Dead Island PlayStation 3

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 413 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 413
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    4
    This game is a near perfect example of poor execution. The story (if it can be called that) is paper thin, the characters are 1-dimensional, and the voice acting is terrible. The graphics are nice, despite some of the worst pop-ins I've ever seen. Gameplay is mediocre, and probably should have just been 3rd person is the weapons are going to be mostly melee. The only redeeming factor isThis game is a near perfect example of poor execution. The story (if it can be called that) is paper thin, the characters are 1-dimensional, and the voice acting is terrible. The graphics are nice, despite some of the worst pop-ins I've ever seen. Gameplay is mediocre, and probably should have just been 3rd person is the weapons are going to be mostly melee. The only redeeming factor is the satisfaction of killing zombies, but you can get that same enjoyment out of much better games. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    3
    This game had so much potential but very poorly made. The interesting part of the game was the perks, skill points, and story-line. However the cons of this game just overrides the pros by a lot - 1) Pointless in using Rare+ because you'll have to repair it after a couple hits 2) Cant use your money because you'll have to spend most of your money in repairing your Rare+ weapons, its hardThis game had so much potential but very poorly made. The interesting part of the game was the perks, skill points, and story-line. However the cons of this game just overrides the pros by a lot - 1) Pointless in using Rare+ because you'll have to repair it after a couple hits 2) Cant use your money because you'll have to spend most of your money in repairing your Rare+ weapons, its hard to just let it be destroyed especially when you spend so much money in upgrading them. 3) Repetitive gameplay "kill zombies, repair, kill some more, and repair" There's just so much flaws in this game that I havent yet mentioned; Overall this game is not worth buying it nor renting. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    It's not meant to be serious, just fun and that's what it is, open world RPG zombie killing fun. Playing the game from the perspective of all characters is great, crafting is a treat and dispatching an angry zombie in any one of hundreds of different ways is awesome, or you can just drive around mowing them down in your truck. The graphics are well done and polished, kind of like far cry 3It's not meant to be serious, just fun and that's what it is, open world RPG zombie killing fun. Playing the game from the perspective of all characters is great, crafting is a treat and dispatching an angry zombie in any one of hundreds of different ways is awesome, or you can just drive around mowing them down in your truck. The graphics are well done and polished, kind of like far cry 3 with zombies, and don't tell me that the voice acting sucks, has anyone actually played far cry 3 and listened to the acting, "it's awful ay bro" but the game still rates very highly so don't take the bad acting seriously and you'll be fine because its meant to be that way to give you a laugh in between mashing zombie heads with a broken paddle. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2015
    7
    This Game is a buggy Mess with repetitive Combat and a boring and disappointing Story. It does include Zombies, that you can kill in a lot of gruesome Ways. And we all love that, don't we?
  5. Oct 16, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a review for dead island. it is a video game where things happen and some things that do not happen. it was okay. i would say that it was a video game. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    5
    The game looks bad. The gameplay is very very repetitive. The world isn't very big.
    The co-op online isn't bad though and the skill tree works well too, although it's still too limited.
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Really solid game with a lot of melee action. The plot is laughable at best but killing zombies is always fun. Creating and upgrading weapons to use on the zombie infestation is excellent. The graphics are really good, minus the slow rendering in cut scenes and loading maps. A must buy for people who love zombie games.
  8. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    Combat is fun, but repetitive, lots of side missions. Nice detailed environments, but very bland characters and barely existent story. Way too many bugs that should have been fixed. Examples include getting stuck on thin air, health items like food not replenishing health, etc. Not recommended for a full price purchase.
  9. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    Story: 7.5 out of 10 Graphics: 7.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 8 out of 10 Fun: 8.5 out of 10 Controls: 9 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8.5 out of 10
    Re-play: 8.5 out of 10
    Audio: 8 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: Quite a few
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    Overall the game is FUN. It's satisfying to bash zombies over the head with machetes, sickles, pans, really anything you can find or if you are more technical there are shotguns, grenades, rifles, etc. Not to mention that you can customize these weapons to add some shock, poison, nails, et al.

