Dead Island: Riptide PlayStation 3

Dead Island: Riptide Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: They thought they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. Then their fate took a terrible turn. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the safety of a military ship, but when a powerful storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads amongThey thought they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. Then their fate took a terrible turn. The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the safety of a military ship, but when a powerful storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads among the crew, the nightmare returns, leaving hope waning in the rising tides. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    86
    To sum it up, Dead Island: Riptide is more of the same with enough minor tweaks to make this more than a little worth a gamers while to check out. Some area have ever so minor clipping but this never makes the game unplayable, nor is it enough to be distracting. If you enjoyed the first Dead Island, then you will very much enjoy Dead Island: Riptide. For new gamers, this is a good one to come in on.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    Techland has managed to conquer its shortcomings in order to offer us a game that lives up to expectations. Trying to maintain the same line while also implementing some changes in the game options, Dead Island: Riptide represents one of the best titles within the zombie genre for PlayStation 3.
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    Riptide is much like the zombies it portrays. It meanders about, bumping into everything, and occasionally it finds some meat to sink its teeth into. Then it slowly moves on to find the next scarce meal. Missing some parts, it shambles around, a mindless, and feral creation. Too bad.
  4. May 5, 2013
    60
    This being the case, Dead Island: Riptide will please fans of the original and zombie enthusiasts in general, but first-person shooter connoisseurs won't exactly struggle to find fault with it and are best advised to find their gun-toting thrills elsewhere.
  5. May 23, 2013
    60
    Dead Island Riptide doesn't venture too far from its core strengths, and while that is definitely a boon from a story perspective, it's still panders to the typical rubbish zombie trope.
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    50
    At the end of the day, Dead Island: Riptide has a lot of good ideas, especially in its latter half. The combat, while repetitive and often frustrating with the annoying inventory management, still manages to provide exciting encounters. It just seems as if the developer didn't trust players enough to fully immerse them with the survival horror title suggested by the mechanics.
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    40
    If you liked the original, then you'll probably enjoy Dead Island: Riptide – but this feels more like a big expansion pack than a standalone sequel. Newcomers will be frustrated by the buggy gameplay, while long term fans will be baffled by the unfixed glitches. The game is at its best in co-op, but, despite some decent presentation, it's still not really worth the admission fee.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 39
  2. Negative: 9 out of 39
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Ok, I understand there is not alot of new features here and the voice acting sucks, but I love Dead Island as well as 5 million other people.Ok, I understand there is not alot of new features here and the voice acting sucks, but I love Dead Island as well as 5 million other people. To sell 5 million copies says something. Yes this may not be a direct sequel but it is a continuation of the story and a reason to play more Dead Island. I really enjoyed the gameplay and rpg elements that dead island had to offer, so why should Techland go back to the drawing board. People get over it, there are minor changes in God of War Ascension compared to 3, and people are not rating it a 3 or 4. Riptide is a fun game with new ideas and some improvements. All of Dead Islands issues were not addressed, but when you push out the game in 19 months, you have to cut them some slack. I would much rather have a new Dead Island every 2 years than wait 3 to 4 years for a "true sequel" The gameplay is why we like Dead Island. Techland, please work on the story for the next game though. Expand
  2. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's just awesome!

    I see many there are whining on the bugs and stuff, it's normal in any application that arrives! Riptide is much more
    It's just awesome!

    I see many there are whining on the bugs and stuff, it's normal in any application that arrives!
    Riptide is much more fun (and longer) than the classic Dead Island that's for sure!
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    I feel like there was not a lot of new features but the new quests, character and whole new map was fun to hack, crush and slash my wayI feel like there was not a lot of new features but the new quests, character and whole new map was fun to hack, crush and slash my way through. It just feels so satisfying stompin' heads. It did sell at 50 dollars instead of 60 so I felt happy about that aswell. The glitches can be bad but there was a patch released today and It fixed some of them. I feel you should buy this if you enjoyed the previous game or if you like zombie games in general. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    dead island riptide is no true squeal, No Impressive Improvements (A little gorier), and a downgrade for the most part really noticeable indead island riptide is no true squeal, No Impressive Improvements (A little gorier), and a downgrade for the most part really noticeable in the voice acting and controls..
    I considered the previous dead island a 10 out of 10 and riptide practically being the same game with in a different area I'm going to give it a 7 for re releasing the same game twice, even if it is still pretty good..

    There are incredible amounts of weapons and ways to customize them, and leveling is incredibly easy, max level in 3 days if you commit a bit of time, and you start the game at lvl 15..

    If you haven't owned the first one and are thinking of getting a dead island game, get the first one instead, it's a better then dead island 1.2 aka riptide..
    Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    I was hoping for better.

    Like the original dead island. Excellent sound. Great atmosphere. Good graphics. Good sandbox. OK story & quests.
    I was hoping for better.

    Like the original dead island. Excellent sound. Great atmosphere. Good graphics. Good sandbox. OK story & quests.

    But some real immersion killers:

    1) You level up, the zombies level up. same as the original dead island. Endgame zombies can kill you just as easily as startgame ones - usually in one or two blows. Not bad in itself. Leveling up is like running to stand still, so why bother with levelling? At the tail end of the game the toughness of some zombies becomes silly - I'm level 50 with a maxed out auto rifle facing a thug' zombie at 20 yards. I have to shoot it in the head 12 times to kill it. WTF! I step through a door the thug was guarding. I step back through the door and the thug zombie has respawned next to me and kills me instantly in one blow. I respawn 20 yards away - but this time with no ammo. Arrrrrrgh frustration!!!!!!!!

    2) Internet 'integration. Riptide really wants you online - and not in a good 'left 4 dead' way. It really wants you to sign in via facebook. Why? I got so annoyed I disconnected the PS3 from the net and the game wouldnt start. Often during the game other online players would 'join in' univited and unwanted and troll around breaking the immersion - I couldn't see any way to stop this.

    A great, but flawed, zombie sandbox.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    If you played the original Dead Island and enjoyed it then you should be right at home with this sequel of sorts. The thing is this game justIf you played the original Dead Island and enjoyed it then you should be right at home with this sequel of sorts. The thing is this game just has the same feeling as the original in the sense of changes, you still see the same bugs and glitches as you did in the original and not much has changed on the graphics of the game. The menus are exactly the same as the original and they even reused a lot of the game assets from the original as far as items in the environment. That being said if this game was a little cheaper it would be fine but if you enjoyed the original you will most likely enjoy this game as well. Expand
  7. May 1, 2013
    0
    Who creates and releases a co-op game where co-op just doesn't work at all? Yes, that's right THESE guys. It's even worse than Dead Island,Who creates and releases a co-op game where co-op just doesn't work at all? Yes, that's right THESE guys. It's even worse than Dead Island, where the game lobby worked when it felt like working, which was not so often.

    I've not yet been able to create or join a private co-op game. The error message suggests that there are no public slots available, which should be a hint as to how completely worthless this game is in the matters of online play. Connection and creating public games work somewhat better, but if you're able to connect to someone, you might lose the connection every 30 seconds to 30 minutes or so. Which pretty much makes this game an infinite frustrating loop of reconnecting.

    AVOID THIS GAME if you want a solid co-op experience.
    Collapse

See all 39 User Reviews