User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 380 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 380

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game for zombie lovers, anyone who loves RPGS as well. The combination of RPG elements with the realistic combat is awesome with an arsenal of weapons from electric knifes to just a shotgun! I see the one drawback would be the aiming with guns is a little off, but I'm sure that's intentional as the characters in the game aren't exactly military special ops ha. But really I loveA fantastic game for zombie lovers, anyone who loves RPGS as well. The combination of RPG elements with the realistic combat is awesome with an arsenal of weapons from electric knifes to just a shotgun! I see the one drawback would be the aiming with guns is a little off, but I'm sure that's intentional as the characters in the game aren't exactly military special ops ha. But really I love the game and anyone who loves zombies have to own it! Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    As close to a perfect idea as I've played in a while! Mixes aspects of Fallout and Dead Rising along with some unique new and different ideas! Pretty much a must buy for any fan of the shooter/rpg genre!
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall
    + almost unlimited exploration area
    - cutscenes & poor animation
    - bugs (textures, edges)

    But overall: I love it.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I was getting intrigued with this game as of the magnificent trailer that game out a few months ago and I have followed it ever since. Ijust couldn't figure out what to expect from it. Compare it to dead rising or left 4dead? Leave this train of thought behind you (as well as the horrible cutscenes) and you have a very descent single-player experience on the consoles (I heard somethingI was getting intrigued with this game as of the magnificent trailer that game out a few months ago and I have followed it ever since. Ijust couldn't figure out what to expect from it. Compare it to dead rising or left 4dead? Leave this train of thought behind you (as well as the horrible cutscenes) and you have a very descent single-player experience on the consoles (I heard something about the dev version circling around on steam for pc that had a lot of bugs..) slashing through hordes of zombies is hust a very satisfying way of spending time if you play the game in short bursts but if you cleared a weekend for this I think it will get you a "rinse and repeat feeling" after a few hours. online has a lot of bugs still but I think if they will fix this then the online coop will be a blast to play with friends. give it a rental before you buy it to see if this is you cup of tea. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    It has a... "LOST" feel to me, which is great. The game is buggy, yes, even after installing the latest patch, but I still find it to be quite intense and fun. Great graphics and atmosphere, awsome soundtrack, fine gameplay. My only complaint is that it's OBVIOUS this was made for a co-op experience. Playing the game alone quickly becomes a frustrating and (too) difficult experience. TheyIt has a... "LOST" feel to me, which is great. The game is buggy, yes, even after installing the latest patch, but I still find it to be quite intense and fun. Great graphics and atmosphere, awsome soundtrack, fine gameplay. My only complaint is that it's OBVIOUS this was made for a co-op experience. Playing the game alone quickly becomes a frustrating and (too) difficult experience. They should consider this on a future patch, balancing the game a bit, so lone players who don't want to go online (me included) can have a better time. But, on the end of the day, this is one of the best recent zombie games. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Using the updated software on 1.3.0 This game is exciting and fun. A bit tedious when you get run over by a horde of 8 or 9 zombies at a time but it evens itself out with good vehicle play and has the GTA sandbox feel. Probably not at the same level as GTA but with another iteration it could be awesome. Long story and great gaming.
  7. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    this is a really fun game its borderlands mixed in with bioshock with zombies put in its overall really fun the graphics are meh but the game has been in progress for like 5 year time span the fighting is awkward but it actually was done on purpose to show the desperity of a zombie apocalypse it has a good leveling up system the story isnt amazing but most people get it to kill zombiesthis is a really fun game its borderlands mixed in with bioshock with zombies put in its overall really fun the graphics are meh but the game has been in progress for like 5 year time span the fighting is awkward but it actually was done on purpose to show the desperity of a zombie apocalypse it has a good leveling up system the story isnt amazing but most people get it to kill zombies really fun get it Expand
  8. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    First Person action game, rol-playing kind, absolutely full zombie experience.

    Best zombie game I have ever played, bloody, survival horror.

    Very good atmosphere, great self made weapons, you can even drive cars,.... big number of things to do helping people against non-dead.

