Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Universe Online is an MMO based on DC comic book universe and lets you fight along side or against DC superheroes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    DC Universe Online is ground-breaking; it's innovative and downright addictive.
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    DC Universe Online sales were good and well deserved. The work on the PvP side of the game is interesting, and gives it a hardcore flavor that is both nice and unexpected for a first PS3 MMO. More comfortable on the PC, DCUO has the content it needs for the casual gamer, the group of friends, or the large guild with the PGM attitude. Now, SOE only has to correct some shortcomings and give us more clues about future content! Sure it's only just come out, but, go go, back to work!
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    It's difficult to describe everything that exists in an MMO without writing an essay but I hope what I've written here has helped you make up your mind whether or not to play DCUO. One thing that will be the deciding factor is the game does have a subscription based fee of around £10 a month which you must pay in order to play any aspect of the game, so just be warned before purchasing.
  4. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Comic fans will get the most out of DC Universe Online, and it is a fun, if shallow MMO. However, once the level cap is reached, there is little reason to continue, making it a game you probably won't be spending a lot of time with.
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    70
    DC Universe Online is a good game, one that can appeal to both MMO and comic fans. On Consoles there's nothing better, and if you plan on playing it on a Ps3 it's well worth the monthly fee. Not so much on PC's though, where there's a lot of strong competitors, and Sony's title is a bit too repetitive and bugged to come out on top. Still, it's the best superhero themed MMO on the market and it has a lot of potential. If you love comics give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    60
    So will I be renewing my subscription this month? Probably not. But my month in Metropolis and Gotham was an extremely enjoyable one.
  7. Feb 8, 2011
    30
    Thanks to its disastrous mess of a user interface, DCUO is unplayable for anyone lacking superheroic patience. SOE, SCE and DC Comics have colluded in an attempt to foist a dreadful and amateurish product onto comic book and MMO enthusiasts.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online orThis is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online or otherwise. Vibrant aesthetics, familiar charachter voices, authentic DC inspired stories/charachters and locales. Easy and fun gameplay. Tons of customization and rewards that continue to unlock the more you play. Distinct hero and villain campaigns that demand multiple playthroughs. An active community with someone always willing to help you beat a level in PVE or take you on in PVP. Lots of endgame content already with more to come. Nevermind the hater reviews that played it for 5 minutes and rated it down because they couldn't even get past the first mission LOL, or that complained the servers were down a couple hours because the game is so popular the developer needed to add additional servers. This has been a very smooth MMO launch which by nature are usually rough (ie Warcraft). Getting online on the console is easy and hassle free after the initial install, and once online the controls and combat are so easy, intuitive and effective that even kids could enjoy it. The first must-play of 2011. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    It's really annoying that when you first start the game, it takes over an hour to download about 13gb. What's the point of using a blurayIt's really annoying that when you first start the game, it takes over an hour to download about 13gb. What's the point of using a bluray disc if you're just going to have to download the entire game anyway(or at least a large part of it)? Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has been WoW and Final Fantasy 11, and now DC Universe Online has my attention. I think the combat is fun and actually makes you feel like your are controling a super hero with super powers. The amount of customization is great as well as the choices for classes (fire, ice, mental, etc).

    I was skeptical about the control scheme on a console but I believe they managed to pull it off. With a press of L2 or R2 your abilities or spells are right there at your disposal, also with a gadget and consumable at your fingertips. The only problem that I have with the game is that the menus IN game are a little clunky and slow, hopefully they will fix this problem. But I am looking foreword to the inevitable content patches and expansion packs. I look foreword to continuing this game and trying out the end level content. If you are a fan of MMOs I highly suggest this game, especially if you are a DC fan!

    RAPTORLunchbox
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    Once the game is playable (and it takes time, patience and, in my case, a brand new PS3), the concept and initial execution is incredible!Once the game is playable (and it takes time, patience and, in my case, a brand new PS3), the concept and initial execution is incredible! The choices of creating your own character was half the fun. Playing it, so far, has been a lot of fun, though I'm regretting some of my character's powers. I was very irritated at the large chunk of size it sucks up on the PS3 and the multitude of updates it took to even start the game, but once I was past it, I enjoyed it. I can't help but think this could have been executed a little better given the hype and build up of this game, but I'm sure it's the perfectionist in me. If you have anything but the 40GB PS3 and love MMOs, DC Universe Online is well worth the $60. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    DC Universe Online is an addictive online game. It has repetitive missions but it is really cool because you can create you own superhero andDC Universe Online is an addictive online game. It has repetitive missions but it is really cool because you can create you own superhero and make him/her a legend in an online universe. Expand
  6. May 18, 2011
    6
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything you'd expect in an MMO is here and it works extremely well. if you're new to MMO's be warned, there is a lot to learn with this game and it isn't pick up and play like other console games. I've heard many people moaning about this aspect. This game is very rewarding after a few hours play so take this slow. FYI the game takes about two hours to install/update the first time you play Yes it's £9.99 a month, but the best MMO's cost money.

    My updated review today (18/05/11) is that this game is a fantastic opening month. With no other MMO on the PS3 I got carried away. To be honest, I've not played it once my subscription run out and the initial 'buzz' I had for it quickly faded. I've since started playing RIFT (on release date) and the candle burns very brightly for it still. Rift is how an MMO should be made.
    Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2011
    0
    I found the game fun for about 2 weeks and then grew tired of it. Definitely not worth a monthly fee to play. Then I found out that the disksI found the game fun for about 2 weeks and then grew tired of it. Definitely not worth a monthly fee to play. Then I found out that the disks are locked to a single console so I can't even trade it in. Boo! The load screens are many, often, and overly long. Once you get your speed bonus (lvl9 I think) you can travel faster than the game can draw and you end up looking at chunky blocks of scenery that would be buildings if only you would stop for a moment to let the poor thing catch up. Combat and missions are repetitive, once you've completed your first 2 or 3 missions you've pretty much seen everything the game has to offer. Huge disappointment for me all around. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews