Dark Souls II PlayStation 3

Dark Souls II Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1086 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditoryPrepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditory hallucinations, vertigo, acrophobia, etc. More intricate customization options provide weapons and armor tailoring to player style. [Namco Bandai Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    100
    At the end of the day, Dark Souls II uses more subtle changes to find its own flavor and place in the series as a whole, rather than reinventing the wheel.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    100
    Dark Souls II is a true hardcore challenge, and the weak of will and spine have no place in its cruel and unusual world.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Loyal to its roots and perfectly executed, Dark Souls II is not only a worthy sequel: it is the worthiest homage to the mettle and spirit of hardcore gamers.
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    Everything that made Dark Souls into a cult success carries over: complex game mechanics, punishing but fair gameplay and a richly detailed setting if you dig a little deeper. To keep things fresh, this is peppered with a mix of new elements, from improved graphics and game engine to a better designed starting sequence and new mechanics. Dark Souls II is a perfect sequel to Dark Souls.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    90
    The core gameplay and basic design sensibilities have been retained, and while there are some concessions to player ease, they don't interfere with the gameplay
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    90
    Otherwise, Dark Souls II is outstanding, still a world better than most games and a worthy successor to a game that was, essentially, impossible to follow.
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    70
    Dark Souls 2 won't change anything: if you liked the experience FromSoftware offered in the former episodes, then you will like it again. But if not, you won't start liking now. The great atmosphere, the feeling of loneliness, the intriguing soundtrack and the difficulty still make the quality of this game. But Dark Souls 2 begins to fall behind from the technical point of view, and it's far too demanding for such old-school gameplay.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 207
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will loveEasily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will love it, if you aren't then you won't like it. Like Dark Souls, this game does not hold you hand. It encourages to seek answers for yourself. But it has a more advanced tutorial section than Dark Souls. So it will be helpful to newcomers of the game.The difficulty level is even higher, and the penalty of death is even severe than its predecessor. But if you have the will, you will overcome it. The combat is excellent. It is more fluid and smooth than DaS. I have played almost 20 hours and haven't felt so excited and terrified at the same time playing a game ever before. The enemy design is quite intimidating. You won't just rush into enemies, like other games, before planning what are you going to do. I think this is the most unique game I have played in a LONG time. If you don't have the patience or just play games casually I won't recommend this game. This game needs your time. But if you overcome the challenges of it you will experience a sense of accomplishment like never before. I yelled when I beat the second boss, because he was tough and I died like 15 time trying to beat. But when I did I was overjoyed. So be prepared to die, again and again. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This is the first Dark Souls game I've played in this series and I'm now convinced I need to go buy the first one. I was a bit weary of payingThis is the first Dark Souls game I've played in this series and I'm now convinced I need to go buy the first one. I was a bit weary of paying $65.00 for a game I new nothing about so I did a lot of research and what I found was nothing like I had ever seen before. I found that tons of reviews of the previous versions is that they were extremely difficult, challenging and rewarding. I also found that this game isn't for everyone and it's mostly for hardcore gamers. I had to take this challenge and I'm so glad I did. I don't think I've ever had a game that challenges you on the level like Dark Souls 2 does on a consistent basis. From the very beginning, you are tested in your ability to properly block, evade, or roll while finding the right time to attack your opponents. There are countless situations where you need to stop and plan ahead of how you will proceed. You may have to pull one enemy with an arrow while jumping down to evade another and kill two demons below you all at the same time. You also must fight bosses that are extremely tough and it may take quite a few deaths to learn their patterns and figure out how to beat them.

    For all of the challenges you will face, this game is also incredibly rewarding! There are tons of gear, armor, and weapons for loot and upgrade. Do you risk a death to obtain an amazing ring? Or do you wait until your stronger and come back later? The beautiful thing is that it's all up to you! You have full customization options of your character and can choose from many different classes and play styles. I'm maybe halfway through and have found around 60 different weapons including: spears, swords, hammers, and bows/crossbows and around 10 different armor sets.

