User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 274

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This gem is hands down one of the most underrated games in a while. The reviews are pretty good across the board but I am the only person I know that bought this game. To me this game is the ultimate gamerâ
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This Gem is probably the most overlooked and underrated games this generation. It is a amazing experience that is fun, beautiful, and controls perfectly. I love the comic book look and feel to the game, the puzzles are amazing and the dungeons are expertly crafted. If Miyamoto played this game he would respect vigil and their craft as level designers. It has alot of zelda in it more thanThis Gem is probably the most overlooked and underrated games this generation. It is a amazing experience that is fun, beautiful, and controls perfectly. I love the comic book look and feel to the game, the puzzles are amazing and the dungeons are expertly crafted. If Miyamoto played this game he would respect vigil and their craft as level designers. It has alot of zelda in it more than any other game i actually think zelda is in the combat more that god of war(if youve played twilight princess and ocariana of time youll know what i mean). The story is very well done with great voice acting ( Mark Hamil anyone) and the framerate runs very smooth there is no texture popping from what ive seen and the collectibles are actually fun to collect. I also love how the combos make you use all the weapons in wars arsenal and use the dash and lock on systems that flow perfectly with the combat. Perfect 10 cant wait for the sequel. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Flawless tale. Awaiting theFlawless tale. Awaiting the sequel.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game = a lot of fun and blood Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than Devil may cry 4 and God of War 3 !! I dont know why people are saying that Darksiders is a **** game and God of War 3 is better!! To be honest i liked God of War 3 , but Darksiders is soooo much better!! The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best gamesHands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than Devil may cry 4 and God of War 3 !! I dont know why people are saying that Darksiders is a **** game and God of War 3 is better!! To be honest i liked God of War 3 , but Darksiders is soooo much better!! The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 27 hours it will take you less if you didnt explore enough (the game is semi-open world ) it will take you even longer if tried to platinum it Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than bayonetta and God of War 3 Darksiders is soooo much better than those games The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and the game is semi-open world so it will take you even longerHands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than bayonetta and God of War 3 Darksiders is soooo much better than those games The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and the game is semi-open world so it will take you even longer if you looked for collectables and tried to platinum it Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the gameThis is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the game even more. The dungeons in this game a pretty impressive on their own, but puzzle are just mind boggling and make the player want to work harder. The hack and slash combat is so none less then that off God of War. So in a nutshell it's like Legend of zelda and God of War had sex and their baby was Darksiders Collapse
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    One of the BEST games ever.. Simply AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    i bought this game its not bad i thought all time it was out it be crap game but it best game i ever played stories got me sucked into it like other game before
  10. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    The more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move thatThe more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move that you've never seen before. I literally said "Holy **** out loud every time War completely obliterated something. There are only a couple of very small things I found wrong with this game, but they are minute and don't negatively affect gameplay. Amazing game, must-play. Expand
  11. May 3, 2013
    10
    I have just recently come back to gaming after a 10 year hiatus. I was always a Nintendo kid growing up, but I'm not a fan of the Wii so I got a PS3. This game is the closest thing to a Zelda game that I have been able to find. I absolutely loved it! I thought the story was good and the ending leaves itself open to sequels. I hope they make a game for each horseman. The puzzles wereI have just recently come back to gaming after a 10 year hiatus. I was always a Nintendo kid growing up, but I'm not a fan of the Wii so I got a PS3. This game is the closest thing to a Zelda game that I have been able to find. I absolutely loved it! I thought the story was good and the ending leaves itself open to sequels. I hope they make a game for each horseman. The puzzles were fun, if not a little too easy, and the fighting is amazing! Expand
  12. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    So I wrote a review on this game, and it hasn't shown up yet in my feed or here in the list, so I am going to re-write a quick version. So if my original shows up, apologies for the double post. The atmosphere is great and filled with a lot of diversity. Some levels are dark and depressing, while others a bright and colorful. The combat is tight although you will never really need to useSo I wrote a review on this game, and it hasn't shown up yet in my feed or here in the list, so I am going to re-write a quick version. So if my original shows up, apologies for the double post. The atmosphere is great and filled with a lot of diversity. Some levels are dark and depressing, while others a bright and colorful. The combat is tight although you will never really need to use any of your extra weapons. Your primary weapon is where it is at. In other official reviews I read that the combat got old, I never felt this way. I thought it was fun till the very end trying to pull off as many combos as possible. The temples were good, if not a little on the easy side, however the last temple you are in really shows the potential that the possible sequels could have. The puzzles where challenging and engaging with just the right amount of combat worked in. My one issue is that the game was a little on the short side for what it was. I finished at a little over 20 hours. That is long for most single player games today, but when it is in the same general genre as games like Zelda that clocks in around 50+ hours. If you are someone who really likes to collect all items (which I am... not sure what happened this game as I really failed in that area) then you could probably stretch it out to around 25-30 hours. Its a great game and I highly recommend it. Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    A great game that mixes stuff from the very greats of video gaming. The graphics are neat and the bosses really awesome. The difficulty level is just right and at about 25 hours the game is just as long as it should be. Also I had more fun playing this than the most recent Zelda for Wii because here you have something usefull to spend your in-game money on, not just some empty bottles andA great game that mixes stuff from the very greats of video gaming. The graphics are neat and the bosses really awesome. The difficulty level is just right and at about 25 hours the game is just as long as it should be. Also I had more fun playing this than the most recent Zelda for Wii because here you have something usefull to spend your in-game money on, not just some empty bottles and such. The battle system could be a little more complicated but all in all I really enjoyed playing this! Expand
  14. FiZ
    Aug 22, 2010
    8
    It's true, this game takes a lot of cues from Zelda, and every other action/RPG(ish) kind of game out there. But I still enjoy Darksiders because it does it well. I especially like the fact that I've found uses for all the weapons in the game instead of just relying on one or two attacks. If I had to list any complaints, it would be that the story gets pretty slow in the middle. ButIt's true, this game takes a lot of cues from Zelda, and every other action/RPG(ish) kind of game out there. But I still enjoy Darksiders because it does it well. I especially like the fact that I've found uses for all the weapons in the game instead of just relying on one or two attacks. If I had to list any complaints, it would be that the story gets pretty slow in the middle. But otherwise, great design, combat and puzzles. Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2011
    8
    this game makes me think the legend of zelda and god of war had a baby . its a fairly solid game that is fun and very well voice acted . graphics are pretty good , the puzzles are well put together . my gripes with this game is the story is weak and the controls are abit over complex . the last 1/3 of the game feels pretty much like all you are doing is solving puzzles and not doing muchthis game makes me think the legend of zelda and god of war had a baby . its a fairly solid game that is fun and very well voice acted . graphics are pretty good , the puzzles are well put together . my gripes with this game is the story is weak and the controls are abit over complex . the last 1/3 of the game feels pretty much like all you are doing is solving puzzles and not doing much fighting . it just looses its balance between the two . still that aside you still have a fun game worth playing with some nice boss battles . its worth atleast renting and now you can buy it for under $15 so also worth the money to just own it. Expand
  16. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    This is a game designed by gamers. There is so much to love about Darkisders, the huge bosses, the fun hack and slash, the dark storyline, the horseman's continually increasing arsenal of weapons and tools, and the game design amongst other things. The downisde however is the somewhat repetitive gameplay, but overall the game is great.
  17. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    i like this game quite a bit. even though the only thing unique about this gmae is the story i enjoy playing through this and the only thing i see people complaining about is the fact that it does not have any origanality but i for one dont care because it is taking the good parts of the games it copies and puts them all together into one nice little package. the graphics are pretty goodi like this game quite a bit. even though the only thing unique about this gmae is the story i enjoy playing through this and the only thing i see people complaining about is the fact that it does not have any origanality but i for one dont care because it is taking the good parts of the games it copies and puts them all together into one nice little package. the graphics are pretty good and i love the character design and every time i saw a new character or monster i had to say to myself "Wow" because the artists that made this game put alot of care into designing this game. the puzzles are very good as well because they are not all easy and they are just hard enough to get you frustrated but when you finnaly do it you feel a sense of accomplishment. really the only problems i had with this game were the stale voice acting and the linear story. the voice acting is not very good in this game due to the fact that it is very stale they are always talking about the journey ahead and putting just a little comedy in there once and a while can never hurt. the game is way too linear but it does not diminish the fact that it is a good game but dont fool yourself into thinking that you have any control over the story in any way because it is just basicly a straight line from start to finish with obvious structures and walls that pop up behind you to keep you going in the right direction. this game is a must have for all gamers and is very easy to pick up and play and i cant recomend it enough Expand
  18. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    This game borrows from so many games it's hard not to love it, because it does a good job of blending so many elements. If God of war, Zelda, Uncharted, Prince of Persia all had a baby...you'd have Darksiders !

