Dark Souls II PlayStation 3

Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 995 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditoryPrepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditory hallucinations, vertigo, acrophobia, etc. More intricate customization options provide weapons and armor tailoring to player style. [Namco Bandai Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    100
    At the end of the day, Dark Souls II uses more subtle changes to find its own flavor and place in the series as a whole, rather than reinventing the wheel.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    100
    Dark Souls II is a true hardcore challenge, and the weak of will and spine have no place in its cruel and unusual world.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Loyal to its roots and perfectly executed, Dark Souls II is not only a worthy sequel: it is the worthiest homage to the mettle and spirit of hardcore gamers.
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    Everything that made Dark Souls into a cult success carries over: complex game mechanics, punishing but fair gameplay and a richly detailed setting if you dig a little deeper. To keep things fresh, this is peppered with a mix of new elements, from improved graphics and game engine to a better designed starting sequence and new mechanics. Dark Souls II is a perfect sequel to Dark Souls.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    90
    The core gameplay and basic design sensibilities have been retained, and while there are some concessions to player ease, they don't interfere with the gameplay
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    90
    Otherwise, Dark Souls II is outstanding, still a world better than most games and a worthy successor to a game that was, essentially, impossible to follow.
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    70
    Dark Souls 2 won't change anything: if you liked the experience FromSoftware offered in the former episodes, then you will like it again. But if not, you won't start liking now. The great atmosphere, the feeling of loneliness, the intriguing soundtrack and the difficulty still make the quality of this game. But Dark Souls 2 begins to fall behind from the technical point of view, and it's far too demanding for such old-school gameplay.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 203
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will loveEasily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will love it, if you aren't then you won't like it. Like Dark Souls, this game does not hold you hand. It encourages to seek answers for yourself. But it has a more advanced tutorial section than Dark Souls. So it will be helpful to newcomers of the game.The difficulty level is even higher, and the penalty of death is even severe than its predecessor. But if you have the will, you will overcome it. The combat is excellent. It is more fluid and smooth than DaS. I have played almost 20 hours and haven't felt so excited and terrified at the same time playing a game ever before. The enemy design is quite intimidating. You won't just rush into enemies, like other games, before planning what are you going to do. I think this is the most unique game I have played in a LONG time. If you don't have the patience or just play games casually I won't recommend this game. This game needs your time. But if you overcome the challenges of it you will experience a sense of accomplishment like never before. I yelled when I beat the second boss, because he was tough and I died like 15 time trying to beat. But when I did I was overjoyed. So be prepared to die, again and again. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    This epic sequel offers more content than ever before, and the unique multilayer mechanics are truly working for the first time in the series.This epic sequel offers more content than ever before, and the unique multilayer mechanics are truly working for the first time in the series.

    Pros: Melee is balanced with hundreds of viable weapon choices, simplified upgrading and crisp mechanics. Magic has 4 different paths with more options than ever before. Endless hours of fun PvP. Awesome enemy/boss design. Easiest Co-Op in the series. Great incentives for assisting other players. Many options for making the game harder if you find it too easy. Built from the ground up for re-playability with new traps, gear and enemies exclusively to NG+.

    Cons: The graphics were downgraded (but are still beautiful - for old consoles), hard skill caps mean you'll be wasting your points if you don't know what you're doing. Some lag in PvP. Voice acting is hit or miss. The music took a turn from the first two which effects the "souls" feel. Nearly absent rumble controls. The "soul memory" system frustrates many friends trying to co-op.

    - Lore is even more hidden than DS1, but there DEFINITELY IS a lot there, and there will be deep lore conversations to come.

    - Nearly all of the information online and even in guides is false, misleading or inaccurate. You truly know nothing about anything until you do it yourself. If you hear an item or build is overpowered, broken or useless - your personal findings are likely to be much different and more complex than what you had read. Therese just too much going on, too many variables. Even gameplay videos are misleading.

    - While the complexity may turn some casual gamers away, complexity leads to longevity for those who can't get enough of this game.