    As you make your way through certain areas, the fact that every single creature can literally kill you, this game has a way of instilling fear into you and I find that amazing! I find myself entering new areas with a certain hesitation and with my shield raised in case of an ambush, all the while my hands are literally trembling.

    I highly recommend Dark Souls 2 to any player who loves RPGs but wants to take it to the next level! You will experience fear, anger, excitement, despair, and then you will be rewarded, or die.
    Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    this game is awesome. the only reason i didnt give a 10 is, wheres the thief class??? WTF?
    bandit? adventurer? deprived?? come on
    this game is awesome. the only reason i didnt give a 10 is, wheres the thief class??? WTF?
    bandit? adventurer? deprived?? come on now.............
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    9
    From had some pretty high expectations to live up to with this title and they delivered. I'm a big fan of the series and this game is a veryFrom had some pretty high expectations to live up to with this title and they delivered. I'm a big fan of the series and this game is a very worthwhile addition. I was a little worried they would dumb the game down too much but this very much preserves the spirit of the previous titles. For me these games are all about perserverance and discovery. I never play with a walkthough the first time through and I always miss some major things, but it just makes the next playthrough that much more enjoyable.

    And there is a lot to play here. The game is massive and easily took me over 100 hours to complete. I think the amount of content here more than makes up for any lack of connectivity between locations. That was one of the major strenghts of Dark Souls but I think From just went in a different direction here and stressed additional content over an interconnected level design. I think the game looks fantastic so I was surprised to see so many complaining about the graphics.

    Most of the changes that From made for DaS 2 are a welcome addition. Dual Wielding was really nice touch and improves what was far and away the best action combat system in the RPG genre (although I wish they had put that in the tutorial because I was well over halfway though my playthrough before I even noticed you could attack with both weapons simulateously). Some of the bosses are a little lackluster (probably because there are more of them) but this game for sure has it's share of memorable and terrifying monsters - in fact that is one of the more noticable improvements over dark. souls where I felt they just recycled a bunch of bosses from Demons Souls. I've always been more of a PVE player but the multiplayer is a lot more fun for me now. The nerfed the backstab which was really infuriating in Dark Souls and I get invaded far less often in Dark Souls2. There are plenty of opportunities for PvP and it is more now covenant driven which is a direction I agree with completely. The voice acting and music are once again top notch.

    There are a few changes which I didn't care for. The major one was the ease with which you can warp between bonfires. I can see some need for it because the world is really large and there are less connection points, but they easily could have limited this in some way. I think you lose a little bit of the immersion when you can just warp anywhere you want at any time. The lore and mystery is a bit lacking compared to the prior games but let's face it - this series is pretty heavy on obsurity and story has never been a huge component of the game as it is more about piecing things together on your own. That element still remains but has been toned down.

    Demons Souls is still my personal favorite in the series but Darks Souls 2 is a very close second. I hope they add on a DLC pack at some point because I will probably still be playing this by the time it comes around.
    Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    If Dark Souls 2 seems easier. Its because you have gotten really good at Dark Souls 1. You understand how to win and you understand that deathIf Dark Souls 2 seems easier. Its because you have gotten really good at Dark Souls 1. You understand how to win and you understand that death is part of the experience that makes victory all the more sweeter. The inclusion of soul vessels makes playing with builds on your first play through a deeper experience. And as you start new games or continue with new game plus you know how to build your character according to your play style. In this regard the game can become easier because you become more powerful both through stats and your understanding of enemy patterns, However there are ways to keep the difficulty up. Bonfire aesthetics when used make the enemies in the area more difficult by turning it into essentially a new game plus and it stacks. I for example made a certain area new game plus lv 4 on my first play through. There is also a covenant that makes the entire game harder by increasing enemy HP and attack strength the covenant also removes summoning signs so you will have to kill bosses solo :). The rewards are awesome for this covenant .

