Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    DC Universe Online is ground-breaking; it's innovative and downright addictive.
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of action, MMOs, or comic books, and if you're looking to commit a lot of time to a single game, DC Universe Online will not disappoint you.
  3. Feb 2, 2011
    85
    Unfortunately, it doesn't feel like there's enough to do to maintain any long-term interest.
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 17, 2011
    80
    At the very least it's worth playing through to the level cap just to fight alongside the most recognizable characters in comics. [April 2011, p.82]
  5. Play UK
    Feb 20, 2011
    80
    As good a reason to subscribe as we've seen in an MMORPG. [Issue#202, p.84]
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    DC Universe Online sales were good and well deserved. The work on the PvP side of the game is interesting, and gives it a hardcore flavor that is both nice and unexpected for a first PS3 MMO. More comfortable on the PC, DCUO has the content it needs for the casual gamer, the group of friends, or the large guild with the PGM attitude. Now, SOE only has to correct some shortcomings and give us more clues about future content! Sure it's only just come out, but, go go, back to work!
  7. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    You feel like a superhero playing alongside your favorite characters in an open MMO world thick with action but with a frustrating user interface. The fun combat and beautiful scenery more than make up for any shortcomings.
  8. 80
    SOE has created a huge amount of combinations for characters, and at the current time, with the rapid levelling you could have three or four characters and your main at 30 with a huge variety of powers and weapons at your disposal.
  9. Games Master UK
    Feb 14, 2011
    79
    Accessible for console gamers and vital for the comic fan. If you're prepared to pay subs, get it. [Mar 2011, p.79]
  10. Apr 6, 2011
    78
    DCUO, as first console-MMORPG, can be considered a good start; it's basically a Hack'n'slash, with an interesting history and RPG elements, but some missions are repetitive and there are a lot of graphic bugs. However, the monthly major updates promised by Sony On Line justify the subscription, especially for DC Fans.
  11. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    It's difficult to describe everything that exists in an MMO without writing an essay but I hope what I've written here has helped you make up your mind whether or not to play DCUO. One thing that will be the deciding factor is the game does have a subscription based fee of around £10 a month which you must pay in order to play any aspect of the game, so just be warned before purchasing.
  12. Feb 24, 2011
    75
    DC Universe Online is a very easy and fun MMO that can be played by both experienced and new RPG players. The graphics are far from perfect but this will not bother you because of the great gameplay.
  13. Feb 10, 2011
    75
    From the perspective of a comic fan, DC Universe Online is a pretty stellar win. It's big and grand and isn't afraid to make players feel like they're the star of an epic comic story. From a gamer's perspective, though, it still needs some work on the technical to be truly great and playing on the PS3 has its own set of limitations.
  14. Feb 2, 2011
    75
    The potential in DC Universe Online is immense, and while the basics are okay, the polishing however has gone bad. There's only little life in this CPU city, and leveling is done just way too fast.
  15. 75
    DC Universe Online is certainly brimming with potential, but until Sony irons out some of the kinks, the various bugs and server issues prevent it from being the triple-A console MMO experience we've been craving all this time.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 136
  2. Negative: 20 out of 136
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has been WoW and Final Fantasy 11, and now DC Universe Online has my attention. I think the combat is fun and actually makes you feel like your are controling a super hero with super powers. The amount of customization is great as well as the choices for classes (fire, ice, mental, etc).

    I was skeptical about the control scheme on a console but I believe they managed to pull it off. With a press of L2 or R2 your abilities or spells are right there at your disposal, also with a gadget and consumable at your fingertips. The only problem that I have with the game is that the menus IN game are a little clunky and slow, hopefully they will fix this problem. But I am looking foreword to the inevitable content patches and expansion packs. I look foreword to continuing this game and trying out the end level content. If you are a fan of MMOs I highly suggest this game, especially if you are a DC fan!

    RAPTORLunchbox
    Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2011
    6
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything you'd expect in an MMO is here and it works extremely well. if you're new to MMO's be warned, there is a lot to learn with this game and it isn't pick up and play like other console games. I've heard many people moaning about this aspect. This game is very rewarding after a few hours play so take this slow. FYI the game takes about two hours to install/update the first time you play Yes it's £9.99 a month, but the best MMO's cost money.

    My updated review today (18/05/11) is that this game is a fantastic opening month. With no other MMO on the PS3 I got carried away. To be honest, I've not played it once my subscription run out and the initial 'buzz' I had for it quickly faded. I've since started playing RIFT (on release date) and the candle burns very brightly for it still. Rift is how an MMO should be made.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online orThis is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online or otherwise. Vibrant aesthetics, familiar charachter voices, authentic DC inspired stories/charachters and locales. Easy and fun gameplay. Tons of customization and rewards that continue to unlock the more you play. Distinct hero and villain campaigns that demand multiple playthroughs. An active community with someone always willing to help you beat a level in PVE or take you on in PVP. Lots of endgame content already with more to come. Nevermind the hater reviews that played it for 5 minutes and rated it down because they couldn't even get past the first mission LOL, or that complained the servers were down a couple hours because the game is so popular the developer needed to add additional servers. This has been a very smooth MMO launch which by nature are usually rough (ie Warcraft). Getting online on the console is easy and hassle free after the initial install, and once online the controls and combat are so easy, intuitive and effective that even kids could enjoy it. The first must-play of 2011. Full Review »