    Extensive map, sandbox stile

    Excellent lighting and graphics, involving sound
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Very nice game, plays a little bit like borderlands with a focus on melee and instead of raiders you have zombies, but the loot system is very extensive. Nothing beats the satasfaction of slicing of a zombies head with a thrown machete from 30metres a way or finding the last component to turn your baseball bat into a flaming zombie destroyer.
  10. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    Simply put: This game has the most bugs/flaws I have ever experienced ... But despite of all the flaws I have already spend 103 hours in this game. It is just a fun game to play, there is no other way to describe this game. It is great fun. You don't play this game for intellectual depth, You don't play this game because you want decent story. At the core it is alright, the gameplay isSimply put: This game has the most bugs/flaws I have ever experienced ... But despite of all the flaws I have already spend 103 hours in this game. It is just a fun game to play, there is no other way to describe this game. It is great fun. You don't play this game for intellectual depth, You don't play this game because you want decent story. At the core it is alright, the gameplay is good, the graphics are good, the amount of content is great, slaughtering zombies is FUN and this game has amazing COOP. It's not like you'r dating the most beautiful girl in the world, you'r dating this chubby girl with that cute pretty face who gives an amazing bl*wjob. Expand
  11. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    I definitely enjoyed this game. It CAN get repetitive but still is a great game, and you can spend a great deal of time in this game. "Modding" your weapons is always fun, and does a great job of adding customization to the game. The story is kinda bland, but I definitely didn't play it for a story, I played for some fun zombie slaying. If you like Zombie games, then I definitely recommendI definitely enjoyed this game. It CAN get repetitive but still is a great game, and you can spend a great deal of time in this game. "Modding" your weapons is always fun, and does a great job of adding customization to the game. The story is kinda bland, but I definitely didn't play it for a story, I played for some fun zombie slaying. If you like Zombie games, then I definitely recommend it. Easily the best Zombie game out there at the moment, (beyond the Resident Evil series). Expand
  12. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    I`v just popped 40 hours but iv stopped playing the game after the game got the save file error that would keep you from loading your game. Techland took their sweet time fixing the game, but at last they did so i started playing the game again. Dead island is a pretty game, it is fun and it runs smooth, you have a good talent tree upgrade system. The only negative thing is that the questI`v just popped 40 hours but iv stopped playing the game after the game got the save file error that would keep you from loading your game. Techland took their sweet time fixing the game, but at last they did so i started playing the game again. Dead island is a pretty game, it is fun and it runs smooth, you have a good talent tree upgrade system. The only negative thing is that the quest gets a little repetitive, but that is something that goes for nearly all games out there. the zombies look great and the open world is pretty huge and the exploration part is really fun. So dead island is a good game if you like some zombie killing fun and some heart stopping moments. Expand
  13. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    I didnt know what to expect when I picked this up, once I began I couldnt stop, everything about the game was fun as hell. I thought the graphics were great as well as the frame rate. Controls were tight as well as the hit detection. I would without a doubt recommend this title.
  14. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    Ive got to say im surprised at how good this game was, I mean there are a few problems with the acting and the animations of the characters when they are speaking but that to me is only minor. The graphics are very decent for saying it is such a vast open world that you can explore. I love the first person melee style it uses for the combat, you can pull off some cool looking combos and iIve got to say im surprised at how good this game was, I mean there are a few problems with the acting and the animations of the characters when they are speaking but that to me is only minor. The graphics are very decent for saying it is such a vast open world that you can explore. I love the first person melee style it uses for the combat, you can pull off some cool looking combos and i like how you can kick the zombies away. You can make your own weapons and pick up most things you find which is great. I found myself doing all the side quests just to gain extra weapons or money, whilst exploring the island. I like a game that is long and worth the money! So thats another tick because i spent many many hours playing this before i completed it. The co-op is interesting, it has like a Demons Souls style multiplayer where a player can randomly join your game and visa versa, in order to help each other through the campaign. Overall a very decent game and one i will keep! Expand
  15. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    This is one of those games that should have two different scores, depending on if you plan to play it multiplayer or solo. Think Borderlands. The game changes completely when playing with some friends, because the fights can be pretty humorous. Solo you feel more of a dread feeling sometimes, and there are quite a few jump moments. The game for sure sometimes doesn't feel finished. ZombiesThis is one of those games that should have two different scores, depending on if you plan to play it multiplayer or solo. Think Borderlands. The game changes completely when playing with some friends, because the fights can be pretty humorous. Solo you feel more of a dread feeling sometimes, and there are quite a few jump moments. The game for sure sometimes doesn't feel finished. Zombies will die and fall through walls partially; they will lay randomly twitching wildly sometimes depending how they fell; some of the world physics are a tad off(I can kick a zombie down and kill them, but I can only kick a beach ball 3 feet??). It is still fun to play, and nothing was game stopping. Graphics are good, though you feel spoiled in facial expressions if you played L.A. Noire. The textures look very good. Sound is not too bad, with background music in some sections and good zombie sounds. Hearing a zombie in another room sounds great if you are using a good home theater. Overall I really enjoyed it and don't feel bad for paying full price. I played both the single and a co-op with a friend. Both times I looked forward to the next time I could play. That is what I use to judge if it is a good game. Expand
  16. Oct 10, 2011
    8
    When I first saw the trailer i must've been the smart one not to get into all the hype of this game, nevertheless the game is alright controls are okay the zombies are perfect especially the infected ones. What makes the game real cool is exploring the maps and doing quests for others, even though the quests are kinda child-like. like going too find a necklace. The upgrading system is okayWhen I first saw the trailer i must've been the smart one not to get into all the hype of this game, nevertheless the game is alright controls are okay the zombies are perfect especially the infected ones. What makes the game real cool is exploring the maps and doing quests for others, even though the quests are kinda child-like. like going too find a necklace. The upgrading system is okay , the Graphics are not that well but their okay. overall the game is good for anyone that loves the Zombie Apolcalyspe Expand
  17. Oct 17, 2011
    8
    I just finished Dead Island and can say that it was better than I expected, as long as you remember that this game is NOT an FPS. It's an RPG with some shooting elements, which are somewhat sluggish, but still functional. Some technical issues plague the game, such as checkpoints, the save system and wonky controls. But otherwise, I found it to be a highly entertaining game. The island isI just finished Dead Island and can say that it was better than I expected, as long as you remember that this game is NOT an FPS. It's an RPG with some shooting elements, which are somewhat sluggish, but still functional. Some technical issues plague the game, such as checkpoints, the save system and wonky controls. But otherwise, I found it to be a highly entertaining game. The island is massive and it truly feels like an open world game. There's so much to do, find and see, which makes for a high-value game. The visuals are fairly strong with some buginess here and there. The voice acting is competent and the sound is strong as well. The weapons have a "rarity" factor to them, similar to Borderlands, which makes for some fun moments when you find a true gem. Overall, the feeling of survival in a lush environment is there, and that's the main point of the game. Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Great Game! Yes there are bugs, but in the end the ability to beat a zombie senseless with a boatoar makes you forget about those. Definitely an online game, though playing on single player gives you more of a challenge. This game has a ton of replay value, with four different characters to play with. Kinda wish that you could have made your own, but oh well. This game reminded me of aGreat Game! Yes there are bugs, but in the end the ability to beat a zombie senseless with a boatoar makes you forget about those. Definitely an online game, though playing on single player gives you more of a challenge. This game has a ton of replay value, with four different characters to play with. Kinda wish that you could have made your own, but oh well. This game reminded me of a cross between Grand Theft Auto and Left 4 Dead, and in my opinion combined great aspects of both. Another way to think of this game is a BETTER version of Boarderlands, a game in my opinion was boring and unplayable. Worth every penny, and later patches should fix alot of problems, don't listen to the haters, go out and but this game you will not be left unhappy. Expand
  19. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    If you give this game a chance its a really great game and you should definitely consider buying it, It has a creepy atmosphere and the zombies actually sometimes make you jump of course the further on in the game the harder it gets but its also more entertaining that's why you should give this game a chance, it by no means deserves the score its got, sure it had a few bugs but nothingIf you give this game a chance its a really great game and you should definitely consider buying it, It has a creepy atmosphere and the zombies actually sometimes make you jump of course the further on in the game the harder it gets but its also more entertaining that's why you should give this game a chance, it by no means deserves the score its got, sure it had a few bugs but nothing that couldn't of been fixed by a small patch. The graphics are pretty average but there are some neat little effects like the realistic damage to the zombies, once hit they will reveal muscles and insides and when they are hit in the head there head will basically splat and blood will spray everywhere, its really satisfying killing a zombie with one or two hits. The missions are varied to avoid boredom and are sometimes challenging and after each mission you will receive a award which would most likely be a weapon or money to spend on upgrading your weapons which can be done by walking towards a work bench, its all very easy to pick up and you'll get the hang of this quickly, i recommend this game to everyone and especially rpg and fps fans. Expand
  20. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    While there are certainly some technical issues that can pop up, and some of the facial animations are lacking, the game is exceptionally consistent in presenting a Romero-esque zombie world in a unique setting that sells the game a lot with the exceptional atmosphere created by the sounds of Thugs roaring in the distance, the wet growls of Walkers, and the screams of the 28 Days LaterWhile there are certainly some technical issues that can pop up, and some of the facial animations are lacking, the game is exceptionally consistent in presenting a Romero-esque zombie world in a unique setting that sells the game a lot with the exceptional atmosphere created by the sounds of Thugs roaring in the distance, the wet growls of Walkers, and the screams of the 28 Days Later style Infected. The constant go-fetch quests can be somewhat repetitive, but the challenge of succeeding at them while constantly fearing attack, and being suspicious of every body and blood-stain on the ground makes each one a but of a nail-biter. Dead Island isn't perfect, but for a zombie purist, it would be at the top of my reccomendation list. Expand
  21. May 23, 2012
    9
    This game may be a little rough around the edges, and the characters are completely 2D, but it is an enormous amount of fun to play. The manual melee system is intriguing, and although it didn't work for me, swinging the analog sticks like weapons is a cool idea. I played this game post-patch, and really there hardly any bugs or glitches left. The plot is predictable and theThis game may be a little rough around the edges, and the characters are completely 2D, but it is an enormous amount of fun to play. The manual melee system is intriguing, and although it didn't work for me, swinging the analog sticks like weapons is a cool idea. I played this game post-patch, and really there hardly any bugs or glitches left. The plot is predictable and the voice-acting laughable, and yet I couldn't stop playing. The action is non-top and frenetic and the controls generally fair very well. The drop-in multiplayer coop is a blast and levelling up unlocks awesome abilities unique to each playable character. The weapon generation feels a lot like Borderlands, but that is no bad thing and it is a rush to find a high level chest with a chance of finding one of the rare weapons inside. Overall, ignore the haters and play away, this game has hours of zombie-mashing mayhem crammed into it. Expand
  22. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    A First Person Openworld Zombie game with RPG elements seemed like the holy grail for me as soon as i heard about Dead Island. Sadly, for ME Dead Island just didn't deliver the hype. While the graphics looked good to say at least, in a game like this, storytelling and character development means much for me but i just couldn't care for the story or characters, cause this all felt flat.A First Person Openworld Zombie game with RPG elements seemed like the holy grail for me as soon as i heard about Dead Island. Sadly, for ME Dead Island just didn't deliver the hype. While the graphics looked good to say at least, in a game like this, storytelling and character development means much for me but i just couldn't care for the story or characters, cause this all felt flat. Then you have gameplay, which usually makes up other flaws. Again, this unfortunately didn't deliver it for me either. While the gameplay and combat was fun for 30 minutes, it just felt too clumsy and kind of sluggish to keep me entertained long enough. Don't let this review keep you away from the game though, cause just because it's a flawed game doesn't mean that nobody will enjoy it. If you love zombie and/or hack and slash games with RPG elements and if you're able to look past good story and character development, then Dead Island might be the game for you! For ME personally, Dead Island is a flawed game that misses a lot of potential and a game that isn't for everyone. Based on how i felt, i would give Dead Island a 6/10. Expand
  23. May 27, 2012
    8
    Dead Island Review w/patch 1.3 (8)
    From the very beginning of the game, when you wake up alone in your hotel room. To the horrific search and scavenge of beautiful beaches, to the sewers, to the classic large city horror at every turn......this game has a great feeling of isolation and dread during a lovely vacation on the island of banoi in papa new guinea. On banoi hacking and slashing
    Dead Island Review w/patch 1.3 (8)
    From the very beginning of the game, when you wake up alone in your hotel room. To the horrific search and scavenge of beautiful beaches, to the sewers, to the classic large city horror at every turn......this game has a great feeling of isolation and dread during a lovely vacation on the island of banoi in papa new guinea. On banoi hacking and slashing is the name of the game. Dead islands melee combat is just as satisfyingly brutal as it is responsive and accurate. The digital fight controls are more accurate then you would think they would be but the analog controls are very precise although clunky to learn at first. Either control scheme lets you feel powerful and brutal hacking off body parts in brutal classic horror movie fashion. When taking on a thug (one of the mini bosses in the game) you need to use the limb hacking mechanic to your advantage since it only takes two hits for this thug to kill you. You'll find yourself on your toes for most of the game because no matter what level you are or where you are on the island the zombies can kill you easily. The zombies are truly haunting and very distinguishable based on the noises they make alone. Hearing the crazed battle cry of an "infected" will make you suddenly look around wildly or turn tail running for the nearest car roof. One of the mechanics used that makes this game so intense is the stamina meter. Every time you swing your weapon of choice, kick, run, or jump, it takes a certain amount of stamina. The less stamina you have, the more damage you will take if you are hit and if you run out of stamina you become a wobbly uncoordinated human just waiting to be eaten by the undead. Some of the combat mechanics are not taught to you though. This proves to be an issue of trial and error until either a friend tells you or you get lucky and figure it out. For those of you reading this review and yet to play the game. You can dodge by simply jumping and pressing any direction. At dead island's core is an rpg full of simple but entertaining quests, a robust melee weapon system, and 4 classes with unique skill trees. While there is plenty to do in dead island as far as quests go....they do get repetitive. You can only do so many fetch quests over the years before this song and dance becomes stale. This a curse all modern day rpgs share and i will discredit dead island because of it. Although it is worth mentioning. The weapon system is not traditional by any means luckily. Sure some of the core mechanics are similar to other well known rpgs....the difference is that almost all of the base weapons are basic house hold items or farm tools like kitchen knives, shovels, paddles, baseball bats, sickles and machetes just to name a few. The next step after finding a really great item (the item color grades are in the manual) is finding a mod that turns a simple weapon into a wicked zombie killing weapon of pure destruction. The first time you add nails to a classic baseball bat or to the first time you create an electrified ax or machete makes you crave the next mod. If you like the thrill of the hunt in looting for that next legendary item dead island will satisfy that craving. Also leveling up is a big part of your journey through this island of the damned. All the characters do have their own perks but you can still take a character who maybe specializes in throwing weapons and make him a melee brute/firearm expert. Since the mods are not linked to your class you can use whatever floats your boat. The only problem i have with the skill trees, which is more a preference then a problem, is there is no stat reset option. So, choose carefully which skills you want cause there is no going back.

