint, sometimes you get lost in exploring which is something that doesn't happen with me on FPS's. But at the very least rent this game. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  56. May 5, 2012
    0
    Can it run Crysis? Yes it can but do you really want it to? No you don't. This game is just as over rated as the first Crysis. The multiplayer is boring I don't really know what FPS I could compare it to because it's kind of different, maybe halo. Single player sucks and hearing "Cloak engaged" over and over and over and over will make you want to rip the hair out from your skull. Enemies are dumb, story is generic, confusing and barely makes any sense from the opening cutscene I had no idea what the hell was going on. This game is basically the definition of a polished turd. It receives no score from me. Expand
  57. Mar 26, 2011
    0
    ok i too nearly dident buy the game over the botched demo but i m sure glad i bought it.the whole game is well thought out and graphics wise amazing.you can go in guns blazing but its much more fun to think your tactics through first the only game i can compare this to is the farcry series in its stealth but it is more faiirer than farcry more forgiving but a lot more fun.the customization of yor nano suit is a great addition great game all round but crytek..dont release a shoddy demo a week before a games release it will hurt your sales. Expand
  58. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty beware, Crysis 2 is here. Great graphics, enjoyable gameplay and the suit makes for interesting play. The trolls will be out to tempt you away from this beauty. Ignore them.
  59. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    pretty damn good game after the updates. Great graphics, good gameplay, and sweets multiplayer. I specially like how you can play it however you want, you can be stealthy or just shoot to everything and everyone in sight... as long as you manage your suit's energy.
  60. Apr 1, 2011
    1
    i had written a review, on the 10 things that made crysis 2 a horrible game but somehow only the 10th point was posted, so it's late and i'll have to do it later.
  61. May 24, 2011
    9
    Wow! Just wow, Crysis 2 is something else altogether. Forget all the petty issues that have been raised because they have been greatly exaggerated. Crysis 2 is an amazing and ambitious FPS bringing a much needed freshness to the genre. You are The Prophet mankinds last hope, well at least New York's in this game and the story stems from this. After being rescued you are given the responsibility of taking on the nano-suit and finding Professor Gould. However hot in pursuit are CELL operatives as well as Ceph forces in a destroyed New York City. The story does take a while to get going but when it does its engaging, rewarding and a funfest and full of twists and turns that you might not expect coming. But the thing that sets Crysis apart from all other FPS its the Nanosuit. A genius creation giving you the option of how you wish to approach each level. You can go invisible and take the stealth route, the armour mode allows you to take more damage and the tactical mode allows you to plan ahead and see your targets. Its addictive when you get in the thick of things and hugely gripping to see how it all ends, which I might add for me, leaves things set up perfectly poised for the next outing assuming ofcourse that there will be, which based on this seems inevitable! The one thing that Crysis has in abundace over its rivals is the ability to leave you in awe over the gorgeous graphics on offer as visually this is as good as it gets, its right up there with the very best. You will constantly find yourself blown away by the sight of a demolished New York City. Multiplayer is solid and enthralling. It runs smoothly and has plenty on offer. Like I said the nanosuit makes Crysis unique and online thats no different the balance used between the new nanosuit powers and all the basics needed for an online shooter is immense and ulitmately makes Crysis 2 hugely enjoyable and addictive as hell with simiilar perks and levelups that most FPS offer nowadays. Make no mistake, Crysis 2 is a seriously riveting and incredible game meaning that it is one of the must have titles on PS3. The all round package on offer is unmissable and has loads to offer to keep you engrossed, intrigued and occupied for months. Utterly essential! Expand
  62. Mar 31, 2011
    1
    the game is awsome and epic, but the ps3 version sucks in both graphics and performance buy xbox so your money will be worth it. the game sequals the first game but with a complicated story
    graphics: superb, and the textures are prime 10/10 for xbox and pc 6/10 for ps3 the textures are terrible but the graphics are bad though.
    gameplay:great gameplay but xbox controlls are very
    comfortable and superior to ps3
    multiplayer: superb and entertaining
    overall:im not an xbox fanboy nor a ps3 hater, i love both but xbox is superior of the both consoles
    Expand
  63. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    I've never played the first part and to be all honest even if i did i wouldn't compare, since the first part was only released on PC. Crysis 2 was excellent however it does have a few drawbacks, the graphics were amazing but it did have some visual issues and a very predictable cliche storyline. what covered on this problem is that finally we get a proper stealth ninja fps, excellent terrain, great sound effects and game length was great unlike most Fps which has a maximum of 6 hours or so. As for the multi-player it was incredibly annoying, if you are a bad tempered do not attempt to play online considering most people just grab a corner with cloak on and a sniper rifle takin all the fun away. Overall its a great game thumbs up Expand
  64. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    Besides being the best looking game on consoles, Crysis 2 succeeds in almost every other aspect. First, the bad. The story is really nothing to write home about, and only gets interesting towards the end. There are some interesting ideas thrown around, and its all beautifully presented, but it never manages to really get the player interested. There are also many strange graphical glitches and bugs that can sometimes force you to reload the the single player campaign entirely. It doesnt happen often, but it happens enough that you will notice. And finally, the multiplayer progression feels a little bit too dragged out, as it takes VERY long to level up and some of the later more interesting guns and game modes can only be unlocked at later levels. Despite all this, Crysis 2 is a crowning achievement in first person shooters. The gameplay is unique and tactical , forcing you to assess every situation and use the nanosuit's abilities in creative ways. It is one of the few games that truly makes you feel like a super solider with endless amounts of power. Stealth, Power, Speed, all these things factor into the gameplay and the sandbox level design allows you to use them however you please. The multiplayer, though it has glaring problems, is still a blast to play and the nanosuit abilities add a unique spin on the otherwise generic Call of Duty style set up. Crysis 2 is one of the best shooters to come out this generation, and if you are a fan of action games in general it would be silly to miss out on it Expand
  65. Apr 9, 2011
    0
    stupid game, not interesting, there is nothing new in it, just another FPS, I don't know what people liked about this game seriously, the game was just a lot of deja-vu
    hated this game
