Crysis 3 Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the year 2047, Prophet has embarked upon a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were informed that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse theseSet in the year 2047, Prophet has embarked upon a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were informed that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse these metropolises of the remnants of Ceph forces. In reality, the Nanodomes are CELL's covert attempt at a land and technology grab in their quest for global domination. With Alien Ceph lurking around every corner and human enemies on the attack, nobody is safe in the path of vengeance. Everyone is a target in Prophet's quest for retribution. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Hunt is On - Crysis 3 Multiplayer Gamescom Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 3, 2013
    90
    Despite the flaws, Crysis 3 is a triumph that shows a willingness by Crytek to push itself to new heights, achieving a beautiful three-way union of graphical fidelity, compelling storytelling and a honed gameplay experience.[April 2013, p68]
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    Though it’s still saddled with the plot baggage of its predecessors, Crysis 3 is at least the most cohesive story in the series.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    85
    All-in-all Crysis 3 is a great package, despite burning bright half as long. It may have not been exactly what all the fans wanted, but it does a great job of trying to appease as many as it can without sacrificing too much. Add to this a decent, if not groundbreaking multiplayer suite and you have a solid FPS that is more than worth a look.
  4. Such is the strength of the online modes, it lifts the overall package comfortably above the scant story offering. It pains my digits to write ‘technical tour de force’, but it’s hard to describe Crysis 3 any other way. Though lacking soul in places, this striking Prophet can still channel the divine.
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 is a worthy sequel that is highly entertaining on a number of different levels.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Its attractive visuals make Crysis 3 a pleasure to look at, and the game is plenty of fun, though not up to the high standards of its forebears.
  7. 60
    A devolution from open-world brilliance and a far cry from compelling, Crysis 3 is a serviceable sci-fi shooter with noteworthy multiplayer and a story that just barely warrants attention.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 43
  2. Negative: 11 out of 43
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The single player is okay but the Multiplayer stands out. It's a blend of battlefield and halo, but with a lot more strategy in how to manageThe single player is okay but the Multiplayer stands out. It's a blend of battlefield and halo, but with a lot more strategy in how to manage your suits energy. It's really a blast Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    It's the first Crysis game I've tried on a console instead of PC and I must say it looks damn impressive, especially considering the outdatedIt's the first Crysis game I've tried on a console instead of PC and I must say it looks damn impressive, especially considering the outdated tech powering the good ol' PS3. But Crysis was never just about graphics for me, but gameplay and story. Gameplay doesn't exactly change from C2, with few additions like the overpowered bow (Firing while cloaked? please. Still satisfying to kill with, though.) and the hacking minigame which you can't cancel once triggered. But the storyline is this iteration's strong point now it's more personal, quoting the game, "it's never been just about the suit", with a great memorable ending. Level design is also a major improvement, with 7 beautiful and non-linear levels, which are larger than in C2, but (of course) smaller than in the original. As for multiplayer, it is quite engaging, and the Hunter mode kicks ass. One big letdown is the game's length even with all the side missions and some datapad hunting, the slow and steady stealth playthrough took me only 7 hours 20 minutes. By the way, the datapads contain some very interesting background information with some plot base for possible future games (Are you sure that Nomad's dead?) To sum up, the overall impression is that the game is more of a standalone expansion like Warhead was to original Crysis, and not the actual third part of the trilogy, with its shortness and few gameplay changes. However, it's a damn good add-on, improving on Crysis 2 in everything but the game's length, and it's a damn good game overall. They called him Prophet. And I will remember him. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    Pretty much all you need to know is buy this game for the multiplayer, treat the single player as a bonus. I tried to get into thePretty much all you need to know is buy this game for the multiplayer, treat the single player as a bonus. I tried to get into the singleplayer, but I couldn't. Go here, shoot that, go stealth; melee that, etc. Too boring for me to continue after a couple hours with a rather generic story. But the multiplayer for me was very fun and addictive. It pretty much feels like cod and killzone, which in general is a good thing. Now to be more specific it's cod with a nanosuit (cloak/armor/superjump). But those things make the multiplayer feel very fast paced and just different enough from other first person shooter's for me to enjoy it. It's not perfect as it does feel TOO much like cod and is pretty barebone's at that (too little support killstreaks). Otherwise a solid multiplayer with a tacked on singleplayer. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Crysis 2 was one of my favorite games of 2011, so naturally I had pretty high expectations for this one. While overall it is an enjoyableCrysis 2 was one of my favorite games of 2011, so naturally I had pretty high expectations for this one. While overall it is an enjoyable shooter not even the nanosuit powers and large open environments are enough to put it at the top of the FPS pile. Considering this series is known for having the best graphics out there I'm a little disappointed to say that, while gorgeous, the game isn't as graphically phenomenal as previous games in the series were. It's still on the high-end of PS3 games, and still puts many other games to shame, but considering that Crysis 2 was the best looking console game ever when it launched I was expecting more. The series doesn't deliver the mind-blowing graphical quality it's known for.