    I bought this game without any suggestion from reviews or friends, I had $30 of in store credit and this just caught my eye for some reason. So I took it home and popped it in for
    This game borrows from so many games it's hard not to love it, because it does a good job of blending so many elements. If God of war, Zelda, Uncharted, Prince of Persia all had a baby...you'd have Darksiders !

    I bought this game without any suggestion from reviews or friends, I had $30 of in store credit and this just caught my eye for some reason. So I took it home and popped it in for about 20 minutes, and it sat for almost a year before I touched it again.

    You see a game really needs to grab me right away, and the opening to this game just wasn't paced right for me. I let it gather dust for a year and now I'm really sad I did, because when I finally gave it the time of day I was pleasantly surprised!

    While it does crawl to a start, once you get going the adventure just sucks you in! The worlds are apocalyptic wastelands and ruins you explore trying to upgrade all your gear and figure out what's going on.

    The boss fights are nothing short of epic, and the voice acting is superb for the characters. I don't think I've ever been so excited to see the next boss, or meet the next character in the story as this game.

    There are lots of puzzles to solve and areas to explore, and the more gear you get the more you are going to want to revisit past areas with new abilities. By the end of the game you are totally equipped to handle anything and you'll want to explore every inch of this incredible world.

    I would have given this game a higher score, but the pacing in the beginning really did put me off for a long time, and there are a lot of frustrating puzzles that you wont have any clue what to do on. And the story is a little watered down.

    This game really is incredible, it mixes so many names in and really makes it stand out as it's own game. This game is really cheap these days, and the sequel is due out soon so there is no reason you should pass on this game at all.

    It's an incredible adventure, who's bosses are down right awesome! You're sure to have a good time with this one, if you like any of the games I've compared it to. Just be sure to tolerate the first 30 minutes and you won't be disappointed !
    Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2014
    8
    I bougth this game a year later after the release when the price seemed reasonable, I really liked this game. As people I have heard describe it, "it's like Legend of Zelda meets God of War". That's the best way to put it.
  20. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    This game could have been truly awesome. The first half of the game pulls you straight into a zelda style romp around some beautiful looking areas with some excellent level designs and intriguing puzzles. Though somehow it all seems to fall apart and the game loses its direction and becomes a bit tiresome as it shoves you along without properly developing its story or its gameplay. TheThis game could have been truly awesome. The first half of the game pulls you straight into a zelda style romp around some beautiful looking areas with some excellent level designs and intriguing puzzles. Though somehow it all seems to fall apart and the game loses its direction and becomes a bit tiresome as it shoves you along without properly developing its story or its gameplay. The problem here is that its an open RPG without any NPC's to help structure the story. Aside from the eccentric shopkeeper and an angry blacksmith its really just your somewhat one-sided character trundling from one waypoint to the next, with very little real challenge even on the hardest mode. The developers are promising a sequel with towns, side missions and a wider cast of characters, that could be the recipe for a really great fantasy RPG. Lets hope! Expand
  21. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    hmm lets see your war and you slaughter legions of angels and demons fight awesome boss battles and your helper is voiced by the guy who played as luke skywalker and voiced the joker from batman the animated series so pretty epic huh? There's just one little problem with it, IT'S TEDIOUS!!! Seriously at the beginning I feel like I'm dragging that huge sword War carries and seeing how weakhmm lets see your war and you slaughter legions of angels and demons fight awesome boss battles and your helper is voiced by the guy who played as luke skywalker and voiced the joker from batman the animated series so pretty epic huh? There's just one little problem with it, IT'S TEDIOUS!!! Seriously at the beginning I feel like I'm dragging that huge sword War carries and seeing how weak I am I'm surprised I moved it at all fortunately the pacing gets better once you collect the ever so fun mercy handgun, the lovely gore decapitation moves and riding War's hell horse. What could drive you to complete it is facing the final boss the destroyer (sounds epic huh) unless you watched it on youtube and seen the surprise then there's no point in continuing. despite my negative outlook in playing this I still had fun with it and since this is vigil games first game its pretty impressive with the art-style and all the stuff they put in it and I think its some of the familiar gameplay like Zelda, God Of War feel and playing it safe makes it a bit boring at first and since War's personality is a just the stare and very annoyed look the character doesn't give much motivation to I MUST KNOW MORE ABOUT THIS MAN quest. But with one game under their belt and a upcoming sequel for them to address the flaws and take risks and experiment to make it unique I am very looking forward to it and hearing that you may play the other horseman excites me to see how each play differently especially the character Strife because if he uses his guns in hand to hand combat then I will be having a lot of fun seeing him blast them apart than just simply punch or slash will that not be awesome?! Expand
  22. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Darksiders is just like any other God of War knock off, poorly done. Darksiders is without a doubt a repetitive game that you might not even come back for a third, or maybe even second, time to play. One great thing about Darksiders is the story. The story isn't much to begin with but once you meet other characters you'll learn more about Darksiders story and what it has to offer.Darksiders is just like any other God of War knock off, poorly done. Darksiders is without a doubt a repetitive game that you might not even come back for a third, or maybe even second, time to play. One great thing about Darksiders is the story. The story isn't much to begin with but once you meet other characters you'll learn more about Darksiders story and what it has to offer. Darksiders does a good time the first time around but after awhile is stalls and you start to realize it's faults. Darksiders doesn't fail as a clone of LoZ or GoW but it still has much to learn if it wishes to be like it's inspirations. Expand
  23. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    This game is a lot of fun. Only lacks originality because it's a copy of what is the Zelda and God of War combined. And both of these (especially Zelda) are way better. Never the less it's fun to play. Money and time well spent in my opinion.
  24. Oct 2, 2014
    7
    Jack of all trades and master of none, Darksiders borrows heavily from well-loved franchises like Zelda (and even Portal towards the end) but still manages to craft its own identity. Surprisingly long and challenging, it's a fine effort for a new IP.
  25. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    A very attractive game with a pretty interesting plot, voice work is above the usual standard going hand in hand with the script.