    The Good: The game is plenty long with enough to do to last awhile. The world itself is
    Overall the game is FUN. It's satisfying to bash zombies over the head with machetes, sickles, pans, really anything you can find or if you are more technical there are shotguns, grenades, rifles, etc. Not to mention that you can customize these weapons to add some shock, poison, nails, et al.

    The Good:
    The game is plenty long with enough to do to last awhile. The world itself is pretty neat. It is somewhat intricate, so looking at every nook and cranny can really make it last. There are many different locales to keep the scenery fresh. A few stick out in my mind as exceedingly well made creating a chilling atmosphere. Killing zombies really never gets boring. The game almost feels like a Borderlands. In fact, the core formula is reminiscent to Borderlands. The combat is pretty fun. There are many great ideas in the game. The Bad:
    The story is mediocre at best. The quests are mostly dull fetch quests. The guns aren't as effective or useful as they should be. The characters are very stereotypical almost to a cringing state. The Ugly:
    PS3 Version: The graphics and texture popping is very bad. The framerate issues took awhile to get used to. There are many graphical issues that are this game's biggest downfalls. There are plenty of bugs as well when it comes to performing the quests. The worst game I've played to date with such technical issues.

    The game has some fantastic ideas even if it wasn't executed to its remarkable potential. If you take it for what it is than for what it isn't, you'll have a great time.
    Expand
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    This is a "good" game. I will say I spend about 42 hours or so to beat this game, by far the longest I've spent on a single play through in a video game. Did almost all the side-quests, but the side-quests were what kept me going; I kept trying to find new mods to upgrade my weapon. The first 20 hours were awesome, but then the game got repetitive to me. The story was so-so, but we didn'tThis is a "good" game. I will say I spend about 42 hours or so to beat this game, by far the longest I've spent on a single play through in a video game. Did almost all the side-quests, but the side-quests were what kept me going; I kept trying to find new mods to upgrade my weapon. The first 20 hours were awesome, but then the game got repetitive to me. The story was so-so, but we didn't even have time to absorb who the villain is before we have the final battle. I love long games, but this game kind of faded on me because of the lack of character buildup. Felt like a slave running into random people and doing a job for them; then goodbye. The driving was surprisingly very satisfying running into zombies; oh too bad you cant look behind you..I got the GOY edition; but is in no rush to do the ryder white campaign. Don't get me wrong I liked this game, but it was borderline "meh" after finishing it. Honestly it felt like a fps god of war zombie type game. Expand
  12. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    Good game. Cool new game design and gameplay.
  13. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Overall, Dead Island is a fun, first person zombie action game that is compelling enough to keep you coming back, yet frustrating enough to make you walk away in the first place. The setting, story, and quest lines are interesting, and the zombie carnage is an awful lot of fun. Yet, this game's flaws are glaring. A cumbersome save system bogs things down and your zombie enemies re-spawnOverall, Dead Island is a fun, first person zombie action game that is compelling enough to keep you coming back, yet frustrating enough to make you walk away in the first place. The setting, story, and quest lines are interesting, and the zombie carnage is an awful lot of fun. Yet, this game's flaws are glaring. A cumbersome save system bogs things down and your zombie enemies re-spawn at an infuriating rate (honestly, game producers, it really sucks to clear an area, enter a building, the exit only to find all the zombies are back!). Expand
  14. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    This game left me playing for hours; the game is so very funny and smart with the customizes your own weapon, and when the game is finished you just replay and get better!
    The multiplayer system is made so very good that you can play with anybody and still feel happy about it!
  15. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    I remember watching the trailer for this game and thinking that it was the zombie game we were all hoping for. When i first got the game it turned out very different then what i thought it was going to be. I was hoping for a thrilling game which made you feel like you were actually surviving in an island overrun by zombies. Instead we got another hack and slash zombie game with noI remember watching the trailer for this game and thinking that it was the zombie game we were all hoping for. When i first got the game it turned out very different then what i thought it was going to be. I was hoping for a thrilling game which made you feel like you were actually surviving in an island overrun by zombies. Instead we got another hack and slash zombie game with no storyline and characters that are completely hollowed out and have no sense of depth. However I do recommend this game if you're a gamer who just likes to kill things and doesn't get tired of doing the same boring side quests over and over again. I'm not saying it's a bad game it's just that it could of been so much better if they had focused a bit more on the effects that it would have had on the characters trying to survive through this zombie infestation. Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Gaminghoff, Dead Island