    The single-player campaign is a lot of fun. Cloaking and sneaking around your enemies like a Predator is awesome, and busting out the enhanced armor and rolling through enemies like a tank is just as cool. These nanosuit powers and wide open levels allow you to approach situations any way you see fit. It's a type of freedom you don't get in many other FPS games these days. It also has the most easy to follow story in the series, but that doesn't really make it interesting. It's also still bogged down by the confusing narrative of the previous games. Still the campaign is a fun, if brief, experience that will entertain until the credits roll.

    Multiplayer is about what you would expect from a modern FPS. The progression system pumps out goodies like new weapons or attachments and such as you level up and it has all the modes you would expect now that COD has dominated the scene. Remarkably the nanosuit powers don't really add anything to the multiplayer experience. They're just sort of there. The real standout of the multiplayer offering is the "Hunter mode," which pits a group of regular cell operatives against nanosuit wearing hunters. Here is about the only time nanosuit powers have any effect, and it's just a heck of a lot of fun to try and survive until time runs out as a cell operative, or hunt down as many players as possible as a nanosuit user. It's addicting and the reason I see players sticking around for.

    Overall Crysis 3 offers a very nice package. It might not always impress in this overcrowded military FPS market we have today, but there's enough here to make it worth a look. I'm just disappointed that it didn't blow me away the same way Crysis 2 did. It's an acceptable follow up, and the Hunter mode will make it a great addition to your multiplayer rotation even if the lack of other interesting modes mean it won't stay there for long. My total score for it is a 7.4/10.
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2017
    6
    Never been a big fan of Crysis and it goes with this one too. This is the worst one to date. Its Crysis 2 with a bow. Great graphics butNever been a big fan of Crysis and it goes with this one too. This is the worst one to date. Its Crysis 2 with a bow. Great graphics but boring gameplay at least in my opinion and story with a tacked on multiplayer. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    This was my first Crysis game, and apparently i should really have started at 1 & 2...naturally. But i'm glad i didn't because that might meanThis was my first Crysis game, and apparently i should really have started at 1 & 2...naturally. But i'm glad i didn't because that might mean i actually might have become involved in the story, characters etc and then played this one and been let down. I didnt warm to any of the characters, the type of gaming experience was quite good in the 'tactical' sense. though the bow was cool, BOWS ARE ACTUALLY COOl, this one was ridiculously powerful and toasted all and any. not sure if i like that. especially when you can disappear and splatter enemies right in front of others,all the while hearing tumbleweed...Anyway, aside from that and a few glitches with aiming, the game was ok. I would recommend playing it on super hard because otherwise, its just too easy, especially with the bow and cloak. Buy it for cheap on the PSN. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Why the game is becoming from a sci-fic to magic-fic genre? Also there is no explanation why the hero is qualified to own this magic power. AsWhy the game is becoming from a sci-fic to magic-fic genre? Also there is no explanation why the hero is qualified to own this magic power. As a high-tech-sic-fic genre, merging magic element is really a distortion unacceptable for me.
    And in Crysis 3, I start to hate the hero, because he is so ego rather than a devoting virtue in Crysis 2.
    The story becomes purely non-sense and messy.
    The gameplay is less than 5 hours.
    The graphics is even worse than Crysis 2.
    So a utterly drawback iteration, reflecting the ugly portrait of the money-facing dev.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.