Crysis 3 PlayStation 3

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Play UK
    Apr 23, 2013
    61
    Stunning to look at, but the experience within its gorgeously rendered environments ultimately lacks substance. [Issue#230, p.76]
  2. 60
    A devolution from open-world brilliance and a far cry from compelling, Crysis 3 is a serviceable sci-fi shooter with noteworthy multiplayer and a story that just barely warrants attention.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 28, 2013
    70
    Crysis 3 reunites the outfit with a voice, Prophet, and his supposed buddy, Psycho and tells you that only one set of sentient long-johns can save the world. It’s a functional excuse for the action but uninspired, much like the bulk of the game. [Issue#235]
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    The appeal of the series has always been in its graphics and Crysis 3 still stands tall as one of the best looking console games of this generation. As many first person shooters shrivel up in the shadow of Call of Duty, Crysis 3’s tactical gameplay and the introduction of the predator bow help it stand apart from the usual suspects of the genre. However, seen as a series that pushed graphics and gameplay to the limits, the third installment’s lack of innovation is perhaps its only weakness.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    Psycho aside, it’s hard to be engaged by the narrative, and not only because it’s standard sci-fi fodder. Blatant clues as to the story’s direction mean most players will have pieced together the plot’s deeper mysteries long before they are formerly unveiled. Meanwhile, optional audio logs that dig deeper into the lore can only be played via a static menu screen, necessitating a break from the action to listen to a minute or two of laboured exposition.
  6. The problem is that in the few hours I spent online with the PlayStation 3 edition about a week after release the number of people playing at any one time seemed to hover around 700-800, with the bulk of them engaged in death matches rather than any of the more interesting, innovative game types (such as the new Hunter mode, which pits a minority of nanosuit-wearing, permanently cloaked hunters against plain old human troopers).
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    65
    Sadly the PS3 version of Crysis 3 is the worst version compared to the other platforms. The PS3 version is filled with framedrops, pop-ups, audio glitches and disappointing graphics. The singleplayer is fine, but it's short and the story is far from interesting. A fun shooter at best, but certainly no more than that. If you want the best experience you’re better off with the Xbox or PC version.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 11 out of 41
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    The only saving grace is the singleplayer which for some odd reason features horrible ai, even on the hardest difficulty. I'm only a fewThe only saving grace is the singleplayer which for some odd reason features horrible ai, even on the hardest difficulty. I'm only a few missions in but im easily able to simply run past everyone only shooting a few people to beat a mission. The storyline, voice acting and graphics are the best part about the experience they are nex gen quality. Multiplayer is average at best and brings nothing new to the table at all. In my opinion I had more fun with Crysis 2 multiplayer as this version of the game is 100% dumbed down even further for the call of duty audience, and it looks like it sold like a turd, less than 1,000 players online all together. Expect LAGGY hosts and 0 players in every mode not names tdm, ffa, spears and crash site. Minimal improvements have been made as well compared to crysis 2 mp this feels like nothing more than a map pack with different Killstreaks. Piss poor job EA. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    Graphically impressive, but graphics alone don't make a game great. It's the same boring shoot a ton of bad guys that we have done in prettyGraphically impressive, but graphics alone don't make a game great. It's the same boring shoot a ton of bad guys that we have done in pretty much every fps. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Crysis 3 has its moments but repeated over and over and over well you get the point. A+ for graphics and sounds. But what lacks in thisCrysis 3 has its moments but repeated over and over and over well you get the point. A+ for graphics and sounds. But what lacks in this edition is the lack of depth in story. Maybe its just me but these FPS are really getting watered down in game play and other elements. Zero memorable moments for me and more of the same with the nano suit which is still the best feature in the Crysis games. I never felt for the characters in game nor did I have any WOW moments. Despite all my negatives there are still a few positives including, upgradable characteristics and of course the nano suit. This was a simple decision for me as 7/10 was the easy pick. Crysis 3 looses points for quality in the story and lack of innovation in game play and level design. FPS's are beginning to be a joke in this generation of gaming. This one reviewed seems to be a split decision between user reviews. I still enjoy Crysis 2 as the best Crysis game. Full Review »