    If you loved Dark Souls 1 there is no reason why Dark Souls would be a disappointment. It is essentially the same game but with more content and new play style approaches. The difficulty is player controlled once you master its initial difficulty.

    For new comers this game will be tough but not as seemingly impossible as the first.This is due to the fast bonfire traveling and the co-op covenants which make dealing with bosses, player invasions and clearing tough areas easier. The story is pieced together via npc scripts and the lore found on items. the world and items tells you the story, it inst presented to you directly. So if you approach this as a hack and slash action rpg that feeds you story line through a friendly and animated world you wont enjoy the experience. Because there is a overwhelming sense of despair leading on to nihilism that blankets the game from start to finish. Getting through it and uncovering the games secrets requires commitment and perseverance that ultimately leaves you feeling hallow even after you win, because you want more, only to realize that more is harder and your victory means nothing.

    The Bad: evading enemy attacks is unfair at times. The AI tracking is too good so good that at times i feel the game cheats in the timing of each attack. the longer the battle drags on the more unpredictable the bosses become. Since they can 2 hit or 1 hit you I feel that this is an aspect that adds an artificial difficulty to the game that will leave most frustrated. The soul vessels that allows for respecing sort of taking away from the element of making and experimenting with new characters. Since you get I 3 in your first play through it doesn't really make sense to start another hero and going through the motions.
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    7
    I'm going to say that this is way over rated. Not hard at all, I just run passed goons to bosses. Goons take too many hits and give youI'm going to say that this is way over rated. Not hard at all, I just run passed goons to bosses. Goons take too many hits and give you barely anything, plus they can one hit you like any boss. I bought the game because of reviews say so good and hard, same old game little different graphics, unneeded annoyances that don't increase difficulty as much as the perception of difficulty. I die because ledges and bad camera angles. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    An unworthy successor. Following two of the best games I've ever played high standards need to be met, and ds2 doesn't come close. While aAn unworthy successor. Following two of the best games I've ever played high standards need to be met, and ds2 doesn't come close. While a great deal of it's failing can be traced to the same deeply flawed decision by the devs to make multiplayer opt out rather than opt in (present in both demon's souls and dark souls) it's disastrous implementation in dark souls 2 pales when compared to its greatest shortcomings. In both predecessors the threat of having some random fool/player/griefer drop into your game to ruin your day was always a threat and made the lack of pausing, safe zones asinine (level 3 knights shouldn't have to face off against a jerk wearing allant' s armor and a scraping spear, and I shouldn't come back from the bathroom standing next to a bonfire on top of my bloodstain) but now they've raised the bar and guaranteed to over with multiplayer. It's brilliant that the game hangs for a moment to let you know you're being invaded. Not so great when it happens again. And again. And ag... well it was happening again only while you were standing still with all those pauses the first person who invaded ran in for a backstabbing, and you're dead. Not to worry, because things could be worse, at least there aren't places where other players can pull you into their game over and over and over until your equipment is breaking and you run out of supplies and have to quit the area. Well, not before invasionland there aren't.
    As lousy an implementation as is the poorly conceived multiplayer, it shines when compared to the awful camera. The camera was great in demon's souls, doing exactly what I wanted when I wanted. It was till pretty good in dark souls, somewhat twitchy but for the most part it didn't make things more difficult. This time around the camera might be the toughest obstacle in the game. Movements is quick and crisp when trying to make fine adjustments and painfully slow when it needs speed. The cameras behavior being the opposite of what is required at nearly every given moment isn't difficult, it's lazy and frustrating. If that isn't enough, the camera is stellar when compared to the controller. The slightest touch might launch you into a full Sprint, or moving further and further off center may do nothing more than keep you moving at a crawl--until you suddenly take off running. I've also gained no appreciation for the way buttons and triggers work to *maybe* cast spells, use weapons or a shield--or do multiple things all at once, back out of one menu, then the apparent menu, then hop backwards off a cliff, all with a single touch.
    All three souls titles have flaws at their core. This game has failings evwrywhere.
    Collapse

See all 207 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.