User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 129
  2. Negative: 35 out of 129

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's just awesome!

    I see many there are whining on the bugs and stuff, it's normal in any application that arrives!
    Riptide is much more fun (and longer) than the classic Dead Island that's for sure!
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Other than a little freezing here or there, this game is everything I had hoped it would be! It has all the same great gameplay elements that I grew to love in the first dead island. The zombies are exponentially harder to kill than in the first. Bravo techland, bravo.
  3. May 8, 2013
    10
    Incredible game! Its been since Halo 4 that I've been so immersed in a game. My only complaint is the fact that you are limited in how many weapons one can carry. That is my complaint for a lot of games though. Can be terrifying at times. Combat is great, there is something satisfying about smashing zombie skulls that few games can do well. This is one of those games.
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Ok, I understand there is not alot of new features here and the voice acting sucks, but I love Dead Island as well as 5 million other people. To sell 5 million copies says something. Yes this may not be a direct sequel but it is a continuation of the story and a reason to play more Dead Island. I really enjoyed the gameplay and rpg elements that dead island had to offer, so why should Techland go back to the drawing board. People get over it, there are minor changes in God of War Ascension compared to 3, and people are not rating it a 3 or 4. Riptide is a fun game with new ideas and some improvements. All of Dead Islands issues were not addressed, but when you push out the game in 19 months, you have to cut them some slack. I would much rather have a new Dead Island every 2 years than wait 3 to 4 years for a "true sequel" The gameplay is why we like Dead Island. Techland, please work on the story for the next game though. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    After playing through most of this game, I can honestly say that it is more of the same. However, that is a GOOD thing. The original Dead Island was a blast to play and this game is just as much fun. Not every game needs to have a great story or acting to be considered a great game. Some games are just plain fun and Dead Island Riptide delivers on that. If you loved the first one, you'll love this one too. Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    9
    After playing this game now 75% complete I decided to go check out the reviews to listen to everyone else boast about this game only to find out it's mostly poor reviews....I don't understand this at all. This game is absolutely great! Open world zombie rpg and done very well. The only thing I can guess is that the majority of zombie game fan these days is expecting black ops type zombies and not so much into rpg's. And the result fans of one genre dropped into a different genre and not liking the gameplay because it is not their usual format. I'm not sure. All I know I'm a zombie fan and a rpg nut and this game had everything I could ever have wanted. I would give it a 10 if it was persistantly online world like defiance. But reveiw results like I have seen has made me loose my trust for reveiw scores for games. In the end its what you think that matters and can only trust others opinions to a small degree. this is my favorite game of the year directly followed by defiance. Dead Island riptide for the ps3 plays smoothly, is full of great content and very satisfying for all your rpg zombie slaying desires. Play the game and judge it yourself. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Wonderful graphic improvements the color is better then the first and i see the infected slowed down the new zombies are cool the boat travel was fun and i loved the new weapons this game is awesome and very addictive i played this for 6 months straight
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. The game's uninspired vibe and execution are not the only things that Techland and Deep Silver forgot to improve upon. The graphics are sub par to say the least. The game can have you staring in awe at a stranded battle cruiser, but the immersion quickly falls apart when you notice your gun sticking trough a solid brick wall. [May 2013, p.76]
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    50
    At the end of the day, Dead Island: Riptide has a lot of good ideas, especially in its latter half. The combat, while repetitive and often frustrating with the annoying inventory management, still manages to provide exciting encounters. It just seems as if the developer didn't trust players enough to fully immerse them with the survival horror title suggested by the mechanics.
  3. 60
    It has moments of high tension, and overall it stays true to its rhythm, is more Dead Island, so if you liked the first, you will certainly enjoy this one too.