Darksiders Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Penned by legendary comic book artist Joe Madureira (X-Men, Battle Chasers, The Ultimates), Darksiders is set in a Post-Apocalyptic demon-ravaged world where evil forces have prematurely brought about the end of the time. Originally sent to oversee the destruction of Earth, the Four HorsemenPenned by legendary comic book artist Joe Madureira (X-Men, Battle Chasers, The Ultimates), Darksiders is set in a Post-Apocalyptic demon-ravaged world where evil forces have prematurely brought about the end of the time. Originally sent to oversee the destruction of Earth, the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse have been betrayed by their master, stripped of their powers and cast down to Earth. Players take on the role of WAR -- the first of the Four Horsemen -- as he embarks on a brutal quest of vengeance and revenge against the forces that betrayed him with the help of his phantom steed RUIN. The first title from new THQ studio Vigil Games, Darksiders: Wrath of War features open-world exploration, a deep combat system and a huge arsenal of modern and mythical weapons. [THQ] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Xbox Games With Gold - April 2017
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. If ever there was a pure gamer’s game, Darksiders is it.
  2. 90
    The puzzles, sense of exploration, epic battles, and vast arsenal of weapons are all truly sensational. The year may be young, by Darksiders will certainly be one of the best titles to be released in 2010.
  3. 90
    A great action RPG. Solid, ever-evolving combat meets solid, ever-evolving puzzles in some really evocative environments.
  4. Play UK
    83
    Do not let Darksiders become another Conan, it deserves a better fate. [Issue#188, p.76]
  5. A highly entertaining, 15 hour plus adventure, with some gorgeous visuals, devilish puzzles and exciting action. Fingers crossed the no doubt planned sequel will build on this very impressive debut.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Stylish genre-fusion supported by a handful of fresh ideas makes this action RPG adventure Darksiders surprising a hit of the new year. [Issue#187]
  7. By stitching together successful ideas of the last decade, Vigil Games created a bulky, unfriendly Frankenstein monster, and failed to breathe life into it.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 75
  2. Negative: 4 out of 75
  1. Vedran
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This is probably the best game I have played in recent memory. It's everything that Sony and Microsoft needed: A really good This is probably the best game I have played in recent memory. It's everything that Sony and Microsoft needed: A really good action/adventure game. Be warned though: After playing Darksiders, God of War will seem much inferior due to its linearity. Darksiders is more engaging and rewards you constantly, something other developers should take notes of. I can't wait for the sequel! Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no priorThis is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the game even more. The dungeons in this game a pretty impressive on their own, but puzzle are just mind boggling and make the player want to work harder. The hack and slash combat is so none less then that off God of War. So in a nutshell it's like Legend of zelda and God of War had sex and their baby was Darksiders Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This gem is hands down one of the most underrated games in a while. The reviews are pretty good across the board but I am the only person IThis gem is hands down one of the most underrated games in a while. The reviews are pretty good across the board but I am the only person I know that bought this game. To me this game is the ultimate gamerâ Collapse
  4. CranstonP.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    I am pretty surprised with this game. Great graphics, gameplay, and story. Nintendo needs to take note and make a Zelda for grown ups because I am pretty surprised with this game. Great graphics, gameplay, and story. Nintendo needs to take note and make a Zelda for grown ups because that is what this is. It's a must buy in my book. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    This is a game designed by gamers. There is so much to love about Darkisders, the huge bosses, the fun hack and slash, the dark storyline, theThis is a game designed by gamers. There is so much to love about Darkisders, the huge bosses, the fun hack and slash, the dark storyline, the horseman's continually increasing arsenal of weapons and tools, and the game design amongst other things. The downisde however is the somewhat repetitive gameplay, but overall the game is great. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2017
    8
    Not sure why it took me until 2017 to play this game. Since the re-release of the game on PS4 and Xbox One, I thought it was as good as timeNot sure why it took me until 2017 to play this game. Since the re-release of the game on PS4 and Xbox One, I thought it was as good as time as any to pick this game up on the cheap for last gen consoles. After playing through both the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, I can confidently say that the PS3 version is the version you should get should you own both consoles and are looking to play this game. For my first play through I thought it was a bit long for an action game, but once you have gone through it once, multiple play throughs are a breeze. It took me about 20 hours my first time playing and the second well under 13 hours.

    This is a pretty straight forward hack and slash action game with minimal RPG elements thrown in. I never felt lost at any point in the game, which is nice to be able to have the feeling of always progressing in a game rather than stuck for hours in one spot. Trophies are easily obtained and I am sure the platinum could be earned in at least 2 play throughs.

    After this game has been out for quite some time, I still found it extremely fun to play, even years later. However, if you have an Xbox One or PS4, I would pick it up there as it is more responsive and buttery smooth at 60 fps.
    Expand
  7. [anonymous]
    Jan 23, 2010
    0
    there is absolutely nothing original about this game. Every single detail has been taken from some other game. It's got all the there is absolutely nothing original about this game. Every single detail has been taken from some other game. It's got all the trademark items of Legend of Zelda and even has a portal gun. This game has no shame and should be considered an abomination. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers