User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 222

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Why the game is becoming from a sci-fic to magic-fic genre? Also there is no explanation why the hero is qualified to own this magic power. As a high-tech-sic-fic genre, merging magic element is really a distortion unacceptable for me.
    And in Crysis 3, I start to hate the hero, because he is so ego rather than a devoting virtue in Crysis 2.
    The story becomes purely non-sense and messy.

    The gameplay is less than 5 hours.
    The graphics is even worse than Crysis 2.
    So a utterly drawback iteration, reflecting the ugly portrait of the money-facing dev.
    Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    I don't usually write reviews but I just had to say something about this pile of junk what a waist of money played 10 minutes of it and turned it off the graphics are alright but nothing amazing the ai is absolutely terrible they can spot u from like a mile away I hide behind a crate or a wall and they still manage to know where I am the energy on the suit drains way too fast this is no different to number two I actually thought number two was better, I just found this game so boring there is nothing new, and the online is boring and glitchy and laggy doesn't run well save you're money for a better game I give this a 2 for graphics only Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    This game wasn't nearly as good as it could have been. Uninspired level design, a poor story, and even poorer character development ..And an ending I can't watch because it crashes EVERY time I try to fight the end boss.
    Multiple people, across multiple platforms, have had this issue... without a single word from the Publishers or Devs. It's too prevalent an issue for me to believe that
    EA or Crytek were oblivious to this game breaker... yet they shipped it anyway. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Campaign was just over six hours. I basically just walked through the whole game in stealth, it was so boring and un-engaging. The story was supposed to be psychological but I seriously had no emotional response to it. There were way too many cut-scenes that left me wondering, "Why am I not controlling my character right now?" FFS, the majority of the endgame is comprised of QuickTime events. Focus on multi-player is a cop-out. Mutli-player means that developers get to stop working after the levels are built and they expect the customer to create their own sense of immersion. F that. Some 12-year-old d!p$#!t crying on team-speak does not help create atmosphere. If all I want to do is "compete", I'll play Call of Duty (which will never happen). I bought Crysis for the story and SciFi setting. The story and single-player campaign deserved more attention. Same price as previous titles, a lot less content and a whole lot more Hollywood. Thumbs down. This was a linear, boring, waste of money. Three points for having the most gorgeous graphics of any game ever. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    The problem with Crysis 3 is its just devoid of emotion, graphics do not make a game. I just didn't care for the plot of the game there is no character development, you don't care who lives, who dies and towards the end I just wanted to get to the end with little regard for how I got there.

    The AI is a big problem in this game basically there is none, killing an enemy will make his
    comrades come running out into the open and stand round the body for you to pick off. The use of the cloak allows you to pretty much walk around anything and regardless of how well hidden you are when you uncloak you will be seen straight away. There is no "suspicion meter" which we have come to expect from games like Dishonored or Far Cry 3 where your actions can have a direct effect on how alert your enemy becomes.

    The game is not "open-world" and although you're lead to believe there is freedom there isn't. The exterior locations look beautiful the interiors look bland and lifeless. Some textures on the PS3 version are very low quality and you sometimes wonder why in such a beautiful world you have PS2 looking assets.

    Essentially this is a cash in it has some good ideas but it feels like it is missing a soul.
    Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    Online play is about like call of duty minus all the people to play it so, most of my review will be of the game itself. Single player is super buggy. AI is horrible you can just run through everything and they chas you maybe 50ft out of their radius. one missions buggyness almost results in it being non playable where your visor comes up and you cannot put it down however, when you hurt yourself it goes away just don't bring it back up. EA's support for the issues sucks as they released a patch for it before I even got it home to play. Story line isn't no where near as good as the other crysis games, still a very incoherent story. Game can be ridiculously hard till you find a decent weapon. dune buggy runs out of ammo quick and you get no clues where to get ammo for it. Overall with the frustration of this game and the entire series I give it a 2 out of 10 for stunning graphics but super glitchy gameplay. A game shouldn't be sold on how great it looks but be sold on how good of a game it is. if you can sacrifice graphics and have some solid gameplay it would be much better. People are too concerned with how they look nowadays Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    1
    Yeah, GRAPHICS! ORGASM! ...nope... coz....its just graphics. The gameplay is odd, aiming fails, and the allover hyped multiplayer (especially hunter mode) feels like a cheap light version of AvP. But in singleplayer they tried to get some gameplay, so the game gets 4 points. everything else is just bloated and too much below average. can't understand why this game is hyped that much... thats why it gets -3 points. for f*ckin overhyping. cant believe ppl getting so modest when graphics are right... Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    The only saving grace is the singleplayer which for some odd reason features horrible ai, even on the hardest difficulty. I'm only a few missions in but im easily able to simply run past everyone only shooting a few people to beat a mission. The storyline, voice acting and graphics are the best part about the experience they are nex gen quality. Multiplayer is average at best and brings nothing new to the table at all. In my opinion I had more fun with Crysis 2 multiplayer as this version of the game is 100% dumbed down even further for the call of duty audience, and it looks like it sold like a turd, less than 1,000 players online all together. Expect LAGGY hosts and 0 players in every mode not names tdm, ffa, spears and crash site. Minimal improvements have been made as well compared to crysis 2 mp this feels like nothing more than a map pack with different Killstreaks. Piss poor job EA. Collapse
  9. Feb 20, 2013
    0
    The only saving grace is the singleplayer which for some odd reason features horrible ai, even on the hardest difficulty. I'm only a few missions in but im easily able to simply run past everyone only shooting a few people to beat a mission. The storyline, voice acting and graphics are the best part about the experience they are nex gen quality. Multiplayer is average at best and brings nothing new to the table at all. In my opinion I had more fun with Crysis 2 multiplayer as this version of the game is 100% dumbed down even further for the call of duty audience, and it looks like it sold like a turd, less than 1,000 players online all together. Expect LAGGY hosts and 0 players in every mode not names tdm, ffa, spears and crash site. Minimal improvements have been made as well compared to crysis 2 mp this feels like nothing more than a map pack with different Killstreaks. Piss poor job EA. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    61
    Stunning to look at, but the experience within its gorgeously rendered environments ultimately lacks substance. [Issue#230, p.76]
  2. The beautiful and eerie locations give Crysis 3 a great atmosphere. Cowering in the tall grass, while being hunted by bloodthirsty aliens, reminded us of the terrifying raptor-scene from Jurassic Park. Blowing up a giant dam caused a spectacle big enough to make our inner vandal smile. [April 2013, p.80]
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    85
    All-in-all Crysis 3 is a great package, despite burning bright half as long. It may have not been exactly what all the fans wanted, but it does a great job of trying to appease as many as it can without sacrificing too much. Add to this a decent, if not groundbreaking multiplayer suite and you have a solid FPS that is more than worth a look.