• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 8, 2012
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 45
  2. Negative: 8 out of 45
  1. May 7, 2012
    85
    Despite the game itself being very short Datura offers a thrilling world with astonishing sound effects and great control mechanics.
  2. May 16, 2012
    75
    Datura is a game, but most of all an experience. Like a boy scout you walk around in a very peaceful forest which is relaxing. But as you walk along you'll discover that this forest might not be as peaceful as you thought. It does depend on your choices how the game will end, but unfortunately Datura is not very clear about that, so it seems to be a very short game, while there actually are more than ten endings to it.
  3. 70
    Datura deserves credit for its refreshing energy and courage to rethink how a game should look and play, but it's difficult to shake the feeling of an extended PlayStation Move demo.
  4. May 15, 2012
    70
    A unique and mysterious experience everyone should give a chance. Its short length and the rather limited Move controls keep it from reaching lofty heights.
  5. May 10, 2012
    70
    Datura suffers from some obvious mechanical issues but remains a very interesting and even unique title. It's short, a little too abstract in some ways, and a tad slow at times, but the quest itself, while not exactly memorable, is always intriguing and even oddly relaxing.
  6. May 10, 2012
    70
    You get the feeling Datura's elusive narrative and moral ambiguity was intended to be the subject of rampant speculation. If only it were complimented by proper tactile feedback, or if the whole detached hand mechanism managed a legitimate grasp of Datura's nebulous constructs, we'd be talking more about Datura as a great game and less as an atrophied experience.
  7. 70
    Despite being woefully short and lacking some genuinely challenging puzzles, Datura is still a captivating and unique experience worth checking out.
  8. 70
    Despite having this replayability, the two-hour length makes Datura a hard sell at $9.99. Still, I do recommend trying this unusual, unique psychological experience, if only to see what it's all about and to try and figure out what I means to you-even if it is accompanied by overly frustrating, cumbersome controls.
  9. May 7, 2012
    70
    If this sort of game doesn't sound appealing, no one can blame you. Datura is arty, a tad obtuse, and the clumsy Move controls don't make it any more accessible. For more methodical, curious gamers, we recommend you download Datura, and play it with a DualShock. Moments from the game have a way sticking in your mind, calling you in for a replay.
  10. May 7, 2012
    70
    Still, Datura should be celebrated for exploring the immersive, psychological boundaries of video games. Even though it doesn't have a high production value and it's short even for a $9.99 game, its core message is that this is an artform that has the power to have players experience something that other artforms can only dream of.
  11. Every time we solved a puzzle we found ourselves in a totally different locale. Behind the wheel of a car, on a barren surface of ice or right in the middle of an ongoing war. Are they memories? Fantasies? Or is the forest a dream world? And who is that guy with the shotgun?. [June 2012, p.104]
  12. May 14, 2012
    69
    Datura will satisfy those gamers eager and open to new experiences. It is a strange, twisted game, but also a very original one, although only recommended for those wanting to experience something really different that won't necessarily satisfy them.
  13. Jul 2, 2012
    68
    Datura only takes you about two hours to complete, which starts off by twenty minutes of yelling at the Move controller and fiddling with the unfortunate control scheme. It is then followed by a stroll through an absurd and amazing world, that will create an experience you won't soon forget. An experience, however, filled with non-challenging puzzles.
  14. Jun 6, 2012
    65
    More of an 'interactive experience' than a game but some shortcomings make Datura hard to really sink into. [July 2012, p.73]
  15. May 28, 2012
    65
    Team Plastic's latest effort is a fine, though flawed, experience for what it is – but it isn't a game. Even played the right way, from your heart, Datura will be for most people a slow journey through a quiet wood.
  16. May 8, 2012
    62
    Just like an oniric experience, new PSN indie's Datura take us in an astonishing journey through beautiful, twisted Lynch, Burton & Poe's forest of different playable experiencies, emotions and sounds. It's a shame that an unfortunate control scheme through PS Move and a really short gameplay ruin what it could've been one of the most surreal and striking games of PlayStation 3.
  17. Jun 5, 2012
    61
    Undeniably original, but control clumsiness makes this slow-burning curio hard to recommend. [July 2012, p.111]
  18. Short and puzzling in more ways than one. A clunky oddity. [August 2012, p81]
  19. Those with a taste for the unusual will likely enjoy Datura, as it's contemplative and slow and builds surprising tension at times. But ultimately, it's just an interesting yet flawed experiment. [Aug 2012, p.86]
  20. May 24, 2012
    60
    Ultimately, Datura comes across as more of a fragmented, artsy homage to Sony's magic wand, rather than a genuine source of entertainment... and for most gamers, entertainment is boss.
  21. May 17, 2012
    60
    Datura is an interesting experiment in game design. Not quite sure whether it wants to be a piece of interactive art, or an adventure game, Datura stands on the fence in-between. Lofty, gorgeous and almost Lynchian in its narrative and exposition, it slightly fails at actually being a good game. Whether Datura will be judged as proof that games are art, or that arty games can be created, it's worth taking a look at, at least for its uniqueness.
