Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 904 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditoryPrepare to die... Again. Dare yourself to engage against intense gameplay in a vast world powered by a new engine. Immerse yourself into mind-bending environments filled with new twisted monsters and deadly bosses. A vast array of threats will prey on human senses & phobias - auditory hallucinations, vertigo, acrophobia, etc. More intricate customization options provide weapons and armor tailoring to player style. [Namco Bandai Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    100
    At the end of the day, Dark Souls II uses more subtle changes to find its own flavor and place in the series as a whole, rather than reinventing the wheel.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    100
    Dark Souls II is a true hardcore challenge, and the weak of will and spine have no place in its cruel and unusual world.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Loyal to its roots and perfectly executed, Dark Souls II is not only a worthy sequel: it is the worthiest homage to the mettle and spirit of hardcore gamers.
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    Everything that made Dark Souls into a cult success carries over: complex game mechanics, punishing but fair gameplay and a richly detailed setting if you dig a little deeper. To keep things fresh, this is peppered with a mix of new elements, from improved graphics and game engine to a better designed starting sequence and new mechanics. Dark Souls II is a perfect sequel to Dark Souls.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    90
    The core gameplay and basic design sensibilities have been retained, and while there are some concessions to player ease, they don't interfere with the gameplay
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    90
    Otherwise, Dark Souls II is outstanding, still a world better than most games and a worthy successor to a game that was, essentially, impossible to follow.
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    70
    Dark Souls 2 won't change anything: if you liked the experience FromSoftware offered in the former episodes, then you will like it again. But if not, you won't start liking now. The great atmosphere, the feeling of loneliness, the intriguing soundtrack and the difficulty still make the quality of this game. But Dark Souls 2 begins to fall behind from the technical point of view, and it's far too demanding for such old-school gameplay.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 190
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will loveEasily one of the greatest RPGs of this generation. If you are a gamer that wants to explore and figure things out by yourself you will love it, if you aren't then you won't like it. Like Dark Souls, this game does not hold you hand. It encourages to seek answers for yourself. But it has a more advanced tutorial section than Dark Souls. So it will be helpful to newcomers of the game.The difficulty level is even higher, and the penalty of death is even severe than its predecessor. But if you have the will, you will overcome it. The combat is excellent. It is more fluid and smooth than DaS. I have played almost 20 hours and haven't felt so excited and terrified at the same time playing a game ever before. The enemy design is quite intimidating. You won't just rush into enemies, like other games, before planning what are you going to do. I think this is the most unique game I have played in a LONG time. If you don't have the patience or just play games casually I won't recommend this game. This game needs your time. But if you overcome the challenges of it you will experience a sense of accomplishment like never before. I yelled when I beat the second boss, because he was tough and I died like 15 time trying to beat. But when I did I was overjoyed. So be prepared to die, again and again. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    o Jogo ta muito bom e não tenho nada mais a falar , e tipo ele ta muito massa e cara lindo jogo muito bom parada anormal que e esse jogo tao Jogo ta muito bom e não tenho nada mais a falar , e tipo ele ta muito massa e cara lindo jogo muito bom parada anormal que e esse jogo ta ligado que esse jogo nossa e bolado de + Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    This game is an absolute masterpiece; both the environments and enemies are beautifully designed, and when combined create a dark, immersiveThis game is an absolute masterpiece; both the environments and enemies are beautifully designed, and when combined create a dark, immersive game world. Yes, it is challenging, but the euphoria that you experience when you defeat a tough group of enemies or a boss is second to none in my opinion. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    I just want to say this is the best money I've spent in a very long time for a great game. I am an obsessed gamer and could probably open aI just want to say this is the best money I've spent in a very long time for a great game. I am an obsessed gamer and could probably open a shop with all the games i have. The mood of darks souls 2 just brought me into the goth/medievil heaven i loved when i played demons souls.The graphics are timeless and amazing. The gameplay is fluid and extremely realistic and i have to admit that demons souls was more difficult and this felt a little less difficult but at the same time it lets you learn your flaws to do it over with a better idea of what to do. The only thing i would like a little more is definitely more cinematics because it feels like playing for a very long time without a progression of a storyline. An extended cinematic experience would have made you feel like even moving towards a greater goal. I am crazy about stories so for me this was the only flaw the game had. That is my only reason for going it a 9 and if you don't like this game it probably means your just not as good as us hardcore gamers!LOL.I really hope they make a dark souls 3 for PS4 because that will be one of the greatest moments in gaming history. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    While most games tend to hold your hand throughout the game, this game release its grip and leaves you to journey out the beautifully designedWhile most games tend to hold your hand throughout the game, this game release its grip and leaves you to journey out the beautifully designed world. Most games wouldn't do it as it seems a risk, but this game delivers a once in a lifetime experience or true hardcore gaming. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    After I pushed past the fact that the game does not look as it was advertised and has many more unacceptable framerate drops than in theAfter I pushed past the fact that the game does not look as it was advertised and has many more unacceptable framerate drops than in the original Dark Souls, I was able to find a game worthy, in the most part, of being part of the Souls series. Despite the games recent boost in popularity, From keeps the games challenge intact, and delivers another experience that you won't find really anywhere else, poor graphics and all. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    Éste es uno de los pocos juegos que no puedo jugar más de 10 minutos. Si lo juego un rato me duele la cabeza y me mareo, nunca me había pasadoÉste es uno de los pocos juegos que no puedo jugar más de 10 minutos. Si lo juego un rato me duele la cabeza y me mareo, nunca me había pasado así con otro juego, me han dicho que es por el framerate, pero para mi es imposible de jugar. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.