    Unfortunately, even the best zombie games are not perfect. My first concern is the sound not being surround sound. I found myself hearing an infected behind me and turning to look for the undead only to be attacked from the side or from behind. Since the zombies level up with you. A cheap shot can and will mean certain death. So, if you like to play with head phones don't expect cod like sound. Also there is the occasional graphical hiccup, frame rate drop, or pop in environment. None of those problems are new to rpgs & are certainly not game breaking. The hit detection is good but sometimes on the digital fight setting you find yourself swinging at the air even though the zombies are in your face. The biggest problem i have with the game is loosing rare items from them being thrown. It's one thing to throw your 4,000 dollar modded weapon into an enemy and get killed before you can retrieve it. It's another problem when you throw a rare and expensive item and it disappears into thin air without a trace. When i say that dead island is the best zombie game i have ever played. I very much mean it. It's not perfect but i, nor you, should expect that from any game.
    Expand
  24. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    I think after seeing that amazing trailer for this game a ways back peoples expectations were high, sadly that mood of the trailer doesnt really follow into the game but it isnt a bad thing. The game can be played co-op with 4 people and this is recommend for some serious fun. The game has maps that are pretty big in size and only load when going from one map to another, anywhere from theI think after seeing that amazing trailer for this game a ways back peoples expectations were high, sadly that mood of the trailer doesnt really follow into the game but it isnt a bad thing. The game can be played co-op with 4 people and this is recommend for some serious fun. The game has maps that are pretty big in size and only load when going from one map to another, anywhere from the tropical shores to a ruined ghetto city to a thick jungle. The cut scenes are awkward and kinda find yourself holding your hand over mouth from laugh cause some scenes are just silly and glitchy looking. The graphics in game are pretty good the gore from punching zombies in the head with a metal pipe never gets old. The game starts off slow, but give it a chance and youll be having a ton of fun and not wanting to put down the controller Expand
  25. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    This game started great with awesome trailer, but the best waited for gamers after the release. It's a great adventure full of exploring, killing zombies and trying to survive. Solo or with friends you'll find hundreds of hours of fun and all of this for a great price. Now, after Techland announced that the chars from this game can get exported to the new one - Riptide, there is noThis game started great with awesome trailer, but the best waited for gamers after the release. It's a great adventure full of exploring, killing zombies and trying to survive. Solo or with friends you'll find hundreds of hours of fun and all of this for a great price. Now, after Techland announced that the chars from this game can get exported to the new one - Riptide, there is no excuse, but buy Dead Island and have fun. Expand
  26. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    this is an awesome game if you like zombies. the only downside is that theres no BIG groups of zombies, the max ive seen together is about 6 zombies in a group but other than that it's a very well done game.
  27. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Excellent game. Better than Left 4 dead. Like borderlands and rage, but with zombies and less distance driving. Get given quests (and sidequests), go there, get this and that, fight zombies and find loot on the way, get rewards, increase skills ... then repeat. Took me about 35 hours to complete. A lot more addictive than most games i've played. Its the first game I've played through twiceExcellent game. Better than Left 4 dead. Like borderlands and rage, but with zombies and less distance driving. Get given quests (and sidequests), go there, get this and that, fight zombies and find loot on the way, get rewards, increase skills ... then repeat. Took me about 35 hours to complete. A lot more addictive than most games i've played. Its the first game I've played through twice in a long while. More than that, those play throughs were consecutive - while MW3 sat on my shelf unplayed!

