Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    70
    DCUO is far from a bad game; there are indeed times when it shines fantastically with the potential for greatness, but its many faults, most minor but some quite large, ensure that it never reaches those heights.
  2. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    Yet DC Universe Online tips its hand early on; in all too short a time, it stops offering any real surprises, remaining approachable but never wading too far from the shallow end of the pool.
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of action, MMOs, or comic books, and if you're looking to commit a lot of time to a single game, DC Universe Online will not disappoint you.
  4. Jan 21, 2011
    60
    While it may be the best implementation of a console MMO to date, PS3 owners should still ask for more.
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    60
    I realize that what I liked most where the DC characters and comic book cut scenes at the end of missions. But $15 a month is a lot to pay for only one or two of those -- and if the developer tried to make five or more for content updates every month, I don't know how the company could keep up the pace.
  6. Jan 27, 2011
    42
    Unless you fancy yourself a hardcore DC comics fan, you'll find little to hold your interest in DCUO in its current state after the first several hours of gameplay.
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    79
    Accessible for console gamers and vital for the comic fan. If you're prepared to pay subs, get it. [Mar 2011, p.79]
  8. Apr 6, 2011
    78
    DCUO, as first console-MMORPG, can be considered a good start; it's basically a Hack'n'slash, with an interesting history and RPG elements, but some missions are repetitive and there are a lot of graphic bugs. However, the monthly major updates promised by Sony On Line justify the subscription, especially for DC Fans.
  9. Feb 3, 2011
    60
    As it stands, DCUO is just a casual masterwork that any comic book fan should take for a spin, and we fear the $14.99 monthly subscription fee will be the kryptonite that brings this hopeful giant to its knees.
  10. Feb 10, 2011
    75
    From the perspective of a comic fan, DC Universe Online is a pretty stellar win. It's big and grand and isn't afraid to make players feel like they're the star of an epic comic story. From a gamer's perspective, though, it still needs some work on the technical to be truly great and playing on the PS3 has its own set of limitations.
  11. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    Superb when everything comes together, hugely frustrating when it doesn't. [Issue#107, p.96]
  12. Feb 9, 2011
    70
    DC Universe Online is a good game, one that can appeal to both MMO and comic fans. On Consoles there's nothing better, and if you plan on playing it on a Ps3 it's well worth the monthly fee. Not so much on PC's though, where there's a lot of strong competitors, and Sony's title is a bit too repetitive and bugged to come out on top. Still, it's the best superhero themed MMO on the market and it has a lot of potential. If you love comics give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
  13. Mar 14, 2011
    60
    DC Comics fans, take the plunge if you must, but realize that you will be paying money for a not-quite-finished product that will only partially satisfy your spandex-wearing, world-saving fantasies.
  14. Feb 2, 2011
    75
    The potential in DC Universe Online is immense, and while the basics are okay, the polishing however has gone bad. There's only little life in this CPU city, and leveling is done just way too fast.
  15. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Comic fans will get the most out of DC Universe Online, and it is a fun, if shallow MMO. However, once the level cap is reached, there is little reason to continue, making it a game you probably won't be spending a lot of time with.
  16. Feb 24, 2011
    75
    DC Universe Online is a very easy and fun MMO that can be played by both experienced and new RPG players. The graphics are far from perfect but this will not bother you because of the great gameplay.
  17. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    An action-packed MMO, with some important flaws that must be corrected if Sony wants to appeal a vast audience. Controls can become an issue if you play it on PC and quests are a bit too much on the grinding side, but the combat system and the customization options are fun. With some improvements this game could find its own place in the MMO jungle.
  18. It'll be interesting to see how it develops and grows. [Spring 2011, p.103]
  19. Feb 14, 2011
    60
    As much as I wanted to get into DCUO there was nothing about it that made want to continue to throw down the monthly fees after the initial 30 day trial. There is some obvious potential in this game but at the time of this review there is not enough here to warrant the price of entry.
  20. Feb 2, 2011
    85
    Unfortunately, it doesn't feel like there's enough to do to maintain any long-term interest.
  21. Feb 20, 2011
    80
    As good a reason to subscribe as we've seen in an MMORPG. [Issue#202, p.84]
  22. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    DC Universe Online sales were good and well deserved. The work on the PvP side of the game is interesting, and gives it a hardcore flavor that is both nice and unexpected for a first PS3 MMO. More comfortable on the PC, DCUO has the content it needs for the casual gamer, the group of friends, or the large guild with the PGM attitude. Now, SOE only has to correct some shortcomings and give us more clues about future content! Sure it's only just come out, but, go go, back to work!
  23. Feb 7, 2011
    50
    When it comes down to it, cheaper, more sustainable fun can be had from donning a pair of tights and rugby tackling an elderly family member while they attempt to serve the Christmas turkey.
  24. Jan 26, 2011
    72
    Even with all of its faults, which there are more than a few, it's hard not to recommend DC Universe Online to just about any comic book fan or those looking to experience something so rarely seen on a console. If SOE goes above and beyond to fix the current complaints and entice gamers to return once they've completed the initial plot, they could definitely see some long term success.
  25. 70
    DC Universe Online is a contrasting experience: on the DC Universe side it provides a good service, but in the genre that is inserted, tends to become meager in content.
  26. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Great atmosphere and an addictive character creator, but the quests are a bit too repetitive.
  27. Feb 13, 2011
    74
    Solid and captivating for old MMO hands. For new comers, not so much. [Mar 2011, p.90]
  28. Feb 8, 2011
    30
    Thanks to its disastrous mess of a user interface, DCUO is unplayable for anyone lacking superheroic patience. SOE, SCE and DC Comics have colluded in an attempt to foist a dreadful and amateurish product onto comic book and MMO enthusiasts.
  29. At the very least it's worth playing through to the level cap just to fight alongside the most recognizable characters in comics. [April 2011, p.82]
  30. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    It's difficult to describe everything that exists in an MMO without writing an essay but I hope what I've written here has helped you make up your mind whether or not to play DCUO. One thing that will be the deciding factor is the game does have a subscription based fee of around £10 a month which you must pay in order to play any aspect of the game, so just be warned before purchasing.
  31. The fighting component, however, is where the game hits a stumbling block. More depth to the combat could have really made this a winner, as you really only have a dozen or so regular attacks and "specials" (and that's when you level cap out at 30) combined, so it can get old after a while. SOE may be hard pressed to sustain interest. [April 2011, p.76]
  32. Jan 31, 2011
    42
    The action-MMO set in a painstakingly recreated DC Comics world requires superhuman patience to even install, with assets verification, patch downloads, and the like taking a full day, depending on your Internet connection.
  33. Jan 22, 2011
    40
    The game's combat feels limp, the quest design is immediately monotonous, and the whole package manages to make being a superhero or villain feel like the most mundane thing in the world. Considering the game's "everyone's a hero/villain" plot, I suppose that makes perfect sense.
  34. Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Fans of DC comics should really try this game, as it's specially designed for them.
  35. Mar 3, 2011
    40
    DCUO never really takes off. It suffers from numerous bugs and glitches, and the structure of the quests looks more suitable for a single-player RPG rather than an MMO.
  36. Jan 31, 2011
    71
    For now, DC Universe is a little rough around the edges and hopefully the developers will release additional areas in the upcoming months but for now, my experience was a little less than satisfying.
  37. 75
    DC Universe Online is certainly brimming with potential, but until Sony irons out some of the kinks, the various bugs and server issues prevent it from being the triple-A console MMO experience we've been craving all this time.
  38. Jan 28, 2011
    60
    But especially on the PS3, the menus and various engine bugs really make it tough to justify the initial purchase (with one free month of gameplay), much less the eventual monthly fee.
