Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 920 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditoryPrepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditory hallucinations, vertigo, acrophobia, etc. More intricate customization options provide weapons and armor tailoring to player style. [Namco Bandai Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    100
    At the end of the day, Dark Souls II uses more subtle changes to find its own flavor and place in the series as a whole, rather than reinventing the wheel.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    100
    Dark Souls II is a true hardcore challenge, and the weak of will and spine have no place in its cruel and unusual world.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Loyal to its roots and perfectly executed, Dark Souls II is not only a worthy sequel: it is the worthiest homage to the mettle and spirit of hardcore gamers.
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    Everything that made Dark Souls into a cult success carries over: complex game mechanics, punishing but fair gameplay and a richly detailed setting if you dig a little deeper. To keep things fresh, this is peppered with a mix of new elements, from improved graphics and game engine to a better designed starting sequence and new mechanics. Dark Souls II is a perfect sequel to Dark Souls.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    90
    The core gameplay and basic design sensibilities have been retained, and while there are some concessions to player ease, they don't interfere with the gameplay
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    90
    Otherwise, Dark Souls II is outstanding, still a world better than most games and a worthy successor to a game that was, essentially, impossible to follow.
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    70
    Dark Souls 2 won't change anything: if you liked the experience FromSoftware offered in the former episodes, then you will like it again. But if not, you won't start liking now. The great atmosphere, the feeling of loneliness, the intriguing soundtrack and the difficulty still make the quality of this game. But Dark Souls 2 begins to fall behind from the technical point of view, and it's far too demanding for such old-school gameplay.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 192
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will loveEasily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will love it, if you aren't then you won't like it. Like Dark Souls, this game does not hold you hand. It encourages to seek answers for yourself. But it has a more advanced tutorial section than Dark Souls. So it will be helpful to newcomers of the game.The difficulty level is even higher, and the penalty of death is even severe than its predecessor. But if you have the will, you will overcome it. The combat is excellent. It is more fluid and smooth than DaS. I have played almost 20 hours and haven't felt so excited and terrified at the same time playing a game ever before. The enemy design is quite intimidating. You won't just rush into enemies, like other games, before planning what are you going to do. I think this is the most unique game I have played in a LONG time. If you don't have the patience or just play games casually I won't recommend this game. This game needs your time. But if you overcome the challenges of it you will experience a sense of accomplishment like never before. I yelled when I beat the second boss, because he was tough and I died like 15 time trying to beat. But when I did I was overjoyed. So be prepared to die, again and again. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    o Jogo ta muito bom e não tenho nada mais a falar , e tipo ele ta muito massa e cara lindo jogo muito bom parada anormal que e esse jogo tao Jogo ta muito bom e não tenho nada mais a falar , e tipo ele ta muito massa e cara lindo jogo muito bom parada anormal que e esse jogo ta ligado que esse jogo nossa e bolado de + Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome. the only reason i didnt give a 10 is, wheres the thief class??? WTF?
    bandit? adventurer? deprived?? come on
    this game is awesome. the only reason i didnt give a 10 is, wheres the thief class??? WTF?
    bandit? adventurer? deprived?? come on now.............
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    From Software took all the good things about Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and combined them to make one of the best sequels they possiblyFrom Software took all the good things about Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and combined them to make one of the best sequels they possibly could. This time around, instant fast travel and despawning enemies can allow the game to feel more approachable to play, while still maintaining the game on a fairly challenging level. Although this entry didn't feel nearly as hard as the first two, this has a steadier framerate, more fluent controls, more emotionally involved storyline, and a world that is roughly twice the size of Dark Souls 1. Although the main path of Dark Souls 2 felt around the same length, I think it just happened to have more optional areas and boss fights than that of 1.
    One thing that I really appreciated in this one was that New Game+ wasn't forced upon me immediately after the end credits were finished. It actually gives you the option to continue exploring the rest of the game and let's you decide whether or not you ever want to start New Game+ by visiting Majula's bonfire, I felt this game had way more freedom of choice because of this.
    But this game is still far from perfect. I've reported a few hit detection and auto-lock problems across my so-far 87 hours of total playtime. My biggest complaint was that there were a couple specific areas that forced me into PvP matchmaking, when all I want to do is explore the whole world in peace. I don't mind at all getting invaded at anytime, but when the game sets areas to automatically trigger invasions or send me to some other player's world the second I set foot in that particular area, I consider that a flawed design choice: forced multiplayer.
    Other than those issues, I think From Software hit all the right notes with this one. I know a lot of gamers complained about the graphics downgrade. First of all, this isn't next gen, and this still at least looks a little better than the last entry. And second of all, graphics alone have never been what made video games great. It's the gameplay. This is a fantastic game. It is head and shoulders above at least 90% of all the other games out on the market right now. It's a serious contender for a 2014 Game of the Year winner.

    9/10 - Amazing
    Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    I was apprehensive, how come Namco pull it off 3 times in a row? They did.

    One or two areas look pretty poor and unimaginative, but the
    I was apprehensive, how come Namco pull it off 3 times in a row? They did.

    One or two areas look pretty poor and unimaginative, but the gameplay makes them interesting. The rest of the game looks amazing, and will look even better on PC.
    Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    There is nothing memorable about this title. The worlds and characters that intrigued me in the first two games, Demon's and Dark Souls, areThere is nothing memorable about this title. The worlds and characters that intrigued me in the first two games, Demon's and Dark Souls, are flat and uninteresting in Dark Souls 2. While some fans are still saying "Praise the sun!," a reference to Solaire of Astora from the previous Souls title, you probably won't hear anything being repeated for characters in this title. This game plays more like devolved fan fiction, rather than trying to stand on it's own as an interesting new world.

    There are plenty of other problems with this title: Lazy level design, illogical item progression, boring bosses (some that are nearly cut and paste from the previous Souls game), a story that really can't stand on it's own, and many other issues.

    The game is okay for a short while, but after three builds and one NG+, I called it quits with Dark Souls 2. I'm back to playing the first two games.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    Éste es uno de los pocos juegos que no puedo jugar más de 10 minutos. Si lo juego un rato me duele la cabeza y me mareo, nunca me había pasadoÉste es uno de los pocos juegos que no puedo jugar más de 10 minutos. Si lo juego un rato me duele la cabeza y me mareo, nunca me había pasado así con otro juego, me han dicho que es por el framerate, pero para mi es imposible de jugar. Expand

See all 192 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.