    I think the attraction is the sandbox nature of the island - you can just drive ignore all the quests and around exploring if you want. My only complaint is the amount of bullets it takes to kill a zombie! At level 30 you can be facing a level 40 zombie. The zombie can kill you in 2 to 3 punches, but it takes you 30 to 40 rounds to the head and chest to kill it. C'mon if its a 'zombie movie' then one or two to the head should do it.
    Expand
  28. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Techland most anticipated game is the best game on their list. Maybe their long taking years to release Dead Island went very well but they could have taken one more year to polish perfectly the formula because with all due respect, Dead Island needs more sharping ideas and gameplay. Combine the big world of Oblivion or Fallout ( or maybe Borderlands) and add the crazy zombies of Left 4Techland most anticipated game is the best game on their list. Maybe their long taking years to release Dead Island went very well but they could have taken one more year to polish perfectly the formula because with all due respect, Dead Island needs more sharping ideas and gameplay. Combine the big world of Oblivion or Fallout ( or maybe Borderlands) and add the crazy zombies of Left 4 dead and there you have what is the concept. Dead Island , island doesn't pushed me to explore the whole place, I found the formula very linear even with the giant world . A nice introduction waking in the hotel after a few drinks, alcohol or better said hangover went nice, walking,exploring,getting freaked out by the first zombies appearance is just the little beginning . Combat system is not perfect or not so satisfying seriously , the melee weapons are cool but you need to kill for good those zombies or else, they will keep standing up , is like, squash that bug or something like that. The animation when talking is lifeless and poor , but the graphics have a nice light contrast , shadows. I kinda feel disturbed of how those critics found the game, because , Dead Island in my taste is an idea that not to many developers have in mind these days . Also I'm happy that Techland is doing more complex games , hope the next is in a city or something better. Expand
  29. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Island is a beyond solid game that should be in any FPS/RPG gamers collection. Sure there are technical flaws but they will be patched and im not making an excuse for yet another dev to release a glitch filled product. There are enough negative reviews on here with the main issues so im going to tell you about the postives instead. Dead Island really tries to avoid all of theDead Island is a beyond solid game that should be in any FPS/RPG gamers collection. Sure there are technical flaws but they will be patched and im not making an excuse for yet another dev to release a glitch filled product. There are enough negative reviews on here with the main issues so im going to tell you about the postives instead. Dead Island really tries to avoid all of the mainstream gaming cloned ideas and creates a unique experience that you will want to participate in. From running over groups of zombies with an abandoned vehicle, hearing a distant scream then moments later having a hungry zombie pack charge you, having your weapons degrade and break in the middle of combat, scavaging the beatiful landscape for items to survive with and partcipating in the games numerous quests/side missions is just a very small list of things to do in this open world game. It plays like Fallout 3 and Dead Rising 2 had a baby but trust me this is a game you will want to play for hours on end until you turn into a zombie yourself. Expand
  30. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Dead Island is a good game, huge in length, lovely to look at, and satisfying to play. The subtleties make it great; there is an air of tragedy that many games miss, the body types are varied,the island in fun to explore, the survivors react in a variety of realistic ways to the horror they are living in, and not everyone can be or wants to be saved. I've played about 16 hours, and amDead Island is a good game, huge in length, lovely to look at, and satisfying to play. The subtleties make it great; there is an air of tragedy that many games miss, the body types are varied,the island in fun to explore, the survivors react in a variety of realistic ways to the horror they are living in, and not everyone can be or wants to be saved. I've played about 16 hours, and am only 20% through. It is definitely worth your $60 and your time. Expand
  31. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    i dont know what these reviewers are saying. i have this game and was instantly addicted, i beat it in 2 days and am now half way through my second play through. i did not run into any glitches that make the game unplayable, in fact i haven't ran into any at all. the graphics might not be the best but buying a game for its graphics is like watching porn for its story... this is easily thei dont know what these reviewers are saying. i have this game and was instantly addicted, i beat it in 2 days and am now half way through my second play through. i did not run into any glitches that make the game unplayable, in fact i haven't ran into any at all. the graphics might not be the best but buying a game for its graphics is like watching porn for its story... this is easily the most underrated game this year, if you are thinking about getting it, then don't listen to the bad reviews make your own opinion. this game is one of the only games i wont be trading in Expand
  32. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Okay...Time to go over Dead Island. I have a feeling that the low scores are from 360 trolls so here is an honest opinion and review of the game. All I have to say is that it is Borderlands meets Zombies. It isn't really survival horror by any means. There are energy drinks scattered all over the place, weapons and cash are abundant. So yeah. It is not survival horror. It will makeOkay...Time to go over Dead Island. I have a feeling that the low scores are from 360 trolls so here is an honest opinion and review of the game. All I have to say is that it is Borderlands meets Zombies. It isn't really survival horror by any means. There are energy drinks scattered all over the place, weapons and cash are abundant. So yeah. It is not survival horror. It will make you jump from time to time though. There were a couple of times where I was walking along and what I felt was a fully dead body sprung up and grabbed a hold of me. Story wise it is somewhat lacking. You have five characters you can choose between and there is a back story as to why you are there but for the most part you wake up and the zombie outbreak has already happened and of course you are immune to the virus so you have to do fetch quests and clear areas for the survivors. Graphics wise it does have a little bit of dating to it but for the most part it fit the game and I didn't notice anything that was overtly ugly. Now, the texture mapping does take a few seconds to fully come to life after you die. That's really my only complaint graphics wise. Over all, much like Borderlands, I had a blast playing this game and I will be doing multiple playthroughs.