    I was disappointed by what I felt was a cobbling of on trend games mechanics done in a less than polished fashion a prime examples of this is the portal style elements which I felt were poorly delivered and a horse riding element which didn't feel like an
    A very attractive game with a pretty interesting plot, voice work is above the usual standard going hand in hand with the script.

    I was disappointed by what I felt was a cobbling of on trend games mechanics done in a less than polished fashion a prime examples of this is the portal style elements which I felt were poorly delivered and a horse riding element which didn't feel like an integral part of the game. Combat is enjoyable and can be varied once you learn your way around the controls and visually the game looks stunning.

    If Darksiders concentrated on the parts where it really did well in (story and combat especially) I would of rated it higher but the addition of elements that detracted me away from those areas really let this game down.
    Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    On the surface, Darksiders is an excellent game. It has good graphics, phenomenal art design, a well scripted and acted plot, descent combat, memorable bosses and some fiendish puzzles. Why then only a 6, I hear you cry... Despite all these attributes, Darksiders just didn't float my boat. I think, ultimately, it was the fact that the game is, from start to finish, one LONG dungeon crawl.On the surface, Darksiders is an excellent game. It has good graphics, phenomenal art design, a well scripted and acted plot, descent combat, memorable bosses and some fiendish puzzles. Why then only a 6, I hear you cry... Despite all these attributes, Darksiders just didn't float my boat. I think, ultimately, it was the fact that the game is, from start to finish, one LONG dungeon crawl. You can argue that the overworld isn't a dungeon and changes up things a bit... But that's just a disguise. You still fight your way through the overworld in exactly the same way as you do in the dungeons. There are no towns or NPC's to randomly chat with. Only the dungeon. Lot's of fingers point towards the likes of Metroid and Zelda as inspirations, and whilst this is undoubtedly true, the sad fact is that Darksiders isn't as well designed or made as either of those franchises. That said, if you can bear the idea of an endless dungeon slog, or the notion of a solid-yet-inferior Metroid / Zelda hybrid truly appeals to you... Darksiders might well be the game for you. Expand
  27. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    A decent third-person action adventure of good length that unabashedly mimicks Zelda, God of War, and Portal but fails to establish a personality of its own. Too busy trying to be cool and violent when a bit of humor might have made a world of difference. Not bad per se, just forgettable.
  28. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    The game is pretty decent. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is decent, the story is decent, the voice acting is decent. Overall it's a decent game. But the game just doesn't give me anything. I play for long stretches at a time, not feeling anything in particular. It's a game that can kill time, but not much more than that. War feels kinda clunky and slow (which is reasonable, seeingThe game is pretty decent. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is decent, the story is decent, the voice acting is decent. Overall it's a decent game. But the game just doesn't give me anything. I play for long stretches at a time, not feeling anything in particular. It's a game that can kill time, but not much more than that. War feels kinda clunky and slow (which is reasonable, seeing as he weighs a couple hundred pounds at least) and running around feels annoying because of that slowness (I also don't understand the fact that you have to wait for half-a-second to use the R1 Charge...). As usual in these hack-and-slash games, you aren't awarded nearly as many souls (the currency in the game) or weapon experience (you can level the weapons up) that you should.

