Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Penned by legendary comic book artist Joe Madureira (X-Men, Battle Chasers, The Ultimates), Darksiders is set in a Post-Apocalyptic demon-ravaged world where evil forces have prematurely brought about the end of the time. Originally sent to oversee the destruction of Earth, the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse have been betrayed by their master, stripped of their powers and cast down to Earth. Players take on the role of WAR -- the first of the Four Horsemen -- as he embarks on a brutal quest of vengeance and revenge against the forces that betrayed him with the help of his phantom steed RUIN. The first title from new THQ studio Vigil Games, Darksiders: Wrath of War features open-world exploration, a deep combat system and a huge arsenal of modern and mythical weapons. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. If ever there was a pure gamer’s game, Darksiders is it.
  2. An excellent platforming hack'n'slash title that pits the best elements of some of our favourite games against the forces of Hell during the apocalypse. An epic title that is well polished and well implemented, even if the game mechanics feel a bit familiar at times.
  3. Although the combat can get repetitive, and Darksiders has adopted a tried and tested format, the story, style, and atmosphere make playing through Armageddon a unique and involving experience.
  4. Darksiders has set 2010 off to a running start. With gory hack-and-slash action, challenging dungeon puzzles, an intriguing (albeit sometimes annoying) guardian demon, gorgeous scenery and a story that begins with killing mankind, you get a little bit of everything.
  5. It'll test your patience, but persevere and your sense of self-satisfaction will swell. [Jan 2009, p.64]
  6. THQ's Darksiders may not be the most original game, however it works by giving the player a fun gaming experience that attempts to be clever at certain times and actually succeeds.
  7. By stitching together successful ideas of the last decade, Vigil Games created a bulky, unfriendly Frankenstein monster, and failed to breathe life into it.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This gem is hands down one of the most underrated games in a while. The reviews are pretty good across the board but I am the only person I know that bought this game. To me this game is the ultimate gamerâ Expand
  2. JasonG
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. I did not know what to expect at first, but being seven hours in, I can honestly say that this is a beautiful game with great dungeons that are, in my oppinion, better than any found in the latest Zelda game, and the story is fantastic. HIGHLY recommended. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Flawless tale. Awaiting the sequel.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Collapse
  4. RobertF.
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    A solid and very well done adventure game. War is a badass plain and simply and the art is incredible. The story is well done and well performed even though it may sound cliche on the surface. Expand
  5. BrentM.
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Take one of the best artist in the comics industry, an epic story involving the four horsmen of the apocalypse against the forces of heaven and hell, and mix in gameplay elements from some of the most influential games in the industry - and you have one of the greatest gaming experiences I've ever played on any console of any generation. Joe Mad's art style sets a whole new standard for character and model designs, and it is tough for even games like God of War or Zelda to match the artistic talent that Darksiders had driving it. The gameplay is easy enough to pick up, but still offers more than enough combos and wepon diversity to satisfy hardcore action fans. All the weapons are easily accessible without having to pause the game and cycle through menus and menus of items. Combos are easy to pull off, but creative players can attack an enemy with a sword, scythe, gun, gauntlet, and a chain in one fluid motion before the enemy ever drops to the ground. If all of that is not enough, then there are plenty of artifacts, enhancements, and collectibles to gather throughout the game. Every twist and turn rewards you with a new weapon or a new item - so the entire experience is satisfying up until the very ending. Riding around on Ruin, which is like a badass Epona from hell, alone is worth the price of admission. I would easily take this game over the majority of the games it is influenced by. It is worth every minute and penny you spend on it. Good work Vigil - give us a sequel. Expand
  6. BrandonB
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    This game is fun end of story. Its nice to see that a few games being released lately are delving alittle more into the hell vs heaven storylines. Seeing first screen shots of this game i thought that in-game it was gonna be too cartoonish on the visuals but actually playing it i was proved wrong. The visuals are good. One thing I would like to point out is I'am seeing some reviews scoring this game lower because they say it copies off of other games too much....thats just a bunch of crap. They took stuff from other games and didn't screw it up its still fun just as the similiar stuff you did in Zelda was fun. Anyways on a side note i find it funny how a game like Shadow Complex on Xbox market place is getting rave reviews for being identical to Metroid while some of the same reviewers are blasting Darksiders for being too much like other games. Expand
  7. [anonymous]
    Jan 23, 2010
    0
    there is absolutely nothing original about this game. Every single detail has been taken from some other game. It's got all the trademark items of Legend of Zelda and even has a portal gun. This game has no shame and should be considered an abomination. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews