Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    90
    Finally, console owners can see what the fuss about Crysis was about. Sometimes Crysis in consoles feels and looks better than the PC edition even though some elements (and a full mission...) of the original are missing.
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    90
    PC users have no reason to make a purchase here, but for everyone else, Crytek's smash hit is one of the best downloadable offers to date.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    90
    This console version benefits from improved lighting not seen in the original release that gives the environments a more natural look, but sadly the framerate never quite feels smooth enough.
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    86
    It's literally Crysis on a console, which, as simple and silly as it sounds, is more than most expected.
  5. Oct 9, 2011
    84
    Yeah, the frame rate isn't quite where it needs to be, there's some pop-in, and it just doesn't look downright amazing due to today's standards and this slightly lesser port. The vehicle control is loose and the AI is stupid, but this remains a lot of fun, and the campaign speaks for itself.
  6. You run, sneak and drive around an island that is so beautiful that you would gladly trade in your weapons for swimming trunks and have the rest of the day off for some sunbathing. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    83
    Crysis is still a fantastisch First Person Shooter, but it starts to show its age. The disappointing enemy AI, the sometimes problematic framerate and the amount of pop-up make for a game that doesn't score quite as high on console as it did on PC.
  8. Oct 7, 2011
    83
    The noticeable downgrade in graphical fidelity and occasional bugs aside, the console port of Crysis is still a blast to play. If you're tired of corridor shooters and are looking for a little more freedom on the battlefield, this is a worthwhile download.
  9. While this version of Crysis comes sans multiplayer, it's also available for a budget price, and the single-player campaign alone is easily worth the price of admission. [Dec 2011, p79]
  10. Dec 1, 2011
    80
    A mixture of smart FPS combat and lame shooter cliches. [Christmas 2011, p.105]
  11. The PSN port doesn't look as pretty and there are frame-rate issues when the on-screen actions becomes too intense, but it's still a credible FPS contender. [Holiday 2011, p.78]
  12. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    Crysis comes to consoles, and four years after its release on the PC, there's still nothing quite like it.
  13. 80
    Crysis brings a great single player campaign to the table, which has the ability to keep the average gamer occupied for about 8-10 hours, with some explosive moments to keep it flowing forward.
  14. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    If you never got the chance to play the original Crysis -- either because you didn't have a decent enough rig to power it, or you just never got around to it -- it is still a fantastic shooter that's worth downloading. And considering that it's part of a planned trilogy, now's a good time to get caught up on the story and experience the game that started it all.
  15. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    If you stay patient with occasional stealth hiccups and the brutal frequency of death, Crysis will be well-worth your time, money, and the dangers of experimental Nanosuits.
  16. 76
    Crysis on consoles is really nothing more than the original game with the graphics turned down.
  17. Oct 30, 2011
    75
    If you look at Crysis on the consoles as a standalone downloadable game, you will love the excellent gameplay and the great graphics. But if you compare this game to the original Crysis on PC, you'll be dissapointed. There's absolutely no improvement made over the last four years and the game is stripped down from all its extras.
  18. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    I can't help but feel underwhelmed. Don't get me wrong, it's a competent enough game but one that suffers from a few technical issues, as well as never really managing to stir any emotions from the player. It's not bad for the money, but there's much better out there.
  19. Oct 21, 2011
    67
    If there was one major criticism I'd give the game, it's that the stealth aspect is almost completely debunked by the AI's ability to single you out of dense jungle.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    I remember playing Crysis on the PC and thinking 'this is an awesome game, wish it was in the ps3.' Crysis 2 came out and i played it but it didn't feel like the original, it was linear and the combat was scripted. when Crysis was announced for ps3 i jumped for joy, i bought it and love it. the graphics are good as many current shooters and the controllers are easy to master. you feel like a badass playing this game and the huge open spaces allow you to undertake a mission any way you want, adding replayability. Trophies are a great thing to see and being rewarded for being a badass is great. the little things about the game are great, such as picking up a turtle. swimming with the fishes, sniping the missiles on the side of the helicoptor causing them ignite. shooting the tire out on a humvee as its coming toward you making it flip and roll out of control-I rhymed- overall i recommend it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    6
    One thing to mention, this is NOT really an open world or even sandbox game. I'm not saying this as a complaint, it's just that I saw it being called one so often and was surprised how linear it actually was, so I thought I'd mention it for others. Yes, of course, a lot of the areas are more open than in most other FPS games, but you cannot go anywhere anytime or toy around on the island ect. Save for a few sidemissions, this is structured like your regular shooter, but again, that's no bad thing, in fact, when a linear shooter can pretend it's an open game that well, that's probably a good thing, really.