    Deepsilver's latest game 'Dead Island' has its flaws, but these flaws are outweighed by this epic zombie survival thriller. On a tropical island near Papua new guinea the dead roam the blood ridden shores, the empty echoing streets and in the hollow jungle. You must craft weapons as you journey throughout the zombie ridden areas that are also sprawling with loot
    Gaminghoff, Dead Island
    Deepsilver's latest game 'Dead Island' has its flaws, but these flaws are outweighed by this epic zombie survival thriller. On a tropical island near Papua new guinea the dead roam the blood ridden shores, the empty echoing streets and in the hollow jungle. You must craft weapons as you journey throughout the zombie ridden areas that are also sprawling with loot and most importantly.... Zombies. As you make your way through the games many quests you will find all sorts of usefull things to aid in your journey, mods, weapons, med kits... I don't see how anyone could dislike this game, sure, it has it's flaws but look at the big picture... This is a zombie thriller like no other and a normal person could spend up to 30 hours, just hacking zombies limbs off and hunting for those special ' legendary weapons'. The game, as i said before has its flaws, as well as zombies, glitches are also abundant, it lacks the polish that could of made this great game, and awesome game! Overall I give it a 8 and praise it for the rich dark environments and lustfull loot, but dislike the lack of polish.
    Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    Glitchy as **** And it's a shame because there's so much potential-- the voice acting is great, rendering is great, mechanics seem great, but for me at least, when playing it on my ps3 that doesn't have problems usually with games, it kept on lagging on me. And I wasn't even playing online. What **** game lags like that? Was the rendering too intense for the system? It didn't seem that wayGlitchy as **** And it's a shame because there's so much potential-- the voice acting is great, rendering is great, mechanics seem great, but for me at least, when playing it on my ps3 that doesn't have problems usually with games, it kept on lagging on me. And I wasn't even playing online. What **** game lags like that? Was the rendering too intense for the system? It didn't seem that way to me because I played Uncharted 2 and 3 on the same console and there wasn't a glitch the whole time, and both of those games have more intensive graphics and lighting than dead island. But if there was a rendering issue then why the **** wouldn't the developers address this? Who **** cares how beautiful a game is when it seems like the frame rate can't catch up to itself? Huh? If the system can't handle it, dull it down a little until things run smoothly and guess what no one cares if it doesn't look like real life. Know why? Because it already doesn't. Aside from that, there wasn't much about this game that really added to the zombie genre that other games haven't done already. Expand
  18. Jan 25, 2013
    6
    This wasn't a bad game. But it was repetitive in the wrong way. The leveling mechanic did nothing to help and the story was meh. Good graphics and sound effects though. Liked moding melee weapons for extra damage and effects. The varying environments were good. Size was good. But mostly felt like one giant fetch quest. Melee weapons felt fragile though and ammo was scarce. In the badThis wasn't a bad game. But it was repetitive in the wrong way. The leveling mechanic did nothing to help and the story was meh. Good graphics and sound effects though. Liked moding melee weapons for extra damage and effects. The varying environments were good. Size was good. But mostly felt like one giant fetch quest. Melee weapons felt fragile though and ammo was scarce. In the bad (Resident Evil 1) way. Expand
  19. May 15, 2013
    8
    This is a good game! The combat is bloody and its probobly the best zombie survival experience game out there! The only things that hold Dead Island back are inconsistent graphics and a story that completely falls apart after the first 30 minutes. However, this is still a good, bloody game that anyone looking to kill some zombies should definitely check out!
  20. Apr 11, 2013
    3
    I just gave this game (on PS3) a rating of 7 just a couple of weeks ago but now I take it back and just give it now a score of 3. I have been playing this on solo (never on coop becoz i don't have a net connection) for countless days and nights and now the game says my SAVED GAME DATA appears to have been corrupted when I tried to continue my game. All of my efforts on trying to get theI just gave this game (on PS3) a rating of 7 just a couple of weeks ago but now I take it back and just give it now a score of 3. I have been playing this on solo (never on coop becoz i don't have a net connection) for countless days and nights and now the game says my SAVED GAME DATA appears to have been corrupted when I tried to continue my game. All of my efforts on trying to get the rare weapons and MODs are now all gone. My character LOGAN was already on Level 42 when it happened. I'll never play this game again and will just trade the game disc to others. Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    I have played the GOTY version 1.3.0 and experienced no major bugs. The map doesn't always show the best way but you can find our own way around anyway, yes there's respawn but it didnt bother me much and i never got any warnings that i'd leave the game area. I had a lot of fun smashing those zombies, graphics are good and there's lots of content, missions and weapons to keep you busy.I have played the GOTY version 1.3.0 and experienced no major bugs. The map doesn't always show the best way but you can find our own way around anyway, yes there's respawn but it didnt bother me much and i never got any warnings that i'd leave the game area. I had a lot of fun smashing those zombies, graphics are good and there's lots of content, missions and weapons to keep you busy. Sure, it's not at the same level as Fallout 3 but still a nice game and definitely worth the 5 bucks i spent on it! Expand