    To address those that have complained about the game not saving or hanging up and what not. On my PS3 I have not had a single issue for this. It has always saved and started me exactly where I have left off. I took the game with me to show some buddies and what I thought was strange was that the game was unplayable on my friends slim ps3. I am still running the 1st gen 60gb model and have had no issues. On his there was serious issues with game freezes every minute or so. It didn't make sense to me as to why it would work on mine and not his. Then I tried it out on my other friends ps3 and it played fine. Maybe there is an issue with the ps3 slim and this game? I don't know and I personally don't care. I get to enjoy this game to the fullest because it doesn't have any of the bugs that other people have mentioned. I fully give this game a 10 out of 10 for pure enjoyment factor as I did with Borderlands as well.
    Expand
  33. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    genually enjoying this game has some issues I seem to have trouble connecting to alot of players and doesn't save as often as I would like I can't just go out kill a few zombies and save my process. Most of the time I do a quick side mission and have it save that way. Though when I do connect to 3 other players this game is a blast.

    There are pop issues and some map issues and I ran into
    genually enjoying this game has some issues I seem to have trouble connecting to alot of players and doesn't save as often as I would like I can't just go out kill a few zombies and save my process. Most of the time I do a quick side mission and have it save that way. Though when I do connect to 3 other players this game is a blast.

    There are pop issues and some map issues and I ran into a few dead quests but where soon fixed when I restarted.

    Really fun game and alot to explore and see with character roll over don't even need to finish the game. The difficulty remains persistant always giving you a challenge. COOP is where the fun is at an 8 for me.
    Expand
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I'm very upset with Gamestop & Techland for not getting me my preordered copy of Dead Island. But I loved the game. If you love zombies & games like Fallout 3, Oblivion, Skyrim or Borderlands or the movies like Mad Max or just a fun intense game. This is a must own. It's a shame to see the bad ratings & cheap price now. I probably put eighty hours into it to get the platinum. Not sure if II'm very upset with Gamestop & Techland for not getting me my preordered copy of Dead Island. But I loved the game. If you love zombies & games like Fallout 3, Oblivion, Skyrim or Borderlands or the movies like Mad Max or just a fun intense game. This is a must own. It's a shame to see the bad ratings & cheap price now. I probably put eighty hours into it to get the platinum. Not sure if I want buy the add on content because I was not given it with my preorder nor did Techland respond to me on their own facebook. Most companies do. What a shame. I have proof of purchase and I won't buying the next one without a limited edition free add on content version. Bring on Dead Island 2 & show more love to those who buy the damn game and put money in your pocket. Expand
  35. May 29, 2012
    10
    Dead Island is a game that many people were waiting. The game set on a dark island with a first-person perspective. What immediately strikes the eye is a pervasive atmosphere that was created with great consequence, because the danger lurks everywhere. While the graphic is average at best, a combat system with zombies is incredibly exciting, adrenaline and giving us an unforgettableDead Island is a game that many people were waiting. The game set on a dark island with a first-person perspective. What immediately strikes the eye is a pervasive atmosphere that was created with great consequence, because the danger lurks everywhere. While the graphic is average at best, a combat system with zombies is incredibly exciting, adrenaline and giving us an unforgettable experience. Dead Island is a solid action game with elements of horror, anyone who likes games with zombies, love her at first sight. A nice addition is the game in co-op for 4 players max Expand
  36. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Have been playing this game since it came out and can't get enough of it. Sure it has its issues as most games these days do, but for what it is it is awesome. The most annoying glitch reported is sometimes your save will kick you back in the game. However, I have yet to witness this myself. The physics are good and the weapon structure and balance is great as well. Wish there were moreHave been playing this game since it came out and can't get enough of it. Sure it has its issues as most games these days do, but for what it is it is awesome. The most annoying glitch reported is sometimes your save will kick you back in the game. However, I have yet to witness this myself. The physics are good and the weapon structure and balance is great as well. Wish there were more weapons, but the ones provided get any job done. Expand
  37. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Dead island is a load of fun. I never though I would see an RPG style zombie game but it's here. This is not a true RPG but it does have some great elements of the genre. The skill tree is huge and varied and really allows you to decide how you wish to level up your character. I enjoyed figuring out how I would use my skill points each level I gained & combining your skills with yourDead island is a load of fun. I never though I would see an RPG style zombie game but it's here. This is not a true RPG but it does have some great elements of the genre. The skill tree is huge and varied and really allows you to decide how you wish to level up your character. I enjoyed figuring out how I would use my skill points each level I gained & combining your skills with your characters basic proficiencies can make for some great combat. The graphics have a few minor issue such as textures taking a moment to load but to me this is not even a real issue. The game does an amazing job of conveying the sense of being trapped on an island infested with the walking dead. These are not your average zombies either. Sure some of them shamble along and appear to be aped right out of a Romero flick. However there are a ton that upon seeing you come running at you top speed, arms flailing and even throwing hand weapons at you!! This immediately conjured up memories the movie 28 Days Later which is a great thing IMO when it comes to a zombie game. The one thing this game does best is force you to think and act like it's really you trapped on the island. In the later stages of the game I found myself honestly considering at times if I wanted to take on a group of the undead I spotted at the end of the street or try and avoid them to continue on towards my objective. This was the best thing about the game for me in that you feel like a zombie apocalypse survivor, not like your sitting in your living room playing a zombie game. I have spent limited time with the online which appears to be quite good and a lot of fun. However, this game is worth the purchase price just for the campaign alone. Expand
  38. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    For the PS3 specifically, this game has delivered for me, and handedly so. It IS like Fallout 3/Dead Rising 1+2 and Borderlands and Left 4 Dead 1+2 (only from what I have read on the last 2) in the very best ways. It IS NOT like Black Ops zombie expansions, and that is again a VERY good thing.