  22. May 13, 2012
    60
    This very much makes Datura a game of two halves; on the one hand it's imaginative, beautifully rendered, and strives for a rare degree of uniqueness. On the other, it's an experience marred by mechanical shortcomings and over-ambition, with Move implementation that frustrates as much as it inspires awe.
  23. May 10, 2012
    60
    Datura's premise is fascinating, but the game fails to deliver because of some poor controls (both with Move or Dual Shock), lack of content and lots of invisible walls to deal with.
  24. May 10, 2012
    60
    I would really like to say that Datura is an exceptional game. An experiment that will unleash a storm showing a new way for story evolution in gaming. That's not the case - the game misses it's goal. But still it's an interesting take on the adventure genre, games in general and narration.
  25. May 10, 2012
    60
    Datura holds very little challenge and has technical issues, but even in the face of these problems it's a title that is worth experiencing for its distorted narrative alone. It may not be an entirely great game, but it is at the least a push in a different direction and a breath of fresh air that makes you think – and for that, as more and more games fall victim to conformity, it deserves praise.
  26. May 8, 2012
    60
    An hallucinating trip between life and death, reality and the darkest reaches of mind. Similar to Myst or Riven, Datura puts the player in a strange silent world where the only way to escape is interacting and learning with the environment. With only two hours of gameplay, control issues and some rude mechanics, this game is what we call a missed opportunity.
  27. May 7, 2012
    60
    Datura just doesn't seem to go far enough, offering just a quick dip into occasional oddity instead of a full-on baptism in the truly peculiar. Even its most attention-grabbing moments can come across as a little dull. With gimmicky motion elements, threadbare puzzles, and a ghost's whisper of a narrative, Datura ends up as an underwhelming experiment.
  28. While it's short there is some interesting imagery (although visually the polish varies between adequate and woefully poor) and with an open mind it's a fascinating experience you'll mull over for a while.
  29. May 7, 2012
    60
    It truly is a shame that Datura doesn't have stronger gameplay. In this medium, gameplay is and always will be king, and no matter how awesome everything else is about a title like Datura, if it doesn't control well, you have to question whether it's worth playing at all.
  30. May 21, 2012
    55
    Datura demonstrates that the surreal can be just as frustrating as the real world.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. May 8, 2012
    5
    I don't even know how to review this. I've been following the coverage for this game and despite seeing the mixed reviews I still gave it a shot just to see what it was all about. If you are looking for a really exciting game do not buy this. I think the makers just wanted to show that videogames can be much more than your run of the mill game. I don't have the Move Motion controller, so I just had to use a normal controller and at first a few of the parts pissed me off. I thought the controls were absolutely terrible but come to find out on my 2nd play through I was just doing them completely wrong. The onscreen help isn't much help. For a two hour game with somewhat finicky controls and only a few cool parts, I'm not so sure it was worth 10 bucks. I recommend this game if you are a trophy whore (you can easily get all of them on your first play through) or you are just very curious like I was. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2012
    8
    Datura is an odd experience crafted by the good folks over at Plastic. I've played through the title twice. Once with the Move, and once with the Dualshock 3. To fully enjoy the immersion Plastic intended, I recommend playing with the Move. If you're looking for a simpler trip down the pig hole, use the Dualshock 3 as it makes it easier to navigate the forest but also dumbs down the controls for the various tasks at hand (pun intended). Datura shouldn't take you more than 2 hours (that's including 100% Trophies) and is best suited to be played straight through in one sitting. I would also like to point out the use of 3D in Datura. Plastic actually went through the trouble of adding a Stereoscopic depth option to fine tune your 3D experience. The loose leaves and feathers. The flies. All floating there, waiting to be reached for, but alas, it's only the 3D. Plastic has not found a way to float these awesomely detailed objects in front of you, although it may seem they have. I highly recommend trying this title with the 3D cranked up to 11, a Move controller in hand (again, pun intended) and a six pack of brews our what ever it is you use to lose yourself. At just $10 ($8 for PS+ users) Datura is an affordable risk that may just turn out to be the Indie film turned video game you've been looking for. Full Review »
  3. May 9, 2012
    3
    When you play a game, you expect the controls to work, you expect an appropriate length given how much money you've spent, and you expect there to be some kind of story for the game to tell. Datura fails in all three of these aspects.

    The game's camera is sluggish and does not move freely, so you rely on your movement to correct the angle and it takes away from your exploration of the landscape. The controls are just terrible. There's no question. Why they decided to publish the game with these issues, I have no idea. Perhaps they weren't capable of a solution.

    And the random, drug-induced events and ending... there was no ending. Suddenly the credits roll, and I wonder why the game just ended. It's short and incredibly dissatisfying. The seemingly mysterious and enigmatic atmosphere drew me into buying this, and I kept an open mind because I like supporting smaller companies, but getting this game was a mistake. If you're really curious, I recommend waiting until it's at least 50% off, because that's a bit closer to what the game experience is actually worth.
    Full Review »