  22. Jul 3, 2013
    5
    Dead Island is a pile of wasted potential. The games lack of a decent narrative is forgivable, even after the brilliant trailer that was looking to promise a brilliant story in the game, but it's still a minor annoyance. My first few hours with the game were fine, but then I realised that the game was only going to consist of scavenging quests and other things of the like, and it gotDead Island is a pile of wasted potential. The games lack of a decent narrative is forgivable, even after the brilliant trailer that was looking to promise a brilliant story in the game, but it's still a minor annoyance. My first few hours with the game were fine, but then I realised that the game was only going to consist of scavenging quests and other things of the like, and it got really damn tedious, and the lack of variety in the gameplay is disappointing, but it can be satisfying at times. The game looks a bit lackluster, textures up close can be really bad, but water effects and zombies look great, which I would expect from a game of this type. Environments can look nice from a distance though. Another thing that's disappointing about the game is its lack of dread and terror throughout, it's just not scary at all. Boss Battles are also very frustrating and completely lackluster. By the final hours of Dead Island it felt like a chore to get through. Dead Island misses the mark completely and is certainly not a game I would recommend. Expand
  23. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Thrusts you into the game quickly, but executes it with in a clean and concise manner. The game nicely utilizes the setting nicely, and does not implement loud and gaudy music into its score. Very fast, very immersive, very cool.
    Well played....
  24. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    I had hope for this game because we need a combination of RPG,Zombies,Open World, And Dead rising 1st person, and thats exactly what we got, well except for All the bugs and boring zombie- graphic related problems. I got this game on the X-mas of 2011.And today August 30th I have 108Hrs On this game. This game is something that you dont see to often these days with fun gameplay, spectcularI had hope for this game because we need a combination of RPG,Zombies,Open World, And Dead rising 1st person, and thats exactly what we got, well except for All the bugs and boring zombie- graphic related problems. I got this game on the X-mas of 2011.And today August 30th I have 108Hrs On this game. This game is something that you dont see to often these days with fun gameplay, spectcular co-op and 1 great DLC called Bloodbath Arena.(sorry ryder white). Most of the missions are fun except for the overwhelming amount of fetch quests and the forgetable story. you can use almost anything as a weapon from A pan to a cleaver and it goes really well with the RPG elements in the game. The blueprints are cool too like fire axes that are really on fire and poisin bombs, it makes you feel nice and warm and fuzzy inside slicing heads with a electric sword too. One thing about this game is that its reminds you of Dead rising 2 in peticular with open world and a leveling system and upgrades and weapon combos but thats not a bad thing. The upgrades in dead island is what ties the whole game together with some really cool upgrades. Overall this is dead rising 2 but 1st person and its bigger and more bugs.ect Expand
  25. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. --Read my review if you are undecided. i'l;l write it the way I'd want to read it..
    --1st off This game is a HOME-RUN.
    --THE GAMES GREATEST strength is LOOT! Farming for weapons in the chest is soooo addicting. And you will get sucked into this and hit up the deadIsland WIKI for tips and hints on where this & that is..
    --The game is like a giant treasure map and finding the UBER stuff is sooo rewarding..
    --This game goes into my ""SPECIAL" CATEGORY for large games I run around and sandbox/open world play in FOR MONTHS. that category is SKYRIM/Oblivion,Fallout,,Farcry and Batman,... the reason this game is/was soo awesome is they made killing zombies soo much fun..And the controls are soo perfect.. In deadRising 1 &2 those zombies were whipped out with less impact,,DeadIslands zombies are more like a 1 vs 1. Yeah you'll get good enough to 1 hit kill em, or decap their heads but its more FPS/3ps THEN hack n slash..
    --Theres also the addicting crafting bench. very simple and highly addictive. And the weapons all do something fun. Like homerun is a wooden baseball bat and it cracks the zombies and sends them flying 50 feet and even takes out another zombie if they are in the way. It feels good just like getting a perfect connection with a fastball..
    --I convinced my little brother to play this and 1 year later he was the websites moderator.. jUST A GREAT GAME..The sequel killed the fanbase because weapon farming was nerfed,86'd,killed,removed..grr! goes ta show you how much fun weapon chest farming is..Everytime you leave the huge map and go inside a door or area and theres a "load screen" the chest all reset and you can run around and open them again.. and you get good at this once you memorize where they are..