  66. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    Like many people i have played the previous Crysis titles and found the story, gameplay and graphics to be great, so of course i was excited for Crysis 2 to be released. Overall Crysis 2 is a good game but not great, in terms of graphics its hard to find a more beautiful game but to be honest the graphics don't make up for some of the games short comings. Now don't get me wrong this game is good but in many ways i feel as if it has been vastly over-rated. When it comes to the gameplay at first it feels fresh and new but as you go on it starts to feel like any other FPS, some of Crysis unique elements do pick it up a bit but after a while i felt like it wasn't anything i hadn't seen before. When it comes to Multiplayer the game at times can become very annoying and at times can feel unbalanced, most of the maps are fairly maze like and at times you will find yourself wandering around just hunting people and not getting into the action. Overall this game is good and is worth a play but in my opinion it doesn't grip me as much as other FPS have in the past, if you are a person who doesn't play many FPS games then this may be a great game to start out with, the story is interesting (but can fall flat at times) and the overall structure is good. Expand
  67. Apr 12, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a **** I don't know what happened with the original crysis, I hope too much more about this game. the story mode is cool but the online gaming just sucks is the worst thing ever, lag, few player, few modes. doesn't worth the money (60 bucks to the garbage)...........................................................................................gfdgdfggdggggggggjfkdsnjkfhsdjfnjsdnjfnsdjfnsdsfoisdjfosdjfisjdifjsdifjsidfmsdmfisdmfisdfsdijfisdfsdfsdfqweqweqweqweq Expand
  68. Apr 13, 2011
    8
    Great graphics with no major tech problems. Captivating character abilities keep you addictive to game play. AI is aggressive especially the alien creatures later in the game. Controls are very easy to jump into for any first person shooter fan. Story line is simple to follow (aliens invading earth). Weapons have some serious firepower and maps (areas) are compact with enemies and objects you can kick like broken down cars. Also you can drive armored vehicles too in certain areas. Bottom line is that compared to other recent released first person shooters, Crysis 2 is on the top of the heap for now. Worth buying for those first person shooter fans and even people like me. Expand
  69. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    A different kind of FPS. This game is easily the best looking on consoles right now. The game-play is very fun and addictive. The story is really good, as well.
  70. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing! This game blew away all of the previous shooters made for console by a long shot. Its not just about the graphics that obviously took a good portion of time to get right, but they story is great, and unlike black ops, the hit detection is right on. I'm just glad so many people got this game because its made it incredibly easy to find games online as well. For the people who "just didn't like it", this isn't another COD. Its the new heavy weight champion. This is a tactical shooter. Not a run around and dolphin dive or drop shot attempt at a game. I love everything about it, and if you haven't tried it, you're missing out. Expand
  71. Apr 15, 2011
    4
    Massive disappointment. The storyline is very poor for the first half. Graphics seem perfect until you notice countless glitches. There are whole portions of levels that you can complete just by sprinting through. The tactical options are pointless. 11 hours to complete is ok. Massive glitch stopped me reloading a chckpoint when i dies in one level. You'll see enemies walking into walls, sometimes disappearing into them and getting stuck. This is the worst fps i have played since haze. Online, lag can be huge, gun battles never reach the intensity of COD, and in my last session an entire tree was rolling around the level. There are also many cheaters. Worst game i've purchased in years, after all that hype. Expand
  72. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I really thought that with all the hype going on that this would be a good game but I rented it to make sure and its absolutely horrible. Its the biggest Call Of Duty knock-off I have ever seen, Crytek has copied everything from the killstreaks and effects down to the perks and ability to slide after sprinting. This game is set in 2023 which is 14 years after the release of Modern Warfare 2 so it made me think of a Call Of Duty 14 years into the future. It shouldn't be called Crysis, it should be called Mw2023. In short, this is the worst game I have ever played. Just go and buy your self a copy of Call Of Duty and save yourself some money. Expand
  73. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed the single-player and although not as good graphics as the computer version its still a very good game with graphics at the top of the competition. I thought that maybe the single-player could have been slightly longer, but apart from that don't really have a problem with the single-player. I found the multiplayer to be very good apart from the fact that when you just hav levelled up to 11 you are going against level 40 and so on which have way better guns than you, maybe include a level 25 and below as well so you get more practise before going against the people hwho have been playing it for way longer than you have. Also i would have prefered to have more game modes, maybe even improve some of the current ones. However, overall iI think the multiplayer is very goood and the overall game is well worth buying, or at the very least borrowing it from someone. Expand
  74. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    In general, there is a huge gap between multiplayer and the single player campaign. Multiplayer, though made linear by imbalancement of stealth and armor powers, also provide minor diversity with smart map layouts and the overall reliance on solid teamwork. Yet, turning to the single player campaign, it seems just lackluster in all. Fanboys will hate me for this, but since I haven't played the first one, which many others haven't, I just don't feel any dedication to the storyline to be entertained or enjoy its simplistic continuation to its presumably intelligent first entry. Graphics are indeed a new tier for technical advances, but I base a game on its entertaining gameplay, storyline, how stand-out it is among general releases. In all, I saw potential for this new entry into what was proposed to be the next epic franchise, but I'm in an overall disappointment at how linear, repetitive, and how the powerful presentation quickly died down in a matter of minutes. Expand
  75. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Well the game is not bad... but it's more eye candy more then anything else until you start to see that not everything has the same level of graphic quality. The gameplay is nice, the story is weird but acceptable to bad at certain occasions you kinda need to have completed the first game to understand everything. The online mode is great not the best out there but still really good. But again the graphics are overrated and there are a whole lot of frame drop moments in the game which a game of this level shouldn't have. Expand
  76. Apr 24, 2011
    5
    The game lacks consistency on the PS3. Several times I would encounter various bugs that actually ruined the experience. Such as: Puddles disappearing, enemies often ran in circles or into walls, bullets disappear in the distance, objects picked up do not break apart, and finally sound! Sound was a main issue, as mostly when I hit things in the environment or shot pieces it would sound exactly the same; truly a disappointment. Also I feel Crysis does not belong in consoles. A good PC does the trick. However, The story is short, cloaking sometimes makes it too easy, even on the highest difficulty. I clocked 6 hours on the game, on supersoldier. The game has two or so "wow" moments but overall it feels like it missed something. Additionally, the online is nothing to look forward to. Does not introduce something fresh and the community is far too much naive and easy beat; rarely you'd encounter a good worthy lobby. I give the game a solid 5, not misjudging graphics which are indeed great, but because of gameplay issues, lack of consistency, and effects sound lacking variation. (Make no mistake, the soundtrack is good) Expand
  77. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This game, despite what some people are saying, is brilliant.

