Daytona USA Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SEGA of America, Inc. and SEGA Europe Ltd. today announced the triumphant return of the cherished arcade racer, Daytona USA, coming this month to home consoles. Speeding out of the past from its 1993 debut, Daytona USA will be racing onto Xbox LIVE Arcade for the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, and PlayStation Network. The classic title has been tuned up and overhauled with enhanced graphics, steering wheel support and, for the first time on home consoles, online multiplayer. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    Daytona USA is no doubt a lot of fun for an arcade racing game.
  2. The gameplay is addictive as ever. [Jan 2012, p.114]
  3. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    Daytona USA is a game makes you feel young again, and you really can't put a price on that.
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    75
    Daytona is back to show us that the fun of driving in a video game doesn't necessarily require realism.
  5. The gameplay is as addictive as ever. [Feb 2012, p.84]
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Daytona USA is a loyal remake to the mythic arcade game we loved so much in the mid-nineties. It is still as fun as ever, and adds new game modes and online play, but it is still just three tracks, and that might seem limited.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    45
    Daytona USA was the pinnacle of arcade racers in the early 90's. Translated into today it sadly doesn't hold much of its appeal, especially without a sweet cockpit and steering wheel setup. Leave this one parked on pit road.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    10/10 - this is a gamers game!

    If you fail to feel anything from this game then you are not a gamer. Which is fine.
    In 10 years time -
    Daytona USA will be ported again for whatever console we have then. Then it will be a 28 year old primitive texture mapped Sega Racer. 18 years ago it was amazing and showed us the future, the present day experience bottles that experience and lets you play it at home and online. This game is simply timeless. Daytona USA is an extension to its arcade hardware. When you play this game with a force feedback wheel you are finally part of the game. When you smile throughout the game you will understand gaming.


    There are hundreds of exceptional games and Daytona USA is part of gaming heritage. You shouldn't be told to buy this, and if you have read up to this line you have already bought it.

    Keep on chooglin'
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    i remember playing it in the arcade back in the mid 90s and just being amazed at this game . it looked fantastic and plays as good as it looks. now flash foward 16 years later and it still looks and plays damn good. even with great racing games like gran turismo and Forza out there , Daytona USA is is just pure Arcade fun . this makes me want to take my 50" LCD tv and buy a seperate PS3 and use my logitech steering wheel just to make this my own personal arcade game. cause for years i wanted it . now we get daytona usa in HD with 8 player online racing some extra content like challenge , karaoke , time trial and survival mode added in . also supports logitech steering wheels to help give you that arcade feel. this is a perfect port of one of the best arcade racing games of the 90s. i really can only say i wish they added more a few new tracks and the cars off the sega saturn version would be great but hey this is only $9.99 in the PSN store or $6.99 if you have plus . so over all this is a great deal for what you are getting. if you are a fan of the old daytona usa game go and buy it. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    this is a sega classic game and thanks to sega ,because they just put the game um hd ,and a online mode this is one fo the most fun, racing game ever made . Collapse
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    What a perfect transition of one, if not the best arcade racer ever released! The controls work well (not like in Daytona USA 2001 or CCE) and the multiplayer-mode is really good working. Nice game, not overpriced, but sure, it's an old edge of arcade gaming and with only 3 tracks, not so much to be played. But true fans know what they are getting: A simple arcade-perfect transition! Now, please release Scud Race next time. :-) Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Great game. Usually racing games have to have some kind of gimmick because racing games have been done to death. This game is a straight forward racing game that should be dated but somehow it isn't. I didn't have that much nostalgia for this game so I approached it on its own merits and it still works. The package is surprising well done and it isn't just slapped together like Crazy Taxi was. Only negative I can think of is that there is only 3 tracks for $10. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    7
    If this tyhing was a premium price psn game, I would rate it a 3. However, for the price, there's a lot to love. It's tough and more importantly it's deep. You simply have to learn all of the details of the control. Anyways, I had a lot of fun for a short time but I still go back from time to time. Expand