    --final words--For anyone who had a fun routine in any open world game where you went in youre giant path or circle,,snip this guy,,stealth that guy, get this,that, retuen home and sell it etc etc.,.Dead Island fits that mold..plaus theres something beautiful about the sound of seagulls and the surf and tropical birds and parrots. with a good 1080P and surround sound the ambiance does it for me...I bought this game LAST YEAR at Black Friday. I year ago this coming Friday., at wal mart for $7. and it sat on my PS3 shelf for 6 months unopened. Major replay value on this game too...So when it was $5 the PSN Store Halloween week, I got it cause its easier to play a installed game without the d@mn disk.. its under $10 and the psn store still...
    Expand
  26. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Dead Island es un juego first person en donde eres interceptado en una isla repleta de zombies y debes sobrevivir consiguiendo armas y rescatando supervivientes. Eso es todo lo que hay que decir de "Dead Island", por otro lado la violencia extremadamente sangrienta del juego es medianamente satisfactoria y mientras avanza la historia más te vas amigando del juego, la jugabilidad es media,Dead Island es un juego first person en donde eres interceptado en una isla repleta de zombies y debes sobrevivir consiguiendo armas y rescatando supervivientes. Eso es todo lo que hay que decir de "Dead Island", por otro lado la violencia extremadamente sangrienta del juego es medianamente satisfactoria y mientras avanza la historia más te vas amigando del juego, la jugabilidad es media, pero un punto sumamente criticable es la pelea final que es completamente imposible y el final no es la gran cosa. Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2014
    7
    This game was fun the story was good and was capable of grabbing your attention. There were major problems, the loading had terrible lagging when you finished loading to get into a new area the game would always freeze.
  28. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    So I recognize this game doesn't seem to have a really good reputation. A lot of folks have panned this game as disappointing or just bad in general. Despite all this, I bought the game because, hey, it was only $9.99 at my gamestop. Going in with the aforementioned mindset, I was actually really surprised at how good this game is. The combat against the zombies is pretty fun and engagingSo I recognize this game doesn't seem to have a really good reputation. A lot of folks have panned this game as disappointing or just bad in general. Despite all this, I bought the game because, hey, it was only $9.99 at my gamestop. Going in with the aforementioned mindset, I was actually really surprised at how good this game is. The combat against the zombies is pretty fun and engaging with the zombies leveling up with you. That keeps things fresh and challenging (though you can still kick some serious ass!) The limited stamina was a bit frustrating but at the same time, it added tension to gameplay. You couldn't just sprint around or take on a hundred zombies at a time. Aside from that, rpg-esque elements were relatively solid and multiplayer online with friends is fantastic. My major grips with the game were the fact you don't really get a clear idea of when you are saving, some bugs throughout the game, a pretty bad map and a pretty meh story. Last thing to note: Don't buy this game if you're going in for scares. It's not that kind of game. :P Expand
  29. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    Overall this is a pretty good game, it is fun and there is a lot to do, but I did have some problems with it. First off even if you choose to play as one of the two female characters the other characters in the game refer to you as if you are a male. There are a lot of quests to do and while it makes for a good amount of game-play I feel like sometimes you almost seem bogged down withOverall this is a pretty good game, it is fun and there is a lot to do, but I did have some problems with it. First off even if you choose to play as one of the two female characters the other characters in the game refer to you as if you are a male. There are a lot of quests to do and while it makes for a good amount of game-play I feel like sometimes you almost seem bogged down with how much you have to do a one time. And last but no least the most annoying thing I found in the game was that if you find an item, or if someone drops an item for you after a quest and you are not high enough level to use that item you won't even be able to pick it up, which to me was ridiculous. All in all it is always fun to kill zombies and there is still more good than bad. Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    pros:
    + fairly open world, so very addictive
    + character and leveling system + weapon upgrading, special skills, and all that other stuff + co-op is pretty great especially in this type of open world zombie game + storyline is better than in an avg zombie game, and its actually pretty long + environment is awesome + sound + tons of diversity cons: - after a while the game gets
    pros:
    + fairly open world, so very addictive
    + character and leveling system
    + weapon upgrading, special skills, and all that other stuff
    + co-op is pretty great especially in this type of open world zombie game
    + storyline is better than in an avg zombie game, and its actually pretty long
    + environment is awesome
    + sound
    + tons of diversity