    The single player, although the slow start is very good. The issues with the AI are noticeable when the enemies are being "casual". As soon as they notice you those AI glitches disappear. There weren't any pop out glitches for me and the graphics are truly amazing. The online is not as detailed as something like COD but in my
    opinion is much more fun. The worst thing about crysis 2 on the ps3 is the exaggerated glitches by pc fan-boys. To those people I say: get pissed about crysis 2 on the pc page, not the ps3 one. Expand
  78. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    Overall it is a good game... but it lacks what most other FPS games have, FREEDOM.
    in halo you are on a set task, but around that you can find skulls, easter eggs and all sorts, Crysis 2 just doesnt have the freedom. it has excellent graphics and is well worth playing, but it is a game to rent, not buy, as after you finish the campaign you'll want to be rid of it... a much better choice
    than this is the less talked about PROTOTYPE, which is the best game i have played in the last month at least Expand
  79. May 4, 2011
    8
    crysis 2 is one of the best fps around good story very good graphics maybe the best ever the story is long to not like the short campains of call of duty there is just one main problem with the game bugs and glitchs framerate issues dumb ai humans and aliens die in weird positions humans run through walls and get stuck in the walls too this might sound like a bad game its not its good just not very good the best thing about the game is its the nanosuit 2.0 and its got an exelent story i give this game 8/10 Expand
  80. May 5, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is best FPS ever made