  39. 80
    SOE has created a huge amount of combinations for characters, and at the current time, with the rapid levelling you could have three or four characters and your main at 30 with a huge variety of powers and weapons at your disposal.
  40. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    DC Universe Online is ground-breaking; it's innovative and downright addictive.
  41. 70
    There's a shortage of content and the character creation options are rather limited. On the other hand, the combat system is very well done, and the game takes great care in recreating the universe. If you have no interest in super heroes or DC Comics, you can probably skip it, but if you want to pound justice into some crooks and villains, it's definitely worth giving a shot. For while DC Universe Online may fall a bit short in some areas, it still offers plenty of entertainment.
  42. Feb 10, 2011
    70
    DC Universe Online is a bold, ambitious and challenging attempt to bring a subscription based MMO experience to the PlayStation 3.
  43. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    You feel like a superhero playing alongside your favorite characters in an open MMO world thick with action but with a frustrating user interface. The fun combat and beautiful scenery more than make up for any shortcomings.
  44. Feb 13, 2011
    71
    DC Universe Online is the first MMO on the PlayStation 3 and it's a nice one. Sony Online Entertainment has made a game full with different challenges, possibilities and of course quests. DC Universe Online is a great MMO to start with!
  45. Feb 18, 2011
    60
    So will I be renewing my subscription this month? Probably not. But my month in Metropolis and Gotham was an extremely enjoyable one.
  46. Feb 2, 2011
    60
    Technical issues – while improved – still hurt the game. Voice communication, for example, is very hit and miss. The interface is fiddly and slow. Changing from quests to, say, inventory on the menu bar takes two or three seconds a time...Despite the issues,there is lot to admire here.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has been WoW and Final Fantasy 11, and now DC Universe Online has my attention. I think the combat is fun and actually makes you feel like your are controling a super hero with super powers. The amount of customization is great as well as the choices for classes (fire, ice, mental, etc).

    I was skeptical about the control scheme on a console but I believe they managed to pull it off. With a press of L2 or R2 your abilities or spells are right there at your disposal, also with a gadget and consumable at your fingertips. The only problem that I have with the game is that the menus IN game are a little clunky and slow, hopefully they will fix this problem. But I am looking foreword to the inevitable content patches and expansion packs. I look foreword to continuing this game and trying out the end level content. If you are a fan of MMOs I highly suggest this game, especially if you are a DC fan!

    RAPTORLunchbox
    Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2011
    6
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything you'd expect in an MMO is here and it works extremely well. if you're new to MMO's be warned, there is a lot to learn with this game and it isn't pick up and play like other console games. I've heard many people moaning about this aspect. This game is very rewarding after a few hours play so take this slow. FYI the game takes about two hours to install/update the first time you play Yes it's £9.99 a month, but the best MMO's cost money.

    My updated review today (18/05/11) is that this game is a fantastic opening month. With no other MMO on the PS3 I got carried away. To be honest, I've not played it once my subscription run out and the initial 'buzz' I had for it quickly faded. I've since started playing RIFT (on release date) and the candle burns very brightly for it still. Rift is how an MMO should be made.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online orThis is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online or otherwise. Vibrant aesthetics, familiar charachter voices, authentic DC inspired stories/charachters and locales. Easy and fun gameplay. Tons of customization and rewards that continue to unlock the more you play. Distinct hero and villain campaigns that demand multiple playthroughs. An active community with someone always willing to help you beat a level in PVE or take you on in PVP. Lots of endgame content already with more to come. Nevermind the hater reviews that played it for 5 minutes and rated it down because they couldn't even get past the first mission LOL, or that complained the servers were down a couple hours because the game is so popular the developer needed to add additional servers. This has been a very smooth MMO launch which by nature are usually rough (ie Warcraft). Getting online on the console is easy and hassle free after the initial install, and once online the controls and combat are so easy, intuitive and effective that even kids could enjoy it. The first must-play of 2011. Full Review »