    Overall, as I've said before, it's a decent game, but I think it lacks the small details that make a great, or even a good game, like War's speed and mobility, the amount of souls and experience received, the fact that in reality, you only really need to use the sword and that the rest of the weapons are pretty useless, also it could've probably gotten a 7 if the music was decent or made it's present heard because you can play for hours with there being close to no music at all, which is a strange decision since it would have added to the atmosphere.
    Expand
  29. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    I was disappointed to be honest. This game is nothing more than a button masher. The storyline is definitely original but not captivating, it's easy to forget about. It's a good game if you've had a hard day and feel like sitting down and mashing some buttons, but there's little skill involved in it. Zero replay value.
  30. Dec 17, 2013
    4
    I didn't care for this game. The graphics are decent, nothing more. The world didn't feel engaging and never felt "real". The combat is restricted to one button and that gets repetitive. The platforming was and puzzles are less then standard. The game never seems to have a face either. It looks and feels like there's 13 in a dozen of these games.
  31. Jun 10, 2012
    3
    This has to be one of the most overhyped games of recent times. Combat is restricted to one button, with a minimum amount of combos achieved by pressing square (or x) one, two, three or four times. Enemies are extremely repetitive and boss fights completely unspectacular. The main character War is lacking personality and the environment is both graphically poor and not fun to traverse. TheThis has to be one of the most overhyped games of recent times. Combat is restricted to one button, with a minimum amount of combos achieved by pressing square (or x) one, two, three or four times. Enemies are extremely repetitive and boss fights completely unspectacular. The main character War is lacking personality and the environment is both graphically poor and not fun to traverse. The only redeeming quality of this game is the somewhat enjoyable story, but it is not enough to warrant a purchase, let alone a rent. Expand
  32. Oct 10, 2014
    3
    Darksiders

    Game-play:This game have the typical hack n slash game play with nothing new or interesting,very slow game play and you very quick will get board.The game tries really hard to be hack n slash and RPG but it fails in both. Story:Boring.The characters are coming from nowhere and it is like the game expects from you to know them. Graphics:Mediocre graphics little better
    Darksiders

    Game-play:This game have the typical hack n slash game play with nothing new or interesting,very slow game play and you very quick will get board.The game tries really hard to be hack n slash and RPG but it fails in both.

    Story:Boring.The characters are coming from nowhere and it is like the game expects from you to know them.

    Graphics:Mediocre graphics little better than most ps2 games.

    Notes:The only thing in this game that do not suck is the puzzles the game have really good puzzles and some games could take example of the puzzles here,the game is to easy even in the hardest difficulty level,the level design is crap.Do not buy this game not even in a 70% price drop.
    Expand
  33. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    This is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the gameThis is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the game even more. The dungeons in this game a pretty impressive on their own, but puzzle are just mind boggling and make the player want to work harder. The hack and slash combat is so none less then that off God of War. So in a nutshell it's like Legend of zelda and God of War had sex and their baby was Darksiders Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. If ever there was a pure gamer’s game, Darksiders is it.
  2. When viewed as a whole, it is clear that Darksiders was made by skilled developers who truly love video games. If there ever was a game that could be all things to all people and tastes, Darksiders is it.
  3. 90
    A great action RPG. Solid, ever-evolving combat meets solid, ever-evolving puzzles in some really evocative environments.