    cons:
    - after a while the game gets pretty repetitive, kill zombies, get better weapons, and do some more quests
    ;/
    -On ps3 the fps averages between 24-30 and it gets a bit choppy once in a while
    - graphics are ok, but seem to struggle on the ps3 even from a 2011 game! look at the last of us on ps3
    - motion blur can't be disabled and is pretty annoying.
    - cutscenes, character animations, and all that are pretty unreal.
    - the whole "money" system after an island was taken over by zombies is just so unrealistic..

    Overall i actually loved this game for a huge amount of time, when i got to about 80% in the jungle, the game got pretty repetitive but i still had a lot of fun. Get the goty edition!
    Expand
  31. Jun 20, 2014
    7
    Very great atmosphere offline and online,awesome missions and good characters that's Dead island.The bad points are the zombies they are all doing the same things and the worst one are the big one.
  32. May 1, 2014
    6
    was this game good? yes. but it was also very disappointing. the trailer for this game had people expecting game of the year material, but the end result turned out to be somewhat mediocre. the RPG elements are far to simple and the missions are uninteresting. combat is really fun and has great graphics and blood effects and what not, but the guns in the game feel cluncky. the Island iswas this game good? yes. but it was also very disappointing. the trailer for this game had people expecting game of the year material, but the end result turned out to be somewhat mediocre. the RPG elements are far to simple and the missions are uninteresting. combat is really fun and has great graphics and blood effects and what not, but the guns in the game feel cluncky. the Island is beautiful, but there is nothing about the map that really stands out, but its a better open world then some games I've seen like prototype. there is not much to the story, but its a zombie game so the story isn't as much as a concern. overall, a game that was suppose to be awesome and revolutionary, came off ok, and just redressed things that we have already seen before. Expand
  33. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    Just finished this great FPS RPG game. Some people were enjoying the island of Banoi when a zombie outbreak starts, infecting almost the entire island. The 4 survivors who is immune to the virus is trying to find their way out of the island while being guided by the voice on the radio.

