Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 355 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Island is a first-person shooter that pits you on an island full of zombies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    Dead Island may lack that top level of polish, and even have its own awkward moments, but it's a game worth playing, and easily worth your money. The gameplay is deep, the visuals can be breathtaking (at times), and every bit of it is fun. This game earns itself a spot in the ranks of the best zombie games and RPGs around. There's still plenty of fun to be had with zombie games.
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    81
    Although a bit too ambitious if we compare the expectations and the final result, Dead Island is still a great game, with a lot of hours of fun, a great ambiance and a good combat system which provides a lot of little pleasures when killing zombies. Its cooperative mode and lenghtly story make it a recommended buy.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    It's completely different from what the teaser trailers suggested, the narrative is missing, the atmosphere is quite basic, characters are just silly. Yet, Dead Island is a funny action/adventure with small RPG influence, delivering fast paced and visceral combat, best served with friends. Consider it if you're looking for a not-so-compelling, light co-op fun.
  4. 72
    The RPG twist on the genre is fairly cool, and does result in an experience that is longer than you might expect, but the game's utter lack of story and reliance on pre-established genre conventions make it a pretty big missed opportunity.
  5. 70
    Technical issues and some repetitiveness keep it from being labeled as great.
  6. 70
    There's a lot to do on this zombie-infested island from hell. With some more varied missions and better melee combat, the final score would have been shimmering.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    40
    Dead Island is described as a first person action-adventure game, whilst it is definitely first person, the latter two descriptions are misleading, it is action in as much as raising your arm is an action, it is adventure in as much finding toilet roll is an adventure. They should have called it a first person battle of tedium, because it would've been a lot more accurate.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 128
  2. Negative: 31 out of 128
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall
    + almost unlimited exploration area
    - cutscenes & poor
    animation
    - bugs (textures, edges)

    But overall: I love it.
    Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    This game left me playing for hours; the game is so very funny and smart with the customizes your own weapon, and when the game is finished you just replay and get better!
    The multiplayer system is made so very good that you can play with anybody and still feel happy about it!
    Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Dead island is a load of fun. I never though I would see an RPG style zombie game but it's here. This is not a true RPG but it does have some great elements of the genre. The skill tree is huge and varied and really allows you to decide how you wish to level up your character. I enjoyed figuring out how I would use my skill points each level I gained & combining your skills with your characters basic proficiencies can make for some great combat. The graphics have a few minor issue such as textures taking a moment to load but to me this is not even a real issue. The game does an amazing job of conveying the sense of being trapped on an island infested with the walking dead. These are not your average zombies either. Sure some of them shamble along and appear to be aped right out of a Romero flick. However there are a ton that upon seeing you come running at you top speed, arms flailing and even throwing hand weapons at you!! This immediately conjured up memories the movie 28 Days Later which is a great thing IMO when it comes to a zombie game. The one thing this game does best is force you to think and act like it's really you trapped on the island. In the later stages of the game I found myself honestly considering at times if I wanted to take on a group of the undead I spotted at the end of the street or try and avoid them to continue on towards my objective. This was the best thing about the game for me in that you feel like a zombie apocalypse survivor, not like your sitting in your living room playing a zombie game. I have spent limited time with the online which appears to be quite good and a lot of fun. However, this game is worth the purchase price just for the campaign alone. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Let's say it already: The trailer for this game is actually better than the game itself. But it's still not that bad. This game is as fun as it is frustrating. If you do not play it long enough, most chances are that you will hate it, because it is hard and the controls are gameplay are sketchy. Killing a single zombie can be a tedious experience at first. There are definitely influences of other games in Dead Island: Fallout 3, Borderlands and Left 4 Dead to name the most obvious. I'd say it is pretty much like Borderlands with zombies, but that wouldn't make justice to both games. Dead Island sure tries a lot of stuff, but you will sometimes feel like it is a fake sandbox game. Something is lacking in this game to make it great. You will stop counting the times you have tried to go somewhere and the games tells you that you're out of the play zone. This game is glitchy. There are a lot of clipping issues, physics are not quite right ( try kicking a beach ball ) and the zombies do not behave normally. By that I mean that they will sometimes refuse to go somewhere, simply because they were not designed by the game creators to go there. This game is mostly a hack & slash. You will get firearms, but the amount of ammo is ridiculously low, especially if you consider the fact that you can hold an almost infinite number of items in your inventory ( example, 30 medkits ) when compared to the 50-ish number of bullets you can carry. The sounds that zombies make are repetitive, and the NPCs will also repeat themselves over and over again as you walk nearby. There is a great lack of depth in this department. The main quests are fun and diversified. The side quests are the complete opposite, and will often involve the same thing: bring item(s) to NPC. The whole scenario of the main quest is somewhat ridiculous and very basic, if not a pale copy of b-movies. The playable characters lack personality. The men especially are very generic and unoriginal. They have put a lot of effort in the customization of weapons. I wish they could've tried harder and gave us the possibility to create and modifiy our own fortifications. There aren't a lot of vehicles in Dead Island, but driving them is fun. I'd compare the handling of the trucks to Battlefield games. There's also an aspect that lacks in Dead Island, it's the whole survival thing. In Zombie movies/games, survival is always an important part of the atmosphere. In Dead Island, the amount of snack bars and soda cans is infinite, and you will often wonder why NPCs need food so much, since it's all over the place. It would have been more fun to find food and make stashes of it to feed yourself and other people. There's another issue in Dead Island, it's the fact that you will kill a zombie, leave the area for 1 minute, come back, and another zombie will be there. The corpses of killed zombies disappear as soon as you turned around and walked a few meters away from it. It removes realism to the game, and it's the realism of zombie games that make them scary... So Dead Island will be scary for the first 15 minutes, but as you get used to it, you will know where the zombies will come from, and what to expect at every corner. This game crashes frequently, and those involved with patching the game do not seem to care. The graphics are actually kinda good, but aren't the best either. The music is not very good. The game still tried to do something different, and online play is still fun despite the crash rates. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    Good game. Cool new game design and gameplay.
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    5
    I REALLY wanted to love this game. And, at first, I did. But it got old fast. The combat is just SO repetitive, even with the upgradable and customizable weapons. Once you've been playing for an hour and a half you've basically seen 95% of what there is to see in regards to combat. Also, the story and cut scenes are... weak, to put it nicely. I was pretty much over Dead Island half-way through the campaign but I forced myself to finish it. And it was a CHORE to finish, especially the last quarter of the game. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    0
    1. his is probably the most misleading trailers ever made! it has nothing to do with the game! But, I got beyond that and started playing the game. Once I got into Act 2 the game started getting intresting, the graphics in the city were very well done, and from this moment I really started to enjoy the game. Until I got to ACT 3 where you have to help a tribes man who you have to escort. When alot of zombies are attacking. Problem is when he dies, you fail the mission and a saved game is in the exact point just a few seconds before the attack! You get sent back to that place and worse thing is all your weapons have disappeared! This is an UNPASSABLE point in the game! ALot of people said, that game has alot of bugs and its true I experienced it as well.. First time ever on a PS3 game! The game feels like it was RUSHED and is broken! Expand

See all 128 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.