    Even from a single player run through, you can tell this game was designed for at least 2 but
    For the PS3 specifically, this game has delivered for me, and handedly so. It IS like Fallout 3/Dead Rising 1+2 and Borderlands and Left 4 Dead 1+2 (only from what I have read on the last 2) in the very best ways. It IS NOT like Black Ops zombie expansions, and that is again a VERY good thing.

    Even from a single player run through, you can tell this game was designed for at least 2 but preferably a full 4 players. Missions scream out that they need a point man, two flankers and an engineer (or as I described it here in the office "a killer of things, two watchers for things and a doer....of stuff). Fans of rpgs and even MMOs can appreciate this class/job structure for sure. On the topic of RPG and MMO elements, the item/crafting and weapons system is pretty slick for its straightforward approach. You have components for items scattered all over the land, from duct tape, nails, soap. All pretty innocuous and on their own useless, but take them to the work bench and you are met with the ability to craft --if not a totally realistic, at least moderately believable -- weapon. Have a wooden weapon? Add nails to it (bat, stick, etc, it doesnâ
    Expand
  39. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    I've read a lot of the negative reviews on this site and TBH I haven't had the same issues (PS3 version 1.1.0). Sure the game has minor bugs, what game doesn't? It is quite a difficult game, but I am really enjoying it, I'm at 51% at the moment. I really enjoyed Dead Rising 2 and this is far better! Some people have complained that the game doesn't save, you just have to remember that itI've read a lot of the negative reviews on this site and TBH I haven't had the same issues (PS3 version 1.1.0). Sure the game has minor bugs, what game doesn't? It is quite a difficult game, but I am really enjoying it, I'm at 51% at the moment. I really enjoyed Dead Rising 2 and this is far better! Some people have complained that the game doesn't save, you just have to remember that it has "temporary" saves and permanent ones. If you get killed you go back to a temporary save, but if you quit the next time you play the game, it starts you at the last permanent save. Permanent saves happen when you complete a quest (mission) even a small easy one. The game's menus and map could be a lot better and the character/weapon upgrades are a little confusing to start with. Overall I think it's a great game, I wasted all of Sunday addcted to it. I did find it difficult to connect to other players online, but a lot of games have teething troubles wih multiplayer for the first couple of weeks. If you rent or borrow it, you might not have enough time to truly understand just how good it is, so buy it and trade it in after a week or two if you don't like it, you won't loose much & you might get hooked! Expand
  40. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Have been playing the game for nearly 2 weeks, clocked up 40 hours and have just reached Chpt 9. Had just got the mission to blow the tunnel to the jungle, but wanted to check Bungalow 14 for the 'Gold Digger' side mission first. Left the lifeguard house on foot, a message popped up, 'return to vehicle' , however I proceeded towards the bungalows, had travelled only 20 meters from theHave been playing the game for nearly 2 weeks, clocked up 40 hours and have just reached Chpt 9. Had just got the mission to blow the tunnel to the jungle, but wanted to check Bungalow 14 for the 'Gold Digger' side mission first. Left the lifeguard house on foot, a message popped up, 'return to vehicle' , however I proceeded towards the bungalows, had travelled only 20 meters from the vehicle when 'Quest Failed' popped up. The game repawned me on the other side of the hotel complex 248 metres from the vehicle. The game has ended! It is impossible for me to get to the vehicle. This is the only checkpoint the game will load, one that gives me 20 seconds to travel 248 meters to the vehicle before respawning me in the exact same position. I'd loved the game up until then. I want to finish it, but don't know if I can be bothered to do another 40 hours to get to the same place. Really really pissed off! Expand
  41. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    what game are you guys playing? I rented this off redbox and i freaking love it i stop playing only because im getting it on pc and wanted to play all over from the start buying a game the day it comes out almost always comes with bugs unless your valve or blizz only two companys i know of that will hold off on a game till its almost flawless so no need getting all bent out of shape overwhat game are you guys playing? I rented this off redbox and i freaking love it i stop playing only because im getting it on pc and wanted to play all over from the start buying a game the day it comes out almost always comes with bugs unless your valve or blizz only two companys i know of that will hold off on a game till its almost flawless so no need getting all bent out of shape over bugs unless they do not fix them with in the first week or two..... then again maybe i want you to run down the score so i can get it cheep on a steam 50% deal or somthing Expand
  42. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    The best zombie game I've ever played and one of the best games I've played. Pros: graphics, gameplay, atmosphere, weapons editor, is different from other games, the island is really big (a lot to do), and of course the zombies senseless killing. Cons: I can think of other than minor bugs. I recommend purchase.
  43. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    I'll admit that I had my doubts on this one, even after reading all I could find on it and watching trailer after trailer of graphical zombie goodness. It turns out that, so far, this is the most fun I've had playing a game this year. I currently about 10 hours in playing it and have just found some guns. Yes, it does take a bit of time to acquire guns and ammo is somewhat scarce, but thisI'll admit that I had my doubts on this one, even after reading all I could find on it and watching trailer after trailer of graphical zombie goodness. It turns out that, so far, this is the most fun I've had playing a game this year. I currently about 10 hours in playing it and have just found some guns. Yes, it does take a bit of time to acquire guns and ammo is somewhat scarce, but this adds a whole new element that melee doesn't. It took me about 2 or 3 hours to get used to the controls and menus and such. Select pulls up your map. Up on the D-pad pulls up your inventory. There is a bit of experimenting to be done with Dead Island before it becomes second nature as the instruction manual is very lackluster and there are no in-game tutorials. But don't let that detract you from this superb zombie game!

    The graphics looks amazing on my 47" LED TV. The music is quite diverse and fits the mood of the game perfectly. You can play as one of 4 players, but choose wisely because each one has a different skill path they can embark upon. Let me also say this: This is a MAMMOTH of a game as far as length is concerned. By the time you go through the main campaign and all of the side quests I wouldn't be a bit surprised if it ended up being a 30 hour affair! Fine by me! The more the merrier.

