Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the year 2047, Prophet has embarked upon a revenge mission after uncovering the truth behind Cell Corporation's motives for building the quarantined Nanodomes. The citizens were informed that the giant citywide structures were resurrected to protect the population and to cleanse these metropolises of the remnants of Ceph forces. In reality, the Nanodomes are CELL's covert attempt at a land and technology grab in their quest for global domination. With Alien Ceph lurking around every corner and human enemies on the attack, nobody is safe in the path of vengeance. Everyone is a target in Prophet's quest for retribution. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Despite the flaws, Crysis 3 is a triumph that shows a willingness by Crytek to push itself to new heights, achieving a beautiful three-way union of graphical fidelity, compelling storytelling and a honed gameplay experience.[April 2013, p68]
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    Though it’s still saddled with the plot baggage of its predecessors, Crysis 3 is at least the most cohesive story in the series.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    85
    All-in-all Crysis 3 is a great package, despite burning bright half as long. It may have not been exactly what all the fans wanted, but it does a great job of trying to appease as many as it can without sacrificing too much. Add to this a decent, if not groundbreaking multiplayer suite and you have a solid FPS that is more than worth a look.
  4. Such is the strength of the online modes, it lifts the overall package comfortably above the scant story offering. It pains my digits to write ‘technical tour de force’, but it’s hard to describe Crysis 3 any other way. Though lacking soul in places, this striking Prophet can still channel the divine.
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 is a worthy sequel that is highly entertaining on a number of different levels.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Its attractive visuals make Crysis 3 a pleasure to look at, and the game is plenty of fun, though not up to the high standards of its forebears.
  7. 60
    A devolution from open-world brilliance and a far cry from compelling, Crysis 3 is a serviceable sci-fi shooter with noteworthy multiplayer and a story that just barely warrants attention.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The single player is okay but the Multiplayer stands out. It's a blend of battlefield and halo, but with a lot more strategy in how to manage your suits energy. It's really a blast Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Although i was not waiting for this game to come out nearly as much as i was waiting for crysis 2 2 years ago, i still like this game. best game that has come out so far this year. singleplayer gives many different ways to engage the enemy and not just by picking up a SMG instead of assault rifle. also, its not just average 3-4 hour singleplayer. the multiplayer fixes almost everything i didnt like about crysis 2, for example, crysis 2 was a lot of energy saving because sprint, armor and cloak all used the same energy bar, now you can sprint as long as you want and cloak and armor have their own separate bars. and if your wondering your PS3 wont handle this game because the hardware is dated:dont. this game runs perfectly or PS3. PS4 comes out this year but this will beone the most beautiful games you will ever see on PS3. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Only about a 7hrs of game play. Looks stunning for an aging PS3 but no comparison to PC. For how short the game was the story is what really drew me in. The ending is fantastic. Not worth $60. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    7
    the sp is short but fun great stealh big maps only your doing the same thing over and over. the story isnt great eather the voice acting is solid and you got some awesome graphic in this game shooting feels great and fun. the mp is realy cool the hunter mode is realy fun keeps you playing longer the other mode's are just rip ofs of cod only you can be inviseble fore a few second but just the same leveling and futher a solid game withs a lot of fun action 7.5/10 Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    For a game that boasts graphical superiority, Crysis 3 in fact looks the top end of average for a PS3 game(obviously not the case on PC). While this may disappoint, Crysis 3 excels in it gameplay. While I found the single player a little too underwhelming I found the multiplayer a stand out. With fast paced fluid combat that tops anything else before it. Which is strange as they never really mentioned it at any of the previews. However starting off in multiplayer you're likely to find it an unfair battle. Because the guns are way too overpowered. But overall the game is good. Not too different from number 2 though. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    This was my first Crysis game, and apparently i should really have started at 1 & 2...naturally. But i'm glad i didn't because that might mean i actually might have become involved in the story, characters etc and then played this one and been let down. I didnt warm to any of the characters, the type of gaming experience was quite good in the 'tactical' sense. though the bow was cool, BOWS ARE ACTUALLY COOl, this one was ridiculously powerful and toasted all and any. not sure if i like that. especially when you can disappear and splatter enemies right in front of others,all the while hearing tumbleweed...Anyway, aside from that and a few glitches with aiming, the game was ok. I would recommend playing it on super hard because otherwise, its just too easy, especially with the bow and cloak. Buy it for cheap on the PSN. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Why the game is becoming from a sci-fic to magic-fic genre? Also there is no explanation why the hero is qualified to own this magic power. As a high-tech-sic-fic genre, merging magic element is really a distortion unacceptable for me.
    And in Crysis 3, I start to hate the hero, because he is so ego rather than a devoting virtue in Crysis 2.
    The story becomes purely non-sense and messy.
    The gameplay is less than 5 hours.
    The graphics is even worse than Crysis 2.
    So a utterly drawback iteration, reflecting the ugly portrait of the money-facing dev.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.