    best graphics
    best gameplay

    I do take issue with the multiplayer though.
    The frame rate in multiplayer is horrendous. It's just plain straight up disgusting.
    but oh well, the singleplayer is more than enough to sell it.
  81. May 23, 2011
    9
    fantastic story mode which delivers above other fps. A few unexpected twist and decent length. multiplayer is nice where your player can focus on stealth, power, or armor. lack of weapon choices leave something to be desired and a tad bit glitchy but these setbacks could be fixed easy in future dlc and patches. maps have good feel and all are well laid out for all kinds of players. (campers, run an gun, squad players, fragers). death streak perks help close drastic gaps. graphics are superb. all in all its nice to see a fps that follows a different direction then COD or BF. unique! worth the money Expand
  82. May 10, 2011
    9
    This game is FREAKIN' AWESOME! From the epic singleplayer campaign to the intense multiplayer action, this game is an absolute BLAST to play!

    Visuals: As far as multi-platform games go, this one completely knocks the other contenders out of the game! Every texture was crisp and clean, and the whole game just looked beautiful.

    Audio: The audio seriously supports the game. Every explosion
    or gunshot sounds just right and immerses you into the game even more. On top of that, the soundtrack is very fitting, for example, in the beginning of the game, the music is sort of slow and light. As the campaign progresses (and gets more intense), the music seems to get faster paced.

    Gameplay: In case you don't know, Crysis 2 puts a nanosuit at your disposal. It allows you to slide, run faster, jump higher, become Rambo/invisible, and more. This adds some serious fun to the game, and separating it from the crowd of other CoD shooter clones. Of course there is your usual arsenal of SMGs, sniper rifles, etc.

    Verdict: Crysis 2 is a great game for the casual or hardcore shooter fan.
    Expand
  83. May 15, 2011
    9
    Boasting amazing graphics and challenging gameplay, Crysis 2 is a whole different shooter for consoles. It does suffer minor problems such as plot holes,an okay story and a fun yet forgettable multiplayer. I would recommend this to any fps fan looking for something new.
  84. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I really don't know what the reviewers of this game have been smoking, but whatever it is I would love some.

    To compare this game to the likes of Killzone as far as graphics are concerned is a bold face lie. In all honesty this reminds me of a PS2 game, infact I would go as far as saying that Black on PS2 looked and played better.