    However, I happened to not like it that much, after all. Before the "creatures" appear, it's always the same, the same enemies over and over again ect., which is understandable since it's a pseudorealistic setting, so no zombiecyborgkittens from outer space in a tutu. The nanosuit is kind of interesting at first, but you'll soon learn the only thing of real value is the stealth mode ... which will be used again and again and again. Not too bad, I love stealth games to death, that's why I got this game to begin with, but it's just not done very interestingly. If you decide to rely more on weapon power, it plays like a regular FPS with nothing special to it, to be honest. Things get a bit spiced up when the creatures appear and the silly military crap gets ditched, but there's little variation then as well. I think there's two different creature enemies and the one is basically just a smaller version of the other.

    Most annyoing aspect of the game, of the nanosuit, to be precise, is that it talks to you whenever you activate one of the functions ect. It's horrible, in some situations you'll hear "stealth mode - engaged" or similar stuff ten times and more a minute and it cannot be turned off. What were they thinking?

    There are a few zero gravity sections, I did like those a lot and even though I considered the enemies there to be kind of annoying, it was tense and fun.

    Didn't think the graphics were all that spectacular as people made it sound and there were even frequent bugs and glitches. (In the graphics, gameplaywise, I only ran into one glitch with the end boss that was resolved by quitting and restarting the game. Oh, by the way, the final boss is super annoying, even on Normal difficulty.)

    What else ...? Well, there's the story, but: LOL. No, really. Generic "ancient evil/alien attack" BS a B-movie would be ashamed of with ridiculous military crap and characters and dialogue so laughable, you'll wonder if it was meant as a parody.

    Overall, I know I sounded mostly negatively here, but there IS fun to be had and there ARE interesting concepts in the game, like the stealth for instance, but for how generic and sometimes even boring the rest is I cannot rate this game any higher than "above average".
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Having only played this game for the first time a few days ago, I can confidently say this game is one of the best first-person shooters on the PS3 and other consoles. The graphics are amazingly pristine, the environment and scenery is beautiful and the campaign is well done.
    I have to admit, when I first started the game, I didn't expect to be enthralled in the game as much as I was. The controls took a little time to get used to, but once I got the hang of it, the game improved in leaps and bounds. This is definitely engaging and puts the player in some tight spots, giving you the choice of acting stealthily or going on an all-out rampage! I personally preferred playing silently, which leads me into the weapons and attachments. This was one of my favourite things about the game, that you could easily modify a weapon to your specific taste. It's the little things like this that make the game stand out against the cloned FPS games present today. I also liked the fact that when playing on Delta difficulty, the game will not translate the enemy dialogue in game. This is a cool, yet challenging addition to the campaign and is quite refreshing to see.
    My main problems with the game is the length of the story; It is somewhere along the lines of 15 hours of gameplay.The individual chapters themselves also seem to last too long. I do like the secondary objectives that can open up the game a bit more, making it seem less linear. Each chapter's map is fairly large and surprisingly varied, considering the majority of the game is set on one island.
    Overall, a brilliant effort by Crytek. A welcome addition to the FPS genre, offering fresh ideas, captivating visuals and an interesting story.
    Full Review »