Dead Island PlayStation 3

Dead Island Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 402 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Island is a first-person shooter that pits you on an island full of zombies.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    Dead Island may lack that top level of polish, and even have its own awkward moments, but it's a game worth playing, and easily worth your money. The gameplay is deep, the visuals can be breathtaking (at times), and every bit of it is fun. This game earns itself a spot in the ranks of the best zombie games and RPGs around. There's still plenty of fun to be had with zombie games.
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    81
    Although a bit too ambitious if we compare the expectations and the final result, Dead Island is still a great game, with a lot of hours of fun, a great ambiance and a good combat system which provides a lot of little pleasures when killing zombies. Its cooperative mode and lenghtly story make it a recommended buy.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    It's completely different from what the teaser trailers suggested, the narrative is missing, the atmosphere is quite basic, characters are just silly. Yet, Dead Island is a funny action/adventure with small RPG influence, delivering fast paced and visceral combat, best served with friends. Consider it if you're looking for a not-so-compelling, light co-op fun.
  4. 72
    The RPG twist on the genre is fairly cool, and does result in an experience that is longer than you might expect, but the game's utter lack of story and reliance on pre-established genre conventions make it a pretty big missed opportunity.
  5. 70
    Technical issues and some repetitiveness keep it from being labeled as great.
  6. 70
    There's a lot to do on this zombie-infested island from hell. With some more varied missions and better melee combat, the final score would have been shimmering.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    40
    Dead Island is described as a first person action-adventure game, whilst it is definitely first person, the latter two descriptions are misleading, it is action in as much as raising your arm is an action, it is adventure in as much finding toilet roll is an adventure. They should have called it a first person battle of tedium, because it would've been a lot more accurate.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 140
  2. Negative: 32 out of 140
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall + almost unlimited exploration area - cutscenes & poor
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall
    + almost unlimited exploration area
    - cutscenes & poor animation
    - bugs (textures, edges)

    But overall: I love it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    this is an awesome game if you like zombies. the only downside is that theres no BIG groups of zombies, the max ive seen together is about 6this is an awesome game if you like zombies. the only downside is that theres no BIG groups of zombies, the max ive seen together is about 6 zombies in a group but other than that it's a very well done game. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Using the updated software on 1.3.0 This game is exciting and fun. A bit tedious when you get run over by a horde of 8 or 9 zombies at a timeUsing the updated software on 1.3.0 This game is exciting and fun. A bit tedious when you get run over by a horde of 8 or 9 zombies at a time but it evens itself out with good vehicle play and has the GTA sandbox feel. Probably not at the same level as GTA but with another iteration it could be awesome. Long story and great gaming. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    In my opinion, this is the best zombie game that I have played. There are certainly some frustrations in learning how exactly to combatIn my opinion, this is the best zombie game that I have played. There are certainly some frustrations in learning how exactly to combat different types of zombies, but the game is still fun. If someone is expecting a super deep story, they should probably look somewhere else. This game features a pretty straightforward combat system, that is deeper than it looks at first glance.

    At the heart, this is a fun zombie game. The game would certainly rank higher if the coop mode was easier to get games. All told though, it is a very fun game, and that is the factor I have to consider over all others.
    Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    Combat is fun, but repetitive, lots of side missions. Nice detailed environments, but very bland characters and barely existent story. WayCombat is fun, but repetitive, lots of side missions. Nice detailed environments, but very bland characters and barely existent story. Way too many bugs that should have been fixed. Examples include getting stuck on thin air, health items like food not replenishing health, etc. Not recommended for a full price purchase. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    I rarely write reviews on here but felt like I had to this time, because it really bugs me how this game had a Game of The Year editionI rarely write reviews on here but felt like I had to this time, because it really bugs me how this game had a Game of The Year edition released, making me finally buy it due to some interest in the title. People seemed pretty fond of it and there's the new Riptide coming. But when I finally started the game all I saw was constant framedrops and poor controls. The sound fades out almost every time I encounter new zombies or do something. I'm sure this can be pretty fun and intriguing on a Pc with decent hardware but a console release with a GOTY labeled on it should not play like something that was ported without any polish or patches. The game can't even be installed on the HDD so loadtimes are also long and plenty.

    I must say that I regret buying this game and that is because the execution makes it a pain to even give it a chance to prove itself. I'm just thrown into the game world, told to follow some linear route (as Ryder) and all the above mentioned bugs come straight at me. No tutorial told me what to do, either, so I had to die a couple of times before figuring out tactics on my own too.

    I have to say that this is so far a very big disappointment because the game is almost unplayable on the PS3, on which it should have been optimized to run since the hardware is unchangable opposite the options of my Pc. Game of The Year apparently means something else than I thought it did :(
    Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    Incredibly bad game; Poor driving, poor combat and poor quests. It's basically a **** version of Borderlands. Don't buy! It has no redeemingIncredibly bad game; Poor driving, poor combat and poor quests. It's basically a **** version of Borderlands. Don't buy! It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.