    Really feel ripped off.
  85. May 25, 2011
    6
    Hard to write a review on this game. The pros are definitely there. The game has great graphics and the gameplay is quite a bit of fun, but I guess I dropped quite a few points when I compared the game to Crysis 1. The original game was sandbox, allowing you to move and do missions however you choose. The weapons had more modification options, and the game generally had a more polished feel to it. Secondly, this game hardly feels like a sequal to Crysis 1, and (to me) felt almost like a betrayal to the first game. In the first game, the storyline really had me going, leaving on a cliffhanger, and in the second game the only similarities really are 3: 1(there is a nano suit that does cool things, but not as many cool things as in the original game), and 2(there is a dude named prophet), 3(there are aliens trying to kill us, never mind that these aliens are completely different from the aliens in the first game). And seriously, where the heck did this 'infection' thing come from. This game has nothing whatsoever to do with the first game, and makes a bare passing attempt at explaining the change in location from Crysis 1 (a beatiful island) to Crysis 2 (the city). The first game had a beatiful location, and the enemies (while not brillliant AI) still had a different feel to them. Maybe not the Koreans you were fighting, but at least the aliens had a kind of grace to them, showing up as almost advanced machines instead of the standard aliens that you have seen watered down a million times. The second game lost all of this feel and dropped back to the watered down city wasteland with the standard aliens you've fought a thousand times in Halo and Resistance. They even have AI that is similar to the aliens you fought in Ultimate Doom. The biggest things I would have liked to see different would have been seamless transitions like in the first game, more vehicle driving/combat like in the first game, and more versatility with combat options and weapon modifications. Soooo... Verdict. A good standalone game with a washed out storyline, but good combat nonetheless. A good attempt at FPS RPG with the upgrade modules, but overall a big step backwards from the first game. Expand
  86. Jun 16, 2011
    2
    this game sucked, i don't know why everyone is making a big deal about the graphics because they look nothing special to me, in fact i believe its not even 720p output its below somehow. Frame-rate is terrible the actual game is OK but the stealth missions are boring and frustrating and there's a lot of them, even more if you choose to be stealthy throughout the game but i recommend you don't. I found the best way to play this game is just shooting like hell at the enemies, it may not be the most strategic way of playing buts its certainly the most fun way of playing it. Its another over-rated game that doesn't deserve the scores its getting, maybe for the pc version but not consoles. Expand
  87. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty
  88. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 on PS3 is a excellent shooter. The campaign has two enemies that you fight: Alien and Human, the levels are perfectly paced from all out war, to sneaking around cloaked, and a little bit of both. The first few hours may be boring, but if you stick with the game it will be worth it. The campaign also includes some amazing cinematic moments and great voice acting. The multi player feels the same and different at the same time from other shooters. It brings the powers you get from the campaign. (whoops i forgot to mention that you get three abilities: armor which allows you to become temporarily invincible, invisibility, and sprinting/sliding.) These features in multi player allow for a more strategic option in the matches instead of straight forward running and gunning. The weapons are perfectly balanced as well. You can earn dog tags for completing certain challenges in game (Such as getting one for having least deaths, highest kill streak or vice versa.) The multi player just has to much to talk about so I'll sum it up. It has depth, balance, and most importantly, overall fun. The game overall is spectacular. A definite buy, the only problem I had is the difficulty as some parts. (but that is just me). Expand
  89. kaz
    Jul 16, 2011
    7
    if you're going to buy Crysis 2, buy it for the online multiplayer. yes it may feel a bit like CoD, but the Nanosuit separates this fps from the rest. the learning curve is a bit high, where you're going to have to learn to manage the energy of your Nanosuit with it's different capabilities, however once you start nailing it, it really becomes a very fun, very competitive multiplayer. this is one game you will want to play with your friends. just so much fun. you must be warned that this is a broken game. the multiplayer has it's issues but those can be ignored. the campaign however, has a very plain story with equally matching missions, combined with many bugs and performance issues. bad AI, low frame rate, low resolution and worst of all severe texture pop-in really hurt the game aesthetically, and that's why this game can never be called the best looking on console. that title imo still belongs to Killzone 3, and will go to Battlefield 3 later on this year. it's a shame really because you can see that Crytek really worked hard on this game, but somehow failed. all in all Crysis 2 is a very mixed bag. i highly recommend waiting until this game is cheap, then buying it. i'm very generous with the scoring though, caus there isn't anything else to play all summer until the "heavy weights" come along during autumn. Expand
  90. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Best FPS ever it creates a tactical experiece that i can have fun with rather that just bullet spaming vietnamese dudes. It looks love sounds like im in New York being attacked by aliens or being shot at by super soilders. The mutiplayer is a total new experience and im loving being crap at this multiplayer. It's such and immersive and strategic game 2nd best game ive ever played 10
  91. Aug 11, 2011
    7
    I rented this game thinking it was a masterpiece, all the review where saying top notch and all... While its not a bad game, I found the story to be badly told, you get small image (most of the time) at the top corner of your screen, ala nintendo from a long time ago, telling you what do do, a bit smallish in term of storytelling, The gameplay is very fun, using the different ability of you suit, but after a while it gets very repetitive and boring. For me to love a game I need to be involved in the story in a meaningfull manner, but here there is not much else appart from your standard, your the hero and need to clear a map kind of involvement, didnt try the multiplayer because Im not a multiplayer kind of person, like to enjoy a good sotry more than fragging real people online, so you can see why I didnt lovethe game since the story is minimal, so like I said not a bad game but not a masterpiece either... Expand
  92. Aug 19, 2011
    1
    If you have already played FPS games, then you have already seen everything that Crysis 2 has to offer. It's just another generic shooter with barely any plot at all, with no replay value and only few different types of enemies you have to shoot whole campaign, 10 hours streak. Crysis 2 has nothing new to offer. There is simply no reason for this game to exist. It borrows everything from other games, and brings you the repetition; same old enemies, same old powers, same old weapons, same old office buildings, same old sewers, same old aliens... And yeah, it really gets boring fast... Expand
  93. Oct 30, 2011
    2
    As I've said before, you can have cover-based shooting in your game, but you can't base your whole game off it. Crysis 2 has absolutely no story. The shooting mechanics are pathetic. If you so much as move an eyeball a nanometer, your HUD goes bobbing up and down and the screen becomes blurry like someone is firing a **** pressurized hose in your face. There is NOTHING fun about this game. Avoid it at all costs. Expand
  94. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    a nice game i got it yesterday and was expecting a good game but i was worried about the frame rate problems and lags but so far its been very fast with hardly any framerate drops. the graphics are out of this world this is what you could expect on how the world looks in a disaster . Multiplier is fine nothing groundbreaking but still solid a good game for future fps shooter
  95. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Outstanding graphics is not enough to call game good. With atrocious fighting with aliens, bad AI, silly and silent hero it's huge dissapointment. Check it, but i warned you.
  96. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Crysis 2 is a fantastic first person shooter. The story, controls and graphics are pretty decent. The game will draw you in however there are a few things that might put you off.