    Plus point: - Superb atmosphere. The sound effect, the environment, the zombies, it's enough to make
    Just finished this great FPS RPG game. Some people were enjoying the island of Banoi when a zombie outbreak starts, infecting almost the entire island. The 4 survivors who is immune to the virus is trying to find their way out of the island while being guided by the voice on the radio.

    Plus point:
    - Superb atmosphere. The sound effect, the environment, the zombies, it's enough to make my spine chill. I mean you can heard the growling of zombies or someone's screaming or crying. This is totally a horror game. And when you are playing it in FPS, you won't know what's coming from around you, and that's thrilling.
    - Great battle and weapon system. You can modify your weapon with items u found along your journey. You can make an Electric Machette, Fire Mace or whatever to kill zombies. You can cut their limbs, break their body, or you can just stomp on their head with 40K damage.

    Minus point:
    - Weak story and sidequests in a sidequest? Not too good, eh? The story is basically simple. Trying to get out of the island and stuffs like that. Just too normal. And too many sidequests. I mean we are doing sidequest to get a sidequest in it? Well..that's weird.
    - Enemy level is the same with our level, so i guess all of the zombies will level up together with you which makes them stronger if you are stronger. It's just like Final Fantasy VIII all over again.
    - Glitches everywhere. Glitches in the sidequests, which makes a sidequest uncompletable.

    But in the end, i do enjoy this game. It really feels like surviving, but still some environment glitches bugs me a little. A 7/10 for this game. Might be better if you play it on PC though
    Expand
  34. Oct 11, 2014
    7
    Dead Island

    Game-play:The game play is fine but it have room for some improvements in range combat.The melee combat is just amazing and the leveling system is very good like all the RPG elements in the game. Story:The story is just boring with no interesting characters and an ending that suck , but have also so fun moments so you will not drop the game.it will take you around 24 to
    Dead Island

    Game-play:The game play is fine but it have room for some improvements in range combat.The melee combat is just amazing and the leveling system is very good like all the RPG elements in the game.

    Story:The story is just boring with no interesting characters and an ending that suck , but have also so fun moments so you will not drop the game.it will take you around 24 to 26 hours

    Graphics:The graphics are ok and the open world details are well made.

    Notes:If you are a zombie fun this is a must buy for you but everyone should give a try of this game because it is a good game.
    Expand
  35. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    If there's one thing a zombie game should do is get the zombie slaying to be fun, and Dead Island gets that part right. Say what you will about first-person melee combat, but I found this game's take to be pretty satisfying. Blows have to be dealt with timely precision and depending on what kind of weapon you're using, you can maim or cripple zombies. Swinging your weapon consumes staminaIf there's one thing a zombie game should do is get the zombie slaying to be fun, and Dead Island gets that part right. Say what you will about first-person melee combat, but I found this game's take to be pretty satisfying. Blows have to be dealt with timely precision and depending on what kind of weapon you're using, you can maim or cripple zombies. Swinging your weapon consumes stamina (as does running), so combat requires a certain level of discipline ala Demon's Souls: it's all about timing attacks and dodges, all the while keeping an eye out for crowd control. A situation can go FUBAR any minute.

    Unfortunately the game itself goes FUBAR on just about every other conceivable level, and not in a fun way. I don't recall playing a game this glitchy in years. You may load your game and find certain weapons missing from your inventory. Sometimes you'll upgrade your weapon, then mod it with a special blueprint, and upon exiting the workbench the item will have completely vanished (along with your money). And beware of ranged attacks: if you die before picking the weapon you threw, it's gone forever. This is frustrating since the game puts so much emphasis on DIY crafting and weapons' specializing. It's also particularly frustrating if you're playing as Logan, he of the throwable weapon class.

    A weapon suddenly going MIA due to a glitch, or simply poor design, dents the game in ways that are never really amended - as does the poor AI. Sometimes enemies won't react near you. Sometimes they'll pick your scent from miles away. A gunshot may or may not alert zombies of your presence. It's all rather inconsistent. And the friendly AI is no better, what with a couple of egregious escort missions stringed along the way. Good luck getting an NPC into a car with you. And good luck steering that awful thing too. None of this is game-breaking but it hampers the experience considerably.

