Dark Souls PlayStation 3

Dark Souls Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1332 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Project Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filledProject Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filled with decadent atmosphere, with a heavy emphasis on player freedom in discovering various tactics and strategies to use in weapon based combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    100
    It's tragic that not all of us have the time or temperament to play through Dark Souls, but one truth remains clear: if you're ready for it, it's ready for you.
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    95
    One of the best games of the year and one of the most punishing ones. Dark Souls is superb, but it's not a game for everyone. You have been warned.
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    92
    From Software achieves one of the most addictive games this year. Dark Souls' difficulty level can sound just as heavy as it is, but at the same time it's enough to keep you engaged to its addictive gaming experience.
  4. 90
    An incredibly assured attempt to rewrite the rules of modern gaming, where even the smallest mistake can cost you dear but the tiniest victory seems like an epic achievement.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Get into the Dark Souls mindset and be prepared for repeated failure in one of the most engrossing gaming experiences available.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    85
    All in all, Dark Souls is a more difficult, but less enjoyable (and less accessible) Demon's Souls.
  7. 70
    Hard is hard. Though greatly satisfying at times, Dark Souls consists of many hours of pure frustration.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 379
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    omg awesome game im a huge fan of demons souls n this game is amazing not for everyone but for the few real gamers its deep and worth everyomg awesome game im a huge fan of demons souls n this game is amazing not for everyone but for the few real gamers its deep and worth every penny looks lke another 2 years of my life Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Dark Souls is a fantastic beautiful dark fantasy action role-playing game that requires patience and time to progress. The satisfactionDark Souls is a fantastic beautiful dark fantasy action role-playing game that requires patience and time to progress. The satisfaction you'll get from killing difficult enemies is unlike anything in any other game. The visuals and art design are detailed to the max and if you played the previous Demon Souls then you'll be surprised by the huge graphical overhaul this game has. Before I end this review.. It's my strongest opinion that this game should of beat Elder Scrolls for the best RPG of the year.. Just Sayin' Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    To say the least, get the combat of a action game with a few neat innovations, and without the combos. Get the character creation,To say the least, get the combat of a action game with a few neat innovations, and without the combos. Get the character creation, customization and limitation, with every point counting from a tactical RPG.
    Get the world a large book series, complete with hidden intricacies, plots and characters and make people read between the lines to find out more. Then mash them together and remove a tutorial. Take the hardest difficult, put it on steroids then repeat a few times. Prepare to die.
    This game then takes what a action RPG should be, and makes it perfect. Every fight, whether against a dragon, knight or un-dead feels challenging and worthwhile. Combat is about combining precision, tactics and execution. Lure out enemies so you don't get over whelmed, bunch them together for a fireball, all while watching your supply of potions and spells decrease. You shape your character how you want, with the story even offering flexibility its progression, as well as about 10 different stats to focus on for development (in comparison to certain RPG's with 2-3 development stats).
    But there's the beauty of the game. As you traverse the beautifully crafted areas of the world, you play as you character. And that's what makes it satisfying when you kill a normal enemy, sub-bosses releasing great happiness. After your character figures out how to beat a boss after dying to them a bazillion times you receive a sense of satisfaction and ecstasy that no other game can provide. And that's why you play dark souls.
    Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing and extremely difficult. if you do not enjoy challenging games, like that of the NES era, then you will not appreciateThis game is amazing and extremely difficult. if you do not enjoy challenging games, like that of the NES era, then you will not appreciate the learning curve of this game. If you want a balls to the wall, hardcore 3rd person RPG, then dark souls if for you. Would highly recommend the strategy guide Collapse
  5. Nov 13, 2015
    9
    Dark Souls is truly a unique experience. Releasing amongst a demographic of gamers who are used to playing games with little difficulty andDark Souls is truly a unique experience. Releasing amongst a demographic of gamers who are used to playing games with little difficulty and little consequence for your failure, Dark Souls goes against the grain by not just making the player face tough obstacles and challenging gameplay, but also by punishing them every time they die or make a mistake. It takes you on a journey of pain but also great empowerment whenever you overcome its obstacles, and it’s certainly an experience I’ll never forget.