    Fist of all, the frame rate tends to drop quite frequently, leading to me getting confused as to where I am, but I eventually got used to it. The multiplayer while good needs some work done to it as online games
    are very unstable, and this causes further FPS drops. Also the audio is too high to hear the dialouge which is bad because the Crysis 2 storyline is very important, and it can be real off putting.

    Overall I praise the games controls, presentation and story telling, and if you can manage to see past the issues then this is a fantastic game.
    Expand
  97. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    In my publication anterior I put 10 but actually is 9. Okay other Things I forget say my another review alia Crysis 2 is like one Half life 1 but not so half life finally a very good game I buy it (I already buy that)
  98. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    This game is a perfect example of why certain games should only focus on the singleplayer. I loved the campaign, it was short (about 6 hours) but incredibly fun, the graphics are amazing, the soundtrack is so good that I`m listening to it in the menus and it was really intense at the end. However, the multiplayer is in my opinion, a disaster. The graphics are still amazing and the nanosuit gameplay is cool but there are not enough maps, not enough weapons(something like 20 ) and most importantly, the weapons are completely unbalanced, I mean that out of 20 weapons there are 2 or 3 that are actually playable and if you don`t use these you are sure to get killed all the time (I`m not a noob by the way). For example, if you use the scarab you will need maybe 3 bullets without the armor mode activated but with the AY-69 you can empty a full clip on an ennemy without killing him ( I tried it more than once). Overall, Crysis 2 is not a bad game but it could have been a lot better if the multiplayer had been improved. Expand
  99. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    rysis 2 is best FPS ever made best graphics best gameplay I do take issue with the multiplayer though. The frame rate in multiplayer is horrendous. It's just plain straight up disgusting. but oh well, the singleplayer is more than enough to sell it.
  100. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    I picked this game up for a really good price, to my surprise it is actually a really good game. The Nanosuit is a lot of fun to use. The stealth is the best feature in this game. The plot is nearly non-existent, but I didn't really care due to the amount of fun i was having.
  101. Mar 24, 2011
    0
    This is a great game! it's what a modern FPS should be. It gives you options on how to complete a mission. Run N' Gun? Stealh? Both are here and both are done well. The Story line is pretty good. You don't really get into the characters, but the whole concept is great. The graphics are nice, NOT the best graphics on the PS3! But very nice to look at. It's been one of the most entertaining games (especially FPS Games) that I've played in a long time. If your looking for a fresh new take on FPS, This is it! Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Crysis 2 may not live up to every expectation, but its pleasant surprises make up for most of its shortcomings.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The game is fun though. It does get repetitive, and it does feel like a corridor at times, but the desire to see all of New York City, destroyed and lying in ruin, is what will drive you forward. Towards the end of the game it does overstay its welcome, and you'll be wishing you could just walk through the levels with no enemies in sight, detracting from the wonderful visuals. With all that said, the suit powers are enjoyable the first few times and any fan of shooters will have a good time in the game's dystopian New York City.
  3. Don't make the mistake of viewing Crysis 2 as a new shooter on the block that has to desperately prove itself to all the established PS3 heavy-hitters. In many ways it's actually the other way around. [May 2011, p.69]