    After two 100-hour play-throughs, I'm trying very hard not to play my third character in anticipation for the PC release.
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Absolutely incredible this game is simply one of the best games ever made IMO and sets the new bar for RPGs and games in generally the gameAbsolutely incredible this game is simply one of the best games ever made IMO and sets the new bar for RPGs and games in generally the game took me about 35 hours to complete partly because of the amount of times you die but for me its what makes the game so good because when you finish the game there is no better feeling than knowing that you completed Dark Souls 2. You ask why I see well let me tell why. Its just that every conceivable area has been improved from the original Dark Souls from the gameplay, story, balance, and the overall experience has been improved and has resulted in a true masterpiece in gaming. But I will warn you that this game is only for HARDCORE GAMERS because you aren't then trust me will become a real dark soul but if you are then get out there and buy this masterpiece right now and you wont forget it.
    Thanks for reading my review
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Dark souls 2 is a great game in a lot of ways. Firstly here is nothing more tense then running back to your body to reclaim all your soulsDark souls 2 is a great game in a lot of ways. Firstly here is nothing more tense then running back to your body to reclaim all your souls knowing one false move and that's it, you will have no souls and no means of upgrading your equipment or levelling up, every corner you turn in dark souls 2 you are faced with a fairly big chance of dying. Secondly, the sheer amount of lore the game has is immense but unfortunately they don't incorporate it very well to some new to the series or have not read back ground information before hand, but every single item, enemy and area has a lot of lore and they also leave a lot of doors open to speculate what it actually means. The sense of exploration is also great, and combat is much improved. Pvp seems a bigger focus which I'm not all that happy about but it's tolerable. Unfortunately I find it almost impossible to play his game without using a guide in terms of where to go, there's so many different routes and paths to take, for someone like me that likes having a set goal it can be frustrating, but other players would enjoy hat aspect so I suppose that point is open to debate. The game seems easier to start with however, you can up the difficulty by joining a certain covenant so those that feel the game is too easy look no further, I have also heared beating the game with no deaths earns you a nice reward so that's something to aim towards too. Npc's have a lot of backstorys aswell although the game is quite vague as to how to progress heir story lines, just speak to them till they start repeating themselves, and regularly spend souls at he merchants, and don't kill anyone who doesent attack you before looking online as it could potentially 'ruin' your playthrough. In he end, I think this game is a must buy whether your into difficult games with a great sense of reward, people who love exploring or people that just love fantasy games, dark souls 2 is almost as good as the developers could accomplish, I really hope this isn't the last souls game as I think the series still has so much to give, also, if you take my advice on using a walk through, watch epicnamebro, he is by far the best souls commentator on YouTube and his walk through is great, and he also worked on the official guide on the lore side of things so he will talk you through all the lore in the game as he plays. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2014
    9
    Dark Souls II is difficult. In fact, it's probably the most difficult game I've ever played in my life, but I enjoyed every second of it.Dark Souls II is difficult. In fact, it's probably the most difficult game I've ever played in my life, but I enjoyed every second of it.

    While off-putting at first, Dark Souls II pulls you in with it's exacting gameplay, brutal difficulty and rewarding bosses, every time I finally defeated a beautifully designed boss I felt I actually accomplished something, and I can't say that for most games I've played.

    One of my only gripes with the game is that at times it is difficult to know where to go next, while I respect that they don't explain much I wish that they would have at least given me a general direction of where to go next.

    In my opinion, this is my first Game Of The Year contender for 2014.
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    7
    I'm going to say that this is way over rated. Not hard at all, I just run passed goons to bosses. Goons take too many hits and give youI'm going to say that this is way over rated. Not hard at all, I just run passed goons to bosses. Goons take too many hits and give you barely anything, plus they can one hit you like any boss. I bought the game because of reviews say so good and hard, same old game little different graphics, unneeded annoyances that don't increase difficulty as much as the perception of difficulty. I die because ledges and bad camera angles. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Terrible game, it's a downgrade from Dark Souls. The game feels empty and typical and getting the lordvessel first thing completely kills theTerrible game, it's a downgrade from Dark Souls. The game feels empty and typical and getting the lordvessel first thing completely kills the experience. Melee is nice, Story is boring, every boss was unmemorable and they all attacked the same. All the 5 main bosses were garbage and a copy of previous bosses in the series, the scorpion boss made me realize this is such a **** game. The multiplayer is also still broken. The concept of an arena is nice but stupid when people can still hit you 5 metres away. This is the coding of the game's fault not a connection issue. Also invasions are dumb because you have 10 minutes to kill the player so everyone waits by the bonfire. In addition soul memory is also dumb but they've updated it so it's not so bad now. I have all souls game, and I got Dark Souls 2 the week it came out, black armour edition. I've put in around 400 hours into the game and it still makes me sad knowing I got hyped for this **** Waste of my 60 bucks, I should sell it now, screw it I will Expand

See all 203 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.