    Dark Souls gameplay is hack and slash in its nature, but it doesn’t bode well to play it like one. In a game where getting hit three times by a standard enemy can kill you, Dark Souls is less about fast paced reactionary gameplay and more methodical planned out strategy. Scanning your enemy for an opening, striking when the time is right, learning how many hits he’ll take, how he reacts and finding out how to react to his counter is all key.

    So many factors go into effecting your strategy as well. How resistant is your shield to physical and magical damage? Is it effective enough, or should you roll out of the way? Is the armor you're wearing light enough to allow me to dodge quickly but also strong enough to protect me? In Dark Souls unforgiving world, sometimes the only way of knowing if you’re strategy works or if you’re progressing is to go out into the world and see if you survive. In fact, in an area of three different branching paths, the only real way to find out which way is the correct way is to see which one doesn’t kill you within the first 60 seconds.

    But, when you do die, Dark Souls is not afraid to let you know that you messed up. Killing enemies grants you souls which acts as both your experience points and your currency for buying items and weapons. Die, and you’ll have to travel back to your dead body to retrieve the souls you lost. Die before that happens, and they’re gone forever.

    What makes Dark Souls so different is the game’s very own checkpoint system. Checkpoints are linked directly to fireplaces, which are your safe havens from your enemies. What I’m glad to see is that unlike Demon’s Souls checkpoint system of opening up shortcuts, Dark Souls’ fireplace system is so much more consistent. I never found an area where there was not a fireplace within two minutes running distance of another one, and often times, levels are smartly designed to incorporate shortcuts or opening paths previously locked off to you to make some fireplaces more accessible from multiple areas, and that’s the beauty of Dark Souls level design. Most of Dark Souls feels like one big cohesive level of multiple paths and areas, and by the end of it, you’ll easily have the whole map laid out in your head.

    However, Dark Souls is not without its caveats. Even things that seem purely beneficial usually have some draw back. Even fireplaces, which do keep you safe from enemies and refill your healing flask, also revive all of the common enemies. It’s not a game that will hold your hand. For example, you can go around and try to find weapons, but you’ll soon discover the only real way to make a truly descent weapon is to find one that fits your play style and find a blacksmith to improve it using found or bought materials. Most of the time, the only way to proceed in Dark Souls is to truly pay attention to its environment, what it tells you, and you must adapt.

    Overall, Dark Souls has it all. Challenge, unique gameplay, awesome boss fights, and smart enemy and level design which compels you to push forward despite your frustrations. So is the game perfect? No, it isn’t. Dark Souls does have its flaws that its fan base is all too quick to ignore. For example, one of the biggest annoyances is the lack of a pause feature. I understand Dark Souls intentions of removing this feature, but there were a few times during play, I had to get up immediately and walk out. A couple of those times I was in the middle of a battle and died as a result. From Software needs to realize that real life does get in the way of gaming sometimes, so a pause button is a must.

    The other real complaint I have is the game’s promise of being challenging but fair, and I do applaud From Software for accomplishing that feature most of the game. I’d say 95 percent of the deaths were my fault, but there was the occasional cheap hit or badly designed level piece that got me killed unfairly. The lock on for example, causes a lot of camera issues when up against walls or low ceilings, and makes seeing your enemies difficult. They’re rare occasions, but they do happen.

    However, any complaints I have don't dampen the experience and I did really enjoy Dark Souls. However I do conclude that it is not a game for everyone. It has its audience, and if you’re not into this kind of game and its particular style, that’s perfectly fine, but I – and a lot of other people – will remember Dark Souls for quite a long time as a really special game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    i find it impossible not to compare dark souls to demon's souls, and find it ultimately falls short - but only just. still got some greati find it impossible not to compare dark souls to demon's souls, and find it ultimately falls short - but only just. still got some great gameplay and music - but i found the game's atmosphere feels less spooky. still better than 99% of the games out there, just a little duller than the "prequel" Expand
  7. May 12, 2016
    0
    This game is so bad that I could poop on a disc and make a better game. Like the first boss he was so hard! he like killed me twice! I'm goodThis game is so bad that I could poop on a disc and make a better game. Like the first boss he was so hard! he like killed me twice! I'm good at this game too! I'm good at every game! this game sucks. Expand

See all 379 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.