Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. It's about eight to ten hours of pure, fast-paced action no one should look down on, unless you're just not a fan of the genre. With such an appealing story and addictive gameplay, Dante's Inferno's only sin seems to be its shameless similarity to Sony's celebrated franchise.
  2. A copycat, yes, but when it's this thrilling, brutal and frankly, awesome we don't care.
  3. You're not going to find a wholly original gameplay experience with Dante's Inferno, but that doesn't mean it's not a hell of an entertaining package -- it's one that fans of action shouldn't miss.
  4. Maybe some recently released games are quite the same (Bayonetta or Darksiders), but none of them entertained me that much. The creepy sound effects, the great graphics and the story make this game to one of my favorites. We will see if God of War III can handle this one.
  5. One of the most intriguing action games of the last years. The setting is great, and despite the similarity with God of War this product can entertain for many hours.
  6. 89
    With Dante you go in to the nine circles of the hell and you have to beat a lot of strange creatures and huge bosses. The game is a copy of God of War, but it is a very good one. Everything in this game is great, the only thing that’s a little bit poor are the graphics. Do you like hack and slash? Well, this game is a fantastic one.
  7. Dante's Inferno is not an innovator of the action genre, but a game that can entertain until the end credits. The gameplay is solid and the great design is an added value, able alone to raise the level of the production. Ultimately a title not brilliant as Bayonetta, but perfect to be played waiting for the upcoming king Kratos.
  8. If you are looking for a slightly darker and edgier version of God of War then look no further than Dante’s Inferno. What it lacks in gameplay originality it more than makes up for with style and substance, painting a dark and sinister portrait of a literary classic and creating a gameplay experience that you won’t soon forget.
  9. 85
    God of War fans will enjoy Dante's Inferno but will most likely pass it over right now given the timing between the adventures of Dante and Kratos.
  10. Dante’s Inferno has taken a bit of flak from the gaming community for borrowing a lot (and I do mean a lot) of gameplay elements from God of War. But when it’s all said and done, Dante’s Inferno is a fun experience.
  11. Playstation gamers will probably turn their noses up at this whilst Xbox followers finally get a chance to play a game like God of War.
  12. Dante’s Inferno is an incredibly fun game with exciting and fast-paced gameplay. However, with a dull storyline experience, Visceral gives me no choice but to call the overall experience of the game mediocre. Of course, if you’re looking strictly for the fun of the gameplay, you can be assured that they’ve delivered on that end.
  13. 82
    Dante's Inferno offers an unique experience with an excellent story. It's too bad the gameplay and graphics can't reach that level. But it remains a game you should definitely consider.
  14. With some impressive combat mechanics, an excellent game world, some of the most disturbing enemies ever seen and tight production values, Dante's Inferno delivers the goods.
  15. Obviously, critics will obsessively compare Dante's Inferno to other games, or complain about the quick time events, but don't let those nitpicky issues prevent you from experiencing this imaginative and fun adventure. It's one Hell of a good time..
  16. Dante's set its own standard in levels of exploity, B-movie style unpleasantness. [Mar 2010, p.112]
  17. Yes, purists might not appreciate the changes made to the source (and Dante will be turning in his grave) but as a gamer I had a blast.
  18. Yes, they took God of War and put it in the cauldron with Prince of Persia but they made it with their own hellish and dark style. Classic literature rocks! [Feb 2010]
  19. Derivative and simple, but well-produced and very playable. Please, just go to Hell. [Mar 2010, p.68]
  20. Decent clone of God of War but barely any innovations.
  21. A brutally entertaining interpretation of the classic poem with some really inspired backdrops. We don't care who they stole the basic concept from.
  22. In basics Dante's Inferno might only be a standard run, but it has its own unique challenges and dynamic atmosphere to keep you interested until the final confrontation at Lake Coeytus.
  23. 80
    There is no doubting that Dante's Inferno owes a lot of what it does right to a certain other franchise, but honestly who cares? The game is an action thrill-ride that will entertain anyone who enjoys action games at all.
  24. One hell of a ride that loses impact because so many others beat Dante to the punch. [Mar 2010, p.82]
  25. 80
    Falls just short of brilliance, and that's its greatest sin. [Issue#189, p.72]
  26. Solid action that's let down by a weak story and lack of momentum. [Mar 2010, p.74]
  27. Fans of the genre should absolutely experience Dante's Inferno, at least through the first seven circles of Hell.
  28. Beyond the similarities with Kratos saga, it's an intense and frantic hack'n slash with brilliantly artistic graphics. Too short and without innovation, Dante's Inferno has what's most important: fun.
  29. Dante’s Inferno feels a lot like God of War, but in the end it is a great game to play!
  30. If you like this type of games you won't be disappointed, but the genre is crowded enough and you should consider it depending on your budget.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 5 out of 47
  1. KostasI.
    Mar 23, 2010
    6
    Ok i will say this first, the game is a complete copy, a clone if you like, of God of war albeit it unfolds into hell and the 7 circles of the 7 deadly sins. The game has some good moments going for it and you will most likely ador the setting especially if you are a little bit of a religious person but the game has 3 severe flaws. 1. The combat is shallow in the same manner (if not more) as God of War. Just millions upon millions of hellish demons to be slain. Cheap shots from them are common, there is no stagger system or a good counterattack system let alone some of the more subtle mechanics that games like Devil May Cry, Bayonetta and Ninja Gaiden are blessed with. Its just functional in a way for you to clear the path and thats about it. 2. Camera system is flawed. Its completely set and you can not move it in any way and it does not like to capture the action to help with the combat. Instead it makes it difficult and enemies will be stringing attacks on you just because the camera fails to show you what it should. Same with the jumping and QTE sections, you will die more than once because its not immediately apparent where you should be going next despite the linearity of the game and you will often plunge to your death. 3. Deceptive difficulty. No matter how much you pump up the difficulty curve the game never makes it fair for you. Its completely out of your hands and controll of how you will perform and yes the previous 2 flaws do account for many of the third flaw. All in all, Dantes Inferno is a good game but i would not recomend a buy for it. Rent it first, play it and then decide if you want it in your collection or not. Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Hey let's play some hack'n'slash!
    Like GoW? Yes,but i have and xbox so let's play Dante's Inferno!
    Cool!

    So any of copy-yelling user out
    there,not everybody can afford both xbox360 and ps3,so if you got and xbox then you don't deserve to play games like GoW?

    For the game it's really awesome nice graphics,epic bosses,sometimes hard as hell,but a decent game.And it even got into Portable version!(PSP with some drawbacks of couse)
    Full Review »
  3. JerryV
    Feb 10, 2010
    4
    Awful awful And downright disgusting. What were they thinking when they sat down to approve the final take. Completely stolen game mechanics from God of War and not even a good clone. I'll give them credit for creating all this hype about how good it was gonna be but what a letdown it was after about 30 minutes of playing. I felt like I was going room to room door to door in hell. It was pure agony to see the Same thing over and over again. It was like a movie with a horrible script and a bad ending. Did anyone else notice what a middle age farce and wimp Dante looks like . He seemed to be begging the damn devil all the time instead iftelling him to "go to hell" what a wimp. I am going back to gamestop and trading in this game for whatever it is theywill give me for it. I don't care what they give me for it, I was suckered out of $60 bucks and imagine a new release will be on the used game section after two days. I gave a score of 4 because gotta give the devs credit for approving and releasing this huge giant bomb R.I.P Dante and please no sequel, enough torture. Full Review »