    To me, what really stands out with this game is how fun and addicting it is. Once you get going and figure out the basics, putting down the controller is the equivalent of a crack addict going cold turkey. I couldn't stand waiting for my copy from Amazon to come via UPS today, so I went to GameStop at midnight last night, got it, then went brain dead(pun intended) for 6 hours straight, slept for about 3 hours and played another 4 more. I'll lose return shipping sending it back, but it'll be worth it knowing I've already gotten to play a large chunk of the game. Needless to say, I had to take a break from my 2nd assault on Banoi Island because my eyes were/are still burning. But what amazing fun the game is and I'm sure will continue to be! There are certain times where you have to use your brain to get out of hairy situations and it will get your pulse racing. The fall onslaught of games is upon us and Dead Island starts off the assault with a BANG!

    I wouldn't be a bit surprised if this ends up being a sleeper hit, since the developer(Deep Silver?) is not well known and they did have a huge budget with which to promote the game. What they achieved with the limited resources they had is nothing short of amazing. Go buy this now!
    Expand
  44. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Fallout 3 mechanics with Zombies. Most of the bad reviews are so nit picky I didn't even notice the issues until reading these reviews. My copy is PS3 and haven't seen any screen tearing. the odd visual bug maybe, but that is to be expected from a game of this size. It's rumored the campaign is 20-30 hours long, with drop in/out multiplayer to take on quests with people when you want andFallout 3 mechanics with Zombies. Most of the bad reviews are so nit picky I didn't even notice the issues until reading these reviews. My copy is PS3 and haven't seen any screen tearing. the odd visual bug maybe, but that is to be expected from a game of this size. It's rumored the campaign is 20-30 hours long, with drop in/out multiplayer to take on quests with people when you want and dominate zombies solo when you don't. I owned LFD 1 & 2 and this game blows it away. In Left For Dead you run along the same linear path over and over and over, while in Dead Island you're free to explore. this freedom makes the game much more intense and scary. The combat is mainly melee but you can throw any of your weapons, with guns being added later in the game. Also, VEHICLES! What's more fun than demolishing hordes of zombies in your truck with your 3 buds? Nothing. Expand
  45. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Really solid game with a lot of melee action. The plot is laughable at best but killing zombies is always fun. Creating and upgrading weapons to use on the zombie infestation is excellent. The graphics are really good, minus the slow rendering in cut scenes and loading maps. A must buy for people who love zombie games.
  46. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    This is a "good" game. I will say I spend about 42 hours or so to beat this game, by far the longest I've spent on a single play through in a video game. Did almost all the side-quests, but the side-quests were what kept me going; I kept trying to find new mods to upgrade my weapon. The first 20 hours were awesome, but then the game got repetitive to me. The story was so-so, but we didn'tThis is a "good" game. I will say I spend about 42 hours or so to beat this game, by far the longest I've spent on a single play through in a video game. Did almost all the side-quests, but the side-quests were what kept me going; I kept trying to find new mods to upgrade my weapon. The first 20 hours were awesome, but then the game got repetitive to me. The story was so-so, but we didn't even have time to absorb who the villain is before we have the final battle. I love long games, but this game kind of faded on me because of the lack of character buildup. Felt like a slave running into random people and doing a job for them; then goodbye. The driving was surprisingly very satisfying running into zombies; oh too bad you cant look behind you..I got the GOY edition; but is in no rush to do the ryder white campaign. Don't get me wrong I liked this game, but it was borderline "meh" after finishing it. Honestly it felt like a fps god of war zombie type game. Expand
  47. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    This game left me playing for hours; the game is so very funny and smart with the customizes your own weapon, and when the game is finished you just replay and get better!
    The multiplayer system is made so very good that you can play with anybody and still feel happy about it!
  48. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Gaminghoff, Dead Island
    Deepsilver's latest game 'Dead Island' has its flaws, but these flaws are outweighed by this epic zombie survival thriller. On a tropical island near Papua new guinea the dead roam the blood ridden shores, the empty echoing streets and in the hollow jungle. You must craft weapons as you journey throughout the zombie ridden areas that are also sprawling with loot
    Gaminghoff, Dead Island
    Deepsilver's latest game 'Dead Island' has its flaws, but these flaws are outweighed by this epic zombie survival thriller. On a tropical island near Papua new guinea the dead roam the blood ridden shores, the empty echoing streets and in the hollow jungle. You must craft weapons as you journey throughout the zombie ridden areas that are also sprawling with loot and most importantly.... Zombies. As you make your way through the games many quests you will find all sorts of usefull things to aid in your journey, mods, weapons, med kits... I don't see how anyone could dislike this game, sure, it has it's flaws but look at the big picture... This is a zombie thriller like no other and a normal person could spend up to 30 hours, just hacking zombies limbs off and hunting for those special ' legendary weapons'. The game, as i said before has its flaws, as well as zombies, glitches are also abundant, it lacks the polish that could of made this great game, and awesome game! Overall I give it a 8 and praise it for the rich dark environments and lustfull loot, but dislike the lack of polish.
    Expand
  49. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    It's not meant to be serious, just fun and that's what it is, open world RPG zombie killing fun. Playing the game from the perspective of all characters is great, crafting is a treat and dispatching an angry zombie in any one of hundreds of different ways is awesome, or you can just drive around mowing them down in your truck. The graphics are well done and polished, kind of like far cry 3It's not meant to be serious, just fun and that's what it is, open world RPG zombie killing fun. Playing the game from the perspective of all characters is great, crafting is a treat and dispatching an angry zombie in any one of hundreds of different ways is awesome, or you can just drive around mowing them down in your truck. The graphics are well done and polished, kind of like far cry 3 with zombies, and don't tell me that the voice acting sucks, has anyone actually played far cry 3 and listened to the acting, "it's awful ay bro" but the game still rates very highly so don't take the bad acting seriously and you'll be fine because its meant to be that way to give you a laugh in between mashing zombie heads with a broken paddle. Expand
  50. May 15, 2013
    8
    This is a good game! The combat is bloody and its probobly the best zombie survival experience game out there! The only things that hold Dead Island back are inconsistent graphics and a story that completely falls apart after the first 30 minutes. However, this is still a good, bloody game that anyone looking to kill some zombies should definitely check out!
  51. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    I have played the GOTY version 1.3.0 and experienced no major bugs. The map doesn't always show the best way but you can find our own way around anyway, yes there's respawn but it didnt bother me much and i never got any warnings that i'd leave the game area. I had a lot of fun smashing those zombies, graphics are good and there's lots of content, missions and weapons to keep you busy.I have played the GOTY version 1.3.0 and experienced no major bugs. The map doesn't always show the best way but you can find our own way around anyway, yes there's respawn but it didnt bother me much and i never got any warnings that i'd leave the game area. I had a lot of fun smashing those zombies, graphics are good and there's lots of content, missions and weapons to keep you busy. Sure, it's not at the same level as Fallout 3 but still a nice game and definitely worth the 5 bucks i spent on it! Expand
  52. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Thrusts you into the game quickly, but executes it with in a clean and concise manner. The game nicely utilizes the setting nicely, and does not implement loud and gaudy music into its score. Very fast, very immersive, very cool.
    Well played....
  53. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    I had hope for this game because we need a combination of RPG,Zombies,Open World, And Dead rising 1st person, and thats exactly what we got, well except for All the bugs and boring zombie- graphic related problems. I got this game on the X-mas of 2011.And today August 30th I have 108Hrs On this game. This game is something that you dont see to often these days with fun gameplay, spectcularI had hope for this game because we need a combination of RPG,Zombies,Open World, And Dead rising 1st person, and thats exactly what we got, well except for All the bugs and boring zombie- graphic related problems. I got this game on the X-mas of 2011.And today August 30th I have 108Hrs On this game. This game is something that you dont see to often these days with fun gameplay, spectcular co-op and 1 great DLC called Bloodbath Arena.(sorry ryder white). Most of the missions are fun except for the overwhelming amount of fetch quests and the forgetable story. you can use almost anything as a weapon from A pan to a cleaver and it goes really well with the RPG elements in the game. The blueprints are cool too like fire axes that are really on fire and poisin bombs, it makes you feel nice and warm and fuzzy inside slicing heads with a electric sword too. One thing about this game is that its reminds you of Dead rising 2 in peticular with open world and a leveling system and upgrades and weapon combos but thats not a bad thing. The upgrades in dead island is what ties the whole game together with some really cool upgrades. Overall this is dead rising 2 but 1st person and its bigger and more bugs.ect Expand
  54. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. --Read my review if you are undecided. i'l;l write it the way I'd want to read it..
    --1st off This game is a HOME-RUN.
    --THE GAMES GREATEST strength is LOOT! Farming for weapons in the chest is soooo addicting. And you will get sucked into this and hit up the deadIsland WIKI for tips and hints on where this & that is..
    --The game is like a giant treasure map and finding the UBER stuff is sooo rewarding..
    --This game goes into my ""SPECIAL" CATEGORY for large games I run around and sandbox/open world play in FOR MONTHS. that category is SKYRIM/Oblivion,Fallout,,Farcry and Batman,... the reason this game is/was soo awesome is they made killing zombies soo much fun..And the controls are soo perfect.. In deadRising 1 &2 those zombies were whipped out with less impact,,DeadIslands zombies are more like a 1 vs 1. Yeah you'll get good enough to 1 hit kill em, or decap their heads but its more FPS/3ps THEN hack n slash..
    --Theres also the addicting crafting bench. very simple and highly addictive. And the weapons all do something fun. Like homerun is a wooden baseball bat and it cracks the zombies and sends them flying 50 feet and even takes out another zombie if they are in the way. It feels good just like getting a perfect connection with a fastball..
    --I convinced my little brother to play this and 1 year later he was the websites moderator.. jUST A GREAT GAME..The sequel killed the fanbase because weapon farming was nerfed,86'd,killed,removed..grr! goes ta show you how much fun weapon chest farming is..Everytime you leave the huge map and go inside a door or area and theres a "load screen" the chest all reset and you can run around and open them again.. and you get good at this once you memorize where they are..