    I mentioned a gunshot. Act II of IV throws guns into the game, but don't get too excited about it. I've shot something like 5 bullets into a zombie's head and still it wouldn't die (undie?). Guns are ridiculously weak against the undead, and are best used against other human beings, or the abominable Infected (a "28 Days Later" type of zombie). Speaking of which, zombie types are done pretty well - from the mundane Walkers and Infected, to the Left 4 Dead kind of super-zombies like Suiciders, Rams and Butchers.

    About the characters - you get 4 classes, mostly held apart by their unique special attack ("Fury") and a few abilities down their skill trees. It's a pretty standard-issue RPG mechanic, lifted straight off Borderlands. Sadly there's no couch co-op like Borderlands, though online multiplayer is a lot of fun (if, ugh, a little glitchy, going by that one quest giver who simply refused to reward my efforts until I reloaded the game). Quests tend to be of the fetch kind, though the missions that bookend every act are generally pretty intense.

    So that's Dead Island for you. I like falling back on it every now and then, it's fun to chop up zombies and explore the island (or at least Act I's sparkling luxury resort). But man is this game infuriatingly buggy.
    Expand
  36. Nov 15, 2014
    4
    Good game plot. That´s all, this game is too repetitive, you do the same all time, kill, jump, run, kill, repeat.
    Its a waste of money. Better play RE6..
  37. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  38. Feb 3, 2016
    6
    Now I didn't do research when I try to play this. I just sold my 360 for a PS3 and one exclusive game I started to miss was Left 4 Dead. Dead Island I thought will be a copycat and good game, so my first play through was a turn off. Years later I pick up a Game of the Year I was still turned off. Lately after skipping Dying Light I went back to it with help from my girlfriend, and finallyNow I didn't do research when I try to play this. I just sold my 360 for a PS3 and one exclusive game I started to miss was Left 4 Dead. Dead Island I thought will be a copycat and good game, so my first play through was a turn off. Years later I pick up a Game of the Year I was still turned off. Lately after skipping Dying Light I went back to it with help from my girlfriend, and finally played from start to finish of Dead Island. The characters are boring, but at the same time went to play to the next cut scene to see how cheesy it can be like any other zombie games. Gameplay is average with nothing but melee such as Condemned. Guns come along later but feel just as off like Condemned. The sound effects and music is the juicy meat of the game, but at the end of the day it's another zombie game. So only those who are tired tired to the zombies villain will actually like this game. I didn't mind finishing the game, but I strongly recommend playing with a friend other than alone. Making your own story with someone else is way better to gain a good time from Dead Island. Expand
  39. Jan 19, 2017
    9
    Dead Island is a hybrid between zombie survival horror, open world and RPG and all of them executed very well. If you like one of the genre mention above, Dead Island is the game for you.
  40. Oct 22, 2016
    6
    Dead Island is a open world survival horror action role-playing video game developed by Techland and published by Deep Silver.

    + Online Coop
    + Addictive
    - Cutscenes and Poor Animation
    - Bugs (Textures, Edges)
    - Bad Story and Characters
  41. Jan 12, 2017
    5
    Hours and more hours and hours of monotony and repetitive gameplay. You better play it online or you will get tired of this game pretty soon. Hell, even online is boring and repetitive... Poor gameplay, the only "fun" thing is weapon customization, but for that you got Dead Rising 2...
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    Dead Island may lack that top level of polish, and even have its own awkward moments, but it's a game worth playing, and easily worth your money. The gameplay is deep, the visuals can be breathtaking (at times), and every bit of it is fun. This game earns itself a spot in the ranks of the best zombie games and RPGs around. There's still plenty of fun to be had with zombie games.
  2. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2011
    79
    While the trailer might have been a case of style over substance, the final game is the polar opposite. [Issue#210, p.84]
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    86
    Techland doesn't disappoint here by hitting most of the points necessary to make a good RPG and adding in some new ideas.