    --final words--For anyone who had a fun routine in any open world game where you went in youre giant path or circle,,snip this guy,,stealth that guy, get this,that, retuen home and sell it etc etc.,.Dead Island fits that mold..plaus theres something beautiful about the sound of seagulls and the surf and tropical birds and parrots. with a good 1080P and surround sound the ambiance does it for me...I bought this game LAST YEAR at Black Friday. I year ago this coming Friday., at wal mart for $7. and it sat on my PS3 shelf for 6 months unopened. Major replay value on this game too...So when it was $5 the PSN Store Halloween week, I got it cause its easier to play a installed game without the d@mn disk.. its under $10 and the psn store still...
    Expand
  55. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    So I recognize this game doesn't seem to have a really good reputation. A lot of folks have panned this game as disappointing or just bad in general. Despite all this, I bought the game because, hey, it was only $9.99 at my gamestop. Going in with the aforementioned mindset, I was actually really surprised at how good this game is. The combat against the zombies is pretty fun and engagingSo I recognize this game doesn't seem to have a really good reputation. A lot of folks have panned this game as disappointing or just bad in general. Despite all this, I bought the game because, hey, it was only $9.99 at my gamestop. Going in with the aforementioned mindset, I was actually really surprised at how good this game is. The combat against the zombies is pretty fun and engaging with the zombies leveling up with you. That keeps things fresh and challenging (though you can still kick some serious ass!) The limited stamina was a bit frustrating but at the same time, it added tension to gameplay. You couldn't just sprint around or take on a hundred zombies at a time. Aside from that, rpg-esque elements were relatively solid and multiplayer online with friends is fantastic. My major grips with the game were the fact you don't really get a clear idea of when you are saving, some bugs throughout the game, a pretty bad map and a pretty meh story. Last thing to note: Don't buy this game if you're going in for scares. It's not that kind of game. :P Expand
  56. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    pros:
    + fairly open world, so very addictive
    + character and leveling system + weapon upgrading, special skills, and all that other stuff + co-op is pretty great especially in this type of open world zombie game + storyline is better than in an avg zombie game, and its actually pretty long + environment is awesome + sound + tons of diversity cons: - after a while the game gets
    pros:
    + fairly open world, so very addictive
    + character and leveling system
    + weapon upgrading, special skills, and all that other stuff
    + co-op is pretty great especially in this type of open world zombie game
    + storyline is better than in an avg zombie game, and its actually pretty long
    + environment is awesome
    + sound
    + tons of diversity

    cons:
    - after a while the game gets pretty repetitive, kill zombies, get better weapons, and do some more quests
    ;/
    -On ps3 the fps averages between 24-30 and it gets a bit choppy once in a while
    - graphics are ok, but seem to struggle on the ps3 even from a 2011 game! look at the last of us on ps3
    - motion blur can't be disabled and is pretty annoying.
    - cutscenes, character animations, and all that are pretty unreal.
    - the whole "money" system after an island was taken over by zombies is just so unrealistic..

    Overall i actually loved this game for a huge amount of time, when i got to about 80% in the jungle, the game got pretty repetitive but i still had a lot of fun. Get the goty edition!
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    Dead Island may lack that top level of polish, and even have its own awkward moments, but it's a game worth playing, and easily worth your money. The gameplay is deep, the visuals can be breathtaking (at times), and every bit of it is fun. This game earns itself a spot in the ranks of the best zombie games and RPGs around. There's still plenty of fun to be had with zombie games.
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    79
    While the trailer might have been a case of style over substance, the final game is the polar opposite. [Issue#210, p.84]
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    86
    Techland doesn't disappoint here by hitting most of the points necessary to make a good RPG and adding in some new ideas.